We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

this was a GREAT family vaca..i'm 22 and my sister is 18 and we had a blast with our parents. the resort is absolutely beautiful and there is so much to do around the resort the staff is SO friendly and so accomodating

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the positive review you shared following your visit to IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. We are happy to hear that you had a great family vacation!

Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on our service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciate their friendliness and attention to detail.

Thank you for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,921
    405
    123
    44
    21
See reviews for
367
2,569
67
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Paraiso
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Upon check in, we were not offered the tour or told that sun screen was offered free at the towel hut. It felt like we spent a good deal of our time trying to navigate the resort, and then trying to figure out our pick up back to airport. Staff were not overly friendly, and the lunch buffet from 11-2 was terrible. Food was stale or hard from sitting out all day, and the fridge holding the yogurts and milks was not working all week. Our room, although clean, was damp the whole week. Even with the air on. IT had a musky odor, and our suits did not dry. Disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. It was our pleasure to host you.

Our main goal as a hotel is to guarantee your complete satisfaction so it makes us feel very concerned that we did not succeed with you this time.

We are sorry to hear that our staff did not give you full information about the services that we provide, such as free sunblock, aloe and sun lotion, and also the privilege of not having to use a towel card to obtain as many towels as you need. We can assure you that we passed your comments onto the Head Departments in order to make the corrective actions to avoid this kind of inconveniences.

Concerning the information of your pick up, please let us explain to you that we personally do not provide this service since it is directly with the travel agencies or external companies. However, what we do is to assist our guests with a courtesy phone call through their operators.

We are sad to know that you were not happy with our lunch Buffet. Your opinion has been directed to our Executive Chef for his consideration and to allow him and his team of cooks to keep working on new recipes to satisfy our guests’ taste. Moreover, please rest assured that our Health and Safety Department is totally dedicated to verify the full compliance of health & safety regulations so all the food served in our restaurants is fresh and safe for all our guests.

We are sorry about the humidity in your room. Due to our location, where high temperatures and humidity is given all year around, it is difficult to completely eradicate it. However, our Housekeeping Department uses different methods, such as aromatherapy in all rooms and ozone machines. We are sorry that you still felt this, be sure that we will notify the Department Manager about this to avoid any kind of inconveniences like this in the future.

We look forward to having another chance to welcome you back under more favorable circumstances to show you the changes and improvements we constantly make.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had very high expectations after reading all of the reviews and forums about this resort and were not let down at all! From the time we arrived, with welcome drinks in hand, to the time we left, with our luggage being loaded for us, it was truly a Grand experience that made us feel like royalty!

We had inquired about upgrading our room previous to arriving, we booked with chase rewards and only had one room option, the emailed back very promptly with prices. We decided to wait until we got there to see what the resort was like and make sure we wanted to upgrade. Upon arrival, we were offered the ocean front room, that we had inquired about, for a less expensive price than given via email. We were thrilled!!!!! The room and view was beautiful. Room 7049! Third floor perfection!

The butler did not mention that we had a pillow menu, so we did not discover it until our second night. We called and got down pillows, they arrived promptly.

We made dinner reservations ahead of time via email. If you do so, be sure to consider excursions you may do and the fact that the pool closes at 8 and is very relaxing in the evening. We had all of our dinner reservations scheduled for 7, meaning we would need to be in the room around 6 to get ready and that ended up not being as ideal as we though. We really loved the pool and laying on the beach early evening. We were able to reschedule some of our reservations, but other places were full for the later times, so we chose room service and the dinner buffet for those nights and were not let down by either. We did a repeat of the Japanese a la carte, the second cook was so much better than the first! Toni's Surf and Turf is another solid choice; however, we were not impressed with the Italian a la carte. Service was always prompt for all breakfast, lunch, and dinner services. Room service took about 30 minutes and food was warm when it arrived.

The beach was beautiful!!!!! A couple of large rocky sections, only made for wonder photos! Roped off sections to swim in. If you look to the right, facing the ocean, you will see Cozumel. You can walk the beach for a good length of time.

Service on the beach can be a bit slow. Perhaps there are more servers in the highly populated travel seasons. The resort was approx 60% percent full and I only saw 1 server on the beach. You must remember that the server is going back to the pool bar to get your drinks though, which is typically a happening place already. So, I wouldn't punish the servers when it takes them longer to bring your drink than anticipated. I assure you, they are going as fast as they can to bring you your drink to the beach!! My suggestion for the resort is to build a beach bar or a small bar behind the concierge desk of each ocean front building that is only for the servers of the beach to get drinks! This is where the only down fall of the entire resort is and it wasn't THAT big of a deal. We still got our drinks handed to us on the beach and didn't have to get up and get it ourselves! My suggestion is to get your own on the way to the beach, and then order one when you get there and another when he/she hands you your first, if you are constantly wanting a drink.

The concierge desk was always so friendly and helpful! They always asked up how we were and told us welcome home! It was pleasing and refreshing to be around so many friendly and welcoming people! Remember that most of the workers actually live on site and serving you is literally their life. They are so grateful of tips, though it is not required or expected.

Maid service was fantastic- nothing stolen like I read about at other resorts. If you are going to tip, be aware that there are two maids cleaning!

Our mini fridge was always restocked. We left a note for more coke and beer and less of everything else, and got just that!

Anytime we wanted a golf cart ride to another part of the resort, even if it was just to dinner, the bell boy was there in a jiffy to pick us up and take us. We always tipped him for his service.

There are plenty of activities going on throughout the day including yoga, water workouts, beach volley ball, beach soccer, archery, cooking lessons, dance lessons, wine tasting, etc! At night, there is the show at 10 and typically something in the theater after at 11. Sometimes, there is something in the theater at 9. Twice a week, there was poker scheduled at 9. We went to that and enjoyed it! No money thrown down, just fun!

Remember you can use all of the amenities at the Iberostar family resorts on the property. While kids are allowed at the other resorts, we did not see many on the beach near the grand. Occasionally a few would walk by, but they were calm and did not stop to get in the water or dig in the stand, so it was still peaceful. Most of the swimming is done at the resort right next door, the Maya. There is a roped off area in front of the Grand, but I saw very few people in that section.

We got a massage at the shopping center spa (shared with all the Iberostar Resorts) and it was great. We also had tacos from the taco shop there and crepes. You can watch them make both. Different location within the shopping center but very close to each other. There is also a coffee shop over there making anything your typical coffee shop would make. Other places within the shopping center include a cigar shop, jewelry store, several souvenir shops, etc.

We also got a massage at the spa on the Grand property. I enjoyed the mayan massage I received there over the other at the shopping center spa. Both were great though. The spa pool at the grand is something to experience!

Don't book your week so full that you don't get to enjoy the Grand enough. We went to Xelha one day, Xplor another day, and spent a couple of hours in Playa del Carmen another day. We wished we had stuck with one excursion instead of two because it was so wonderful that we didn't want or need any other entertainment. If you do choose to book excursions, I say don't do it until you are bored with the resort, if you even get to that point. And if you are like us, and only plan on visiting the area once and want to experience other parts of the area, I suggest going to the Iberostar hospitality desk the day you arrive, because it may take longer than you think and be best to get the booking out of the way.

Although we planned to only visit an area once, we will be back to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso again someday to enjoy the resort and only the resort for the entirety of our stay! WE LOVED THIS RESORT, YOU CAN'T GO WRONG AT THE GRAND!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ocean front is worth the extra spending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to express our gratitude for your great comments regarding our resort IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel, the different activities, rooms and great beach area. We are very happy to know that we were able to provide a wonderful and relaxing time for you.

In regard to our food, our Executive Chef will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed our cuisine at the buffet , the room service and Toni’s restaurant. We will work to give the same dining experience in all of our restaurants.

Furthermore, thank you for all your positive remarks, including the kindness of our staff. We take note of all your constructive comments as well in order to ensure the best experience to our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your great review. It will be a pleasure for us to host you again at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Salem, PA USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first trip to The Iberostar Grand, our first trip to Riviera Maya, and our first trip to Mexico. Another couple we met here the first day said we started at the top. They were correct. This place is nothing short of amazing. The Grand Hotel itself is breathtaking. We were upgraded to an oceanfront room that was exceptional...a suite with comfy beds, spacious bathroom ( that we wish we had) and a balcony that had an exceptional view of the Caribbean and beach...a photographer's dream. Rooms were cleaned twice daily with turn down service each evening, along with a few pleasant surprises along the way. Our room refrigerator was stocked constantly with personal favorites.

The all inclusive cuisine was top notch. We ate at Toni's ( three times). The view overlooking the complex from this restaurant is so beautiful, especially at sunset. We also tried the French and Italian restaurants. All were outstanding. The breakfast and lunch buffets were so extensive...choose your steak or lobster and it was grilled as you perused the other fruit, salad, seafood, meat and cheese, Mexican, dessert, etc. , etc. etc. bars. We were never really hungry because there was so much food everywhere you looked.

The pools are huge, with many activities if you choosed to join in. We chose the pool with the swim up bar because we enjoyed the lively crowd. The beach was pristine...we watched the sand being raked each morning from our balcony. There were so many places to pick your lounging spot and claim it as yours for the day...be it beach or poolside. Your beverage of choice was within your grasp at a moment's notice, as the waiters and waitresses are ever present.

We took advantage of the spa facilities that were included. It's such a peaceful place if you choose to totally relax. Definitely get in the heated pool and try the waterfall back massages. Then choose a fruit and vegetable beverage from the health bar.

There was nightly entertainment, which we bypassed the first few nights because we were so tied from the sun and the food! Four days into our trip, we took advantage of this as well. Our suggestion is to take a nap in the afternoon, so you can experience the nightly shows. The highlight of our trip came on the last night...it was Mexican night around the pool.. two live bands, dancing, beautifully lit tables and surroundings...a perfect way to conclude our week's stay. The entertainment staff walked around to every table to chat about the experiences of everyone's week.

With all the beauty of the hotel itself and the surrounding grounds, we think the staff at the Iberostar Grand was what we were most impressed. Not only did they meet our every need , but they were genuine. Never did we go past a staff member without a greeting and a smile.

If you are old enough to remember the show 'Fantasy Island', that is how we felt as we were taken to this little slice of heaven. The Iberostar Grand is an experience like no other. It is hard to believe that anyone would come here and complain about ANYTHING. If your budget allows you to indulge in a special trip, this is certainly the place we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review. We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to live your Mexican experience.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: excellent food in all of the restaurants, amazing ocean front room with a spectacular view, pool bar, our relaxing spa, the fun Wednesday show at the pool, and especially our friendly and efficient staff. It is always motivating for us to receive comments like yours.

We look forward to hosting you again at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraíso, your home away from home.

With warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Necochea, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I decided to spend all my holidays in this hotel, after enjoying it two years ago for two nights.
It is truly an experience worth having. I cannot remember everybody's names, but Andy and Jorge, Eusebio, Manuel, and many others, made it a resting and recover holiday.
Even though I found all outstanding, there was one minor problem that I know somebody will read and make sure it will not happen to anybody: when I ordered room service and the Iberostar sandwich was brought, I found it really tasty... but the bacon in it must have been from the morning because I nearly broke my teeth! Totally uneatable, I obviously left all of it on the plate. I was sad to find that such good service can be diminish for a piece of, frankly, wood.
But all the rest! Rooms, meals, cleaning, drinks, service at bars, restaurants, mall, front desk, beach, etc was outstanding. I have to say that the waiter that was attending the last two days was very helpful and service seemed to be his middle name.
On arrival I asked for the last night to be in beach front, so I paid for one night and I was given two nights! The view from these rooms is superb, and I actually slept outside a number of hours the first night.
The cleanliness of the place is outstanding, and all the time you see people worrying about making it look nice. The place is worth going back, so because I live in a country with strange economy gurus, I will start saving today to travel sometime in the next three years!!
As Terminator said: "I will be back..."

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. Rooms in the beach front are a bit more expensive, but sometimes it is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso and for taking the time to post a review about your experience.

We are very glad to read your positive evaluation about the excellent service of our staff members especially the one provided by Andy, Jorge, Eusebio and Manuel.

Furthermore, we appreciate your mention about the cleanliness and beauty of our facilities which ensured you the Really Grand experience, as you stated on the title of your review. At IBEROSTAR, we are committed to offering memorable stays to our beloved guests, and we are happy to hear that we reached our goal with you.

We remain at your entire disposition for further assistance. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been to Mexico over 30 times. Some visits were stops on cruise ships. Most were week-long visits to resorts. This was our first visit to an Iberostar and it was enjoyable. Here are some of the highlights that would be of interest to someone considering this facility.

Check-In: This was one of the easiest and fastest check-ins in Mexico. We arrived at the hotel at 1:00 PM. We were checked in and given our room all within 20 minutes of walking in the door.

Room: The walk from the Lobby to Building 72. The inside of the hotel is very beautiful, we liked it. Be sure to look up and enjoy the murals that are on the ceiling. Our hotel room was great, well appointed, very comfortable bed. We had a large balcony with a sofa and enclosed wicker swing for two. The drying rack on the balcony was a perfect size for swimsuits. The bathroom was large and we had plenty of closet space.

Food: The food would have to be given 4.5 stars out of 5. The buffets are well presented, but repetitive. The servers are attentive. Marcos waited on us several times. He did an outstanding job. The captains of the restaurants are friendly and will do anything they can to make your dining exceptional. The lack of variety at the breakfast and lunch buffets and the Japanese restaurant to have dipping sauces were disappointing. Orange juice was not always fresh squeezed. Coffee is brewed in a large urn, had a caulky, bitter taste. Resort would greatly benefit from a paper filter utilizing coffee maker. It would have been a nice touch to have the breakfast and lunch menus vary on at least an every other day basis, but the menu was exactly the same every day and few guests even bothered to look at it. When we did order from the printed menu selection at lunch, it took a long time for the entre to arrive. We needed to remind the server and alert the supervisor. Either the server forgot to turn in the order or the kitchen was very slow. All parties were very nice and apologetic. Toni’s Surf & Turf was good. The French restaurant (try the lobster thermador and beef bourguignon) is the best restaurant; the Italian restaurant (everything on the menu) is second, and the Mexican restaurant (chicken mole and shrimp tacos) is third. We only tried the dinner buffet Wednesday night for seafood and it was wonderful. We did have room service. They were prompt and brought it in 30 minutes. The food order was 99% accurate and was still warm. My husband had food poisoning symptoms on the fourth day of our stay. We did not leave the resort during our 7 day visit. It has been our experience that on Mexican trips, food poisoning has happened to us about once out of every 10-15 trips.

Pool: The ladies giving out the towels and sunscreen were terrific. I loved talking with Yuri. She made us feel welcomed and at home. Thank you Yuri. The ladies working pool drink service were excellent. After a day, they knew what we wanted and would ask if we wanted another. At other resorts, bar tenders at the pools usually are not the best in the resort. However, these gentlemen knew what they were doing and did an excellent job. Premium brands were available at the swim-up bar; this is a great feature not available at every resort. The spa pools are very nice. Tranquility pool is relaxing and beautiful. We found there were excellent walking possibilities to the south. All pools are at a nice temperature. Concierge service (Chantal) very accommodating and helpful.

Entertainment: Hats off to Eduardo, Andy and Ector. They kept things lively and fun. The games at the pool were fun to participate in and to watch. No pressure to join in and we liked that. Only comment would be to have bingo daily. On Casino night, the stage walkway was not light well enough for people to see where to walk. A couple of times we saw people miss the walkway and fall into the orchestra pit.

Beach: the beach was terrific. Directly behind the resort, there were very large rocks and not good for swimming. However, on either side was great potential for walking. Go left and walk by the sister properties of Iberostar. You’ll see how nice this resort is in comparison.

Overall: Excellent. I would rate the hotel and staff as 5 stars, the food is 4 stars. I would highly recommend this resort to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso and for taking the time to share your experience. We feel honored to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday.

We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our process of checking in, with your room, the pools and the spa facilities.

Thank you for your suggestions about the coffee maker and the menus. We apologize about the delay during lunch. We will forward your comments about the Japanese restaurant and the breakfast and lunch buffets to the Executive Chef to keep working on offering the best. It is good to know that you liked the rest of the a la carte restaurants, the room service and the International Buffet.

We would also like to thank you for your comment about the bingo and the stage walkway. We would not want anybody to fall or hurt themselves so we will take it into account.

Our goal is to make every guest feel like a star and at home, so we appreciate that you mention the friendliness and hard work of the staff. We will inform the pool concierge, waiters, concierge and entertainers about your positive comments, so they will feel special as well.

Moreover, thank you for recommending us. We appreciate all of our guests’ comments and suggestions regarding our services and facilities, especially from someone with travel experience! Both the hotel and guests are helped with this as it is our aim to continuously improve and to achieve top quality service levels.

We hope that you will be staying again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our fourth trip in May 2014 to the Iberostar Grand Playa Paraiso was wonderful. We had visited three times in the past, and after the third trip, we were bored, so we branched out and tried new resorts. After a few years respite, we went back and we were not disappointed! We were treated in a very gracious manner as returning guests; we loved the room assigned us, as well as the polo shirts, upgraded bottle of wine, and other perks.


Service was consistently very good to excellent across the board. A special kudos to Alexandra the chef and Daniel in the lobby bar for wonderful, friendly, and professional service.
I love the rooms here! The bed is very comfortable, probably the most comfortable I have experienced in the entire country. The bath is private and can be closed off from the rest of the room, and because of the room layout, this means the room is very quiet; you don’t hear others walking the corridors late at night, at least not the oceanfront room we were in at the end of a corridor. The only downfall of the room is that the shower is very small even for one normal size person, and there are no holders for your toiletries in the shower.


Food was excellent, and actually better than we remembered from prior trips. The lunch is nothing short of spectacular, with an array of fresh seafood that is simply amazing. Our favorite ala carte is Toni’s, although this time we really enjoyed the new Mexican place and ate there twice; I was traveling with Mexicans who felt the food really did justice to Mexican cuisine.
We had a lot of rain when we were there; the indoor pool was a wonderful place to hang out, as was the lobby bar.


I love that the Grand offers something for everyone. The main pool bar was an active, fun scene, yet if one was seeking quiet, the Tranquility Pool was perfect. The palapas on the beach have two comfortable lounge chairs with pads, and tables built into the palapa, affording guests shade and even a modicum of privacy as the palapas are not one on top of another. And there are lots of them, negating any towel game, at least when we were there.


For the price point, the Grand remains one of my all time favorite resorts. The rooms are comfortable. The oceanfront view is to die for. The service is professional and friendly. The included wines are decent, and more varied than I have had at other resorts (other than Le Blanc). The food was delicious, with an abundance of fresh seafood; you can eat lobster for breakfast, lunch, and dinner if you wish. Drinks were well-prepared, and top shelf alcohol is readily available. In comparison to Secrets Maroma, the Grand offers a more personal, luxurious experience at a better price. It is on par with Le Blanc (with Le Blanc having a slight edge for food and a definite edge for wine), and similar to but better than Royal Hideaway.


The resort has aged well, and wherever we saw signs of age, staff was working on fixing it. When we were there they were working on the walkway roofs.


This is a beautiful resort. One of the best on the Riviera Maya. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Either of the oceanfront buildings will give you amazing beachfront location and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad to have had the opportunity of welcoming you for the 4th time. It is a pleasure to know that your impression after all this time has been excellent again.

Our guests are the most important part of this wonderful family and the best way to prove it, is pampering you with some little details as the ones that we did for you such as the special bottle of wine, the polo shirts and the room among others.

With regard to your suggestions about the size of our shower and the holder, we will take note of it. We are working hard in order to improve and offer our guests the best installations.

Regarding gastronomy, our menu in each specialty restaurant has been meticulously designed to provide the highest level of worldwide food. The Executive Chef will love your kind description that makes justice to all the efforts that they make daily.

Moreover, it is great that you noticed that we have more lounge chairs and the solid dedication of our Maintenance Team, thank you for highlighting it.

We want to keep being the best option every time you plan your vacations, for that reason we keep our commitment to offer new services every time.

We hope to see you back at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Paraíso in the near future.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.