We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and new casa in very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Alma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matanzas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Alma
Save
You added Hostal Alma to your Saves list
Calle Milanes(83) No 29008 | Calle Milanes (83) No 29008 E/ Santa Teresa (290) Y Zaragosa (292), Matanzas 40100, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and new casa in very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We found this casa as one of few in Matanzas online and booked it in advance. The price was above the average, probably due to some charge to the website. There are two rooms in the casa, our had two double beds, two ventilators, air condition, tv and a minibar. The bathroom is not directly connected to the room, one has to go via the terrace. Mayra, the hosting lady, is however strongly money-orientated and after what we declined the breakfast (extra 5$/pp), she became disinterested in us

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Alma, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Google Translation
En Hostal Alma buscamos la felicidad de nuestros clientes por encima de cualquier beneficio monetario, es un pena que se hallan llevado una idea tan negativa sobre la calidad del servicio y el tratamiento, le aseguro que a partir de sus comentario se tomaran las medidas necesarias para que incidentes como este no vuelvan a suceder. Agradecemos su comentario y esperamos que regresen pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The room was big and comfortable. Our (private) bathroom was separate from the room itself, which was a minor inconvenience. Rooms are set back from the noisy road and so are fairly quiet.

The living and dining areas are huge and stunning. The terrace is nice too, and there are great views from the roof. The dining room looks out over the street and so can get a bit noisy during rush hour.

Diami (not Mayra) was there to greet us when we arrived, as well as the main meal preparer and server. She was very friendly and helpful in all ways.

Breakfast was top-notch. At dinner, we found both our shrimp and fish fillet were overcooked and didn't really like the sweet sauce. Maybe they overcook seafood either as a "better safe than sorry" tactic,or because other foreigners have asked for their seafood "well done" and they think that's how we like it...?

Mayra was helpful too, but obviously a no-nonsense businesswoman. We had a late-night flight and so wanted to stay until suppertime before checking out. Mayra said our room was already reserved for that day, but later made a deal for us to stay for a reduced rate. I suspect the claim of the reservation was a ruse, but to be fair, she could have had a last-minute reservation or walk-in, and her policy was in line with what almost any hotel would do.

Overall I would say this Casa is very professional and well managed and run.

Excellent location within a 10-minute walk of 90% of the 'sights' of Matanzas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Alma, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Google Translation
Ante todo agradecer su palabras sobre el trato recibido en Hostal Alma, con respecto al tema de la reservación, le comento que recibimos diariamente correos de varias agencias solicitándonos reservaciones en nuestras habitaciones, nunca intentamos embaucar a nuestros clientes para obtener más dinero. Esperamos que regrese pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The bedroom is ok, as well as the bathrooms and the space available. However, the owner, Mayra, was rude to us. We couldn't get useful informations or use the kitchen. She makes a division between the guests space and hers, so you have to stay in your own room. The worst part is that you don't get keys to the house, so she keeps asking at what time should we get home or leave in the morning, so she can be awake to open the door. At one point, we forgot to tell her that we would be leaving in the morning for a boat trip. There was a taxi waiting for us downstairs, we kept knocking at her door and she would'nt be awake for at least 10 minutes. We got really nervous about losing the taxi and the day trip we had already paid for... Finally she woke up with a really bad mood, complaining that we should have said something in the day before. I don't recommend it, at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Alma, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Google Translation
Hemos leído cuidadosamente su opinión y ante todo nos gustaría aclarar que Hostal Alma no es nada parecido a una prisión, nuestros clientes gozan de total libertad para ir y venir cuando quieran, simplemente intentamos saber si van a salir temprano en la mañana para poder tener todo listo con el objetivo de que no existan problemas para ellos, en Hostal Alma tenemos una gran preocupación por la seguridad de los clientes y sus pertenencia y no entregamos las llaves de la casa para evitar posibles incidentes negativos, pero siempre estamos al servicio de los clientes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very good beds, spacious room. The a/c did not make noise and you are able to sleep very well. Good and plentyfull breakfast. Fantastic stain glass windows in the house and good roof top view where you are able to see the sunset. The owner will give it all her best to accomodate your needs as best as possible.

Room Tip: both rooms as well as the beds in the rooms, my family had were very good. The ones that are outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Alma, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus palabras y nos alegra que se hallan sentido bien en Hostal Alma, solo comentarle que hemos agrado una nueva habitación, es decir ya contamos con 3 habitación, esperamos que muy pronto estén de regreso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spacious very comfy room - great bed! Very good hot showers. Good breakfast - need to ask for stuff! Main road can be noisy at times. Best to eat out - places are properly Cuban - v few tourists - try Cafe Athena, Rest Las Ruinas - v good value. Local stalls, windows, pay in pesos - incredible value! Taxi to Cuban Playa Coral 15cuc return, 20 km, decent beach and snorkelling / diving from beach to reef 50m from shore - 35 cuc / tank. Can be groups from Varadero hotels having a snorkelling experience - they have no reef there!

Room Tip: The one with 2 double beds in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Alma, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario tan positivo y la verdad es que la playa coral es una buena opción para bucear con tubo, esperamos poder contar nuevamente con su presencia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alma

Address: Calle Milanes(83) No 29008 | Calle Milanes (83) No 29008 E/ Santa Teresa (290) Y Zaragosa (292), Matanzas 40100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Matanzas
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Matanzas
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large colonial house a gem of IXX century architecture is preserved in excellent condition and is located in the heart of the city a few meters from the central park. In a privileged area of the city of Matanzas, surrounded by hotels, hostels, bars, coffee shops, restaurants, museums, churches, nightclubs, 100 meters from a medical clinic and pharmacy. A 40 km from the beautiful beach of Varadero and Havana ¨ Town 100 The majestic house with fabulous rooms and windows, has 6 rooms including three devoted to rent, also has a splendid terrace very comfortable to enjoy the Cuban sun or reading in Trombone and a second terrace higher up as plain where Enjoy an authentic and tasty daiquiri, mojito, Cuba Libre cocktail or just a native fruit of our Caribbean. • The magnificent air-conditioned spacious rooms with good lighting, air conditioning and private bathrooms with beautiful fans of the service provided with hot and cold water 24 hours, sound equipment, minibar, double and single beds are decorated with great taste. • Consists of other large rooms such as living room, parlor, bar, dining room and balconies that reflect the colonial architecture of the time • The great experience in the catering business owner has more than 10 years as of the first houses to open their doors to tourism, is a very hospitable and attentive to her guests who receive a tropical fruit juice or coffee Welcome Cuban • We offer services for breakfast, dinner, laundry, drinks in the minibar and bar, along with suggested guidelines to know the city or visit the resort of Varadero. • The family and the attractions of the house make a great popular choice for comfort, quality and individuality with your customers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Alma Cuba/Matanzas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.