We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Ashford Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offers
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Cong
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the wonderful Lisloughrey Lodge for two nights last week and really enjoyed the experience. We stayed in one of the duplex suites which was lovely - even though we didn't use the sitting room much. The bedroom was lovely - spacious and luxurious. The shower in the bathroom was really powerful which I love. The underfloor heating in the bathroom took a little while to kick in. One or two small quibbles - no plug in the sink which my husband found frustrating when shaving; the towel heater was not on (nor could we figure out how to turn it on). The taps seemed to work in the opposite direction to the norm.

The highlight of the visit for us was the absolutely amazing dinner. The food was exceptional, both in terms of quality and presentation. We were completely wowed by the chef's efforts. Our waiter was very well trained attentive but not overpowering. We had dinner in Ashford Castle the following night and without doubt the meal in Lisloughrey was far superior on every level.

Breakfast was also very good.

We were also impressed with the lovely friendly barman who was very chatty and entertaining.

The location is absolutely magnificent and we had lovely walks around the grounds.

I would highly recommend Lisloughrey and hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    68
    25
    18
    9
See reviews for
58
213
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
galway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked a one night getaway to Lisloughrey recently, and while the room was very pleasant & cosy, the hotel in general had a very empty feeling to it.
We had dinner included in our stay, for the very reasonable price of €180 for 2 persons, dinner, bed & breakfast.

In terms of value for money, I cannot complain at all.
However, in terms of the general restaurant experience in Wildes, well it was just strange.
We phoned initially to see could we change our reservation from 7pm to 7.30pm but were told no, despite the fact that 4 tables beside us remained empty until 9pm.

There seemed to be a huge amount of staff in the restaurant, one person in charge of pouring water, another in charge of wine, bread, taking orders, etc. By the end of the started we'd been approached 7 times at our table... that's just overkill.

I couldn't quite put my finder on what was wrong but in general I think it was a case of trying too hard, and perhaps even being a little pretentious. Likewise with the food, I didn't like the set menu & there was no alternative on the night (little bit strange that if you are prepared to pay more you can't have more choice, seems like a 'nama' concept to me). Food was fine but it just tried too hard.

Overall not a comfortable experience, tables very close together, and the intended atmosphere is one of exclusivity that the food & location just don't match.

Not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We got married in Lisloughrey in July this year and really I can't recommend it enough. The setting is stunning, the hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished bit best of all was the food and the service. We were looked after so well from the very first time we visited to make enquiries. Our stay to taste menu choices a few weeks before the wedding was excellent. The new chef there Jonathan is so sound and easy going, never mind seriously talented in the kitchen, and flexible too to accommodate our various culinary notions. We were really happy with our menu choices and on the day they were even better again and all our guests seemed to love the food too. As for the rest of the wedding planning and coordination, they have a VERY professional and friendly team there who ensured everything went smoothly on the day. Aoife was our main contact and was a real gem. There's nothing that girl can't do! I could ramble on for ages but bottom line is we loved Lisloughrey and I can't commend them highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for winter break. Lovely house and made really feel at home, by warm reception. Outdoor suites are glorious and no charge for breakfast delivery, other places could learn from!

It's very very relaxed, lots of things to do and no pressure at all. Restaurant could do with a little freshness but food and service was excellent.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fantastic from start to finish - attended a weding there on Friday 12th October and apart from the room being a bit "compact", everything else was superb from the staff service ethic through the quality of the food. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing serious R+R in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September, and enjoyed it. The drive up from Galway was good although we did get turned around a bit in Cong. It would be great to have some hotel directional signs located in Cong so we knew which way we should go. The GPS didn't work well in Connemara so I 'd suggest getting good directions from the hotel prior to your arrival. Once we got there, we were very impressed with the hotel. It is located in a beautiful setting. We also enjoyed walking to Ashford Castle and wandering around the grounds and in the castle - it took us about 5 - 10 minutes to walk over.

The first room to which we were assigned was a bit of a surpise as it did not have a bathtub. We were soon relocated to a fabulous huge room on a corner, with lots of windows and a small juliette balcony. Very heavenly. We could see the lake in the distance as well.

We had a small lunch in the bar - seafood chowder, chips, and all was delicious. The dinner at Wilde's restaurant was fabulous. I had the beef and Guiness and my husband had the salmon. There were many little courses - with a good tip, we paid 93 euros - I would have happily paid more if necessary. The breakfast was buffet style with lots of options.

The staff was helpful, friendly, and professional. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We booked a one night package as an anniversary treat. Very enjoyable stay with delicious food served in Wildes Restaurant. Best experience. Left totally relaxed and recharged. Cant wait to return. Wonderful staff throughout. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.