We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organized, clean, great pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marcosas Cottages Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marcosas Cottages Resort to your Saves list
Marcosas Cottages Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Basdiot | Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Utrecht, Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Well organized, clean, great pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Marcosas is under German management, and that certainly has its positive effects on the place. Everything is neat, well organized, clean, and the staff is always polite and helpful.

The rooms (bungalows) are large, come with good aircon, and a private bathroom with hot shower. The latter could be a bit hotter and have a bit more power, but these showers are electrically heated and often a bit underpowered wherever you stay.

The pool is probably the best in town, and at about 25 meters length impressively large. Around it are plenty of tanning beds, half of them in a shaded area next to the restaurant. The food and drink served are good, but on the expensive side compared to the rest of the town.

The location is near the southern end of the main strip, and slightly (less then 5 minutes walk) off the beach. With the bungalows set in a lush garden, this makes it a very pleasant and private location. If you are here to go diving, the Blue Abyss diving school is nextdoor and offers a variety of options for beginners and experienced divers.

Room Tip: There are different types of bungalows available, some with a kitchenette. Prices also vary among th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This place has potential. As others have noted it is clean and the rooms are decent. But we won't be going back because the management just wasn't pleasant. All the towels smell but they complained when they learned we had asked for two extra towels to take on the boat when we went diving. They complained when my wife asked to have the sheets changed. And when I asked if we could keep the room for an extra hour on the day we checked out (since the driver was coming at 1 and checkout is at noon) they wanted to charge us PhP100. I can certainly afford that but I object to the attitude. I also find it a bit odd to go to a seaside resort and find that nearly all of the rooms have neither a view of nor access to the sea. The associated dive operation is excellent (Blue Abyss) and they can arrange airport transportation for significantly less than Marcosas charges. For food, try The Little Corner. It is about a 10 minute walk down the road to right coming from the resort along the water. Ignore their menu and find out what seafood and vegetables they have available and then discuss how you want them cooked. Steamed lapu-lapu with green onions and ginger was fabulous, but they can also do grilled and fried. You can also have them go to the market to get things they don't have - we got some delicious clams this way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

We didn't want to leave when it was time to go. Would definately stay here again! Everything about the place is clean. We saw a couple of other pools that were filthy but not this one. It's cleaned frequently.
The staff working the restauraunt are amazing. So friendly and helpful and always give you a smile.
The whole place has a very nice vibe!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

the room was very spacious, clean white sheets on the big beds! (tv channels are almost non existent though) and not much option on the menu for vegetarians.nonetheless the place was clean, very relaxing! nice pool.i will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Overall, we loved this place: extremely clean (due to Swiss-German influence); super nice staff; incredible garden/foliage; very clean and great swimming pool; relatively quiet (always depends on the other people who are sharing the resort); great spa service.

The rooms, kitchen and grounds are super clean. You could eat off the floor of this place. The rooms are simple, but large and well maintained: air conditioned, TV, decent beds, small fridge (mini-bar), electric water heater, in-room safe, umbrella, night stand lights. The garden/foliage is so nice to sit in and read or contemplate. The swimming pool was maintained daily. I didn’t care so much that it was the largest we saw, but rather that it was the cleanest water we saw. The little water slide appeals to the younger (or more immature) clients. The resort is usually quiet, but guests from certain lands can be guaranteed to be noisy and nocturnal activities can be irksome if you don’t have the air conditioner turned on. The spa (noted on another review) is actually a branch of one in Cebu City. So you are getting a quality spa treatment, which by Philippine standards is costly, but is quite reasonable by most other wealthier countries’ standards. It is highly recommended- make reservations.

4 minor complaints: First, the area is still jungle-like and there are ants around. There is this particular tiny little black one that took a liking to one person in our party. They even joined that person in bed. Due to health concerns we couldn’t allow them to spray insecticide to prevent this. Keep it in mind if you have qualms about ants. Note that insecticide is sprayed almost daily to prevent this (if you are allergic).

Second, the price is reasonable for the cleanliness and the way the employees are treated, one of the reasons for our choice. But they do charge for the coffee/tea packets in the room. While I can understand mini-bar fees (beer is reasonably priced), the charges for coffee/tea are petty. That should be covered by the daily fee with a certain amount of coffee/tea per day per person per room. Nescafe 3-in-1 and Lipton are not really the highest quality, so…

Third, the cable TV is not so good. On holiday it’s nice to vegetate in front of mindlessness, but that’s really hard to do when oftentimes the channel doesn’t work and if it does it’s full of “snow” and very difficult to hear with awful sound quality. The few channels offered are decent enough for a relaxing holiday.

Fourth, while we truly love this place the hugest disappointment is the food. While we were less than impressed by almost all the food in this part of the Philippines (our first time there), this place was the bottom of the list for us. While the cleanliness should be emulated everywhere on the island, the taste needs to improve, the selection needs to be changed for non-Germanic vegetarians, and the prices need to be lowered. While we don’t want anyone to lose their jobs, we ate only twice in the two weeks we were there. The other reviewers also make note of this major problem. It’s the only reason we gave this place a 4 star review. (Our food reviews are separate entries)

Would we stay again? Definitely! The highlight has to be the wonderfully friendly staff who spend time talking with you and always make you feel welcome. Combine that with the cleanliness, the pool, the greenery, the spa on premises, and the serenity and you see that it’s a no-brainer.

Please note that a taxi from the airport there/back takes anywhere from 2.5 to 4 hours. Be prepared!

Room Tip: Simply try to stay away from noisy people from certain lands
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City, Philippines
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Each cottage is an individual separate structure with its own toilet and bath. Remember where you are though-- 4 hours drive away from Cebu City so you can consider yourself out in the rough.

The cottages are airconditioned and have ceiling fans too. Furniture is rattan and ok for the place, it fits nicely into the overall ambiance.

NO BIDET with the toilets which is pretty much par for the course for all European run resorts. This one is owned by a German so no bidet.

Nice pool, did not try the massage, good food, a bit pricey but again-- remember you are in a far flung location so everything has its transportation cost. All the other Filipino run resorts and restaurants are much much cheaper but not as nice. One gets what one pays for after all.

I paid Agada discounted which was 50% off so it was worth it overall. If I had to pay full price, I would not have stayed as I am from the Philippines and the provincial ambiance of the resort is something I've experienced many times before.

Overall -- worth it with the discount but at full price? Chose the lesser costing resorts and settle for what they have to offer is my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

this was my first time to maolboal and Marcosas Cottages Resort was definately the best choice in the area we stayed. a local eatery called "the last filling station" was the best place to eat in the area, it is very close to Marcosas and much better food than the resort. Marcosas has the nicest pool in the area and the room was very clean...especially considering this is the Philippines, not a place that usually has very clean rooms once you get into provinces like Moalboal...Marcosas is also close to planet action adventure, walking distance in fact...planet action adventure does the best tour of Kawasan Falls...a place I have been to multiple times but never had the quality tour done by Planet Action Adventure

Room Tip: ask for a sea side room, they only have 2 of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marcosas Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcosas Cottages Resort

Address: Basdiot | Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcosas Cottages Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marcosas Cottages Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcosas Cottages Hotel Moalboal
Marcosas Cottages Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcosas Cottages Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.