We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect oasis and bedinning to our holiday in Sicily” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmento la Rosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pedara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmento la Rosa
Save
You added Palmento la Rosa to your Saves list
Via Lorenzo Bolano 55, 95030 Pedara, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Pedara B&B and Inns
Southerners
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A perfect oasis and bedinning to our holiday in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Franz and Zora are perfect hosts, and have a fantastic house that you are able to share. Without doubt if you are staying there, you should book dinner as well, as the food and wine are of the highest quality, and the aperitif over the Pool table is a great way to relax at the beginning of a holiday
We flew into Trapani, being one of the first flights out of stanstead after the first volcanic ash incident. and having driven across to Pedara, enyoyed our first magnificent pistacchio icecream, while waiting for Franz to show us the the way to Palmento la Posa, as we would never have found it without him.
The rooms are a delight, although the shower pressure could be better. and breakfast is very relaxed, with an option of eating on the terrace, if the weather is fine. Being on the side of Etna, it is cooler in the evenings, which can be a relief from the heat lower down on the coast. This is a real jewel, and when we return to Sicily, this will be a definite on our list of things to do

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sicilia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Palmento La Rosa, relaxing in the sun on the beautiful terrace, discussing recipes with Franz & Zora in their herb garden and enjoying their excellent cuisine and wine! And I must come back in the winter times, when it is cold outside and we can spend time in the enormous living room, where wine was produced in the past and now you can find comfortable couches, a library and even a pool table!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Zora and Fanz's charming Hotel was the best place we had been in Sicily. It is a nice place, cosy rooms and very lovely and friendly hosts. We can only recommend to have dinner at Palmento la Rosa. We enjoyed the dinner at the big table with the other guests. They have also a good choice of regional wines.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We have a nice stay in Palmento di Rosa (Pedara) : Franz is one of the best cookers we have ever met. Zora is a very kind and nice woman, very welcoming and calm.
The place is very quiet and peaceful. Our room was very confortable and very weel decorated.

The house is very from the Etna so it's easy to go and climb it. I would add that the place is fresh because of the altitude (and we appreciate it because it was cooler than towns which are located close to the sea).

The things we like best were for sure the welcoming and kindness of Franz and Zora.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My partner & I thoroughly enjoyed our short but very memorable trip to Franz & Zora's Palmento la Rosa, their hospitality was wonderful & their guest house, simply beautiful. I would definitely recommend staying here. We decided to stay here as opposed to staying in Taomina since the hotels there looked quite average & extremely over priced. I am so glad we chose this option instead. Franz cooks for his guests on what seems like most nights & believe me, it's a meal not to be missed. Our first night's meal was the best of the whole trip (we stayed in Sicily for 10 days). We will definitely go back & you could even manage this in a long weekend. We started here before heading further south.
You can tell Franz & Zora really love running the guest house & they're always on hand to help be it with directions or suggesting a spot on Mt Etna which is not crowded with other tourists - Franz even came & collected us from the local town so we wouldn't get lost finding the guest house first time. If you're looking to stay in the Mt Etna, Cantania & Toamina area, you simply can't go wrong chosing Palmento La Rosa. Enjoy....!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmento la Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmento la Rosa

Address: Via Lorenzo Bolano 55, 95030 Pedara, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Pedara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pedara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmento La Rosa was built in 1791 and used as a wine press until a few years ago. Il Palmento La Rosa lies in the national park “Parco del Etna” at the foot of Mount Etna and is ideal as a base for exploring Sicily's southeast. Thanks to its high altitude of around 700m, you have an excellent view right to the Costa dei Ciclopi. The location guarantees a mild and pleasant climate even in the summer. Il Palmento’s terrace is surrounded by a Mediterranean garden with fruit trees, roses, cacti, palm trees and other indigenous plants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmento La Rosa Pedara, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmento la Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.