We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Ashford Castle to your Saves list
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner, Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I stayed at Lisloughrey last week with my husband and son and I have to say we all had a great time. The hotel is wonderfully deceptive with its traditional exterior and glamorous plush interior. The room was very large with all the space you could ask for with a two year old in tow. Our son was treated like a king with his own slippers and robe and cookies just for him. The bathroom was gorgeous and kitted out with the lovely toiletries of a brand name that I would not have expected in a hotel! The grounds are great with plenty of room to run around and we took a great stroll down to the lake to see the boats. Boat trips go from the dock just beside the hotel which is very handy!
The food was lovely, the main restaurant was closed but the bar food was still very tasty and the wine menu had some great choices.
The hotel even had a Wii room where my husband and son played Wii Golf...both golf addicts so they were very happy to see anything golf related!
One night just was not long enough!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    84
    27
    17
    9
See reviews for
70
244
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed in Lisloughrey with my partner in July 2009 prior to our wedding and we held our wedding reception there in August 2009. We cannot fault this hotel and we cannot praise it enough. It was such a pleasure dealing with the staff prior to our wedding. We did not want a traditional wedding, Lisloughrey accommodated all our requirements and made the organising so easy! Like all bride & grooms we expected perfection on our wedding day and Lisloughrey Lodge gave us perfection.

The food was exceptional. To serve food at such high standards to a large group of 70 people has to be commended. It exceeded all expectations.

The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout the entire day and night. Barna made our evening perfect organising everything to perfection. He was always there to help but in a very discreet manner and never intrusive.

The decor is quirky yet very cosy and romantic at nightime with candles lit throughout. Bedrooms are very large, luxurious and so comfy.

It was great to find a venue that welcomed children & catered for their needs during the wedding reception, children had their own private party and the hotel has a trendy Wii Room!

Our guests are still commenting on how amazing the hotel was and everyone comments on the comfort of the massive beds! The service, food and attention to detail was exceptional.

If you are looking for a romantic break with your partner or a holiday with your children Lisloughrey is ideal. If you are considering having your wedding at Lisloughrey, speak with Mairead the Events Managers who is a pleasure to deal with and an amazing organiser.

Don’t let bad weather deter you from visiting Lisloughrey Lodge as even in the rain the scenery and hotel is beautiful. Sit at a table in the restaurant overlooking the lake and enjoy great food, wine and service or relax by the fire with a great cocktail!

Some of our guests are already making plans to go back. This hotel has it all. We will be back!

Thanks to all at Lisloughrey Lodge for making our day perfect, the staff are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Having read the most recent reviews I wonder if we stayed at the same hotel. The attitude of the reception staff was appalling. The dark and dingy decor and extremely low lighting ( a health and safety hazard) must be an acquired taste - we had to read the menu by candle light!

The dining room was closed so all the guests had to eat in the bar but most of it had been given over to a private party so only 3 tables were available. The staff seemed to think this was a fairly regular occurrance. They had run out of the basic wine that we had ordered and the same with the marmalade at breakfast where we witnessed a row in the kitchen. We had to wait for cereal bowls and the flowers on the table must have been dead for several days.
The waiter knocked our table and spilled a considerable amount of coffee but had to be asked before clearing it up.

On the positive side the bedroom was very nice but there was no hair dryer, no shaver point and one small shampoo and shower gel to share between two people. Only 2 tea and coffee sachets.

Not like usual Irish hospitality at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Lisloughrey Lodge, WOW!!!

This hotel is like opening a Christmas present - the one you weren't expecting!!! On the outside you have the traditional, beautifully sculpted metaphoric gift box.... and upon entering you are blown away by a visual myriad of rich textures and patterns puncuated by dark woods giving a wonderfully opulent feel. The dining area is in contrast ,light and airy with the opulence of the reception areas meandering subtly throughout the room and you get to view amazing scenery while enjoying ,what I can only describe as one of the best meals I have had in a long time.

The food here is a real focal point. The falvours are perfectly balanced and leave your taste buds thourghly satisfied. Another bonus is that although the food has that modern,contempory twist it still retains that heartiness you expect from and Irish establishment.Dining here is a real treat on many levels and the Head Chef is clearly a true talent which adds to the Hotels' appeal. As A fish lover I have to recommend the Sea Bass ..... wholey satisfying!!!

The bedroms..... firstly, I love the quirkiness of naming the rooms rather than using numbers , this really adds to the personality of the Hotel.
Secondly, the rooms are decorated to a very high standard, they are chic and elegant but sooooo comfy... the perfect mix!!!

Finally... I have to mention the staff . The efficiency with which they operate is applaudable.. They work with such synchronisity the result is a fluid and flawless service.. Another bonus point is that they blend into the background but are so intune with the customer that they are there at the time when you need them.. and you are greeted throughout with warmth and friendliness , you really get the feeling they enjoy working here...
This Hotel, in all respects is of a very high standard, as far as I am concerned it ticks all the boxes..

I know we are all sick of hearing about the "R" word but I would urge anyone considering a weekend away over seas to reconsider...
When we have treats like this on our doorstep we should explore and support them because you get so much more out that what you put in ..

I know I most certainly will be back!!!

Thank you very much to all at Lisloughery Lodge for a very memorable weekend!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Just returned from a weekend at the hotel for my sons wedding, it was the most amazing wedding i have attended in my life. everything about the hotel was wonderful, Mark and Hilda made the whole event perfect, even when people complained about their shoes hurting other footware was provided,the food was out of this world many thanks to Wade,breakfast on the following morning was perfect even the timing was perfect .
I wish I could repeat the whole experience again soon. Maria

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed in Lisloughrey Lodge recently on the recommendation of some friends who were at a wedding there. Love the decor of the bar and reception area but can see how it's not to everyones taste. Had a couple of drinks in the bar when we arrived and ordered from the bar menu. I don't like saying 'Bar menu' as it is not 'bar food'. The best fish and chips I have eaten in a long time. My partners burger was very tasty too as i finished what my partner couldn't! Service was attentive but not intrucive at any stage.
Rooms are lovely and comfy. Felt really snug as the rain pelted off the windows.
Dinner now that is out of this world. The food is of 5 star standard and is definatly the best meal I've had in Ireland in a long time never mind the west. Fresh ingredients cooked with a great imagination and unbelievable talent. All the flavours just worked so well and the presentation was first class. Wine was a bit expensive, but the service was great also. Almost didn't want the meal to end.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent too with great friendly service especially from the local boy, can't remember his name! Patrick or Paul??
Overall this is a wonderful hotel and would recommend it to anyone. There is a reason why it's food and service has won so many awards from the begining! As the title says the only bad thing about the place was the weather!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 3 nights in early August and had a great time. We stayed in a duplex suite which had a great sitting room downstairs with double height ceilings and and a large bedroom and en-suite bathroom upstairs.

The staff were excellent and very helpful. We ate in the acclaimed Salt restaurant on our 1st night which was excellent but don't be in a rush lots of courses, each one as good as the next. The following 2 nights we ate in the bar which was very good, not a huge menu but what they had was good.

There is a spa on site and the therapist was excellent, they come to your room to collect you for your appointment which is a nice touch.

The Wii room is a nice extra and we had good fun there on our last night.

I'd highly recommend Lisloughrey, the location is great and it's within easy walking distance of Cong Village and Ashford Castle.

Looking forward to a return visit....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.