We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must be best place to stay in matanzas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Hostal Idael & Dania

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matanzas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Hostal Idael & Dania
Save
You added Casa Hostal Idael & Dania to your Saves list
Solis #24811 / Levante & Logia, | Playa, Matanzas, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ozoir la Ferriere, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“must be best place to stay in matanzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

just back from christmas week in Cuba 6 nights of which were in Matanzas at Idael and Dania's casa.all the excellent reviews are very true. the casa is very well situated about a 10 min walk along the seafront to the town centre (an authentic Cuban city,not too busy but with everything to offer in the way of eating places and clubs etc) in a friendly residential street. the casa itself is lovely, modern and clean with good bathrooms (hairdryer too), well furnished and comfortable bedrooms with a fridge that magically keeps restocking itself and a lovely garden of banana trees and rocking chairs scattered around the property.the outdoor dining area gives a tropical feeling to the delicious meals cooked by Dania with fresh produce, and in portions to satisfy even the biggest appetites - with a few caged parrots to talk to too! the weather was lovely and hot and so the aircon very much appreciated at night. Idael really is a top host - friendly and full of information to answer any questions and can take you on interesting tours (ours was in a Chevvy taxi, so Cuban!) or drop you off at places like Coral beach (great for snorkelling) or the Bellamar caves, which you can actually walk to as they're only 3kms up the road and is one of Cuba's mosy popular tourist spots (and surprisingly with a very cheap bar).
Whatever you need to buy Idael seems to have the supplier with the best prices - and the goods turn up on the breakfast table as you relax . he picked us up from the bus station and arranged for our transport back to havana airport, and we shared a fantastic traditional xmas dinner with the family and two other guests which ended up with dancing on the terrace (Idael, being a percussionist, always has the music on in the garden which adds to the Cuban experience). I've been to Cuba twice before and can honestly say this casa is the best I have ever stayed at. maybe not quite the cheapest but definately the best value. you get a lot more here for a little extra cost - well worth it. they are planning to add a pool soon too. we'll definately go back, so bye for now Idael and Dania, all the best, have a great 2014!

Room Tip: the blue room with the terrace with two rocking chairs overlooking the quiet street is great for ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
49
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our stay at Idael's and Danie's Casa was excellent. The hosts were very warm and helpful. Helped us arrange taxi's & tours. Great location to wander around, and a beautiful outdoor dining area. Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a fabulous time at this Casa. Idael and Dania were great hosts. The backyard and outdoor dining area is lovely, and the rooms were very clean. The food was also good - we were offered far more than we could possibly eat! We also did a trip to the Bay of Pigs with Idael. It was a lot of driving for what we saw, but we enjoyed ourselves. He has a great sense of humour, and kept us laughing. All in all, a great place!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our stay at Dania's and Idael's casa was very good! It was the last night of our two week trip through Cuba, and staying at Dania's and Idael's casa sure made it a wonderful last night. Arriving at the casa Dania and Idael made us feel more than welcome, their hospitality was amazing. We even got the choice for which room we'd preferred, we chose the front one with the balcony. Diner and breakfast at the casa were both so delicious! This casa surely gets our recommendation! Whenever you're considering to visit Matanzas, Cuba, definitely stay over at Dania's and Idael's casa! All the best, Dania and Idael! kind regards Ruben and Rebecca

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was one of the nicest casas we stayed in during our vacation in Cuba.

The house is really modern and on a high standard!
It does quite stand out from the other houses on the same street.
Idael told us it was built only a few years ago.
They have an excellent patio behind the house and fresh bananas growing in the garden.

We stayed in a nice room with a modern and clean bathroom.
It had all amenities you can ask for.
Only the mattress was a bit too soft for our taste, but that's not a big deal.

My personal favorite was the breakfast, which was easily the best breakfast in Cuba!
It was very rich with fresh fruits, eggs, cheese, delicious juice, great coffee etc etc.
The dinner was great too!

Our hosts were extremely friendly and speak very good English.
We learned quite a bit about life in Cuba while talking to them!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having just arrived in Cuba Dania picked us up direct from the airport and took us straight back to the casa. We only stayed the one night but we had nothing to fault, the room was very comfortable, the food was good and the hospitality superb. Dania was able to offer us plenty of advice and even arranged us a cab to catch our train to Havana. Very impressed and would recommend to anyone visiting this part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deagu, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was staying at Ideal and Dania's great hose during my trio in Cuba this summer. I really warmly recommend this place. First of all people, both Idael and Dania are amazing and you definitely feel amazing at their house. I got a great room with the little terrace on the roof overlooking banana leafs and huge avocados tree from their neighbor's yard. They have a really cute parrot which is really friendly to Idael :) I highly recommend to stay their place - amazing host, very clean and nice rooms, amazing breakfast with bananas growing at home :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Hostal Idael & Dania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hostal Idael & Dania

Address: Solis #24811 / Levante & Logia, | Playa, Matanzas, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Matanzas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Matanzas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.El Hostal Idael y Dania es el lugar perfecto para compartir en familia, pues sus propietarios son un matrimonio joven con dos ninos de 13 y 15 anos. El Hostal esta situado a solo escasos metros del area de playa y a 15 minutos caminando del centro de la ciudad y 5 minutos caminando desde la Estacion Central del VIAZUL. Solo 20 minutos en auto es el tiempo que necesita para llegar al afamado balneario de Varadero y 1 hora hasta la Ciudad de la Habana. Puede escoger entre las tres habitaciones climatizadas con banos independientes y terrazas; habilitadas con secadora de pelo, agua fria y caliente, TV, DVD, Aire Acondicionado, Ventilador, Nevera, Caja de Seguridad, Servicio de Internet; ademas tiene su piscina en un area natural con arboles frutales y un ranchon rustico donde se preparan desayunos y cenas con la intencion de satisfacer los mas exigentes paladares, ademas se brinda servicio de cocteleria cubana tradicional. Ofrecemos tambien clases de Espanol, Baile y Percusion Cubana de la mano del propietario que es un excelente musico profesional. Disponible ademas Servicio de Guia, excursiones, taxi, Renta de Auto o Moto y Recogida en Aeropuerto. Licencia # 34/05. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Hostal Idael & Dania Cuba/Matanzas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.