We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sivong Sack

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakbeng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sivong Sack
Save
You added Sivong Sack to your Saves list
Located on only street, Pakbeng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Pakbeng B&B and Inns
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

While there's nothing particularly special about this place, for 50,000kip ($7) you get a very clean room, bathroom, two comfortable beds, wifi, fans, and excellent location near the boarding area for slow boats. I was impressed by the value we got for paying only $3 per person. They picked us up at the slow boat arrival area and prepared food for our trip the next day (nothing great but helpful).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Ok so we know the reason your in Pakbeng is your either coming or going to the border! Anyway if your like us we didnt know where to stay in pakbeng as all the reasonably nice places had been taken. We stayed here and it wasn't bad, we paid 80000 kip for the night, the room was clean and the shower hot, couldnt ask for much more. However there were a couple of insects around but we didnt get bit, and the bed was quite uncomfortable but after arriving back on the boat and talking to others there are definitely worse places to stay than here!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a simple guest house. It has the essential facilitites - clean rooms, fans (not air-con), hot and cold running water in the rooms. The shower is a wet-room style. It is a short walk up from the river which is fine with a backpack but tricker with a suitcase - though you can easily get local help for a small fee. Breakfast is simple and served in a room opening out onto the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This guest house had good wifi. The room was very clean but very basic. But that's what guest houses are like, it's good value for money though. The breakfast was lovely, huge portion of fruit and I had eggs which were done perfectly. It's a tiny town, just a passing through for the Mekong cruises so it'd be impossible to not be in a good location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sivong Sack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivong Sack

Address: Located on only street, Pakbeng, Laos
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pakbeng
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sivong Sack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.