We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at the Maris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kipriotis Maris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kipriotis Maris to your Saves list
Kipriotis Maris
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Psalidi
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great week at the Maris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at Maris second week september 2012 , seen some bad reviews so wanted to post our experience. Stayed in suite over looking pool , room was clean and kept so, fridge was stocked with diff drinks and a fresh fruit skewer on arrival :) bathroom was clean and tidy balcony was big, and could see turkey. The food and drink for all inclusive was great , good variety and always enough. The cocktails at the Maris bar always went down well and bar staff were always busy and attentive (karn , erika) plenty of space for sunbathing and pool was never crowded. Had a great time and going back in May 2013 ,,, :) c u then

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
It really makes us happy to read you enjoyed spending your holidays with us and we are thankful for that. We are looking forward in seeing you again in one of our hotels.
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    77
    44
    22
    6
See reviews for
66
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Arrived at hotel around 3am which seems to be the norm. Check in quick and efficient and escorted to room by buggy. Room spacious and clean, if slightly dated, but no real issues there.
Disappointed not to to find some information in the room about the complex/restaurants/facilities etc.
Pool areas clean and well maintained, plenty of sun beds available.
Overall, I thought the food was actually very good. The buffet breakfast and lunch were always varied , and certainly not lukewarm or bland, as indeed was the buffet dinner. The themed restaurant nights were not so good, and the service was definately not with a smile!!!, but the food was still ok. Top marks to the chef(s) for inventiveness!!
I have never experienced an all inclusive where the bar closes at 11 pm before. Whats that all about!!, although fortunately most of the bar staff ignore this.
The Maris is about 30 mins walk to kos town, and there are frequent buses from outside the hotel, but it is a nice walk along the sea front and there are a couple of really nice beachside restaurants if you want a change.
This is a large complex in a good location.I have rated it as average, but I think it is better than average, but not as good as very good. Just about a 3 star. Having said that , we had an enjoyable holiday (travelzoo half price deal) and would certainly visit again, but only on a similar deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are precious to us, helping to improve our services.
In each room, we do have a 14 page room directory leaflet containing all standard information about outlets, operation times, services and telephone extensions among others. There is also a welcome letter, containing more information on what our guests may use in our hotels, where to get towels and many other things including the ones that you mention. In the rare event this leaflet is not there, our desk and our housekeeping staff could provide you with an extra one in no time.
Regarding our restaurant staff, we usually receive very good comments on the politeness and professionalism, therefore your comment surprises us.
As for the bar, it is a common practice by the majority of AI hotels to terminate the program at a specified time. However, bars remain open for guests who wish to get another drink, with a small charge. We would like to inform our valued guests that all cooperating tour operators & travel agent are aware of our full AI program and it is their own responsibility to inform guests.
However, Kipriotis Hotels give guests always the opportunity to further discuss their stay and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The first night we arrived there they say they could not find us on the system so got put in the Kipriotis Hippocrates a so called 3 star we,re for 2 nights we had no sleep has the cockerels on near by farms would start about 1pm but could not close the doors has there was no air con it had been switched off than we had a note put under the room door to go and see the reception in the morning, so that morning my hubby went down to see what was going on they told him we were been moved to the panarama but wait until 12pm as check in was then so when we got back to reception they told us there was no rooms available we will have to go to the Maris which is where we should have been but we got put in a junior room when we had booked a superior room but my now i was fed up and just wanted to enjoy my holiday we had wasted 4 days messing around. The food was not that bad in the Hippocrates it was reasonable hot this is there 3 star now when you go to the 4 star the food was horriable it was cold and the fruit had flys all over them nothing was covered up but the bar staff Monika, Hussein, Khan was brilliant and very good at there job.

Room Tip: The first night we arrived there they say they could not find us on the system so got put in the Kip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. All your comments have been brought under our attention and will be evaluated. However, please allow us to reset a few things. Some agencies promote our hotels as a Complex, however, in each travel voucher, the booked hotel and room type are clearly marked and your reservation was for Kipriotis Maris Suites. Our rating is not something we came up with but it is official and done by the authorities. The hotel being built on the countryside, it is normal to be surrounded by a variety of animals (sheeps, cows, cockerels etc), being part of local life.
Regarding the food, we refer you to the numerous other Tripadvisor comments praising our food and we truly believe that your description lacks accuracy: The food temperature is regulated and controlled as we apply the HACCP food safety standards. The containers are at 85 degrees. In a buffet we cannot keep the food at a very high temperature – piping hot, as it keeps cooking which deteriorates the taste and texture.
However, Kipriotis Hotels give guests always the opportunity to further discuss their stay and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We also have just come back from a 10 day vacation at the Kipriotis Maris and I have to say we were disappointed to say the least!

Our main gripe was the food - it was luke warm at best but needed spices or some form of seasoning in it, as it was very bland, although there was a good selection of dishes and salad, it was very repetitive.

The room was excellent and kept very clean by our maid - Despite their being some literature in the room stating that the safe was free, when I telephoned reception to find out how to re-set the code I was told that it would be 25 Euros for our stay.

Again our room was also hot at night, but we could not open our balcony door for air because of the cats that roam the site and the fact that we were on ground floor, we couldn't even keep a cold drink in the room for the night as our fridge didn't work and according to other guests, we weren't the only ones having this problem.

It wouldn't take a lot of change to make this hotel the 5* it is purported as being - Please Mr Manager - Keep the Air Conditioning on - Spice up the food a bit and vary the menu, but by ensuring that it is hot would go a long way towards attaining this standard.

The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive and we thought the pool area was excellent with plenty of sunbeds and cushions, although the beach area could do with a bit of a clean up to be honest as there were lots of leaves on the beach and for a 5* I would expect them to have been raked as they were down the road at the myriad of beach and bar venues.

Couldn't complain about the weather though that was brilliant - Special mention must go to Khan, Monica and Hussein at the bar, plus the morning chef from Pakistan (Nice Guy) who made the holiday.

Room Tip: Insist on a first floor room in case the air con is off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. All your comments have been brought under our attention and will be evaluated. However, please allow us to reset a few things. It is clearly advertised that safe deposit boxes are being offered free of charge for all Kipriotis Maris guests and we have never charged any guests for such usage. You can probably see that there is no other review mentioning this.
Apart from this, we are being surprised by your claim that our food was not being served hot enough, because there is a health and safety book, plus tour operator reps who are daily checking quality and food temperature. In addition to that, there is always a cooking station preparing food according to guest’s liking and this couldn’t have been cold. As for seasonings, those can be added afterwards for those who like them, but cannot be removed by guests who do not like spicy food. Therefore our food is being usually cooked almost natural and guest’s add salt and pepper according to their taste.
Regarding your comment about tour beach cleanliness, we would like to emphasize that being at the open sea, despite cleaning the beach every day, there is always some sea weed or other material brought by the wave.
Given the opportunity, we would like to thank you once more for all your comments. If required, we can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr for further discussion of your stay.
The Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just come back from a two week stay at the Maris Suites which when booked and payed for was charged 5* prices, but like most people we was misled and very disappointed. Thank God we took enough spending money as we had to travel into Kos town every day for a meal as the hotel food was appalling. On one day the choice was pork chop, belly pork, or a pork skewer. To have a drink with your meal in the restaurant was like drinking out of a milk bottle, the glasses were old thick and heavy, the alternative a plastic beaker. On one occasion a stray cat jumped up onto the table and started eating off of my plate - he soon ran away when he tasted the food! Of all the two weeks there I never saw the swimming pool being cleaned or maintained in anyway. The air conditioning was switched off after the second day of the holiday, even though the temperature was still extremely hot at night, we was then put on a waiting list for a fan which we didn't receive until the second week of the holiday. Thank God for the evenings where we visited the Panormama hotel which is 5* quality, the bar staff here were excellent. Glad to be home to have some decent food, will definitely not be returning to the Maris Suites ever again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is important for us and improvements are always being made when required. However, we find your comment about food exaggerates. Lunch, being served on buffet style, main courses usually consist of pork, beef, chicken and fish, as well as turkey or lamb. The offered side dishes vary, offering a choice between potatoes, rice, pasta, vegetables and of course many different fresh and mixed salads. No matter of being the end of season, the variety never got lower than a 5-star hotel should offer. As for the glasses, it is a typical, ordinary quality that we use and it’s the first time we face such a comment. The cat was an innocent intruder, lured by other guests that contrarily to our requests kept feeding it. This is not uncommon in open air restaurants and many of our clients would get really upset and displeased each time the staff did something to remove it.
Regarding your reservation, all travel vouchers about Panorama Complex have a clear note that states “Panorama Complex” and the room category-exact room type and building whether it is Panjorama itself, Maris or Hippocrates hotels. It’s a pity that people keep on commenting about this, without having checked their voucher prior to complaining. As for the Air Conditioning, besides the fact that this is common practice in seasonal hotels, it is communicated in advance to each one of our travel partners.
Taking the chance to thank you once again for your comments, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Arrived at our room in the Maris Suites at around 2.30 am after having been taken to the Hippocrates (as all arrivals for both hotels had to book in there). We were then transported to our room by buggy. There was a kettle and two cups with tea, coffee and sugar, but NO MILK. Rang reception who said "you have to get it from the restaurant", I mentioned the time of morning and explained it should already be in the fridge in the room. "No no you get it from the restaurant". We gave up that battle and went to bed.
The following day having been told we would see our hotel when we went out of our room we set off in an uphill direction and went into the hotel only to be told we were at the wrong one and had to go back down and wander around until we found the "Maris". I found breakfast and lunch that day to be of poor quality but the evening meal was ok. It went downhill from that point on. We had to ring reception everyday for 4 days as we had no hot water. There was no air conditioning in the room so had to ring for a fan. (which did arrive later that day). The electricity was off on one occasion and when the domestic "cleaned" our room it was mopped not swept and mopped and this left a lot of dirt on the floor, you could not walk around bare foot or you looked like you had joined the "blackfoot tribe".
The food was constantly cold or just aired and the variety was non existent on some days. Out of 6 options five of them were pork on one day. The remaining choice being over cooked grilled sardines complete with heads and tails. The choice on other days was minimal too. The hot water for tea in the dining room was warm. One day I found a live caterpillar in my salad. The bread was put out day after day until it was eaten and got drier as each day passed.
We booked expecting a five star holiday with table cloths and linen napkins in the evening. The cloths lasted just two days, they were replaced the following night by paper place mats, then all other nights we ate off bare formica tables. The reason the food variety was so poor we believe, was because the hotel was closing down three days after we left and when anything ran out it was not replaced. The drinks from the machines in the dining room got weaker and weaker as they tried to get the concentrate to last out. At the bar they eventually gave up to the machines and resorted to bottled soft drinks.There is a lot more I could mention about this hotel but it would take forever to list it all.
Wake up hotel management you are not a five star hotel and you never will be whilst you operate at this standard. We will not be returning to this hotel and would advise any one else not to waste their money.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. Despite your comments being precious, as a tool to improve some of our services, we truly believe that your remarks are exaggerating in such a rate that the review looses its credibility.
Coffee and tea making facilities are standard in Maris rooms and suites, however, milk is not and it surely cannot be found at 2:30am.
Opposite to the untruthful description on our rooms’ cleanliness, our rooms get thoroughly cleaned each and every day with their linen and towels changed with fresh ones also daily. The only occasion when we do not enter a room to clean it is when the “Do not disturb” sign is posted on the door. The majority of our guests (can be read in many other reviews) praise the cleaning services of all Kipriotis Hotels. As for the Air Conditioning, besides the fact that this is common practice in seasonal hotels, it is communicated in advance to each one of our travel partners.
We truly believe that your description about food lacks accuracy as its temperature is regulated and controlled as we apply the HACCP food safety standards. The containers are at 85 degrees. In a buffet we cannot keep the food at a very high temperature – piping hot, as it keeps cooking which deteriorates the taste and texture. We receive our bread daily at 0600 hrs from our own bakery. As for the variety, we follow a 10 day revolving buffet schedule and if this is not enough, our guests may use the Italian or Greek restaurants of our sister hotel Kipriotis Village.
As for the table clothes, on the theme nights we use place mats and for the international buffet on Sundays we use Tablecloths. The only place where a table is not set-up for breakfast lunch or dinner is our clearly marked “out of service sections” where however people sometimes go and sit.
The drinks we use in our bars are of standard industry quality. In case a guest requires premium brands, we do have them available for sale. Closing a hotel would not affect the quality of food and beverage as we have 4 more that stay open and use the same raw materials. Concerning your claim on using bottled soft drinks, please be informed that due to an equipment failure we were unable on one single occasion to operate our post mix machine and reacted immediately by replacing the soft drinks with bottled ones. This was generally appreciated by our bar guests and we fail to see how this is bad.
Opinion and taste is personal to each individual. Our rating is not something we came up with but it is official and done by the authorities. As for the money of our guests we always keep in mind that anyone can decide to spend their hard earned money anywhere they choose, even without your benign suggestions
Taking the chance to thank you once again for your comments, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were on a bargain all inclusive deal booked via Travelzoo last May. We were given the Maris suites as an alternative to our booked hotel when ours closed early, so did not know what to expect, especially reading mixed reviews. We had a really good time with a week of blue skies and sunshine and would definitely consider going back. Kos is lovely and the hotel is in a good situation away from the main town, but easily accessible by frequent cheap buses, cycle track or by walking. Cars or bikes can be hired next to the hotel. The Maris is close to the beach and has its own sunbeds etc. We spent most mornings by the huge hotel pool as temperatures were 25 to 31 degrees. Included drinks were available from the bar from about 9a.m. until 11p.m. A leisurely lunch was followed by a bus ride or walk into Kos town. Single trips cost 1 euro 60 if bought on the bus. Kos town is very interesting, the castle is worth a visit and there are lots of ancient ruins to see around the town, as well as small shops and plenty of traditional restaurants. We only had drinks out but on a reasonable all inclusive deal you could afford to have one or two meals out if you wished.
The little dotto train will take you around the town or up to the main archealogical site. There are several boat trips or tours available if you want to visit other areas.
We found the room OK with a large balcony on the first floor. We brought in fresh milk and tea bags etc. from breakfast each day to replenish the meagre tea making facilities so it was not a problem. Tea and coffee can also be had at the pool bar all day and evening. There is a pre-stocked mini bar which is included and bottled water is replaced daily. Although we were overlooking the road, we did not have a problem with traffic. Maybe it is different in the height of the season, but in October things are quieter. Some reviews have mentioned that rooms on ground floors appear to be lower ground. The only thing I can see that might make the room seem dark is that the ground floor terraces have very low walls to give some privacy and security.
Everyone from Hippocrates and the Maris was eating in the Maris (buffet style) as it was the end of the season with fewer guests. The food was fine. There was plenty of choice with wine, beer and soft drinks on tap continually. Service was good and the staff were friendly. My only criticism of the food was that the food warmers were not always hot enough.
Be aware that air conditioning is switched off mid September. I do think the management need to consider extending this as most visitors who come in late season are from Northern Europe and find the room heat uncomfortable at night.
If you want hot sunshine in autumn in an area that is still unspoilt, I would definitely recommend Kos and the Maris.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road and sea have shady balconies, but in hot weather this can be a plus. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your warm review on Trip Advisor, describing your recent stay at the Kipriotis Maris Suites. It makes us happy to know you enjoyed your holidays and we find it quite nice that you have visited almost all archeological sites of the island, which are numerous.
We hope to see you again in one of our hotels for another memorable stay.
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kipriotis Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Maris

Address: PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Maris 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Separated from the pebbly beach, which is round 100m away, by the coast road alone. Approx. 3km to Kos town. Pure relax. Gastronomic variety. Spacious, comfortable rooms. Ultra All-Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Kipriotis Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Maris Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Maris
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Maris Kos/Psalidi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kipriotis Maris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.