We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sun Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Palace Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Psalidi 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Psalidi
Ashkelon, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

great hotel! the stuff is very nice! the pool is big and the rooms are beautiful and big!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    64
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
53
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel room size was quite big with a balcony facing the mountainside/roadside, but it was still peaceful. Eleni and Margarita at the front desk were very helpful during the check in and the whole time we stayed there. It's located in the quiet area of Psalidi, approximately 10 mins bus ride from Kos Town. Buses are usually on time and the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. It's safe to walk around or even take a bike on the bike lane. The beachfront though was not really in front of the hotel, you had to walk some ways to get there but they had a nice swimming pool with a lot of activities for the kids. The rooms were cleaned daily however you had to ask for toiletries to be replenished. WiFi connection was on and off...more off time though. but if you're there for a quiet vacation then having no wifi connection shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The hotel room was really nice, food and drink was also nice. The bar staff and dining staff go out of there way to make you feel welcome. The only down side to our holiday was the fact that not many english people stay at this hotel lots of germans and italians.
The location of the hotel was in a quiet area it was to far to walk to kos town, however there is a bus stop outside the hotel or a taxi will cost 10 euros. The hotel beach is not very good lots of pebbles however you can get a bus to tingaki beach which was beautiful.Also a must see is therma beach which is a 10 minute bus ride from the hotel.
I would return to this hotel but only as a large group holiday as we found that none of the other guests seemed interested in talking to english people

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just returned from Sun Palace, Kos, eight of us ranging in ages from 2 to 60, the hotel is very clean and the staff really friendly, especially the restaurant staff and the bar staff, we arrived in the middle of the night and were greeted by a really helpful receptionist who made sure check in was quick so the children could get to bed. The rooms were cleaned daily and the hotel and grounds were spotless. Food was good we never failed to find something tasty to eat. The downsides are firstly mosquitos, so make sure to use repellant in the evenings especially, we had quite a few bites between us, thankfully the children didn't! secondly the entertainment was rubbish, although the entertainment staff were friendly all the shows were in Italian, to cater for the majority of guests, there were only three more British families staying there, loads of eastern europeans who couldn't understand the Italians either. The beach is a good fifteen minute walk away, and is not sandy, really big pebbles which makes it difficult to get into the sea without wearing footwear of some sort. After saying all that we had a really great time not a cloud in the sky for two weeks, plenty of sunbeds, but do take towels as they are not supplied here. Nothing to do with the hotel, but beware especially if you have small children, the airport is a nightmare, queueing outside as it's small and really hot and stuffy, so keep that in mind. All in all a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a room either in the main building or rooms 101 - 110 all facing the garden and with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrozavodsk, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have just come back home from Greece with my boyfriend. We are from Russia. We had been there for 6 days. Generally Sun palace hotel is a good place to stay. But if you prefer a quiet rest, you shouldn`t go to this hotel, because there are a lot of families with little children in Sun Palace :-)!!!

Firstly I would like to mention some positive moments of our trip.
- The area of the hotel and the hotel itself is rather clen. We liked our room a lot. It was cleaned every day. The air-conditioner saved us from hot days.
- Swimming pool is great!
- Greece is a very beautiful country with its picturesque nature. The Aegean sea is very beautiful, blue and CLEAN!
- The staff was rather friendly.
- In general, food was rather good and tasty. Most of all I liked spaghetti (it was done by a professional cook), some kinds of meat (beef, chicken meat), fried potato, cakes!!!!!!!! Beer, pineapple juice were very good!
- I liked the climate of Greece. It was rather hot, but thanks to the wind it was easier to sunbathe, go for a walk and go in for sports!!!!!!!!

Now I would like to write about the negative things.
- The animation was mostly concentrated on italians. To my mind the animation team wasn`t very friendly towards russian tourists. As for me I like to take part in different kinds of sport and dance activities, but it seemed to me that they avoided me.
- There were a lot of flies in the restaurant.
- As for the food, we didn`t like that some kinds of meat and potatoes were in lemon sauce.
- The beach was not very clean and it was rather difficult for us to enter to the sea, because there were big stones there. Also there were seaweed in the sea.

Despite these negative things we had great time in Greece. We spent a lot of time out of the hotel! We were in the town KOS, we took an excursion to the Rhodes! It was amazing! More over we visited hot springs!!!!! I liked our trip a lot!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Good points:
Fairly clean
Most staff caring
Tree over the restaurant was great
Pool bar had very nice sitting area
We were family with 2 kids and had ground floor suit with two nice size rooms and nice bathroom
Air conditioning worked great
Ice cream almost every day as a desert plus daily serving at specific time from pool bar
Waiters served drinks during dinner time

Bad points:
Beach too far (20 min walk with kids)
No bar in the beach (they server soft drinks from a fridge there)
No toilets in the beach

Only one restaurant with a limited choice got very boring after a week
No water slides for kids
Kids club very poor attempt couple a days in 2 weeks we stayed there

So all in all it was ok but won't be going back.

Room Tip: If you can get a ground floor room with pool view it is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is a nice clean hotel, food average, staff in the bar and restaurant very good,big downfall for this hotel is reception staff, if i did not know better i would say they were anti british, not very helpful at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace Hotel

Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sun Palace Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Palace
Sun Palace Psalidi
Sun Palace Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.