We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay Fit for a Queen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashford Castle

Save Saved
You added Ashford Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashford Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ashford Castle Estate, Cong, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cong
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Stay Fit for a Queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a fantastic hotel, complete with the experience of being there while a TV production crew was filming the new series, "Reign", about Mary, Queen of Scots. The management reassured us that the filming would have no major affects on our stay. They were right. It made our "Downton Abbey" like-experience even more thrilling! The service was impeccable, as echoed by other reviewers, and the grounds and building are in wonderful shape, given the age of the castle. We were able to easily walk into the quaint village of Cong for sightseeing while our husbands golfed on the 9 hole course. Hotel staffers met our every need and request, including a last minute tee time and late night red wine mishap which could have ruined my dress. The meals were excellent, especially the chef's 5 course pairing menu. Their homemade Irish sausage at breakfast was the best on our 12 day trip. Don't miss the proffered 2 hour boat tour that takes you to St. Patrick's 5th century church ruins. The only drawback was the unusual heat wave--the castle is not air conditioned and our pretty 4th floor room, despite a fan, was warm and stuffy a couple of nights. A memory-filled stay and well worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    964
    184
    60
    40
    16
See reviews for
284
657
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I just came back from a family stay in this 12th century castle. We had the most amazing time. The room over looked the lake and the castle and the staff were amazing. The kids went horse riding and fell totally in love with the gardens. The place was just incredible, the kids were not made to feel like they couldn't have the run of the place. Sitting for a quiet pint or coffee and scone in the large drawing room was heaven. I can't wait to go back. Staff, especially Catherine, made it a very special experience for us. One night we got a sitter and arrived in time for the "Queen of Cong" festival in the town, great fun. All in all, the best "stay cation" so far.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and if just a couple go for a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who are more than willing to assist and make your stay here feel special. All staff greet you by name and take an interest in what you have done that day, service by all staff was outstanding throughout our stay. We booked dinner at the George V dining room and I can highly recommend the tasting menu and would definitely advise you to have the wine to accompany each course. By far the best food I have ever had, after dinner the entertainment provided by Annette and Bernie just added to the wonderful ambience of the evening. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I will simply echo the sentiments of those who enjoyed their stay at this magnificent property. Service was exact, food was delicious, and the grounds were both expansive and spectacular. Nice touch that we arrived by boat such as they did years ago and were piped right into reception by a bag piper. Classy. Some have indicted that aspects of the bedroom may leave something to be desired - the television set, the absence of air conditioning etc. - these points are well made but become unimportant when you remind yourself you are staying in a castle.

Do check out the School of Falconry. A unique experience that cannot easily be found elsewhere. Approximately 1.5 hours spent with Harris Hawks. Awesome to say the very least.

Would highly recommend to those celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just what you would want and expect based upon its reputation and price - and a bit more. Helpful and polished staff, impressive grounds, privacy vs. conviviality when you want it, top-flight food, and interesting activities on the property. (Be sure to splurge for the School of Falconry - a memorable and unique experience!). For an extended stay of more than two days, there are nearby attractions to keep a family busy.

Room Tip: It's a castle - so do whatever research you can to determine what your room actually will be lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is like stepping into another world, the staff makes you feel welcome and treats you like royalty. Being a fan of Downton Abbey I almost felt like I stepped into the show, having drinks in the drawing room :) Our room was luxurious along with the rest of the public rooms. The grounds were absolutely stunning and the forest was so much fun to walk through! Also enjoyed that you can easily walk to the cute little town of Cong. We only spent one night but will have memories of here forever!

Room Tip: They dont have the option listed for 3 adults in one room but we contacted them directly and they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We bought a summer package deal which included breakfast and dinner and it was well worth the price. As we arrived we were treated like royalty, but with a very down-to-earth feeling. I cannot say enough about the concierge, the waiters, the waitresses, and any other employee that we had the opportunity to converse. They were all so polite and kind!
The food was outstanding at both of our meals!! Our room was large and very comfortable with nice chairs and a canopy bed.
We actually did not see a pool or use the spa. I tried to check NA but it was not available.
The gardens were gorgeous with a fantastic view of the water. It was a great place to walk around.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on the backside of the castle because of the beautiful view. The second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Address: Ashford Castle Estate, Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford Castle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.