We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big effort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aegean View Aqua Resort

Save Saved
You added Aegean View Aqua Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aegean View Aqua Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paradisi, Psalidi 85300 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Psalidi
Alimos, Greece
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Big effort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We've just got back for this hotel on our honeymoon. To start I would just like to say the rooms where spacious, clean an comfy! The food in both the la carte restaurant an the all inclusive dina was beautiful but as for the pop an alcohol, it was all flat and watered down!
The pools where mostly clean an the amount of food served at the pool bar throughout the day was excellent. One gent who worked through the day at the pool bar was so friendly and always like to make a little joke with guest an put a smile on your face. As for the women that worked there, well EVERYTHING was an effort... Constantly had faces to the floor and huffing!
Well where do I start with the reception staff... Only one word for them really, UNREAL!! I only ever dealt with two women throughout the holiday on reception an both was unprofessional and slack! Neither members sempt to know anything and loved to either waste your time or palm you off on to somebody else.

We booked onto the boat trip which on the website was described as "sunset BBQ"! We went down to reception to book on an they said we must pay €20 each (2 of us) an see our passports, This was booked for the Tuesday at 1pm. We had a letter left on our door step 6pm Monday night stating the weather was going to be to bad an was going to be brought forward to 9am the next morning! Meaning the trip was not going to be "sunset", fair enough it was for our own safety! So the next morning we was sat waiting to be picked up at reception when we started to realise that noone else was arriving... I went in an asked if the boat trip was still on and she turned around and rudely said "NO"! We never recieved any communication for this and our time was wasted waiting for something that was not going to happen! I explained that we wanted out €40 euros back if the trip was cancelled an she explained that we couldn't have any money back! I said that I would be having the money back as we where made to pay it to book on in the first place. She told us to go back at 12 after she spoke to her manager. We went back and still she had not sorted it and was ask to go back at 3!! We then went back and she explained that she could offer us 1 massage worth €20 instead of a refund!!! Now I don't know how it works in Greece but in England if u pay £40 for something u expect to get at least the equivalent back or more. They didn't understand this... After a lot of messing about and wasting our day we got our money back at 4! Now the weather never was bad an it wouldn't surprise me if they didn't even have a boat and was just trying to do everyone out of third money!

Also on the website it talks about them having their own farm an at reception is a board with free horse riding between 10-12! We enquired about this and the farms was miles away and we had the choice in going on 2 public buses or having a return taxi for €80!! No services was provided for this!

Don't get me wrong the hotel it's self was perfect, clean an worth the money but as far as the staff at reception are concernd, I think either major training is needed or a trip to job centre!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    82
    32
    29
    21
See reviews for
125
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Greek Islands have been our favourite destination since having children (8&2). We have been to different Greek Islands with our family. Never before, did we feel that we had to write a review and share our frustrating holiday experience with other families.
At first, we would like to start by thanking all the staff who deserve to be mentioned. In our view, it is because of these good people that this hotel, despite its extremely poor management, is still surviving.
Adonis, the restaurant manager was always genuinely polite and forthcoming.
Antonio, the Italian chef was always smiling despite the heat, and created simply the most delicious pizza.
Dana, Mary and their male colleague at the pool bar, were always friendly, helpful and fun.
Eric, who drives the guests within the hotel was also very helpful and polite at all times.
The cleaning ladies did a thorough job and were hard working.
The management, however, were simply the most unprofessional, unfriendly people and their attitude was despicable.
We also came across some unfriendly restaurant staff, some of whom would not even greet guests back. However, having learnt about how management treats them, we now believe their attitude represents their own unhappiness at that hotel.
On the 2nd night and after putting our kids to bed, we thought it was a dream come true when we finally had the opportunity to have an undisturbed swim in what appeared to be a private pool for up to 10 family apartments.
We were aware from all previous holidays that most hotels close their pools at 6pm, however, we had heard just the night before how some guests had been swimming and partied rather loudly in that pool at midnight. So we kept it quiet and enjoyed our "kids free" swim.
One of the hotel workers " Sakis", saw us swim, asked us to come out of the pool and since we were in the middle of the pool it took us a few minutes to swim back and come out. We were so disappointed to cut our nice swim short.
He took those few minutes as a reason to bring "back up"; the big, loud night manager "Yannis" or "John" as they call him. We have never met such an ill-behaved and discourteous person on any of our travels before. He shouted with the most rudest body language, when explaining that no guest should swim in the evenings, threatening to "throw us out of their hotel".
That, despite the fact that we made him aware there were no signs to be seen to say so and telling him what had happened the night before. They both left without a word of apology and we decided to stay calm as we had just arrived with our family, with the hope to have a nice&relaxing family holiday.
Just the night after, people were still swimming loudly and happily at around 10pm in one of the other pools.
Having had witnessed the manners of Yannis and Sakis, it left us to wonder, who is running this hotel? What are the rules and regulations and who do they apply to?
The next day we all went to the reception to ask about the poor internet / WiFi despite being told it would work. It never did unless you were in or close to the reception.
At the reception, we encountered 3 people, whom all had the most unfriendly, anti social behaviour. We could not believe to be experiencing such manners at a 4* hotel and we wondered then and still now, who and how this hotel was awarded this rank.
A man with glasses, who did not speak any English, looked miserable and unhappy at all times and when asked to provide us with a map and recommend us a sandy beach to go to, he just looked at us as if we were aliens and said in broken English to get a taxi and ask the driver as they would know.
Irene, who spoke English but was so impolite when asked a question that we simply avoided her.
Another female receptionist who did speak English but was very difficult to be approached. Her arrogance might have been a reflection of her lack of professionalism.
Having experienced the above, we decided to keep away from the reception, stayed in the hotel and made the best out of the 10days.
The kids entertainment, although mainly in Dutch, was still great fun for our kids. The entertainment for adults was hardly existent.
There were some hungry cats to keep all our kids occupied and they enjoyed the pools ( it appeared rather dirty on some days but mainly good). We also met a lovely family, who are also from London, and who shared with us their own disappointments with the management.
Nonetheless, we all decided to enjoy the food, enjoy the fact that our kids got on and to relax in the nice breeze and get a tan under the Greek sun; trying to forget the rest.
On the last day, finally, and after demanding to speak to the manager, we got to meet Joanna. It appeared she preferred to speak down to the guests, having said so, after she heard what had happened with Yannis and Sakis on the 2nd night, she apologised to us.
She also claimed that the pool incident was never brought to her attention which again speaks for the disorganised and unprofessional management of that hotel.
We advised her to have appropriate signs put up for health and safety reasons.

Overall, we could not wait to be back in the UK and we even treasured the rain.
Being threatened to be "thrown out" of a 4* hotel by a hotel employee, without a valid reason, upset us very much. We felt vulnerable having small children with us and never before did we leave a Greek island in such a hurry to get back home.
The food gets 5* from us. Despite its lack of variety one would expect in a 4* hotel, the quality was extremely good and many healthy options available.

We hope to help other families to choose their holiday wisely and please do read more about this hotel before booking. The brochure of this hotel may look great but does not necessarily represent the truth. Reviews of other families say so much more. We did not have the time to read any reviews and booked this destination as a last minute option. The management lacks communication skills, professional attitude and courtesy. We would not recommend this hotel and would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned from a great holiday at this resort. We arrived very late, after the restaurant had closed and asked if there was anywhere we could get something to eat. We were promptly accompanied to the restaurant and a lovely plate of food put in front of each of us.

The apartment was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. We were away from the main resort with just 8 apartments around one pool. Great, no jostling for sun beds. The only downside was that the walls were very thin and everything could be heard through them and we had been put next to some very loud Dutch girls who came back very late and very loud!

The restaurant team were fantastic, Adonis remembers each of his customers and treats you as if it's friends coming to dinner. So nice to see. The food was fantastic and a great choice. We went to the Taverna one evening and enjoyed it so much, we went back the following night. A lot less crowded.

Eric who drives the buggys is also a great guy and full of fun.

The only downside to this hotel is the lack of entertainment. There is a mini disco each evening and then supposed entertainment but on the evening we went, it was a pub quiz! All of this takes place away from the main hotel. I would have liked to have seen Greek dancing etc and I believe there is plenty of space for this near the pool bar. As it was, we spent a week of playing cards as there was little else to do. Especially given that there is also nothing in walking distance either.

We loved our stay, don't get me wrong but was glad it was only a week, I think the boredom would have really set in if we had stayed longer.

Thank you for a very relaxing holiday!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

6th fantastic stay at Aegean View thanks to Joanna and her hard working team. Our 6th holiday was the best yet as there improvements every time. The staff, in particular Addonis and his team, the boys at the bar and most of the other staff are have been very helpful with everything. The food has improved with all the fresh produce from the farm and the pizzas are excellent.
Only quibbles are the wi fi was only available intermittently and this is very frustrating as we use it all the time so this needs resolving. The entertainment is also very hit and miss and an effort to get there, and no toilets their either. The bar area needs something to create some atmosphere in the evenings.
Joanna is the most friendly , accommodating manager you could wish for and helped to make our stay at Aegean View the Best, so far as we hope to return next year. We made quite a few friends during our holiday who all loved the place as much as we do. Its not perfect but it is really very difficult not to enjoy the charms of Aegean View.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling with my 5 children which is hard enough but to arrive and be greeted by the most obnoxious receptionist irene and to be told I am the other side of the hotel to my mothering law who was helping me with the kids nightmare!!!! having requested we were close together which they denied it seems to be there policy. There was broken steps and tired looking rooms unfortunately we could not make a complaint as the manager is the daughter of the owner if you argue with her your out. Watch out for irene if you do complain she is a nasty bit of work and very two faced.
I could go on my only highlight to this holiday was the restaurant and its staff otherwise we would have left.
Do not believe a word on the hotel its very misleading.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Where do I start. The team of staff behind that desk were totally unprofessional, rude and completely unhelpful. It felt like we were just a hindrance to them. Trying to get a straight answer was like getting blood out of a stone, it was such a slow and painful process. I am completely shocked how they conduct business in this way, especially when they rate themselves as a 4 star. If you dig your heels in their sweet false smiles soon turn sour.

We were messed around when we first checked in. They informed us that they messed up the rooms or something to do with being overbooked. So before you knew it my husband and two small children along with my brother and his two teenagers were shipped off to another hotel for the night. We were told to return the next day after breakfast to a special room which they would make up along with some compensation by giving us free spa's and alcohol in the a-la-carte restaurant. Arrived back to be fobbed off hour after hour until our rooms were finally ready at 2pm. However, the two rooms were in different parts of the complex.

We were looking forward to seeing this special room they put together and they commented on how well we took the situation and how many people have shouted at them in the past, but we just took it in our stride and kept our frustration together. Finally got to our room, turned the key into the door and stood there in total disbelief, if this was there special room then I was seriously worried what the others looked like. Skirting missing off the wall, ants crawling above the bed, bath being held together with mastic. A staircase that looked like something that was a death trap! By this point we collapsed on the stain ridden sofa and stared at the cup of small fresh flowers they put in the room as a special treat for us!

We tried not to take this personally as it just seemed so unfair that we were put in this situation. It caused stress and upset so my husband had to try and put things right. We demanded another room which took it's time and in fairness it was a massive improvement to the previous one!

They offered us free use of the spa (which I never bothered with) along with free alcohol in the a-la-carte along with a free trip to their farm. We decided to take advantage of the a-la-carte and booked ourselves in twice. The first time we arrived was a nice meal and we enjoyed two bottles of chardonnay. The second time we went along throughout our 11 day stay, it was not the same atmosphere at all. This time they did not even bother to show us the drinks menu they just asked us what we wanted. When we mentioned the chardonnay they said, we don't have that. You will have to have the local greek house wine. When we left we were called over to sign for the drinks we had. Felt very uncomfortable by this and never returned again!

The boat trip which was supposed to be part of our inclusive programme but that was not to be. They said if we wanted to go on the boat we had to pay 20 euros per adult and 10 euros for the children. I told them why did we have to pay when I knew the Dutch people were given it for free! Anyway we put this to one side and decided to book. We had the misfortune of dealing with yet another incompetent individual behind the desk with terrible broken English. A man with glasses, and a miserable look on his face. He must be some relation to the owner because nobody in their right mind would have a person like this dealing with the general public. I am sorry to say my 5 year old could do a better job. He informed us he would put it in the diary for a particular day but we needed to get our passports, which is what we did, however, when we returned back down to reception we were told it was booked and we could not go on that sailing! I just looked at him with disbelief and looking for something he could do to put it right but he just shrug his shoulders and gave us a dirty look. No apology, just more bloody hassle as per usual !

My brother had to call 4 times for a club car to pick up his luggage when he was leaving. He informed them that he had a taxi booked at 6pm and he needed his luggage taking down. By the time the club car arrived it was 6:05pm and it took phone call after phone call with this silly man to instruct the driver to collect his stuff. In the end, I got on the phone to him to be told, to just wait it is coming! - Terrible once again!

Even booking our taxi home was more hassle they were trying to get another 5 euros out of us, they said it was a booking fee for the taxi's if we booked it a couple of hours before. I said, why? she said, because that's what they do. I said, how do we avoid paying the booking fee? she said, just book it half an hour before hand. Why didn't she just say that in the first place! Nothing comes easy with this lot.

On the positive side it has a beautiful setting but everything is set so far apart with steep hills. The food was good and the manager, Adonis was lovely, he should be in charge of reception he should show them a few tips on people skills. Eric the guy who drove the club car was always very helpful with a smile on his face always eager to help out. The cleaners were fantastic and you could see they worked really hard.

The entertainment is very poor. Really boring set up on a steep hill away from the main bar. Same old kids disco being run with people from the kids club which was all in Dutch. The shows they were supposed to put on after the disco never happened. Well I never saw any shows in all the time I was there, except for some broken glass trick. Very boring for adults and children at night, really disappointing!

I totally agree with the other family who recently commented on here. We met them the first day while waiting for our room and they looked completely deflated and fed up by the way they were treated. They told us about their experience and I felt sorry for them but we also wanted to judge for ourselves. Now I know how they feel.

We got an extension on our room but that was left to the last minute for them to make up their minds and it took a lot of confrontation to get it sorted. In there defense they finally handed it over to us til 6pm free of charge but even by doing this good deed, we just felt we couldn't bring ourselves to being appreciative because everything was so much hassle previously.

So all in all if you like a hotel which is set completely out from anything with barking dangerous dogs, rude reception staff, no entertainment, mainly Dutch (who are nice people in themselves) but there is the English barrier, then this is the hotel for you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Well what can I say about our two week 'holiday' at the Aegan View Aqua Resort in Kos, but never ever again!! This resort is family run which you would think would be lovely, but no, it is just chaos. There seems to be no organisation at all, rooms being overbooked all the time, people arriving and no rooms for them even though, like me, they booked well in advance, staff going on strike and we did not get fed, manager (daughter's owner) acting like a right Diva and screaming at guests and telling them she is throwing them out of the resort, the farm that they advertise on their website which you are led to believe is part of the resort is very clearly not, and then they have the cheek to make you pay to visit it, even though we are 'all inclusive'; the worst cheapest drinks I have ever tasted and most of all, the boredom, as this resort is in the middle of nowhere, up a mountain, there is no entertainment in the evening, nothing to do, you can't even go for a walk for fear of getting lost in the dark, in fact, if you are English, forget it as anything in this resort is aimed at the Dutch families.
I arrived with my two children at 11 pm only to be told that our room was not ready, I booked and paid for this holiday last year, how much time do they need? I had even paid extra and upgraded to 'sea view'. Eventually we were given a room, worst room ever, no sea view, in fact no view whatsoever! It was dark, dirty, bathroom full of mould, shower broken and bath panel full of silicone, nails and screws sticking out of woodwork in the veranda, tiles inside and out broken. The air condition, took forever to get going. In the morning, I went to reception to try and sort out a better room. When I got there, the manager was screaming at a young couple who had missed their plane and arrived at the resort late, and telling them that she had given their room away because they did not turn up on time and the resort was now fully booked. I felt so sorry for the poor lass who was crying her eyes out but the manager was oblivious to this and just carried on ranting at them telling them it was their fault for being late, what difference should that be if they had paid for their room? So, what chance of sorting out my room? I decided to just grin and bear it, at least we had a room and make the most of our stay here.
There is nothing on this resort apart from a little overpriced shop run by a stern looking women. It cost me a fortune on taxis to Kos town to entertain my children as apart from the swimming pool, which is lovely, there is nothing else to do.
Very disappointed with this resort, and I definitely would not recommend it to anyone. Absolute chaos!!

Room Tip: Do not go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aegean View Aqua Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean View Aqua Resort

Address: Paradisi, Psalidi 85300 , Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean View Aqua Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Aegean View Aqua Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean View Psalidi
Aegean View Hotel Psalidi
Aegean View Kos
Aegean View Aqua Resort Kos/Psalidi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegean View Aqua Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.