We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luang Say Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakbeng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luang Say Lodge
Save
You added Luang Say Lodge to your Saves list
Ban Pakbeng, Pakbeng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

It is delightful to climb the stairs from the river and be met with charm and beauty. The walkways are very beautiful, the service is very good. The meals are tasty and everyone is extremely polite. Although the rooms are reasonably basic one gets the feeling of living in Laos in relative luxury. I would advise you bring some warm clothing as the rooms are the same temperature as outside.

Room Tip: Please take a small overnight bag and keep luggage on the boat. We felt very sorry for the staff who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    55
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
97
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst sailing down the Mekong. The lodge looks very good when approached by river. It's best to leave heavy luggage overnight on the boat and carry your hand luggage up to the lodge - about 150-200 yards up a sandy slope and a few wooden steps. Accommodation is in individual lodges which are very comfortable. The shutters open to give a lovely view of the river. Before dinner, local children did some national dances.
Dinner was quite tasty and as soon as I said I was vegetarian a different meal was prepared for me. Breakfast was good.
As this place is so peaceful and relaxing it's very easy to get a good nights sleep and wake up refreshed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Travelling back from Luang Prabang to Chaing Rai Thailand, we took a 2 day rivercruise (not to be mistaken by the word cruise...it is a wooden open boat), with one night in Luang Say Lodge. Luang Say company offers great service and all staff is very friendly. The guide on our boat had a lot of knowledge, spoke very well english (australian) and clearly liked sharing his knowledge to whom was intested.The boat was half full, so there was plenty of space to walk around and view the Mekong surroundings from various points of the boat. Seating is very comfortable and eveything was kept very clean. Food aboard was very well prepared and tasted very good! During the trip you'll visit a town, buddha cave etc but to us the views of the Mekong river were the best.
Luang Say lodge is somewhere halfway the trip. You can leave your luggae on board of the boat, so prepare a small overnight bag (also nice, because from the river to the lodge is a steep path). When the boat arrives, checking in is very smoothly arranged. Small wooden houses, nice beds and.... a lot of mosquitos. So bring strong DEETspray.
We definitely recommend Luang Say company and this amazing cruise!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After crossing the 'border-bridge' from Thailand to Laos, we proceeded to board the Luang Say boat. Beautiful wooden spacious boat, toilets, nice food, and refreshments on board. Very nice scenery floating down the Mekong river. Stopped in a couple of local villages, accompanied by helpful guides from on-board. Overnight 1st night at Luang Say Lodge - beautiful wooden elegant and romantic eco-lodge in Pakbeng. We opted for the 2 nights and 3 days, staying second night in Kamu Eco-lodge before spending 3 days in Luang Prabang town, Laos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a place that you will stop at en route from Thailand to Laos via the Mekong.

It's one of those unforgettable places - we only spent a few hours there, overnight, but I know it's a place we will remember with fondness!

It's basic, the rooms are clean and very comfortable, with a large bed and a mosquito net to keep the bugs away. The lodge is perched up above the Mekong which flows fast downstream. You can hear the water through the night and the birds and other wildlife awaken you from a wonderful restful sleep.

Dancers entertain you over a drink before dinner. The restaurant serves good clean basic food and the staff readily carry the cases up and down the steep steps to and from the boat.

This is a great experience - try it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the lodge as part of our 2 day cruise from Houei Say, on the Laos/Thailand border, to Luang Prabang. The accommodation was truly colonial with hardwood rooms built on a walkway running alongside the river. The owners have employed the local villagers, encouraged them to grow vegetables for the lodge & taught them the traditional tribal dances, which have been forgotten, & can be seen in a show at the lodge. The buffet dinner & breakfast were excellent, as was the friendly service.
Of course, the main attraction was the actual river cruise, which was totally breathtaking. The boat had comfortable chairs & a small area back & front in which one could sit too. The lunches were very adequate, as were the fruit platters in the afternoon. Water, tea & coffee were free. The guide was informative & we stopped at 2 riverside villages, which were fascinating, & the Pak Ou caves where there are over 6000 buddhas!
This is not a cheap cruise but it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We took the boat from Luang Prabang to Houei Say. As we booked the trip only 2 days in advance, the gave us a nice discount. The 2-trip on the boat was good organized, food ok but nothing fancy. Accommodation was a nice wooden bungalow, touristic dancing show, buffet ok.
For the price we paid, it was ok. Without the discount, we would be a little bit disappointed. Recommended for people +50, otherwise check the other tour operators like "Shompoo".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luang Say Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Say Lodge

Address: Ban Pakbeng, Pakbeng, Laos
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pakbeng
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luangsay Cruise is a journey through remote mountainous stretches of the Mekong between the Golden Triangle and the royal old city of Luang Prabang. A stay at the Luangsay Lodge is worth the trip itself. Built on the shores of the Mekong in traditional Lao style of solid wood, the Lodge features 20 elegantly appointed bungalows with western amenities and hot water showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luang Say Hotel Pakbeng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luang Say Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.