We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passion for freediving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freediving Philippines

Freediving Philippines
Panagsama | Beside "The French Coffee Shop", Moalboal, Philippines
+63 928 263 4646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Activities in Moalboal
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn the art of diving with one breath of air. Everybody can do it. Dive deeper and longer than you would have thought you can without the use of annoying SCUBA equipment. Now also offering AIDA courses with international recognized certification card. Our sales office in Panagsama is open from 7:30am to 9:30pm.
Manila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Passion for freediving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a brilliant time doing our course! This was my first free diving experience and thanks to Wolfgang it was an amazing journey underwater. I am myself partially paraplegic, though the team made it easy and fun. They all are very welcoming, professional and on top of that genuine nice people. There was a laid back vibe but when it came to actual teaching, Wolfgang was very professional. He makes you feel at home once you enter the water and I highly recommend Wolfgang to anybody who is looking for a freedive school. I can't wait to enter the water again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moalboal, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“freediving is just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

i think if i can do it, everybody can! i got to try 2 different masks, train with the fins as much as i wanted, i got a special underwear because after 2 minutes in the water i was cold... and i did it! my reward was: one fun freedive with the sardines in pescador island - amazing! thank you, wolfgang!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Safety First Sport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was impressed the entire course was very well managed by Wolfgang and his team.

Every bit of basic theory was discussed in classroom setting - from comprehensive safety tips to effective equalizing & breathing techniques. You won't miss the hows and whys of this course.

After the classroom session, many of the theories made sense during the pool session. While the goal is to try out what we learned, we were given the apt time and venue to make and correct our mistakes. As much as we were prepared physically and mentally , we were also psyched to control our emotions.

Next day was designated for sea session. At first I felt anxious but during the actual dive we were guided perfectly to overcome our fears and push our limits safely. Sidetrip to Pescador Island was also one of the highlights.

Ultimately, the diving program was clear with everyone but little do we know Wolfgang was carefully taking mental notes on how to improve our skills. This I noticed with each comments he made to each of us.

I could say million more of compliments but the review space has a limit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
1 review
“Freediving course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

very nice and proffesional instructor. highly recommended. Wolfgang takes time to teach each student very well. lloking forward to take the advanced course.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very solid and profound Freedive-Teacher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had the honor to take a open water class with Wolfgang in November 2012.
Without any prior knowledge i started the relaxed course with three other students. The small group helped well to concentrate on the theory and Wolfgang had enough time to take care of everybody's personal experience level. After half day of theory we went into the pool and started the first breath hold trainings underwater. In the afternoon we already started the first open water session.

A nice bonus in Wolfgangs courses is the environment. All takes place in the very relaxed environment of Club Serena on White Beach in Moalboal. It's got two pools (in case one is full, one can switch to another) and it got an amazing house reef. In fact i have to say, the reef is coral wise among the top two for me on Cebu Island (the other one would be Nalusuan Island). The reef starts nicely shallow (if your partner is not a freediver, it's perfect for snorcling) and then falls off very quick to 30-40m. A bit further out (all well doable for swimming) you get even to 60m and more.

Depending on wind direction (waves) Wolfgang sometimes switches to another side of Moalboal for his deep-diving sessions. In a cozy bay with no waves at almost all times, you get to depth of 60+ meters.

Wolfgang as a teacher is very very experienced. His 10+ years in the field made him a veteran for freediving, but his modest character spares one all the bragging about "the good old times" or "the awesome things we did"... He teaches very calm and if he see that one doesn't grab it in the first time, he patiently tries another way with the same student.

The only little drawback might be that Wolfgangs classes are not associated with any of the big freedive associations like SSI or AIDA. When i made the course, i thought i only want to learn how it works, so i didn't care about the license. But now, especially, after travelling and always dive with different buddies at different places, i think it would be good to have a license handy. However, the good thing is that Wolfgangs classes come much cheaper than an AIDA or SSI class. And in the end EVERYBODY within the AIDA or SSI board knows Wolfgang personally and they all recognize the "Wolfgang license". So, if you are not so keen on winning competitions and you just want to learn first, Wolfgang may be your best option.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang D, Owner at Freediving Philippines, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Good News! We are now also offering AIDA courses with international recognized certification!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freediving Philippines also viewed

Moalboal, Cebu Island
Moalboal, Cebu Island
 

Been to Freediving Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freediving Philippines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.