We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Metanzas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel E Velasco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matanzas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel E Velasco
Save
You added Hotel E Velasco to your Saves list
Calle Contreras e/ Santa Teresa y Ayuntamiento, Matanzas 40100, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matanzas
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A gem in Metanzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This recently-refurbished hotel was lovely. Don't understand why they didn't put in an elevator -- so be prepared for stairs. Hotel is located across from the main square.
The bartender was great -- concocted beautiful cocktails. We ate dinner as a group. The food and service were good. Traffic is a problem, trucks and buses run right past the lobby, which opens onto the street.

Room Tip: Range from suites to very small rooms, but nice patio/deck at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Excellent small hotel a relic of the city of Matanzas. I visited this hotel often as a child back in the 1950's and now came back 3 times in the past year. The food is excellent and the most important part is the friendly profesional staff. The chef can make miracles for your table and the bartender an expert. Very comfortable and spotless across the beautiful Liberty Park. The perfect place to stay.
Will go back next April
Regards
Alejandro Lopez

Room Tip: There are 3 front suites with lots of confortable space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I normally stay at an all-inclusive hotel on the beach, but we love to visit the neighboring towns for a change of pace, and a more authentic experience. This January we were in downtown Matanzas at the central square and we saw that this hotel had just re-opened. Imagine our surprise to find the new hotel manager was our own Ibia from the Tuxpan hotel. She quite graciously gave the grand tour to our entire party. What a beautiful hotel! The lobby is just stunning. Some of the rooms overlook the central square. There is a nice patio on the upper floors. The dining hall has a ceiling about three stories high.

Unfortunately we could not stay for dinner, but we took the opportunity to take cocktails at the lobby bar, and were served the best Mojitos ever by our old friend José, again from the Tuxpan. Delicioso!

After, we visited the world-famous Museo Farmacéutico just around the corner. If you find yourself in downtown Matanzas, do not miss these two experiences.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Cuba is pretty hit or miss on both hotels and restaurants but Velasco was faultless on both counts as well as being friendly. Even if only passing through Matanzas (most of which is pretty run down), I would recommend dining here for a rare experience of the culinary finery you would normally only find in the touristy resorts in Cuba's south.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

This hotel had been closed for many years, and had just reopened after an extensive renovation. It now looks just as when it first opened in the 1920s. The hotel was built during the period of US sponsored rule in Cuba, and could best be described as "American Colonial", with high ceilings, marble pillars and an open internal courtyard, onto which all of the bedrooms adjoin. The rooms are also high-ceilinged, and somewhat on the basic side. They have the advantage of being surrounded by the bulk of the hotel made of solid stone, and therefore remain at a relatively constant temperature and are quiet.

We had just finished three weeks of back-packing, and decided we would splash-out on our last two nights in Cuba. The hotel is not cheap ($98 for a double, if I recall), but the staff were enthusiastic and welcoming; the food was of an extremely high standard; and the bar friendly and comprehensive.

The hotel is located on one of the main squares of Matanzas, and is fairly centrally located between the various sights. Matanzas itself is located at the head of a bay, and is surrounded by low hills. It is a pleasant, quiet city with enough sights to keep you amused for a few days. We chose it because it is within a modest taxi-drive of Havana airport - and we couldn't face spending our last nights in the bustle of Havana!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We visited Hotel Velasco while in Matanzas. The hotel has recently opened after major renovation work to return it to its original splender.
The lobby bar is large and cool with all original features. The barman, Orlando makes the perfect Daquiri, better than anything i have ever tasted. The beers arrived in little ice buckets to keep them cold. They also have a large selection of cakes and pastries made by the chef , which you can have with a coffee.
We decided to eat in the restaurant later in the day and they presented us with a large and varied menu. The food was very good and beautiful presented. There were 7 of us in total eating , all had a three course meal, several bottles of wine from a very good wine list, beers and cocktails. Our bill came to around £160......amazing !
The rooms are spacious with a sittng area as well as the bedroom.All with the usual modern amenities. Flat screen tv etc and modern bathrooms, unusual for a smaller Cuban hotel. Depnding on the room will depend on the view, but even the rooms with balconys overlooking the busy road and park were quiet due to the heavy wooden shutters you close instead of curtains.
Big thankyou to all the staff .We had such a wonderful time here and we are returning in November.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel E Velasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel E Velasco

Address: Calle Contreras e/ Santa Teresa y Ayuntamiento, Matanzas 40100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Matanzas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matanzas
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location facing Plaza de la Libertad (Liberty Square) in downtown Matanzas, our hotel is an architectural jewel of the early XX century. We exhibit a refined decoration and elegant furniture. We take pride on the details, privacy, familiarity and distinction, professional standards and a gourmet cuisine. SERVICES Bar: You will enjoy a wide selection of Cuban cocktails and a range of well known international cocktails. We also offer a variety of whiskies, gins, tequilas, brandies, cognacs, liqueurs and premium brand rums. Cafeteria: We have a menu specialized in sandwiches, We also sell a wide variety of cold beverages: sodas, milk shakes and natural fruit juices. Restaurant: The luxurious restaurant with an international gourmet cuisine offers the chance of enjoying delicious plates elaborated and finely decorated by our chefs. It is worth to mention that we have a very well stocked wine cellar with high quality wines from all over the world. Our coffee service identifies us in the city. Lodging: We have 13 standard rooms and 4 more spacious junior suites with view to the square. Both have cable TV, air conditioning, safe box. Private bathrooms with cold and hot water, hair dryer and amenities. Mini bar and telephone. You will enjoy wifi connection and a cybercafe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel E Velasco Cuba/Matanzas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel E Velasco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.