We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14 Days of Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Milton, ON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“14 Days of Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to The Grand (we've also stayed at the Lindo 2 times and the Maya 2 times). In celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary we decided to indulge and stay for 2 weeks (Jan. 21-Feb. 4).

We were met at the airport (private transportation to the resort) and then welcomed by staff with champagne - just the beginning of a flawless stay. Every staff member was incredibly pleasant and helpful. Our butler Victor was so friendly and available anytime to assist (we felt bad as we are pretty self sufficient - didn't have much for him to do!). Our room was great (on bottom floor with view of serenity pool) with a very well stocked drinks fridge and snacks; loved the balcony with the swing and sofa.

Food & Drink: What can I say – we enjoyed it all, especially the seafood and trying the different Mexican dishes. Presentation of food and service was impressive. A number of times the chef/chef-liaison would come to speak with dinners and find out how everything was. We were invited to attend a tour of the kitchen of one of the restaurants; unfortunately got side tracked and missed it. Nice touch: around 4:00 p.m. afternoon tea is served around the pool.

Beach & Pools: Very beautiful, minimal erosion. Very rocky in front of The Grand, however if you go over to the Maya/Lindo beach much better for swimming. Infinity pool is great as well as the serenity pool.

Other: There is a shopping plaza onsite with a church along with a medical clinic. If you prefer not to walk you can ask for a golf cart to take you anywhere. The Grand has its own spa (had a massage – wonderful!), and there is another spa over at the shopping centre. The Grand also has a fitness centre with fresh juice bar.

We loved this resort for the service, quality, pampering and peacefulness (adult only - no strollers!). Our friends joined us for the first week of our stay and they too were very impressed and pleased with the hotel. We are saving our pennies to return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,292
    469
    145
    51
    25
See reviews for
423
2,909
72
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Just returned from another stay at the Grand and it was phenomenal. Service was outstanding, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, food was excellent, plenty of things to do if you want to take advantage, or you can chill all day, every day by the pool or beach. No complaints! One huge perk is we got a great deal - we booked through Go Iberostar and they beat all other prices. Everyone we met at the Grand paid much more; it was nice to have such a wonderful vacation at a wonderful price! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This was our THIRD trip to this Iberostar location. The first two trips we stayed at the Lindo with our kids and really liked that resort. This time my husband & I went by ourselves and stayed at the Grand Paraiso. All I can say is YES....it was FANTASTIC! YES, upgrade to a corner ocean front suite with the private jacuzzi on terrace! YES, the service was AMAZING! YES, the grounds are impeccable!
The food is good....I can't say it is the best we have ever eaten, but it is good.....breakfast and lunch are very good. Dinner, depending on which restaurant you choose varies from not so good to very good. We liked the Gourmet & steak house the best.
The booze is all top shelf, but the wine was only OK....really young wines like 2009 & 2010. The entertainment is really good....better than the Lindo.
We received two rounds of complimentary golf and the course is REALLY nice....challenging, well maintained and beautiful! Tennis courts are really nice as well!
We will go back NO QUESTION! We are hoping to make this an annual trip for just the two of us!
BTW, Next time we take the kids, we will go to the Maya, the top end Iberostar that allows kids.
Bottom Line: Iberostar resorts do not disappoint!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I stayed at the grand for 4 days in January. It is a beautiful resort with plenty to do.

The clientele was in the older side. This is not a resort for the young and super hip. The food was good and the drinks were stiff.

The nightly shows were cheesy and part of the feeling for my entire trip was cruise ship on land.

Overall a great place to relax, but expensive given other properties insure.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a two week stay at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. In short we had a wonderful relaxing vacation and would definitely like to recommend this hotel to all travelers looking for sunny luxurious all-inclusive beach life in the Yucatan area.
The hotel is located at 30mins from the airport, which is perfect if you've been in an airplaine for more than 11 hrs from Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

What more is there to say. In hindsight our check in was average, probably as we arrived around 9pm, so no welcome cocktail and no tour around the property. We also were not told about the two free rounds of golf per person per week, so it was not until I read some more reviews on tripadvisor that I realised that nobody told us that these golf rounds were included. But okay, check in was efficient.

The rooms are very spacious, I estimate around 50m2: the bathroom has a comfortable size and includes a jacuzzi, separate shower, toilet, two sinks. Then there is a sort of middle area that includes a nice soft bed. There is a desk in an area one step down of the middle area and a very nice balcony with a swinging chair hanging from the ceiling and an outside couch. During our first week we stayed on the second (and highest) floor with a view on the indoor pool and gym. This is the shady side of the building and as I prefer some more light and a balcony in the afternoon sun we requested for a transfer to another room across the hallway. These rooms look out at the tranquility pool and are my personal favourites as it comes to layout. The rooms on the second floor on that side are seaview (extra charge) rooms, but we were perfectly fine on the first floow (room 7256). We tried to make dinner reservations upfront through email but apparently not all reservations reached the hotel (even though they were included in one email).

As already set out by other travellers the dinner reservation system seems a bit odd. We made most of our additional reservations with our concierge on the first morning of our stay, and at that time it was already somewhat difficult to get the reservations that we wanted as the restaurants seemed to be full. But once we were that to eat they did not seem full. But anyways, after a while we got tired of the restaurants and shifted to the buffet which besides the obligatory buffets on wednesday and sunday provides for a nice change. We ate in the Surf & Turf (3x), the Japanese (2x) and the Italian (1x). In our opinion they can just as well stop with the Japanese restaurant as the food has nothing to do with real Japanese food and the teppanyaki cooking mostly consists of making "teppanyaki like noises" with two knifes. Surf & Turf and Italian were fine. But our favourite meal of the day was lunch: with kobe hamburgers, lobster, tournedos and shrimp fajitas on the menu we had a perfect lunch for two weeks in a row. Breakfast is as to be expected: live cooking as it comes to eggs and omelets, crepes & pancakes, donuts & other snacks. We also enjoyed the 24 hrs room service a number of times. Food quality is perfectly fine and probably quite good in view of Mexican hotel standards, but don't expect Michelin star food.

That doesn't go for the all inclusive drinks which straightforward consist of A-brands: real Coca Cola Light, Sprite etc, some 20 beer brands incl Heineken, Corona and Dos Equis, real rums such as various sorts of Bacardi, real vodka's ect.etc. Halfway during our stay we left a generous tip plus a note in our minibar with a special request how to stock it and we would definitely recommend to do this as as of then our minibar was just heaven.

As said in other reviews as well: please don't forget to tip the staff. Our butler Victor was so nice, remembered our names from day one and arranged for a big bottle of Bacardi on my husband's request. Our beach boy Gaston served us drinks on the beach almost every day per week. Staff never seems to stop cleaning. The cleaning ladies of our room did a marvellous job, as did the lady of the turn down service. Our waiters at breakfast, lunch and dinner never stopped smiling and asking you if you wanted something else to drink and if everything was fine. Believe me, the Grand Paraiso staff will also treat you well as you don't tip - we didn't tip after every meal we had - but as the same staff seems to turn up from early in the morning through late at night and if you are aware that the average mexican monthly net salary in hospitality is around EUR 350 then you know that your tips will be highly appreciated, and to be honest staff deserves to be awarded for their extraordinary personal service. And please take some time to fill in the questionnair that they once every week or so seem to hand out in the restaurants: we've mentioned the outstanding service of our butler Victor and the next time we encountered him he genuinely thanked us for mentioning him in our survey form as management passed on our compliments to him. Which also gave us the idea that our input was appreciated and taken seriously.

Back to the hotel: the hotel buildings are nicely built, strangely enough in some sort of Italian style which seemed a bit odd being in Mexico, the grounds are very nice and well maintained, the pools and outdoor jacuzzis were relaxing and clean. We didn't have a problem with finding a lounger at the beach, but in our view the hotel wasn't fully booked although some staff told us that 90% of the rooms was busy. On busier days there might be a small shortage of loungers but I do expect that they will be able to get some additional sunchairs to accommodate every guest. The beach was cleaned every day and swimming in the sea was no problem even though there were some rocks exposed here and there. We walked along the shore and concluded that the Grand hotel is the nicest Iberostar hotel out of the 5 that are located besides eachother in that area. We didn't visit the theatre shows and didn't participate in any of the star kids activities, but if your looking for some fun activities (salsa lesson, cooking class, spinning, yoga etc) there is enough to do at the grand.

We took a look at the spa pricelevel and concluded that it was too overpriced to give it a try (USD 200 for an 80 minute massage). There is an ATM machine in the hotel that gives you USD that you might want to change in pesos, but please bear in mind that the hotel requires a copy of your passport if you want to exchange USD to pesos and that there is a personal maximum of USD 1,500 change per month. The hotel has wireless internet in the lobby and non-wireless internet is supposed to be available in the rooms - we didn't try it. There are 3 free internet computers in the lobby area, besids a room with two pool billiard tables.

All in all we had an excellent experience at Iberostad Grand Paraiso and can recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a luxurious all inclusive and above all relaxing vacation in Mexico. The hotel is not cheap, but we've definitely received full value for our money. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions on this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, BC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

This adult only resort is an experience in nothing but the best. It is not your typical all-inclusive and goes beyond the 5 star expectations. 94% of guests rate this place as excellent and was the reason we booked here. In the past five years we have stayed at these 5 star properties: Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica, Paradisus Riviera & Grand Palladium White Sands Mayan Riviera, Club Regina Puerto Vallarta. From past experience, even at 5 stars, you still run into snags, issues and occasions where you are told no. Here, if there are any issues, we had complete confidence it would be handled to our satisfaction, without any hassles.

Check-in.
We stayed Jan 26 to Feb 3. We were prepared for the normal line up at lobby check in. There is none. Didn’t even go to the lobby. At arrival, stepping out of the van, we were greeted warmly by 3 staff and given cold towels, then whisked off to our room. They gave us a few minutes to get settled before being introduced to Henri, our butler who checked us in and discussed the map and features of the room. The process was designed for the guest’s comfort and convenience.

Accommodation
Huge room. Excellent beds. Large balcony has teak flooring and a comfortable swing and sofa. Oversize bathroom with his and hers separate sinks is a nice touch for travelling girlfriends or like us, mother-daughter who have lots of toiletries. Solid door separates sleeping quarters from closets, fridge area and bathroom. Housekeeping attends twice daily plus turn down service. If you like oceanfront, this won’t disappoint with front and centre view. You step out of the lobby onto clean powder sand. From building 71, it is a 1-minute stroll to sandy bottom ocean swimming, if the red flag isn’t up.

Food
Lots of healthy choices, better quality than other 5 stars we’ve experienced. Not on the level of Celebrity Cruise Line dining, but quite good. No line up at the buffet entrance, or anywhere. Always available were rack of lamb, giant prawns, lobster, Kobe beef and fresh fish of the day at lunch and supper. 24-hour room service was a 30-minute wait. All good. We e-mailed 2 weeks ahead of arrival with reservation requests and got a reply within 2 hours, granting our choices and seating times. 8:30 pm seating is perfect if you want to attend the evening shows at 10 pm. (The quality of evening shows was quite good. Most resorts have evening entertainment, but after seeing one show, we don’t go back. We are so glad we decided to check out the second night, and then attended each night because they were terrific. And it was just for the Grand guests.)

The only negative experience occurred while dining at Toni’s Surf & Turf. One group of diners were hooting, hollering and pounding the table. The other group actually picked up carefully folded napkins from vacant tables and lobbied them across to the room at the table of their friends. They seemed to have missed the fact that their behaviour impacted all the other diners, reducing the elegant dining to a neighbourhood pub at closing time.

Staff and Service
Prepare yourself. The calibre of staff and service is one of the things that take Iberostar Grand beyond the 5 star experience. Its like the company searched far and wide for the best staff. At other resorts, it seems like a handful go above and beyond. Here, almost everyone asks questions such as “How is your vacation going so far?” “ Is the anything you need?” There is an expectation that there will be a lot more interaction with staff. We don’t normally get to know staff, but everyone is so friendly and you can’t help but be drawn into conversation. They want to make sure you are totally satisfied with your vacation. Beach and pool- side service was friendly and consistent. Beach waiter Gaston and serenity pool waitress Mirma were outstanding. We were greeted each day as if return guests, and made to feel special. Just top notch.
Buffet waiters Alex, Charley and Emilio were excellent. It seems like a resort is only as good as its staff.

Tipping
We noticed a lack of tipping and it’s a shame because as beautiful as this resort is, the service can really change the experience. Service seemed excellent whether one tipped or not. That was how professional they were. Not one staff appeared to expect tips, but modest tipping is a way of giving back to such dedicated staff.

Spa
El Spa, located in commercial centre offers a wide variety of services, including complimentary sauna, steam room, Turkish and Roman baths, Jacuzzi, therapy pool, Swedish shower, and other types of showers. This spa is a 2-minute golf cart ride from the Grand. Visually it is not the prettiest spa we’ve used, but has more of a therapeutic undertone. The white tea facial, coconut exfoliation, mud massage, and reflexology were all good. In fact, the facial was outstanding. The treatments are very therapeutic and go beyond just an opportunity to relax. Ask about the specials that combine 2 treatments, as they are a good value.

The resort seems very exclusive, but according to front desk, occupancy rate was around 60%. You won’t feel crowded here. You need to get up around 7 a.m. to save a palapas or bali bed if there is one in particular, otherwise there was always some to choose from at the serenity pool or beach. No rain all the week we were there.
When we return to the Mayan Riviera, it will be to Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful week at the Iberostar Grand Hotel in Mexico. The hotel is beautiful, the food is wonderful, wine is excellent, and the service is outstanding. We recommend that you take along some tip money, as the employees deserve to be rewarded for such impeccable service.

Our room was beautiful, with a view of the tranquility (quiet) pool and a view of the ocean. It was so quiet and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! The spa is relaxing and the work-out room well equipped.

Just one caution... if you are a loud and obnoxious party person who prefers to drink your Bud Lite from a can (despite that fact that you are on vacation in PARADISE) - this hotel is NOT for you! Hopefully "that guy" won't be there the next time we visit the Iberostar Grand!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Orbitz, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.