We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, very well managed 5 star resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Older, very well managed 5 star resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel is not the newest one and it is visible on the room furnishing but generally said it is well maintained and first of all very well managed !!!! Excellent, friendly staff. Excellent cuisine. Luxurious restaurant such as common spaces. The rooms are spacious and standard "garden view" rooms are really "garden view", no street view. Very nice swimmming pools and gardens. The beach is not typical "picture-postcard" one because it is mix of grey sand and grey pebbles but the sea is clear and swimming good. Hotel is about 5 km from town Kos (bus goes approximately every 20 minutes and costs1,30 euro) and about 30 km from the airport (taxi costs 37 euro).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    152
    40
    20
    8
See reviews for
212
197
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Really nice staff made this hotel a joy to stay at. Nothing was too much trouble which is essential when travelling with young children ( 3 & 6 months). Bungalow family room was super with a seperate room with bed and cot for the kids. Half board was a good deal. I think three buffets a day would be too much. As with all hotel buffets it got a bit tired after a few days and I would have liked more greek food but overall very good. Fridge in the room is a really good deal.
The beach is not great and very sharp stones to enter sea but once you are in no problem and a lot of fish to see if snorkelling. The pools are beautiful and you get used to sea water. Hotel itself immaculate, lobby was stunning. Have a drink at the piano bar, drinks a bit pricy (5E a beer or whisky- could be worse) and lovely atmosphere.
We didn't leave the hotel often as so happy with the pools and food at hotel.
Would definitely recommend.
Negatives: Internet very expensive. No English TV channels- that is annoying if staying 2 weeks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

.. since I trusted the reviews about this hotel beeing a 5 star resort. When I travel with my family that consists of my wife + two children I really want things to go right and I truly want 5 star service and quality! Last year we visited Porto Elounda in Crete and it was a much better resort than this one. I don´t know if it was because of the fact that the hotel was crowded or what but the service in this hotel is not even near 5 star service. The restaurants were ok but really nothing special in my opinion. The rooms were ok but a wiev of a wall is not garden wiev with side sea wiev in my opinion. One positive thing was the fish restaurant i Kos city (Nicolas the fisherman) wich was really good quality if you like fresh fish&seafood. Also I found the Spa very good.

Conclusion: yes, nice pools and surroundings but not even close to 5 star hotel, too many guest for the staff to handle.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed at the Kos Imperial for our honeymoon for 2 weeks and we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel and in Kos. The hotel is almost 5 star, let down only by the food and the beach. The evening meal buffet is very international and there is lots of pizzas, pastas, steaks etc which were a bit bland. There was only a small selection of Greek food which was very nice and we just wanted more of it. The hotel beach is very pebbly and a bit a dirty under the water which was a shame but the pools are fantastic and big so you can have a good swim in them. They are sea water pools which we preferred as there was no (or very little) chlorine. We booked a “bungalow” in the garden which is basically a block of 8 or so rooms on their own. It’s still good as there is no corridor outside your door and you can walk out straight outside to the pool, but the balcony was small with little privacy. The room had aircon but it broke down a few times but was fixed very quickly.

The hotel itself is very grand with marble everywhere in reception and fantastic bar/seating areas. The gardens are amazing with palm trees and exotic plants everywhere and there is a water sports place and we hired a jetski which was a riot. As it was our honeymoon they gave us a free bottle of champers and when they found out it was my birthday they gave me a big cake – nice touches. Opposite the hotel there is a mini-market and a taverna. The taverna served decent/honest greek food and we went a few times. There was a crazy waiter called Romeo who was very friendly and he’d drink wine during the evening and by the end of the night he was plastered and hilarious. He would give us free drinks and snacks and thank us for coming. The guy was a legend.

Kos itself is fantastic. Loads to see and do. Kos town is great, very picturesque, loads of ancient ruins which are well worth a look. Loads of nice restaurants, bars and it comes alive at night. There was a very friendly/relaxed atmosphere and there was no drunken brits running amok. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and it only costs about 1 euro to get into town. It runs every 10mins and last one back was at midnight. A taxi back after midnight costs 10 euros.

We went with Thompson and did a few of their excursions. Kia by night was amazing, the sunset views over the other islands are superb. We did the volcano trip to Nisyros which was fantastic but a very long day almost 12hrs! But what ever you do don’t do the sunshine trip. We were hoping for a nice relaxed boat trip to the other islands, what we got was some crappy party boat where they blare out music, stick a camera in your face and try and get you to dance. There was hardly any shade and we had sunstroke by the end of the day. We also had to wait an hour for the transfer back to our hotel while another boat came back in. To add insult to injury we paid Thompson 46 euros each and to book on your own costs 20 euro each. What the hell did we pay an extra 52 euros for! We are in the process of complaining to Thompson, but this was the only bad bit of the holiday. Moral of the story is to go to the harbour and pick a boat you like and book it independently, don’t go through your holiday company!

As it was our honeymoon we hired a convertible from Hertz (they a have an office in the hotel – 280 euros for astra folding hardtop) to explore the island. We found loads of amazing places such as Mastichari – a fantastic little harbour town with great restaurants and beaches, Placa – forest with crazy peacocks, Kia – great little villages in the hills, Paradise/Sunny beach – amazing sandy beaches with crystal clear sea, Byzantine castle – huge amazing castle ruins, Ageos Theologos restaurant – amazing seafood restaurant right down on the south west coast, great food and views but need a car to get there. But we also found some not so nice places – Antimachia – crappy town for workers for the airport, Tigraki – very touristy beach with loads of those dudes peddling sunglasses, Kardamena – crappy resort for drunken teenage brits and surprisingly Kefalos, the old capital, not really much there just a few cobbled streets.

One bad thing was the mozzies. Apparently a lot of the islands had late rain this year so there’s more mosquitoes around than usual. They were everywhere and we got bitten all over on the first few nights. Take a good repellent and get some vinegar when you are there. The locals recommend and it works a treat on bites.

We also did the day trip to Bodrum in Turkey which is well worth it. We went on the hydrofoil which was quick and fun. The ticket came with a “free tour” but be warned these are sponsored by local business’ in Bodrum and whilst they take you to all the main sites you end up at a shop where they would like you to buy stuff. We just sacked this off and went to the “special” market which was mental. Never seen so many “genuine” fakes and you haggle away with the crazy locals for a bargain. Bodrum itself is a very picturesque harbour town with a huge castle, well worth a visit.

All in all we loved Kos and would stay at the Imperial again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I was upgraded to a 'bungalow' on arrival and taken there on a golf buggy. The room was just as it appears in the brochures, complete with red roses on the dressing table, wine and water in the fridge, dressing gowns and slippers, and a bowl of fruit. There was a mosquito plug-in, fly screens on the patio doors and even a free linen 'bag for life'. The food was varied and delicious and the restaurant staff soon got to know me and my drink requirements. Games are not allowed at one of the swimmimg pools, so this tends to be an adults only zone and therefore peaceful! The hotel grounds are beautiful and I really enjoyed an early morning walk each day (before it got too hot). There is not much of a beach, however they have done the best job possible with what is there and it is a very pleasant area. Entertainment at the taverna is passable, but drinks very expensive (12 euros for a cocktail). It's very quick and easy to get into Kos town which is good as there is not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. I had a massage at the spa and would also recommend that. I loved my week here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton Middlesbrough England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Arrived late 23.00 and given a very efficient welcome at Reception. Shown quickly to the room by buggy. Room large with big bed and a lot of hanging and drawer space, not really as luxerious as it looked in the brochure. Bathroom okay and did have soap as well as shower gel and shampoo. Went to the bar for a drink no one there at all. As others have said the price of drinks quite high. There was a complimentary bottle of water and wine in the fridge so nice touch there.
The gardens are really pretty and the swimming pools are attractively laid out. Beach not up to much. Plenty of sunbeds and shade with complimentary towels.
The food was excellent particularly breakfast and dinner. Bus service to town reliable but it would hae been nice to have more things within walking distance. there is a small mini market across the road thats handy for things and walking ten mins down the road in the direction of the town is a taverna that served good food and that got a few in to make a pleasant atmosphere. The staff would give you a lift back to the hotel if you wanted this. All in all a very good hotel, with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treharris
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Arrived in the early hours of the morning and driven to room on buggy. Room was okay, clean and comfortable, but have stayed in more luxurious ones at a similar cost. Empty fridge was a bonus as we could store whatever we wanted in it - there was a complimentary bottle of wine and water already in it, fruit on the table and fresh roses by the TV. Plenty of hanging and drawer space. Towels in the bathroom were a disappointment as they were only standard bath size. However there were bathrobes and slippers and pool towles were big. No soap in bathroom either - make sure you take a bar as only shower gel and shampoo provided. Big bed in room but pillows hard - I always take my own pillow thank goodness.
Unpacked and had a few hours sleep before going to get some breakfast. Above concerns melted away - the food was tremendous for all meals. Everything was fresh - the chefs were removing platters before they were emptied so you never had to wait, plenty of choice. There was always a good selection of courses and you could have as little or as much as you wanted. We had one meal in the a la carte restaurant and it was good but we preferred the choice of the buffet. Service in all areas was excellent and staff were very friendly.
The grounds of the hotel are well laid out and add to the peaceful setting. The hotel itself is so clean and well looked after. We did not use the spa but we were taken on a tour when we asked to look around and it seemed very calming.
The pools are great with plenty of beds - the beach is not an attraction to us luckily as the beaches on this side of Kos are gravelly. There was entertainment every night in the taverna bar - some okay, some not so okay but watchable none the less.
Access to Kos is easy - one day we hired bikes - cycle trails are everywhere so it really is safe - and we also caught the bus in twice. The service is very good and cheap. Plenty to do and see in Kos - take the little trains around the sights.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel although I don't know how crowded it might get in the peak season - we were told it was operating at half occupancy at the time we stayed but over the next few weeks would reach almost 100%. Take the all inclusive deal - the food and drinks included in the package are fine and work out at good value - after only two lunch buffets we had covered the cost - we mainly only had water and a few glasses of wine or beer but they can be expensive. Only back a day and missing the Imperial already!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.