We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLY NOISY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel to your Saves list
Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Psalidi 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Psalidi
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLY NOISY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

STAYED 17/09/2012 2 WEEKS ALL INCLUSIVE. Intially everything seemed ok.room was more than adequate and very well cleaned by a very good maid service.the drinks were disgusting served by unattentive bar staff except for the younger members especialy veronique and leanos.hussein couldnt give a toss and the bar closed at 11pm,then you pay and the real drinks appear 8.5 euros for a cocktail nice.Do not expect to be entertained because it wont happen,this is part of a group of hotels, the jokiingly 5 star panorama.[,kippriottis village and the maris all within a few yards not one put on entertainment except the greek night once a week on different nights shared around the complex.the beach for the guests was the most unkept and dirtiest beach i have been on with tired furniture.So early nights then....followed by the cockrels at 5am and the noise of the the fans on the kitchen roof at 7am once the cockrells had finished akin to living next to the airport ,try to change your room and you will be met with indifference.restaurant food repetetive pork bellly fat.spaghetti,spinach pie and burger and chips,retaurant staff exceptional ,this hotel does not deserve them.So, poor food ,drinks like slush puppies expect a sugar rush, think 10 pence bottle of pops and the cheapest spirits you can buy and no entertainment all in all poor 3 star

Room Tip: do not ask for a sea view you will be sorry,very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are precious to us, helping us to improve. Regarding your comments on noise, a room change can be offered depending on availability, but the hotel was fully booked during the dates of your stay.
As advertised, the hotel offers soft animation program. However, full entertainment program can be found in our sister hotels Kipriotis Village and Kipriotis Panorama Aqualand.
Our offered drinks are local spirits, following all international standards. However, well known brands are available in all our bars, but upon charge. As for the bar, it remains opened until 1am, but as advertised in all brochures and other material, last All Inclusive order is by 11pm.
Taking the chance to thank you once again for your comments, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    171
    86
    41
    16
See reviews for
117
227
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Kipriotis Hippocrates hotel in room 226 arriving on the 23rd of September 2012 for 1 week and requested a quiet room. On the first morning at 7.00 am we were woken by what sounded like a hellicopter landing on our balcony this turned out to be the extractor fan for the kitchen that came on every time meals were being served. This was also annoying as we could not make use of our balcony to sit and chill out with a drink ( which many people do on holiday!)
We requested to be moved 3 times but were told that the hotel was fully booked. Then with one day of our holiday left we were offered another room.
The evening meals in this hotel were not good but much better in the Village which you need to book 24 hrs in advance.

Room Tip: avoid room 226
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your review on Trip Advisor. As mentioned in your review, the hotel was fully booked, therefore a room change was offered to you only when there was availability.
As for your claim that you did not like evening meals, what surprises us is the fact that food is being prepared by the same chef and kitchen team, as lunch; however there was no complain on breakfast or lunch.
Taking the chance to thank you once again for your comments, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

On the face of it, the hotel is quite welcoming, and the staff are generally very friendly and helpful, apart from the bar staff who are not particularly prompt or attentive. Al inclusive drinks not great. Restaurant good and there was a good range of food available for all meals.
The lifts only took two people and one was partially broken for the entire week that we were there. One of the floor buttons was missing, but there was no attempt to repair it.
Bedrooms OK but beds and pillows poor. Aircon turned off mid-September despite high temperatures - almost unbearable. Leave the door open and you are woken up by the local well known cockerel or the horses.You have to pay for a safe deposit box in reception (20 Euros for a week).
Numerous sunbeds available and no fighting for beds, although a number of beds were broken and should have been replaced. Pool good, but unsuitable for little ones - 9 foot deep at one end.
No rooms available to get changed in before returning. Showers in gym missing or broken - I had to use one of the few showers in the ladies changing rooms. Reception toilets in poor condition - toilet seats missing or door locks broken -pretty shabby really.
This was probably a nice hotel when opened, but because of lack of maintenance, not as good as it could be.Shame really as not a vast amount of money would have to be spent to make it very good.

Room Tip: Only go if aircon available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, as your remarks help us to improve. Regarding your claims on maintenance issues, we would like to note that technicians fix failures when reported by our guests and staff members and safety is the most important factor. As for the A/C, as mentioned in all our advertising material, it is operational between mid-June and mid-September.
In regards to your comment on changing rooms, we are surprised to read this, as there is a courtesy room for all guests, otherwise a late departure can be arranged with the reception, depending on availability.
Having all your comments under consideration, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday in the Hotel Hippocrates. It wasnt the hotel we booked as we had booked the 5 star Hotel Panorama but thats another story!
On the whole a very good and enjoyable holiday. The hotel was clean and the reception staff were helpful and friendly. The food was good with a good choice of hot and cold eg salads.
The rooms were nicely decorated, bedding and towels changed daily, yes it was a small tv but we didnt go to Kos to sit in watching the tv!
There were some activities in the evening in the sister hotel - Maris Suites and as i won the Bingo i cant complain!
My only 'niggles' are that the air con was turned off making the bedrooms hot boxes even with the patio doors wide open. I understand the temperature was alot hotter than average but surely they could have turned the air con back on.
Also it states men needed to wear trousers and collered shirts for the evening meal ( something i had confirmed with the hotel directly buy email) however when we went down to dinner men were in shorts, flip flops, swimwear, football tops and sleeveless tops.
Both these niggles could be because it was end of season but my husband felt out of place not to mention very hot in his trousers, top, socks and shoes!!
However despite this we would visit again hopwfully in the correct hotel!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay at Kipriotis Hippocrates. As mentioned on other replies, some travel agencies promote all Kipriotis Hotels as a hotels complex; however, in their description it is clear that the complex consists of a group of hotels and each room is accompanied by a detailed description of the facilities and provided services. In addition to that, all info about our hotels are available on our website and it is easy to understand the venues and services for each Kipriotis hotel. Also, all travel organizations that we work with are supplied with our fact sheets and All Inclusive descriptions, in order to send out an accurate picture of who we are and what to be expected from our hotels.
Regarding the dress code mentioned into your mail, we can confirm that at Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites which is a 5-stars hotel, the dress code is valid, but for Hippocrates, it is not mandatory.
As for the air conditioning, it is operational from middle June to middle September, as in spring and autumn the temperature is no more that 25 degrees at noon and the A/C would have been hardly effective under such weather conditions.
Having all your comments under consideration, we would like to thank you once again and hope to see you soon in one of our hotels.
The Guest relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

arrived 11ish on17/09/12.food which was left uneatable left to long and dried up.then to room great sea view but at 5am generator starts sounds like plane and continues until end of dinning. beds very hard hardly any sleep for two weeks asked to be moved no luck waste of time trying. cleaners very good and also waiting staff good.Bar staff need training cant remember what you ordered, drinks watered down.Beach dirty went elsewhere.will not go AI IN EUROPE AGAIN.lOVE GREECE WILL GO BACK BUT SELF CATERING.

Room Tip: dont have any rooms on 1/2/3/floors even numbers with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. However, we find ourselvers into a position to set some things in order. Your claims about food lack of truth, since food is being served on buffet style, into gastronomes keeping food warm.
The hotel does not use a generator for electricity. This is available only during electricity failures which never take that long time when they happen.
Our bar staff is usually being congratulated for the provided service, however, some guests do not take under consideration that serving in such a crowded place, patience and understanding is required.
Regarding the beach, we can only inform you that it is being daily cleaned, however during September the south wind did not help on keeping it clean during the whole day, as the waves bring seaweed and other materials from the open seas.
Having all your comments under consideration, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just arrived back after a 12 night stay in the hotel. We arrived about 11 ish at night and there was some food laid out - cheese, bread, rice and some spam like meat - which was not the most enjoyable meal to arrive to but the food did get better.
The first thing we found was that the air con was turnt off. Despite opening the balcony doors, the room was like an oven and we only managed 2 decent nights sleep the whole time we were there, as we were just sweating and could not cool down. We asked if there were any fans but were told by one person, that there werent any, then another person said there were three in the whole complex, but that they had been already lent out. The room was OK, wardrobe with about 10 hangers and a couple of drawers, plus a small tv that had a BBC news channel and another channel that showed a few old programmes/films in englsih. It was pretty clean and towels were changed each day. he beds were pretty hard.
The food was OK - i loved the soups, these were really tasty and despite the heat, i had these most days. There were various meat dishes and fish dishes but on 2 occasions, we had a pork dish that was almost raw, and a fish dish the same. We showed the manager, who just took them away! There was always salads and lots of sticky baclava(?) type deserts plus ice cream and sometimes cheese, and always melon and fruit salad for lunch and dinner. On the whole, the food was OK and whatever your taste (I dont eat much meat) there was always something to eat.

The pool was pretty small but we did not mind this - however, it was freezing and we did not know why as the weather was really good, clear blue skies nearly every day. Once we got into the pool, after the initial shock and started swimming, it was ok - it was just the getting in!!

There was nothing to do in the evening at this part of the hotel unless you just sat at the bar all night. The bar staff werent very good and nearly every time we ordered drinks, one guy especially, got the order wrong every single time and it became a joke to see what we would receive. They had the same music tapes and one song kept getting stuck and was repeated over and over again until my friend complained and they changed the disc. we used the maris more in the evening, as it was a bigger area. Both parts of the complex kept running out of things, ice, butter, coffee machine went "kapput" but perhaps it was because we were near the end of the season. The animation team were very sweet, and came round ever day to try and get people to do games etc. one night we went to karioke but were the only 4 people there and got the giggles - a few more did turn up and we ended up singing, despite having a cold and a terrible voice but never mind!

The beach was horrible, full of stones and seaweed and rubbish - but there were better beac hes that you could get to on the bus.

I basically booked this hotel in panic mode - we had booked a cruise with MSC, which was cancelled 4 weeks before we were due to go, and i did not do my usual research as i was trying to get us a holiday SOMEWHERE quickly and booked this one. I thought we were in the maris complex, but we werent but we did have use of it but to be honest, the food was the same so there was not much of a difference. we did go the the village, which did seem a lot nicer and had much bigger pools and more facilities.
Well, we have been here once and that was enough!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing woth us your review on your recent stay in Kos. Your comments are being highly appreciated and help us to improve our offered services.
Please allow us some comments on your remarks. Your description as late dinner upon your arrival was only he midnight snack which consists of 2 soups, variety of snacks and salads. What is described as sticky baklava is part of a variety of traditional Greek pastry, covered with syrop, which of course is sticky!
What surprises us is your claim that your room was hot as oven, despite that the pool was freezing. It makes us wander how those two can have such an extreme temperature difference since the distance between the two is only a few meters. However, in all our advertisements, descriptions and brochures, it is clearly stated that the operation of air conditioning is seasonal, starting from June 15th, till middle os September.
Discussing about swimming pools, Kipriotis Hippocrates is a small hatel and the size of the pools is according to its size. However, there is always an option to visit the Maris Suites pool or even Kipriotis Village. As for the beach, there is a daily cleaning service, but during the days of your stay there was a south wind, bringing seaweed and other material from the open seas. This cannot be somehow stopped, going against nature laws.
Having all your comments under consideration, we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and can be reached at wecare@kipriotis.gr
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Have just returned from a week stay at this hotel, we arrived at 1.30am and were quickly checked in by the night porter and given directions to the lift and our room on the third floor. On entering the room we noticed how hot it was as the air con had been turned off on the sat. previous to our arrival so we opened the balcony door to let in some cooler air and the door stayed open for the rest of our stay. The room was spotless and kept that way by the very friendly cleaners. There was plenty of drawer and hanging space but the beds were a bit hard for our liking. The restaurant is a little canteen like but the food and service was very good the thing we liked was the thermos jug of coffee brought to your table at breakfast. There are plenty of sun beds and no need to be up early to bag one we always managed to get them where we wanted after eating breakfast. There was a good selection of drinks at the bar and yes sometimes you had quite a long wait as people who arrived after you were served first as there was no queueing system. We went to the Maris Suites on an evening and had one meal there ( the Greek night) but were not very impressed think we choose an off night. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, on our last day as we had a late flight we went to see if we could keep our room on checking it had been allocated for an incoming guest but the receotionist phoned house keeping and arranged for them to have a different room and we kept ours for a cost of 35euros. We enjoyed our stay here considering what we paid we definately got good value, dont expect too much and you wont be dissapointed we had a really good time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience from your recent stay at the Kipriotis Hippocrates. It makes us happy to read that once again you enjoyed your holidays with us. We really hope to see you again in one of our hotels.
The Guest Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel

Address: Main Street, Psalidi 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel is a charming 4 star hotel for adults and children that provide a fun and relaxing accommodation in Psalidi. The hotel is located just 3 km from Kos town and 30 min from Kos Island's airport. The hotel is nestled in beautiful, well-kept gardens, spacious pools for adults and children and leisure grounds. All rooms offer views either to Aegean Sea or the gardens and it offers various dining option. The air-conditioned double and family rooms are tastefully furnished, each with its own balcony. They come with a satellite TV, coffee and tea facilities and a mini fridge. Aphrodite main restaurant serves Greek, Mediterranean and international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a buffet style. Next to the pool, Apollon bar offers refreshing alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Kos Town
Iberostar Hotel Kos Town
Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel Kos/Psalidi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.