We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashford Castle to your Saves list
Ashford Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ashford Castle Estate, Cong, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Everything about Ashford Castle is just perfect. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. I couldn't fault anything about it. Can't wait to go back. Breakfast is exceptional with everything you could possibly want. The drinks and food are expensive but it is definately worth it.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a bit extra for a view of the Lough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    197
    63
    42
    18
See reviews for
340
749
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The whole scenario about this "hotel" is just fantastic...From the unparalleled scenery, to the walks on the grounds, to the furnishings in the castle, but, most of all, to the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. Albeit a bit on the expensive side, but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in Ashford castle for 1 night to celebrate my husband's birthday. We were taken care of from the moment of our reservation. The staff answered all of my e mails with questions and were very helpfull. Upon arrival we were given a wonderful tour of the castle. We had a Corrib Standard room, overlooking the lake. The room is beautiful. Evrything worked perfectly. It was windly and raining outside, but it was very warm and cozy inside. The windows of course are not new, but no water or cold or wind goes through them. We had a wonderful dinner in the Dungeon (winter version of Cullen's. ) Dinner was perfectly served and delicious. It is important to remember that 15% sevice charge is added to all your food and drinks in the castle. But the service is outstanding. After the dinner we went to lobby (main drawing room) where enjoyed live piani music and drinks. One of the highlights of the evening was the boardgame of backgammon, which we enjoyed by candle light. It was great experience. The next day it was still raining, so we did not take any activities. We went for a walk around the castle grounds. It must be stunning here in summer, becouse even with the reain it was a great walk. I can't wait for our next time at Ashford. Definitely recomment this hotel. It is a magical experience!I will add some photos later on)

Room Tip: lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything in Ashford Castle is 5 star. When we arrived we were informed we had been upgraded. The room had a stunning view, it was huge and there was a really comfortable 4 poster bed. The food was top class and the grounds are gorgeous for a walk or to explore. I would highly recommend it for a treat. My only issue was that it was a little cold in the castle but it was mid Feb in Ireland! I would recommend taking the boat trip that goes from the castle walls. It is very informative and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a picnic by the lake and it was so peaceful.The sun was shining and the walks around Ashford Castle are beautiful.It is really worth taking a drive out here and experiencing it. We went into Lisloughrey Lodge Hotel which is nearby for Coffee and that is an equally beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Other reviewers have offered their detailed explanations of how amazing this place is. We stayed here for 3 nights and had upgraded rooms, so they were quite spacious and centrally located. I did happen to see a few other rooms that were not quite as spacious, much closer to typical European Standards. However, it is important to focus on what really matters - the grounds. If this were a hotel in the middle of a city without anything other than the rooms to offer, it would not be awe inspiring. But the grounds, setting, architecture and ambiance make this an amazing and truly five star property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a wonderful experience. Everyone was very nice. We spent two nights here. The only "complaint" was there was not a bar like everywhere else in Ireland. They have a bar BUT you sit in a huge "living room" or a smaller one. There seemed to be only one waiter for the huge room. I could not tell if he was servicing the other room too. It was too formal. Our first night we walked up to the bar to order drinks and were told to please sit down and they would get to us. Their breakfast buffet was GREAT!! We only ate one dinner at the hotel. It was very good. Just to say you stayed in a castle is worth it! The room accommodations were great! They have US electrical outlets in addition to UK outlets. They provide oscillating fans! The grounds are GORGEOUS. I definitely suggest you give it a try!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Address: Ashford Castle Estate, Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.