We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good but some small problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Ashford Castle to your Saves list
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner, Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really good but some small problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We went to Lisloughrey recently and overall vwere very impressed - we had one of the Quay Suites, which doesn't exactly have a view of the Quay, but then again they weren't claiming that it did. Massive room, very comfortable beds, fantastic bathroom, robes, slippers etc. Dinner was excellent and that was expected given the €69 a head price tag. Breakfast was good - they use meats from James McGeough in Oughterard who is one of the best butchers in Ireland. But, there was little other choice. Yes they offer kippers, but the cold buffet was really dissapointing - cereal, some pastries and fruit salad - no cheese, no cold meats/salamai. I was expecting a bit more as they have won the Irish Breakfast of the Year. This seems to relate only to the actual fry. Other establishments, notably the Park Inn in Mulranny are cheaper and have a far superior breakfast. Don't get me wrong, I am being pretty picky, but it's just at the prices they charge I'd have expected a bit more. Also, although the hotel was extremely quiet, the bar after dinner was taken over by a loud, obnoxious and very drunk group of 3 or 4 Americans one of whom insisted on playing a fiddle that sounded like he was strangling a cat at times. The girl in the group kept shouting and bouncing off the walls until she decided to collapse on a couch. Time to go for us. The poor barman was probably really pissed off at this stage but had to keep smiling. There was no senior management present and this group was allowed to annoy the few other guests that were enjoying a quiet drink in the bar.
Overall, though we had a fantastic time....the massage is fantastic and the 'treehut' hot-tub is an unusual touch.

  • Liked — The food/room
  • Disliked — Uncontrolled drunks in the bar at night and lack of choice in breakfast buffet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    84
    27
    17
    9
See reviews for
70
245
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

For my birthday my wonderful boyfriend got me a present on a night in Lisloughery, with dinner included. The hotel is beautiful and set on an elevated site overlooking a lake. Theres some great areas for walking around the hotel and its worth going there for this alone. Our room was surprisingly small and slightly cluttered. The bed was huge and so comfy! The bathroom was massive with underfloor heating, a power shower, robes and slippers and lovely toiletries.

We had dinner booked for 7 and when we arrrived we were very disappointed to be shown into a drab conference room with four tables and zero atmosphere. I asked a waiter to turn on some music as everyone was whispering as the tables were so close and it was just plain awkward! He had to ask the manager before he could do this, which I found odd. The food was nothing spectacular, tiny portions and lacking the wow factor. Given the cost of dinner there (€69 pp) I wouldn't eat there again. I mentioned to the manager that we were disappointed we didn't get a table in the restaurant, especially since we booked it 6 weeks previously when we were booking the room, and he just shrugged of my complaint with 'its a Saturday night and we're very busy'. Not really my problem like!!

The following morning we had a lovely table in the restaurant with superb views, such a shame we only got this for breakfast! The breakfast was nice but there could have been a greater variety of non-meat options.

Overall we had a great time but the dinner was a major let down.

  • Liked — The comfy bed and the location
  • Disliked — Booking the restaurant and getting a conference room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

Stayed her for one night for a family get together. All of us very impressed. Got a great rate with dinner included and breakfast in the morning. Its only an hour from Galway so its not too much of a drive. The bedroom was lovely, not your average hotel room at all. Lovely furniture, underfloor heating, bathrobes, the whole lot. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The dinner was really top class. Chef came out to say hello to the group. Barman had no problem serving us till the wee hours of the morning. Breakfast was really nice with lots of variety if you didn't want a fry up. Black pudding really yummy. You have to walk outside to get to most of the rooms. Wasn't overly impressed with this cause i'm a bit nervous of the dark. There is a games room or a Wii room of the big and small kids. Would recommend it for a couple going away for the weekend or a girls weekend away.

Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

Fantastic hotel. Absolutely gorgeous dinner-must have if staying. Modern hotel in a blissful setting! We're booking it for our wedding following our stay last month-I think that says all I need to say!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Recently opend, Lisloughrey offers supberly designed rooms in a spectacular location. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and the beds are deadly comfortable. The washrooms are luxurious anmd the little touches make Lisloughrey an aboslute recommendation for a getaway in the west of Ireland.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

In midweek, out of season, a stay at Lisloughrey, immediately following a night at its sister hotel, Wineport, was quite an eye opener, and an experience I would rather forget.

The decor is an acquired taste, and is essentially out of place. The location, bigged up on the website, is nothing compared to many places I have stayed. Indeed, the original building is entirely dwarfed by huge and unatractive extensions.

The welcome was friendly enough, though the place seemed very quiet. I was guided to my room, and I'd have never found it alone.

I'd made a dinner reservation, but was running a little behind when I had a call to my room saying the kitchen was closing at 8.30pm, the time of my reservation. I opted to forsake a rush to beat the deadline, and slept instead.

No problem on the sleep front, though the room was sterile and the minibar essentially empty. No complimentary offering that I received at Wineport, and no snacks to nibble on!

After a peaceful night, I discovered a note telling me that breakfast would be served in the bar, not the restaurant as I had been told when I arrived. My early morning bathing was disturbed by a workman who'd let himself in through the balcony door, who asked if the room he was in was "my room", and that he'd been sent to repair a leak....good start to the day.

The breakfast was indifferent, and I left completely disappointed and knowing that I should have been staying elsewhere.

This may be a fine place to be when it is full and buzzing, but it gave the impression of a hotel that was going to struggle in the tightening economic climate, and is not a place that left me burning desire to return as soon as possible....rather relief that I was leaving.

This was a stay that left me feeling I'd just wasted a large amount of money.

  • Liked — Quiet - but then there was no one else there
  • Disliked — Decor, workmen in the bedroom, restaurant closed too early, room refreshments.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

Loved the setting and concept of this hotel. We had a duplex room which was on first sight lovely - unfortunately our room really needed a good clean. The basics were done but there was an inch of dust on the fittings in the room and in the sitting room downstairs, there were strange stains on the couch and cushions and each one of the punched holes in the gorgeous leather chair held a different surprise - a dead bluebottle, biscuit crumbs, bits of plastic... so disappointing. Also we had room service and the soup was stone cold.

The rest of the hotel was lovely and the staff were friendly, maybe we just caught them on a bad day.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.