We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Psalidi
Fleet, Hants
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our room had a lovely partial sea view and was spacious enough to sleep 2 adults and an older teenager comfortably. It looked as if it had been recently decorated and had lots of hanging/storage space.
Food was very much enjoyed. Great variety at all breakfast and dinner in main restaurant and at lunch in the Taverna.
Service was excellent - friendly but certainly not overbearing. Gregoris in the main restaurant deserves a special mention.
Entertainment is low-key but is there if you want it. The terrace by the lobby bar is a relaxing place for pre- and after dinner drinks.
Would strongly recommend the all-inclusive package. Drinks are on the expensive side (in line with hotels of a similar quality) and there are not many places you can wander to if you want a drink outside the hotel. There is a great bus service into town though. Reliable and takes about 10 minutes.
A couple of things to watch out for:
Firstly, the pools - which are really big and attractive - are seawater. We were aware of this before we went but they seemed saltier than we have experienced elsewhere. It's not really a problem but if you are sensitive you might find it a bit uncomfortable.
Secondly, if you decide to go on the Thomson trip to Bodrum, do not bother with the "tour" once you get to Turkey. You see very little of interest but do get taken to an expensive Gold Factory/Salesroom where it is hard to find the exit! You would be better off telling the guide that you will stay in the town and meet them on the return boat.
We had a great holiday and found lots to do. Volcanic island of Niyssros is well worth a visit if you want to go a little bit further. If we return to Kos at some point we would certainly consider staying at the Kos Imperial again.

Room Tip: Partial sea view room was worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    153
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
212
195
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel, the staff were all amazing and very helpful and not too over the top. The grounds are wonderful, with lots of greenery, flowers and the swimming pools were all great. Also have access to the beach which is quite stony but good to have option of sitting by the sea. Whole family enjoyed their time here and although a lot of people staying had no problems at all. Food was good, a good selection and plenty to have. Not too far from Kos, local bus very regular from outside the hotel and not expensive, thought Kos was a nice place. Only one minor complaint, thought the Spa was very expensive, especially when we had 5 of us including 3 older children, thought if they brought their prices down they may get a bit more custom.

Room Tip: The bungalows were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very attractive on lots of levels; lovely grounds and pools, decent food for all-inclusive and good 'all-inclusive'-I particularily enjoyed the coctails, fantastic and plentiful staff (apart from the young female member of staff at the pool bar who publicly berated us for taking a biscuit from the wrong jar!) - in particular our cleaning lady who was delightful (even though my Greek was about as good as her English). I didn't even mind the thin and sometimes painfully shingly beach. There was just something stopping it from being 'great'. I think it was the ambience. Lots of stroppy looking guests. ( of one ot two nationalities in the main) just not a friendly atmosphere.
Would we come back? Maybe, but don't expect friendly repartee!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod HaSharon, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, the location and view, most of the day a good breeze not far from Kos, you can hire bicycle and ride next to the shore .
The food was ok ..the beach great, so are the swimming pools
Though the hotel was full its big and you don't feel the crowd.
recommended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After Crete & Corfu, this was our third Grecotel, and again, it was a delightful experience. Main asset : the great service quality of staff! They are well trained in how to deal with tourists, cause let's be honnest, it's not always easy to remain polite & friendly towards this species ;-)

The food is delicious. Although it is a "all inclusive" hotel, the guests remain very polite and you don't see the overloaded plates and abuses that give this formula its sometimes negative image. 40% of the guests are Russian, but these were all respectful and nice people. Grecotel is more expensive than the average good hotel , so this premium positioning keeps the "bad & noisy tourists" away! Lovely!
Like all Grecotels that we visited, this hotel is really great in combining full capacity (it was July) with still a quiet, relaxing, sometimes even "zen" (the beach bar) atmosphere. The soft lounge music in the bars, the tactful and very responsive staff and the great weather all contribute to this atmosphere. Don't go to Grecotel for noisy animation ! On the contrary, if you like to really charge your batteries after a year of hard work, and want to spend a relaxing, worry-less, stress-free vacation, Grecotel is a top destination !
Also a special mention for the beautiful gardens ! We woke up one day at 6h00 to see the sunrise, and we saw this army of garden keepers starting their work.
There's always a little breeze /wind in Kos, so it rarely gets extremely hot.

PS:I read some negative comments about the sun beds next to the swimming pools: during our vacation, they renewed nearly all sunbeds so that's one disadvantage less! Also the negative comments about the bad odour in the hotel surroundings : that's true, but only on some days when the wind comes from a certain direction. It never really disturbed us though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Ringkobing, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

In my family we have an annual tradition of traveling with our 3 sons, daughters in law and grandchildren - a week every summer.
This year was the very best "Family-Tour" ever.
From request, offer, arrival, to a fantastic stay. Service out of this world, really a 5 star hotel. Tasteful and plenty of week cooked food, served by waiters that understood to serve a family, also with small children.
Great accommodation - fantastic sights to the Aegean Ocean, lots of activities and hospitality all over the place. Great facilities, wellness and services in total!
Go for it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came for three nights,lovely place,clean and the staff were very kindly and with patience for any request. It's not far away from the center we drove with the bus.
The food was excellent and very nice atmosphere while eating...
Very recommended also for families with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#4 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.