We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corrib Cruises” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corrib Cruises

Corrib Cruises
Ashford Castle, Cong, Ireland
00353-87-9946380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Cong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corrib Cruises was founded in 1976 by the Luskin family and today,brothers Patrick and David Luskin still run the business.Patrick and David run two passenger boats on scenic Lough Corrib,using Ashford Castle as their base.Those who take a cruise will enjoy spectacular views of Ashford Castle,the Connemara mountains and some of the 365 islands on the lake.One particular cruise,includes a visit to Inchagoill island,where visitors are taken on a guided tour of St.Patrick's 5th century monastic site,often described as one of Ireland's hidden treasures.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Corrib Cruises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We got free tickets for this cruise as part of a package when we booked a short break at the nearby Lisloughrey Lodge. Although the weather wasn't great the cruise was very enjoyable. The captain, Patrick, delivered plenty of interesting information and local history about the lake and the surrounding area. After about forty minutes we reached Inchagoill Island and were taken on a short walk into the island where we were again treated to lots of history and anecdotes from Patrick. We spent about 20 minutes on the island before returning to the boat. Whilst we traveled there and back on the top deck enjoying the views, plenty other passengers sheltered below and were entertained by Michael, an Irish musician. Before docking we stopped at Ashford Castle quay for some more history. Although our tickets were free, we would have been happy to pay the 20 euros each for the experience. A well spent afternoon, despite the rain.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    7
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you only do one boat trip -do this one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you only do one 'cruise' make it this one. It is worth every penny and David is both very knowledgeable and entertaining. We did the Oughterard Ashford Castle and Cong trip. It was a lovely day, a lovely trip and thoroughly enjoyable for everyone on board.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great part day adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went out on a tour out of Outergard and had a great day! The captain was very friendly and informative about the history of the area. We really enjoyed our trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lough Corrib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Took the cruise on the Sunday morning for 1 and 1/4 hours., water was calm and still and scenery fantastic, the day was also nice and sunny! The captain was very informative and gave us a very interesting commentary about Lough Corrib, Ashford Castle and the surrounding areas. We were probably the only two Irish on the boat, lots of american visitors and the captain definitely makes the trip enjoyable for everyone on board. He even let a little boy steer the boat and wear his captain's hat! Well worth doing!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cold water cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a cruise on Lake Corrib from Oughterard on a breezy day in June and I have to say it was very good, David our captain and tour guide did a marvelous job steering and talking at the same time and he certainly knew his stuff. You get a different perspective of the scenery from lake level and the stories of the islands as told by David makes it very interesting.The trip to Inchagoill where St.Patrick was exiled is very educational and Gong where the last big thing to happen was the making of The Quite Man in the fifties was enjoyable. The whole trip lasted about six hours and cost 50 euros all in all a very good day out

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corrib Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Corrib Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corrib Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.