We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipolo Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tipolo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tipolo Beach Resort
Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A Brilliant time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Tipolo Beach resort is a place where you are taken care of.
Adrenaline filled activities, delicious food, Comfortable accommodation right by the beach - sunset in view, cooling sea breeze and the soothing sound of waves.
The activities are a refreshing contrast of adrenaline mixed with beautiful nature as you find yourself hanging on to rocks - with water splashing on you - having an experience which will spark envy to your friends.
Do Pay your visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
35
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

we wanted to stay 6 nights and checked our after one! the fan in the room was broken,the aircon is full of mold and blows very bad smell. the fridge is rotten. the pressure of the shower is ridiculous. hot water is practically nonexistent! the towels provided are the cheapest you can get and drying yourself with them is nearly impossible! no mosquito net on the windows nor on the bed although the place is full with mosquitos! what was the cherry on the cake was the staff! incredibly rude and very rough. especially the restaurant girl called joana. she was on charge of whatever. the kitchen staff was ignorant and rude. be prepared to wait a very looooooooooooooooong for a coffee. let alone your food!
the food is overpriced and mediocre at most!the wood oven pizza was the biggest flop!same goes for their seafood offers! the only thing delicious was the mango lassi.
when i wanted to ask for the menu to have a look for deserts the girl joana yelled from the desk to our table on the other side if i wanted something. i didnt want to scream back through the tables of the restaurant what i wanted. as a courtesy to everyone else, so i didnt say anything. usually if you wave your hand or say excuse me, the waiter or waitress would come to your table. not this one. well finally after another round of silence she came and took my order but i had to wait for a very long time for my desert to come!
our friends who had stayed there as well but couldnt change as they had already paid the full amount in advance had the same issues with the staff. they stopped eating there as well.
the owner couldnt care less. he didnt bother at all and wasnt interested in his staff at all. this place lives from his reputation in lonely planet.
cant recommend this overpriced and unfriendly place and restaurant with its very rude staff !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipoloresort, Manager at Tipolo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
All our rooms were renovated and newly furnished last summer 2013. Not even 9 month ago. I cant understand your critics regarding on the old look of our rooms.

Sorry to read, that you did not like our services at the restaurant and will address the issue to our staff, whoever in general our waitresses are indeed friendly and caring. Most of our guest can agree with this and have no problem with the food or stuff behaviours at all.

It seems like you did not enjoy Moalboal vacation in general, as most of your review were very negative ( especially restaurants). Unlike many other guest around the world who come back every year to spend the holiday and enjoy the stay with all what Moalboal has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The place is beautiful, the rooms are clean and convenient, the fridge is always full of cold beer and the restaurant offers the best banana pancakes ever. If you are an active kind, there is a wide range of activities in the offer, like canyoning, river climbing etc., and a diveshop nearby. The owner is friendly and helpful and the staff are doing their best (trying at least). By local standards - five stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at Tipolo Beach Resort for four nights and it was a great way to end our 4 weeks in the Philippines. The resort rooms surround a lush jungle-like garden setting making for a nice, private, relaxing stay with hot water, clean rooms, a fridge stocked with drinks and aircon. (We may have been able to do without the aircon if the front windows had been screened.) The view of the ocean was beautiful and the sunsets were picturesque. The private access beach offered the best snorkeling we’ve ever experienced just steps away from our front door! The staff was helpful and professional and even arranged transportation for us to the airport (request “Toto” for a great driver!) We ordered a tuna pizza from the onsite restaurant which was cooked in their wood fire, brick oven and was fantastic. Wifi was not available in our room but worked great from the restaurant area. The free mineral water was a great perk and just another way Tipolo took care of their guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Ate here a couple of times within a 10 day stay along Panagsama Beach. Pizza's and baguette sandwiches are really good. Never missed out on a chance at a refreshing fruit shake each time. Wouldn't mind eating here more than once if I return to Moalboal again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at Tipolo for 5 nights while signed up for daily activities with Planet Action Adventure. We had an amazing time! The staff are lovely, the food is great and they have a variety of unique activities for the adventurous. The rooms are basic but comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome and loved the family-feel to the Tipolo & Moalboal in general. We would love to be back one day. Highly recommended for any kind of travellers - solo/couples/families.

P.S. Only annoyance was the wifi - it didn't work in the room except on our very last day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Simply excellent. The best meals I've had in the whole country and I'm filipina. Friendliest and yet professional service. Snorkelling at your door step without the hefty prices. I can't say enough praise for their adventure packages specially the tour guides who work so hard to make you enjoy yourself. This is a must destination in itsself if you are in Cebu. Dare I say that it is better than our stay in Badian island Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tipolo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipolo Beach Resort

Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tipolo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipolo Beach Hotel Moalboal
Tipolo Beach Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipolo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.