We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B-5 star reviews were right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nymphsfield House

Nymphsfield House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nymphsfield House to your Saves list
Nymphsfield House
Gortroe, Cong, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great B&B-5 star reviews were right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just home from trip to Cong and Nymphsfield House. Mary, the host, not to be confused with purely a proprietor, was a treasure. Nothing too much trouble. Can't really add anything to previous reviews other than to say they're all right. Not just full Irish breakfasts though - fab healthy options including great porridge with healthy trimmings and brown bread (homemade). When you stay check out the phenomenal photography of one of her regular guests, Thomas, which is on display - magnificent! Home away from home- not just a bed and breakfast and that's from someone who usually only stays at hotels having had some scary B&B experiences in the past.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
30
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The best B & B we had on our 10 day tour of Ireland. Host Mary was so friendly and made us feel so comfortable even at her time of great sorrow with her sister-in-law so ill. The room we had was extremely comfortable and homely feeling and of course the little village of Cong was so quaint and interesting. Mary's breakfast menu was extensive and delicious and the fruit scones she gave us to have on our way were lovely. What a lovely thought from her! Mary set a benchmark that was not met by any other place we stayed at in Ireland. Thanks to Mary for the best accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Everything you would hope for in a stay away from home - warm welcome,advice on the area,
excellent & spotless accommodation, great location, and an Irish breakfast to die for!!
Above all lovely friendly atmosphere the whole time - we'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, SK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This B&B definitely earns its spot as the #1 B&B in Cong! When we arrived, we were impressed by the lovely yard and warm welcome from Mary! We declined her offer of tea as we hadn't yet eaten supper so on Mary's recommendation went off to a restaurant in town to eat. We got back, had a shower (very nice) and went to sleep in the very comfy bed. Breakfast in the morning was great! We told Mary we wanted to go see Ashford Castle and she told us to get there before a certain time so we wouldn't have to pay to see it! It's a beautiful area with lots to offer, and this B&B is the icing on the cake! We would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to visit the Cong area, it's a bit off the beaten path but well worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

What a lovely welcome we always receive from Mary and Gerry. The breakfasts are amazing and the rooms are decorated to a very standard and very comfortable. The beds are so comfy it makes it difficult to get up in the morning. The local area is beautiful as is Ashford Castle and it's grounds. Mary is a fantastic cook and you are assured a warm welcome from this hospitable and genuine couple.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuss, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

For more than a decade I’m now spending my holidays in the West of Ireland. A lot of things have changed over that period not only for the better. One thing that definitely hasn’t changed is Nymphsfield House and their owners You’re always surprised again by the hospitality of Mary and Gerry who make you feel relaxed and at home the moment you enter the door. This makes the difference between passion and profession.
The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with a lot of pictures around Connemara. If you want to enjoy the real Irish breakfast this is the place to be. Not before long you’ll get addicted to the home baked scones and brown bread.
If I’d he opportunity to choose between Nymphsfield House and Ashford Castle – the castle is beautiful to look at, Nymphsfield House is the place to stay in.
I’ve had the privilege to enjoy a home away from home for more than thirty times because
it’s simply the BEST!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is my second stay with Mary and her family at their charming B&B. The rooms are large, nicely appointed, and the breakfast is excellent. Mary actually even remembered me from a stay 11 years earlier. Very short walk to Ashford Castle, and just a few yards further into town - just a good stretch of the legs!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nymphsfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nymphsfield House

Address: Gortroe, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Nymphsfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nymphsfield House Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nymphsfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.