We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge at Ashford Castle to your Saves list
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dinner, Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel three times and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit!

The restaurant is very good if a little expensive but the bar food is equally good and reasonably priced.

The location is perfect tucked away in Ashford castle woodlands , it is great for walks in the gardens, grounds and woods. There are miles of pathways through the trees and alongside the lough.

The hotel has plenty of comfortable tastefully decorated seating areas where guests can enjoy relaxing with a coffee and a good book.

The room are lovely though the Quay suites are worth the extra expense as they are far more spacious and have baths which some may prefer. Because most rooms are accessible from a courtyard there are only two rooms on each hallway so the peace and quiet you experience is much better than most other hotels we have stayed in.

Would we recommend this hotel?

It is our favourite place to unwind!

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    85
    27
    17
    9
See reviews for
70
246
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently spent two nights at Lisloughrey Lodge as a pre-Christmas treat! The hotel rooms are amazingly spacious, and very nicely designed and laid out. The entry to the hotel is like walking in to someone's home, and that's what made it so special. The layout of the bar was very relaxed, and although a 4 star property did not feel pompous or over stuffy. We relaxed in the lobby areas with a drink after our meal, and it was almost like relaxing at someone's home. The meal - this was fantastic! What can I say, but there is definite value for money in the restaurant, the portions are adequate, each dish that we ordered was spectacular, and there was daily changes to the menu based on the catch of the day etc.

The restaurant is laid out in several rooms upstairs in the house, and that is a fantastic idea. It makes diners feel like they are enjoying a cosy intimate experience and that they are not in a restaurant with 60 seats.

The only comment was breakfast in the morning. In hindsight we should have ordered it to our room on the last day, but we went back to Wildes. The service was a little cramped and we were waiting for dishes to be restocked on the buffet. The staff were under pressure delivering room service out of the same kitchen as the dining room. This was definately more so on the Sunday than the Saturday morning.

Would I go back - ABSOLUTELY.

Would I recommend this to my parents - 100%

Would I happily attend a function there - OH MY GOD YES...

Not to mention that this part of Ireland is spectacular - and we enjoyed the Greenway Cycle from Westport to Mulranny on the Saturday.

Little Tip: Please add to the website that there's a hot tub and Sauna, we didn't realise and we would have loved to enjoy it had we had the appropriate attire!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuurne, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our second visit to the Lodge. The hotel is great. Tehy have great seasonal offers. We got a free upgrade to a superior room as returning customers! The food in the bar and in the restaurant is nice and not overpriced. We love this place. Special thanks to Jorg, the maitre d'hotel who took great care of us. I can recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our stay at Lisloughrey Lodge was amazing.Our stay was one of the most enjoyable yet to date, and our 8 family friends were highly impressed with the rooms and dinner menu and all the little touches that made such a difference. The private room we got for our celebratory dinner and our own waitress and of course the extra tasters we got, I cannot thank you enough..thank you for making my mother's 60th birthday party a memorable one. I and our party would highly recommend a stay at Lislougrey Lodge and we will be back too..thanks Bala to you and all the staff at Lisloughrey________________

Room Tip: Lake View Suite was amazing!! We were upgraded!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the wonderful Lisloughrey Lodge for two nights last week and really enjoyed the experience. We stayed in one of the duplex suites which was lovely - even though we didn't use the sitting room much. The bedroom was lovely - spacious and luxurious. The shower in the bathroom was really powerful which I love. The underfloor heating in the bathroom took a little while to kick in. One or two small quibbles - no plug in the sink which my husband found frustrating when shaving; the towel heater was not on (nor could we figure out how to turn it on). The taps seemed to work in the opposite direction to the norm.

The highlight of the visit for us was the absolutely amazing dinner. The food was exceptional, both in terms of quality and presentation. We were completely wowed by the chef's efforts. Our waiter was very well trained attentive but not overpowering. We had dinner in Ashford Castle the following night and without doubt the meal in Lisloughrey was far superior on every level.

Breakfast was also very good.

We were also impressed with the lovely friendly barman who was very chatty and entertaining.

The location is absolutely magnificent and we had lovely walks around the grounds.

I would highly recommend Lisloughrey and hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked a one night getaway to Lisloughrey recently, and while the room was very pleasant & cosy, the hotel in general had a very empty feeling to it.
We had dinner included in our stay, for the very reasonable price of €180 for 2 persons, dinner, bed & breakfast.

In terms of value for money, I cannot complain at all.
However, in terms of the general restaurant experience in Wildes, well it was just strange.
We phoned initially to see could we change our reservation from 7pm to 7.30pm but were told no, despite the fact that 4 tables beside us remained empty until 9pm.

There seemed to be a huge amount of staff in the restaurant, one person in charge of pouring water, another in charge of wine, bread, taking orders, etc. By the end of the started we'd been approached 7 times at our table... that's just overkill.

I couldn't quite put my finder on what was wrong but in general I think it was a case of trying too hard, and perhaps even being a little pretentious. Likewise with the food, I didn't like the set menu & there was no alternative on the night (little bit strange that if you are prepared to pay more you can't have more choice, seems like a 'nama' concept to me). Food was fine but it just tried too hard.

Overall not a comfortable experience, tables very close together, and the intended atmosphere is one of exclusivity that the food & location just don't match.

Not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We got married in Lisloughrey in July this year and really I can't recommend it enough. The setting is stunning, the hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished bit best of all was the food and the service. We were looked after so well from the very first time we visited to make enquiries. Our stay to taste menu choices a few weeks before the wedding was excellent. The new chef there Jonathan is so sound and easy going, never mind seriously talented in the kitchen, and flexible too to accommodate our various culinary notions. We were really happy with our menu choices and on the day they were even better again and all our guests seemed to love the food too. As for the rest of the wedding planning and coordination, they have a VERY professional and friendly team there who ensured everything went smoothly on the day. Aoife was our main contact and was a real gem. There's nothing that girl can't do! I could ramble on for ages but bottom line is we loved Lisloughrey and I can't commend them highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.