We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olga's Hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments
Odissou Street, Psalidi 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Alta, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Olga's Hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Of all hotels I ever stayed in, this is the most ridicilous and patheti hotel I have ever stayed at. Correction: we didnt stay here at all because of the owner.
When we checked in, we were given rooms in the basement. My father at 67 years just had a surgery for lung cancer and is struggling with COPD, so this room which smelled of mould and was generally smelly, was not an option for us. We asked if it was possible to get rooms upstairs, but they werent. Instead, she had some rooms in the old buildings, but since they didnt have aircondition and we had a baby with us, that was no optio*n. We asked how much extra she wanted for the rooms upstairs, and here the farse begun: She demanded 300 euro EXTRA PER ROOM for room upstairs! That was 3 times as much for the rooms as we had paid TOTAL for the rooms. After some discussing and Olga going into black, we said that we would take the original rooms... But no, now she wanted 300 euro for those too. If we didnt like that, we could just find a different hotel, and "we didnt deserve rooms".

This was so outrageous, so yes we moved out (which we basically had to do since we would have to pay extra to get rooms anyways).

This woman is plain crazy. You might be so lucky to get ok rooms and have her friendly side, but what hotel is ran by a woman where everything is ok as long as you dont complaint?

And I havent even mentioned that we ordered apartments, but got only studio rooms....

Room Tip: Go across the street to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    6
    5
    14
See reviews for
15
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Another excellent 2 weeks spent with the lovely Dina and Olga!! See you again soon! Will book flights as soon as they are listed! Recommend Olgas especially to singles and couples. There is a fab restaurant only 10 mins walk away called Lithinos which is very Greek and family run. Very reasonable and the food is the best I found.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This holiday was booked before reading Trip Advisor, and we were a little concerned when we read some of the reviews. However the accommodation proved very nice and we needn't have worried.
We had a 1-bedroom apartment. There was lots of storage space and the balcony had better-than-average furniture. We had a view of the garden (really just a large field with a few hens) and could even see the sea (just!). There was even a mosquito blind across the balcony doorway.
The bathroom had the shower in a bath, which is rare for Greece, as you normally just get a shower in the corner without even a curtain sometimes.
There was always plenty of hot water in the evenings but it was in short supply in the mornings.
We only had breakfast in the apartment and ate out the rest of the time. If you were planning on doing a lot of cooking the the equipment was not really adequate, but we had what we needed for breakfasts. And who goes on holiday to cook anyway?
The swimming pool area is lovely, nice and clean, although the sunbeds are wooden and rather hard. Drinks are available at the bar, but snacks seemed rather limited.
The linen and towels were changed a few times during our stay. (Some reviewers seem to expect them changed every day - do they do this at home I wonder?)
The air conditioning was the most efficient I have ever encountered. It wasn't noisy either. And boy did we need it! It was August and it was really hot.
We also found Olga and her daughter to be very friendly.
There was no TV in the room, not that we wanted one, but the bar area has a large TV and pool/table football.
There is a supermarket 2 minutes' walk away and the beach is about 5-10 mins walk.
There are 3 tavernas literally on the beach nearby and they were all really good for evening meals, and reasonably priced. The local house wines are delicious.
You can get a nice bottle of Greek white wine for 2.6 euros in the local supermarket! I couldn't believe how nice it was!
It's a half-hour walk into Kos Town which is lovely. If you're into cycling you'll love it here as people cycle everywhere. Otherwise the cyclists are a menace, as some of the cycle paths are also the footpaths and pedestrians have to keep leaping out of the way.
We caught a bus to the winery and also to Tam Tam Beach where the taverna is super.
We also took the ferry to Kalymnos to see the sponge factories which were interesting.
The beach near the accommodation is sand-gravel and each section has its own taverna/sunbeds. Nice and peaceful.
Overall this was a lovely, relaxing holiday. Not a huge amount to do, but great for just unwinding.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'superior' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in august 2011, yes the apartments are ok ,pool nice ect. But we booked and paid for a 2 bedroomed apartment 9with Low Cost Holidays) what we got was a one bedroomed apartment with our 3 kids sleeping on camp beds in the lounge/kitchen area . when my husband approched the owner and her daughter they were both very off hand and told him that it was indeed a 2 bedrom apartment and if we wernt happy to contact our travel agent as there wer no 2 bedroom apartments there at all.
We then found out that there was indeed 2 bedroom ones ,we also noticed the owners were craming young groups into studios when they also had booked bigger accomdation.
So we think the owners do this to make more money without telling the travel agents.
We did complain to low Cost only to be told they act on behalf of another agent and therefore are not responsable ! Also ABTA were not interested so much for protecting holiday makers !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now and both times we have been made to feel welcome. The apartments are clean and spacious. When we arrived we had only been given 3 beds but there were 4 of us. We said it didn't matter as our little boy was only 3 and could sleep on our bed. When we returned the next morning the 4th bed was made up for us. Olga and Dina always said hello or goodnight everytime we went by even though didn't spend any money at the bar or spend any time in the pool. A couple of days before departure date we asked if we could pay and keep our room on but Olga said our room was taken so we couldn't. After returning that afternoon she told us we could move our things into another room at 12 and keep the room until we left. on our departure day we went to reception to ask Olga what room we were in and she said she had moved the bookings around and we could keep our room. Overall a very good holiday and would go again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Hotel. I have to say that we were a bit unsure of this hotel, as the reviews were inconsistent. We were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival- very nice hotel, clean, awesome pool area and close to the beach. No complaints there. The only issue we have is with Olga, the owner. On check-out day, we saw her early in the morning and she reminded us to check out by noon- no problem there. About 10 minutes to noon, she comes into our room as if to inspect it- no knocking on the door...just came in and again reminded us to check out by noon. I replied that we still had time to check out. Unbelievable- we are guests, PAYING guests, not children. We checked out promptly at noon, handed her the keys and noted that her friendly demeanor had changed. We assume it was because she realized that we stayed there for an entire week and payed less than 100 euros! (no cheating- just diligent searching for good rates). Her daughter, Dina, was very nice and we had a few Ouzo shots the night we experienced a power outage. All in all, I recommend this hotel for the price and location. Just watch for Olga's personality and inexperience in customer service. She has to learn that GUESTS need to feel happy at the end of a stay, wanting to return, not with a negative final encounter with the owner. Another thing, Dina, per our conversation...you need to realize that trip advisor is a very powerful tool...good reviews mean more guests, which mean more cash...please talk to your mom.

Room Tip: No A/C in the rooms- you will need to pay 8 euro for A/C. Two of the four available fans in the ent...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived home after 10 nights staying at Olga's Paradise apartments in Psalidi, Kos.
Stayed in a superior one bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean, comfortable beds and a lovely balcony on the raised ground level.
The apartment was spotlessly clean, lots of room and storage space. These are not luxurious but offer a fantastic base for a well priced, self catering (or in our case) eat out all the time, relaxing holiday. Location is about 25 mins walk into Kos town but it's a nice scenic stroll.
Air con costs € 8 per night and may cut out if there is a power cut, as we encountered twice in a week. However it's quickly restored and the owners are very efficient.
Dina and Olga are polite, professional and friendly. Just remember to be equally polite and courteous if you have any issues and they will offer the same respect.
Lovely gardens, even with hens and rooster who provides a very early wake up call. Attractive building with a large sun area and pool.
All in all, we'd a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend these apartments (superior rooms in our case) to our friends. The price is reasonable and if you're satisfied with good space, comfortable beds, fair cooking facilities, lovely gardens and clean rooms, this is a great choice.
Previous negative reviews did cause some concern after booking but I truly must say that we were very pleasantly surprised and found not only the hosts to be charming and friendly, but the apartments equally adequate and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments

Address: Odissou Street, Psalidi 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty lodging in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of relaxation only 1.5km from the city center.Perfect for couples and families. Olga's Paradise is a 3*** hotel that offers its guests a cozy and relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments Kos/Psalidi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.