We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can highly recommend Mayas native garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayas Native Garden

Save Saved
You added Mayas Native Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayas Native Garden
Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Karlstad, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can highly recommend Mayas native garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for two weeks in an aircon cottage with my girlfriend, very nice cabins for a good price. Like that every cottage stands on its own so you do not live "side by side" as in many other resorts. The food is good and all of the staff really nice, frendly and always offers you good service. But i missed the sweet and friendly bartender/waitress Princess this time, she had a vaccation. This is very nice and relaxing place for you to stay on your vacation.

Maya is close to great diving, snorkeling, and just 10 yards from Tipolo who offering various excursions such as biking, hiking, rock climbing. And if you go like 50 yards you will be at the beach who offer great snorkling and a amazing sunset over Negros every night.

Hope u will enjoy your stay at Mayas and Panagsama Beach...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review
We are glad you found the essence of Mayas Native Garden, we want to let guest have privacy in nice surrounding, with good food and staff to give you a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
20
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in the Native Fan Cottage for 5 nights, had a good time the cottage is basic but clean. the staff are helpful, the food is good and of a large size. Lita who cleans the rooms and outside area does a great job ans is also very helpful with anything you need to know. They could use a few more hooks in the room as there is no place to hang clothes also a fan on the outside area where you sit would be great as you spend most of your time on it when your at the cottage and it does get hot
. we had a nice relaxing time there, Moalboal is about 6 klms from the cottage cost is 70 Pecos and there not much to do once in there

Room Tip: take some games to play as there is on tv or radio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for the review
We have good staff and Lita is one of them, We are happy that you like Mayas Native Garden and we have noted your suggestion about hangers in the cottage, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN FRANCISO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

very inexpensive for the cottage with no a/c. not good if its really hot out or you absolutely need a/c or tv. nice for couple that are on a budget and enjoy spending time together. not much else to say except you should really plan to snorkel or dive the reef right off the beach. one of the best beach reefs i seen around the world

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review
True that guest should definitely go snorkel if not diving on our excellent house reef. The Fan cottage can be hot, especially around may, june, juli, but then we have our cool and newly build Eco Aircon Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked to stay at the "native house". When we arrived the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

However, when we were showed to the house, the first thing I noticed was all the trash under the house - glass bottles, food, crisps, 2 full size fridges - all underneath our house!

Inisde the house, it had not been cleaned properly, there were empty water bottles and lots of grease in the kitchen area. On the website it said the house would have TV - the picture worked but there was no sound. When we asked about this we were told the sound was broken, but not offered a fix or any discount on the room. There was no hammock as described on the website. The 'marvellous sea-view' is far-fetched, you can just about catch a glimpse of the sea from the top floor.

I was really upset and disappointed. We saved a long time to go on this holiday and felt really let down. We had booked for a week but managed to cancel after 3 nights as we were so unhappy. We paid the 3 nights but feel that the house was hugely overpriced and we should have been offered discount.

The final straw was when there were cockroaches running around near the filthy stove, okay so you get cockroaches in hot climates but it is no wonder when the kitchen is full of grease and dirt. We couldn't cook here ourselves as it was too dirty.

If the owner is reading this, please consider refunding our money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good to hear that you felt our service is friendly and welcoming.

It sounds as some things was not okay, for which we are sorry to hear, however we would have loved to hear about it so we could have addressed the issue. If its was an general dissapoinment, we would have been happy to refund your deposit. Mostly our guest is very happy with the Native House as we hear from our guests and can see on our reviews.
I think most guests that have seen the Mountain view from the Native House will agree that it is Marvellous and like you say can glimps the sea :-)
The Native house as descriped is a perfect cottage for the family with kids, it has space and many bed spaces and room for the family or group of people to stay together.

Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

3 nights in the brand new "Eco-Aircon-Cottage" in the back of the calm and lovely arranged garden of Mayas Native Garden. After 4 weeks travelling on the Philippines and a couple of experiences, this is a very good relation between price and what you get for.
That counts also for the food which is served. F.e. the biggest Tuna-Sandwich on the Philippines for a good price - excellent :-)
The Description for the rooms is 100 % to what is written on the Homepage.
Very friendly and service-oriented stuff. Also one of the best treatments we got on the Philippines.

A short note to the owner: if there would be some candles, torches or something with small open fires arranged in the garden or around the resto-area, the atmosphere could be upgraded in a very simple but effective way. To pull some more people inside the restaurant especially in the evening. It would fit perfectly to the very nice garden. ;-)

We would go there again in every case and can highly recommend this place for a stay.
Keep going and never lean back to keep this place a little jewel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for your review Serienchillo.
Nice to hear your enjoyed your stay and our new Eco Cottage. It´s a very good idea to "light" up the garden, we will put this into our planning for our improvement of Mayas. We are looking forward to see you again in Mayas Native Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This cute place just one minute from the waterfront consists of 5 cute wooden huts and a nice open restaurant around a very nice green palm garden. The team around Princess, Rose and Chris is just great, beeing very cheerfull,supporting, laughing and singing along while they work :-) we felt absolutely happy over there and can recommend this hotel and the whole Panagsama beach to everybody totally.

We stayed in the native house, which has an aircon in the sleeping room and is very spacous. The aircon cottage and even the smaller fan cottage probably are sufficient as well. Actually there are places around wich are a bit cheaper,some of them even having seaview. But we never ever regrettet one cent.

The food is great,too,absolutely fair priced as well. There is not a great beach nearby, but you have smaller beaches and wateraccess wherever you are. Diving is good and great value,around 6 or 7 diveshops around. Very laidback atmosphere,go to the disco on Satudays just next door, its good fun.


Bring enough cash since there is no cashpoint nearby at all! The closest is half an hour walk - and it doesnt work most of the time!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in aircon cottage. Staff is very friendly, rooms are very basic but clean. Patio furniture uncomfortable. Our room the shower floor floods when showering due to uneven floor, but staff was happy to mop up. No TV but good Internet in room. For same price we moved to better room around the corner on water that had cable TV. I think the rooms are over priced for being so basic and not on the water. Food we had was just tolerable nothing great but good food is a challenge in PI.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review

We are happy to say we have renovated our aircon cottage so we dont have a problem with the level and water in the bathroom. Surely we dont have TV as there is so many things to do around.
Good that you found a place that suited your needs.
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayas Native Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayas Native Garden

Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayas Native Garden, is located on Panagsama Beach. Panagsama Beach is an old fishing village, which has become a divers paradise, with the discovery of Pescador Island, Tongo Point and other superb dive spots. The village has developed into a laidback heaven for divers, backpackers, adventurists, sun & cocktail tourists, expats as well as eco tourists. This diverse composition of tourist together with the warm and friendly Cebuanos (inhabitants of Cebu Island), makes Panagsama a unique place to spend your holiday, leave or weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mayas Native Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayas Native Garden Moalboal, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayas Native Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.