We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quit & Peaceful Resort / "feels like home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asian-Belgian Dive Resort

Save Saved
You added Asian-Belgian Dive Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Saavedra, Moalboal, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quit & Peaceful Resort / "feels like home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed two weeks in this great family-style resort and really enjoyed the time. Daniel is very friendly and helps out anytime - he also has some tips on activities around moalboal and is a great dive Instructor.

The staff is amazing and was so nice and helpful - the restaurant has some asian and european dishes and we liked especially: potato salad, Hamburger, Pancit Canton, grilled fish and pineapple/mango shakes and of course the great mango jam in the morning!

This place is right for you if you looking for the following:
- quiet and relaxing resort with a family-feel to it
- a nice reef for snorkelling/diving just in front of the resort
- a place to look for dolphins with the resort's boat
- a place to try diving or take a PADI course or just some dives (Wreck, Pescador Island...)
- nice and simple cottage rooms (fan or aircon)
- a 5minute walk to the nice white beach

We are already considering coming back to the asian-belgian next year ;-)

Thanks to Daniel and the staff!!

Enjoy your stay.
Johannes&Julia

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
33
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Very recommended for diving . Took the PADI open water diving course in an excellent environment; and in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, with good food. There is also excellent snorkeling on the house-reef as well.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010 via mobile

Belgian owner Daniel and his staff are really friendly and the whole atmosphere is really relaxed. The food is varied and freshly cooked by Tili. Apart from diving, we went snorkelling on the beautiful coral reef which is literally down the steps and into the sea. I was thrilled to see sea turtles just thirty metres from the shore. We also went out to the nearby Pescador Island, taken by Michael and Samuel - also fantastic for snorkelling or diving. On our way, we were greeted by around fifty dolphins, who put on a great jumping show for us. The free wifi speed is pretty good for the philippines - I was even able to watch streaming BBC news while other people were also on their laptops. Within easy walking distance is the small village of Saavedra which we visited on a fiesta night. There are only six rooms - all ensuite so would be a good idea to phone ahead if you are a group.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I like the location of the beach resort, its away from the noisy crowd and its a beach resort you can call "your own". Very hospitable and I like their homemade mango jam. We did scuba diving with my husband and it was an exciting experience. It was great swimming with the turtles and shields of sardines. It was a beautiful experience. Too bad we forgot to bring the camera.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Very quiet place to stay. Great for scuba diving, Dan is a great instructor. You can relax in peace, Great staff, excellent cook. Note this isn't a hoilday inn or Marriott or 5 star resort.. It a scuba dive resort.. Going back again to get a different lic. next yr.. One of the best instructors i've ran into.. Resort had a new section being built well i was there..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Asian Belgian Resort is a family style resort. The owner and his team are really friendly and helpfull. The rooms in "native" style are basic but spacious, clean and the air conditionning works well. The prices are low and the resort is great value for your money. The view is magnificient and it is a pleasure to start the day watching the sea from the restaurant while having breakfast either continental or american. The food is good and you will enjoy the homemade bread. The reef, just 30 meters in front of the resort, is awesome for snorkling. There is also a diving center where I did my Open Water PADI with my 2 children (15 and 17 years old). Daniel, the owner and instructor, is very experienced and I felt confident and safe with him. I recommend this resort without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days in July 2010.The resort has good location for travelers of all kinds especially for divers. Only 15 min. by boat to Pescador Island- the most popular dive spot in Moalboal! Our room was spacious and cosy (native-style) with clean bathroom. No TV and loud pop music instead of that you can enjoy captivating views of Negros Island across the Tanon Strait. This is the right place for those who want to relax and dive. The food was delicious I’ll never forget pancakes with mango-home made jam! The house reef is just right next to the resort’s shore and it’s very convenient for novice divers.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Asian-Belgian Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian-Belgian Dive Resort

Address: Saavedra, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty lodging in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asian-Belgian Dive Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small dive-resort plus restaurant at the sea front, next to White Beach. Amazing for diving & snorkeling. Kayaks are for free. Just relax, swim, dive, snorkel and enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Asian-Belgian Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian-Belgian Dive Hotel Moalboal
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian-Belgian Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.