We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, Relaxing and Personal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot White Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moalboal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot White Beach Resort
Save
You added Barefoot White Beach Resort to your Saves list
White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Intimate, Relaxing and Personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Barefoot White Beach Resort was an ideal place for my wife and I to spend our 1st Anniversary together! The Honeymoon Suite is right on the beach and very relaxing and intimate and the prices are very reasonable and affordable.

I was very pleased that the weather cooperated and was pleasant and that Moalboal, in general, seems to be void of mosquitoes!?!

The Honeymoon Suite, itself, is wonderful. It features a grass-roofed dining cabana out front, a combination kitchen/living room area, a bedroom in the back complete with a romantic canopy bed, and both an indoor and outdoor shower.

The resort itself is a little unusual in that it is very narrow - not much wider than The Honeymoon Suite itself - and The Honeymoon Suite is the only room/suite/cottage with direct beach access. All other patrons of the resort access the beach using a little path that runs adjacent to The Honeymoon Suite.

Getting to the resort was a little confusing, since the resort doesn't have it's own direct driveway. So it was a slight adventure trying to find it at first. It is just south of the Club Serena Resort, which is a nice thing anyway, as The Barefoot Beach Resort does not feature a restaurant or bar, and the Club Serena Resort is a surprisingly short walk up the beach.

Before traveling there, we had read articles online stating that is was possible the woman running the place would cook fresh fish dinners for us, but I didn't know quite what to expect or how that would work out. We were delighted with Avon (I hope I am spelling it correctly) and the young man helping her (his name escapes me, but I certainly will never forget him or his polite and helpful demeanor). The dinnner meals Avon cooked were fabulous - fresh grilled fish, a variety of shrimp dishes and her chop suey was the best we have ever had! (And we were greatly entertained by a few feral cats that seemed very attracted to our grilled fish!?!)

Avon would come to our suite, take our order for our choice of meal items and would do all the shopping required (even picking up a few other requested items, such as staples or things to make lunch with the following day) and would only charge us for the cost of the items - no surcharge for service or cooking.

There are some spartan aspects to Barefoot Beach resort, but overall our stay there was very warm, friendly, and relaxing because of the care and attention by Avon and her helper.

I hope my wife and I can stay there again in the future, and preferably on a regular basis, if we figure out how to afford the airfare!?!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is the best place to stay, as it is the only room right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in the villa, which has three double rooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, living room and a balcony. As we were travelling with a 1 year old, it was great to have our own kitchen, and it was easy to hire tricycles to Moalboal, where there is an excellent market. The villa is spacious and reasonably clean. The kitchen is fine but would benefit from an upgrade on utensils, crockery and appliances. That said, the staff were extremely helpful, including in getting us things that were missing from the kitchen. The area is beautiful and peaceful. Club Serena next door has a good restaurant (including fantastic chocolate cake) and a trampoline in the garden, which the boy liked. We went to Kawasan Falls, snorkelling nearby where we saw lots of turtles, and to Parangsay beach, which were all excellent after own activities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaue, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My friends visited Last October 2011 after the storm...hahaha..There were no guests at that time obviously because of the weather condition.Anyway, We had great value of our stay because the caretaker took care of our needs superbly!thanks to her..Since they don't have a restaurant they offered us free cook of our meals but they will have to buy in the market. We just gave lists to buy and what to cook..And hurrah! the soup fish was really very delicious.,We had a sumptuos dinner which includes calamares,shrimps, grilled fish and soup..
Barefoot is basically just an ordinary place to stay as there are no amenities like swimming pool,restaurant, it's 5mins walk to the sandbar of Basdaku,the entrance is really rocky.But the whole place once you reach there is comfortable enough especially for those travellers who want to get a good value of rooms..not so pricey unlike the other hotels and lodges around the area.It's fairly clean..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The beach is very nice and good for swimming and snorkeling.
There is unfortunately no restaurant neither breakfast which is not making life easy (you have to buy, decide the day before...).
However, the staff is deploying loads of efforts to help the guests and compensate the missing services.
We cannot say it is dirty but it is not very clean also.

In a nutshell, many services missing but staff compensate a lot

Room Tip: Make sure you get cash before going in this area Very nice place for bike renting and riding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

with the price they offered, you really can't expect too much from there. the room is basic (may be not too clean) but the location was great (less than a minute walk to white sand beach)

the staff were very helpful and friendly. meals could be prepared by them.

i think they can charge a lot more by renovating the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quezon city
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

It was all our first time to go to Moalboal and we had no idea where to stay. We were looking for a decent place but is affordable. Good thing the tricycle driver drove us all the way to the area and we were able to find this great place. I love how everything is white and looks clean. The beach area is not as good as other places i've been but the water is definitely clean. The staff were incredibly courteous and helpful even offering to buy our food at the market and cook for us. They are great cooks! We completely love the dishes they prepared. A great value for money.

Room Tip: The staff that attended to us was very helpful and flexible on the rooms that we require. Be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in the deluxe room with kitchen.
You can't drive up to the resort because the only access from the road is on a footpath wide enough for only a motorbike so in case you have tonnes of luggage, you've been warned. Check in was quick, they can offer you service where you give them money and then they'll go to the market and cook your food for you for x number of meals during your stay. The food was pretty good and for 1000 pesos for 2 we had breakfast and dinner made for us daily during our stay.

The room itself was cleaned daily so no problems with the cleanliness. No roaches, ants, spiders, rats... there are mosquitoes though but you're in a tropical country so the're everywhere! The beds had 2-3" of foam on top of plywood on a bamboo bed frame (native style) which was comfortable enough. TV had basic cable channels like HBO, NatGeo, etc so you'll have something to watch if you're so inclined. The two twin beds had 2 pillows each so I was happy :)

The owner replied promptly to emails and made it a breeze to book. The beach outside is white sand (hence the beach being called White Sand, as opposed to Pinagsama where all the dive shops are which is rocky) so if you want to catch some rays, just go out, plop down and bake in the sun. This end of the beach is secluded enough so there isn't much foot traffic aside from the vendors so you'll most likely have the beach to yourself most of the time.

I'll try the other, fancier resort a few doors away but for the budget conscious this is the best bet.

Transportation tip: If you want the most direct route from Mactan airport to the resort, look up Daijobu rent a car which provides you with car hire with your own driver to get to and from Moalboal. Don't be shy in asking him to pull over along the way, as you'll need to stop by somewhere to buy your own water, pork rinds (the heart attack in a bag kind found in Carcar) or any other items you'll need because white beach is far from the town itself.

Room Tip: If you want your door to open out to the beach, get the Honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot White Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot White Beach Resort

Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Barefoot White Beach Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot White Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.