We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort on the Riviera Maya.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best resort on the Riviera Maya.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just returned from our second trip to this wonderful resort and cannot wait to return
Everything is first rate, the resort is spotless and the land scaping is to be enjoyed. The food, service and the people working at the resort are as good as we have ahd anywhere in our many years of travels.

If you want a vacation where evrything is done for you and first class service, this is the resort for you

Room Tip: None of the rooms are in a "bad" location but a room nearer the beach would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,002
    418
    127
    47
    21
See reviews for
384
2,634
69
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel on dec 2012. Never got to write a review but I think it's worth sharing my experience since I just returned from another 5 star in Mexico and I miss the iberostar grand. Now I am with kids I won't be able to enjoy this nice hotel. It is by far one of the best hotels my husband and I have stayed in. I am not able to find another resort as comparable to the iberostar grand paraiso that offers such great service, cleanliness, food, and beauty in all the architectural details. This hotel is worth every penny!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just got back from a 6 day trip here and are truly sad to have had to leave. AMAZING!!!! We went to Iberostar Grand Bavaro last year which was nice, but this was far superior in my eyes. All of the staff was so wonderful and helpful. Upon arrival, it appeared our ocean front jacuzzi suite was overbooked which I was initially pretty bummed about until I saw the villa they upgraded us to instead. They did manage to switch us to the room I booked the last two nights so I could get my oceanview, but truth be told, the villa was a way better option. Jesus, our butler was incredible. He answered all our questions and within an hour of getting there, he had made sure he knew when our anniversary was, brought a bottle of champagne, Malibu rum, and Whiskey Red Label since he asked us what we liked to drink. The villa has a huge main room, had an in room hammock, couch, private backyard with a pool, lounge chairs as well as a huge bathroom with large jacuzzi tub. Roberto, Alberto, Galo, Efrain at the pool bar were nothing short of super friendly and accomodating. We spent most our days with them, chatting in the sun by the pool. Asael in the buffet in the mornings was also ready with mimosas and a smile. The activities crew- Enzo, Alexander, Michael were all amazing. My boyfriend had a great time with them shooting hoops and playing ping pong since that isnt really my thing. We went to the Surf and Turf, Mexican, and Japanese restaurants. We did hibatchi on our anniversary which is always amazing, Surf and Turf was incredible, and the Mexican restaurant as well. When we returned to our room on our anniversary, there were rose petals, a bath drawn, chocolate, a lovely note, and champagne all waiting for us. We didnt do any excursions or tours on this trip and literally just relaxed and enjoyed the company of the staff and other travelers. We spent a few hours on two different days on the beach under the tiki huts which also had bar service that drinks were brought to you. There is quite a bit of seaweed on the beach and the waves were kind of aggressive, so we didnt enter the ocean at all, but we are from Florida so get that enough as it is. Did not make for a negative point at all. We did venture over to the Maya-Lindo for a short period to see the lazy river, but honestly once you see how gorgeous the Grand is, nothing compares, and we quickly came back to our own pool. There is a golf course, tennis courts, and even a large shopping plaza that is a short walk from the resort that is in the Iberostar complex that has a taco place, hamburger place, spa, and shops. We only walked through quickly, but looked had it been open (we were there early on our last day just to peek) we would have enjoyed it more. We did do a spa treatment while there this week and had an 80 minutes couple massage that was relaxing. They do have nightly shows for entertaintment. We only made it to one as they are at 10pm every night and with the sun and alcohol, we rarely made it back out that late. The show we did attend was "The Circus" and the performers were incredible. A mini Cirque du Soleil type deal. We had an amazing time and hope to go back one day!

Room Tip: If you can afford the villas and have a special occasion, they are extremely amazing. Also if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stopped here for my 50th birthday and I can honestly say that this hotel is head and shoulders above anything we've ever stayed at before. I can only describe this as heaven on earth and the service beyond belief. The food was unbelievable and the pool fantastic. If you get a chance to stay here don't hesitate. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are great, but all rooms are excellent. You won't be spending much time in there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brampton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently returned from the hotel and I can safely say this is the most exquisite hotel that we have ever stayed at.the rooms and the cleaning of our rooms twice a day , the top shelf liquor , the wonderful food selection in the buffet and the specialty restaurants were exceptional as well. The staff were always attentive ,courteous , and treated us very well throughout our stay. The beach staff Michael, Stefany, Eric, Philipe were forever playing volleyball, horseshoes , and a host of other activities which added to our fun, Included in our stay were 2 free golf course passes to a beautiful challenging golf course which we enjoyed as well The night club shows ntertaining and also very enjoyable . I must say this resort was named as the best all inclusive resort in the world and I can honestly agree with this terrific deserved rating Needless to say we will be planning to return in the near future

Room Tip: There is not a bad room anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having been to the Grand in the DR 3 times and to the Paraiso twice the Grands are the best all-inclusive resorts we have stayed at. Anyone who complains that it is getting ran down has to have a screw loose. The staff at the Grands is constantly maintaining the resort.

The food is equal to a meal at a 5 star US restaurant.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Any Oceanfront room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First, I would like to thank a few staff members. There was a mix-up on our room type and Pricilla worked a miracle and fixed it to get us the room we paid for an thought we were getting. THANK YOU so much. We are VERY grateful!! Next, Henri and Andres were the BEST butlers anyone could wish for. They continually went above and beyond and made our trip 100% first class. They were truly there for anything we needed or wanted 24/7. Both of these guys deserve a raise! Thanks guys! Ricardo also was super and really made us feel special. He diffused the room mix-up and put us at ease. He also picked us up whenever we needed and treated us very well. Pricilla, Henri, Andres, and Ricardo make up the all-star team that enabled a first class vacation for us. I HIGHLY recommend this resort for any couple that wants/needs a vacation or romantic getaway.

The food, grounds and amenities are also top notch. The staff is continually cleaning and the resort is amazingly well kept. The "night under the stars" was very fun and very romantic. Staying at this resort allows you access to all the other resorts but they can't come to The Grand. The swim-up bar at the Maya ROCKS and the grotto section is a must visit! Filberto was an awesome bartender! If anyone complains about this place they need they head examined. Do yourself a favor and book your reservation right now.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and book a Oceanfront Superior Corner Jacuzzi Suite. It's worth EVERY penny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

On behalf of all our team, we would like to thank you for your positive review.

We are thrilled to read that our staff contributed to make a memorable stay for you. We will share your comments with all our team. Priscilla, Henri, Ricardo, Andres and Filiberto will be happy to know that they were part of your experience.

We are glad to know that you liked our food, grounds and amenities. Furthermore, it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our Stars under the star show.

We appreciate that you recommend us, and we really hope to have the opportunity to host you back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.