We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome all inclusive holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Psalidi, Kos, Dodecanese, Psalidi 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome all inclusive holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Me and the hub arrived for a 4 night break for our 10 year anniversay and were very impressed by both the level of service and friendly staff and also the cleanliness and impressiveness of the hotel as a whole.
Having arrived over 4 hours later than expected due to the flight, we felt our first day had been wasted. We opted for public transfers and that took about 50 mins to arrive at our hotel. Some of the hotels looked dodgy on the way and most are no where near a beach. Pulling up to our hotel on the sea front looking so prestine completely met my expectation (though I was a little sceptical it would be so nice after the previous drop offs)
When we arrived, We were greeted by the friendly receptionists and shown with our luggage taken to the room. We were tired and a little fed up at this point. Walking down to the room through the grounds was very impressive and our room was much larger than really necessary and also benefit of a fully stocked fridge included. when we open up the doors to the balcony, we had the most amazing sea view, a definate cheer up. After having looked round the hotel subsequently, I would say that our room closest to the sea anyway, was probably in the best location.
Outside our room was the small pool and bar. We were both suprised by how quiet a location this was. The barmaid, Gloria, remembered our drinks also which was great.
This was our first all inclusive holiday and although we were given our wristbands, no one told us how to use these facilitys. Basically, the drinks tended to be table service, though you could go to the bar if you chose to and the food self service. Would have liked to know the protocol on check in really but not really a problem. The quality of the food and drinks were excellent.
The bar on the beach was a great bonus. Most local hotels don't have any beach and elsewhere if you go for a wander, you would typically spend 5euro's to sit on a private beach that may not have any facilitys. They also freeze the glass at the beach bar for a nice cold beer which is a great touch. The burger in pita was delicious. The beach is a rocky pebbly (I hate sand so not a problem for me) but you'll not really find a sandy beach in Kos.
On the whole, I would say this is an excellent place to holiday. People did comment, as staying for 4 day does'nt seem to be the norm. But short as our stay was, we still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Only negative that they really should sort out is the shower next to the beach cafe. Depending on the direction of the wind, you may get sprayed. All this needs is a shield or curtain. Gets quite annoying...
The entertainment was very funny though i'm not sure thats what it was always aiming to be. I honestly don't know how to describe it but I would say that Lord of The Dance is nothing like the origional. No tap shoes and little co-ordination, the animation team look like they love their work though and are very friendly.
Great hotel, holiday, weather and atmosphere. Hardly any kids there but they were certainly welcomed and all staff would make a fuss of them. Our trip was prodominantly older couples but think this may be due to the time of year (end of september) We had a great time and would definatley go back. Great Hol!

Room Tip: We stayed in a block next to the small pool which was very quiet. All the entertainment takes place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    195
    67
    36
    10
See reviews for
275
243
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
xx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Poor quality of bathroom, torn towels. Generaly clean. Food is good but monotonous.
Beach is not good, too much stones, compared with other places nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed 17th-24 sep all inclusive,arrived early hours to be greeted with a salad or ham and cheese roll and juice,still better than nothing.Then shown to ground floor room(21) which was ok nothing special,woke up to find our view was of the mini golf and road,situated right behind open air theatre and next to main bar not impressed but decided to make do,mini bar which is refilled every other day was nice.have to say the food is very repetitive and nothing really stands out although did enjoy the chinese.Has to have been the worst beach i have been to,no sand just grit,and by the water and in it large stones,will need shoes to get in the sea which drops away quickly,run down looking beach bar with a poor choice in food,salt water pools which i personally found eye watering even compared to the sea,entertainment was mainly animation team which wasn't our cup of tea(best night karaoke which didn't involve animation).Now i have to say this is a personal view on our holiday and i am sure many will enjoy it there but we booked this based on the basis of trip advisor reviews and found it to be not what we were expecting based on that,all staff at hotel were great and worked tirelessly and a nice looking hotel,but would not return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were really impressed upon arrival as the reception and bar areas were lovely and grateful and despite arriving at night we were ushered straight into the resturant so didn't miss out on dinner.
We booked a superior sea view room, having arrived at night we were thrilled with our room which was a suite with a lounge area / 2nd bedroom, however in the morning we discovered our view was the roof of a building and a metal chimney with a glimpse of sea behind!
We spoke to reception and were able to have a laugh with them about the 'sea view' and they agreed to move us the next day when a decent sea view room was available. Again it was a beautiful room but without the additional lounge area, which we weren't bothered about and had an amazing view of the sea, so well worth the supplement, although from what we saw the rooms in the building around both pools looked lovely too.
The food, in my view, was well above average for an all inclusive. We stuck to the salads, which were gorgeous and the fresh meats and fish cooked on the grill and really enjoyed them. Breakfast and desserts were also well above average. The hot dishes looked your typical all inclusive type stuff and after giving them a try avoided them for the rest of the week - not bad just a bit canteen style for me.
The staff were excellent, much friendlier and more attentive that I have ever experienced in a large all inclusive hotel and so nice to see staff smiling and having a laugh.
Once the Maitre'd realised we liked to eat in the annex / conservatory, they seated us there every night without us asking, which was a nice touch.
The big pool was lovely and there was a good atmosphere with music at the small pool.
I also liked that you could hire bikes and get to Kos Town, which was gorgeous and well worth a visit though eye wateringly expensive - dinner and drinks came to 100 Euros for 2 of us!!!
The whole place was really clean and bath and pool towels changed everyday if you wished.
The positives far out weigh the negatives in my view. Only negatives I could think of were the beach, which is big pebbles and not pretty at all, the foul cocktails on the Snow White menu but if you asked for the classics; pina colada etc they were fine but could have been better.
The Itialian and Chinese restuarants were a let down - I expected show cooking and them to make a night of it and felt that was a missed opportunity, also the pizza was naff.
There was nothing to do at night unless you watched the entertainment - I can't comment on it as we deliberately avoided it - if I wanted that kind of entertainment I'd have gone to Butlins. We spent our evenings by the small pool which was quite cool and ended up playing cards most nights, so would have liked it to have been a little livelier.
The 'animations' team were the usual dreadful bunch but didn't pester too much - the dreadful dance they did at 3pm every afternoon, when they belted out music which completely disturbed the peace around the big pool was really annoying and cringeworthy, I imagine their nightly show was of a similar ilk.
All in all I would recommend for a quiet and chilled out week in the sun with good standard accommodations and decent food.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior sea view, which was gorgeous but all the rooms looked nice and I liked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Great all inclusive hotel. Really clean. All staff are really friendly. Yes the buffet restaurant is repetative but its good food n the chinese and italian restaurants are brilliant.

Entertainment is slightly cheesy but all good fun. Plenty to do throughout the day if you dnt want to just lie around the pool. Weather was really good, as wasnt sure what to expect for mid september.

Would definitely go again!!

O and the crepes lady is brilliant!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

me and my hubby arrived at this hotel on 8th sept.-11.we were greeted by a very friendly guy on reception,who gave us all our imformation.hotel is beautiful and staff cant do enough for you.food was ok,two swimming pools,entertainment very good,we were having a gr8 time until our last 2 days,when we both were struck down with food poisoning,which spoilt our last 2 days as we were unable to leave our room,we informed 1 of the hotel managers,but all he offered us was 10 euro discount off keeping room till 10pm on departure day,we would not return to this hotel as we felt this was not satisfactory to the suffering we had experienced.

Room Tip: pool view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ramira for a few nights during my visit to Kos earlier this month. I chose the hotel because of its proximity to the Kos International Conference Center (KICC). The hotel turned out to be right next door to the conference center, which was a huge bonus. The hotel itself is nice - pleasant and helpful staff, nice pool, lots of choices at the buffet. Our room was okay - our bed was two twin beds put together, not really the most comfortable arrangement. The sheets and the pillows also were not the best quality. The rooms look a little run down, but they are spacious. We had a limited view of the sea, which was nice. There are bus stops very close to the hotel, making it easy to get to Kos Town (about 5-10minutes away by bus). And the hotel has access to the beach. Overall, Ramira is a nice place to stay if you are going to Kos and need to be near the conference center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel

Address: Psalidi, Kos, Dodecanese, Psalidi 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Ramira Beach is a gorgeous hotel built on the beach, right at the starting tip of the hotel zone in Psalidi, overlooking the bay of Kos, just 3.5 Km away from the town centre with a convenient bicycle/jogging path along the beach to the centre. Whether in the main building or in one of 8 bungalow buildings all 338 guest rooms are carefully appointed and offer all the comforts of a 5-star resort. Renovated in 2008 and surrounded by profuse gardens they are all decorated in contemporary style, with warm gentle colours, marble floor and wooden furniture and provide all modern amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. This sprawling resort is designed to surpass the expectations of the most discerning traveller, providing excellent service in a secluded setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramira Beach Hotel Kos
Hotel Ramira Beach
Ramira Beach Kos
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.