We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, beautiful property.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beautiful property.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to the Grand and we absolutely loved it. We have been to other all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean, but this was our first in México and it was amazing. I have to mention that I booked this trip with Ruth DeMuth at TripGuy Travel and highly recommend you do so too, for any travel plans. Ruth's professionalism and knowledge is top notch and we will book all future trips with her. Every detail was taken care of for us and this was the first trip I didn't have to stress over our plans.

Here our my thoughts:

Check in-When we pulled up to the lobby we were greeted with refreshing hand towels and margaritas. We arrived around 11:30am and our room was not ready, which we were prepared for, so we had our bathing suits in our carry on luggage. We were told that the check in process would take place in our room since we booked an Oceanfront Junior Suite. We headed to the buffet for lunch and then to the pool. Around 2:00 our butler found us at the pool and brought us to our room, where our luggage was waiting and the whole check in process was completed. Very efficient and easy, couldn't have been better.

Oceanfront Junior Suite-The room looks exactly like the pictures. It was very clean, spacious, and had an amazing view. We traveled with friends who booked a non oceanfront room off the main lobby and after they saw our room they upgraded to oceanfront. You can't beat the view and proximity to the beach. In my opinion you have to stay in an oceanfront room. There is nothing like falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean. We left our balcony door open every night. The room had a sizeable bathroom with separate vanities, king bed, table, chaise lounge, plenty of closet space, and a sizeable balcony with a swing chair, couch, and table.

Property-Beautiful, clean, easy to walk, laid out nicely and quiet. The beachfront was great for a leisurely walk.

Pools-We didn't use the quiet pool but it looked nice. We spent every day at the main pool and had no problem getting cabañas. Plenty of towels, they never ran out, which is a big deal because we've stayed at other resorts and almost every time had to deal with the resort running out of pool towels. The lounge chairs were comfortable and they had plenty set up in the shallow pool to relax in. The swim up bar was excellent, and the wait staff was more than efficient, we were never without a drink in hand.

Restaurants/food-I have to say that we have realistic expectations when it comes to all inclusive resort food, however, we were pleasantly surprised with this resort. The breakfast and lunch buffets were excellent. A great variety of fresh food every day. We had dinner at each of the restaurants, and had the best meal at the hibachi restaurant. We also ordered room service a few times. The late night room service menu is limited but if you ask for something not on the menu they will bring it to you.

Service-EXCELLENT!!!! I am beyond impressed with the entire staff at this resort. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. This alone will make us return. I wish I wrote down every name, since I am sure I will forget to mention everyone that deserves it and how to correctly spell their names, but here are a few: Jazhiel (also known as JayZ or Jaz), Eder, Eduardo, Olivia, Eusibio, Exemana, and so many more.

Spa-I had the best massage ever on the beach and it was one of the many highlights of our trip. I also had a massage at the spa, which was nice, but the beach massage was much better. I highly recommend it.

Overall we loved every aspect of our trip and even though we like to try new places, we will definitely return to the Grand. It is a must do. I also again highly recommend Ruth from TripGuy if you want a worry and hassle free vacation experience (and who doesn't want that?).

Room Tip: Oceanfront is a must do at this resort and worth the upgrade. We stayed in room 7035.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for posting your review here on Trip Advisor, we are glad to read that you loved your stay at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso and for choosing to stay with us for your first visit time in Mexico.

Our staff is pleased to hear that you had an easy and efficient check in, they are the first contact with all our guests and to hear that they met your expectations makes us feel proud. We are also happy to read that our accommodations were of your entire satisfaction as well as our other installations.

Thank you for highlighting the attitude and service of our staff, the best award we have for our daily work is to received positive comments like yours, it is the best source of motivation for all of us, we really appreciate it.

Moreover your praising words about our restaurants make us feel very proud because food and beverage is one of our main organization pillars.

Last but not least we are thrilled to read that you had the best massage ever on the beach, it is good to know that you enjoyed it.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your comments; we really look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,733
    371
    118
    42
    20
See reviews for
343
2402
60
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our third visit to the grand. It is been two years since our last visit, and it was better than I remembered. The staff was over the top accommodating. The grounds are immaculate. The beach has been extended off property to allow for additional walking. The restaurants were amazing. To have lobster at every lunch and dinner was a treat. We stayed in beachfront Jacuzzi suite drinking champagne outside several nights. The room service was prompt. Having been to the other Caribbean grands, we forgot how wonderful this one was. Although it was not busy, which I am certain accounted for some of the five-star service, I am certain that we would have been just a satisfied during peak season. I cannot think of anything that I would have wanted to improve upon except the duration of my stay. I can't wait to return and stay longer. Be certain to arrange for private transfers from the airport to facilitate a pleasant arrival and departure.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are well worth the added money for the early morning and evening enjoyment of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our services and also for recommending us to all Trip Advisor readers.

As a repetitive guest we double thank you for the loyalty towards our hotel, it is good to know that you chose us for the 3rd time, it makes us feel very proud of our service, we really appreciate it.

We are focused in the traveler´s satisfactions and to make them feel comfortable, relaxed and amazed every time they come, so we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our installations including accommodations, gardens, beach and restaurants.

On behalf of all our team, it will be our pleasure to welcome you for the 4th time in the Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I vacationed at the Iberostar Grand Parisio for the second time Mar. 3 - 10, 2014. Last year we were blown away by the entire experience and the second time was no disappointment as a matter of fact we both felt it was better. The unfortunate part of our trip was that there was a conference going on at the same time and although most were well behaved, there were a number of these folks that misbehaved and acted very disrespectful to the staff and other guests! They were very obnoxious; drunks, and very disrespectful! If I were the CEO of Honeywell I’d reconsider the idea of bringing 135 employees to an all inclusive adult’s only resort. Very poor reflection of the company and their Values!
Again I can’t say enough about the staff; from the time you enter this resort every employee you come in contact with are very friendly, professional and their main goal is to ensure you have an amazing experience. The Star team is really great and I give these people a lot of credit for the work they do. They are very engaging and fun to be around. They spend their entire day making sure you are enjoying your vacation; they come and visit with you but do not get pushy trying to get you active in the games they offer. Great job Star Team!!
Again we found the food to be great. There were tons of choices and the seafood was plentiful and cooked in several different manners. We eat at all the restaurants and we had no problem getting our reservations and mostly at the time we wanted. We like all of them but our favorite was the Surf and Turf. The breakfasts and lunches were great and you could either choose from the menu or buffet and all the food was great.
The rooms are amazing; we had an ocean front room and the views are spectacular. The balconies have a lovely comfortable day bed and a swinging chair that was just the ticket for relaxing and reading after a long day at the beach. The maid service was right on point. We never had a time where we needed towels or something ran low – the maids made sure we had everything.
We love walking the beach and we mostly walked everyday to the Secrets about a 45 minute walk south of the resort. The beaches are lovely but there seems to be a lot of trash, plastics, shoes, even saw a full intervenes bag. It looked like someone had started to clean it up and I would recommend the Government get it cleaned up as it is a terrible mess!
In December 2013, we vacationed for 2 weeks at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana (second time) and I must say that the Iberostar brand is amazing. Both resorts exceeded all our expectations. We are already planning our December vacation; this time we will do 2 weeks at the IBGP in December and 2 weeks at the IBGB in March 2015.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but if you love the ocean then definitely book the ocean front suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your favorable comments following your last stay at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. We are sincerely grateful for your return visits and thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay among us.

Furthermore, we greatly appreciate your wonderful comments on our service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

We appreciate your highlights on our restaurants; we always strive to offer a wide variety of food in order to please all palates.

Once again thank you for choosing us and for your loyalty to IBEROSTAR Grand Collection, we look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place will not disappoint!
The service is great. Staff always bend over backwards to satisfy your every need, especially the butlers.
The foods is delicious, which is so hard to say about most all inclusives, usually I get tired of the food by the third day, but they do such a good job of keeping up with the variety. Also, you can pretty much eat lobster everyday and every meal if you wanted to.
The standard rooms are beautiful, spacious, and well kept. Ours faced the quiet pools, which was nice since we didn't have to deal with any noise issues.
The beach is amazing, always a chair available and of course the beautiful water!
Hands down one of the best places to go to for a relaxing beach getaway! I would totally go back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for the time you took to write your review here on Trip Advisor.

We would like to thank you for pointing out the beauty of our installations and comfort of our exclusive suites and also for highlighting the helpfulness and kindness of our staff, the wellbeing of our guests at all times is our main concern.

We greatly appreciate your praising comments about the variety of our food. We know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests’ experience and that is why we are thrilled to read your full satisfaction with it.

We sincerely hope that you had a very enjoyable stay among us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Top choice for a honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful, the pools and beach are excellent, the service is very professional and the food is superb! Will certainly come back.
It wasn't cheap, but the value you get in return is unbeatable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of welcoming you and also for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to read that you had a great time among us, and that you enjoyed our installations and gastronomy.

We really appreciate your recognition of our very professional work; it makes us feel very proud to know that we have pleased you in every way.

It is great to read that you have the intention of coming back, please be sure we are already looking forward to have the honor of welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Travel date: mid January 2014. The resort is large but not massive. The ocean in front had rocky areas. The beach area was spacious, quiet, and restricted to Iberostar Grand customers. There is access to the other Iberostar resorts next door, and that beach area was much more crowded and active and the beach was less rocky. (The other resorts do not have access to Grand) The Grand had NO beach bar, although there would be plenty of space available for one (they should add one). Drink service on the beach was slow and unpredictable. Elsewhere in the resort, service was excellent. The food was generally good, although certain items (specifically pizza) were not good. The Japanese restaurant was particularly good. The room was large. Between the bedroom and bathroom, there was a space containing the closets and bar area, providing privacy and reducing noise from the bathroom for anyone sleeping, There were doors between this area and bedroom and this area and bathroom. The pool water was cold. Background music played around the pool areas was usually boring, often strange remakes of old songs, not much up-to-date music.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor of a beach front building, and had a mildewy odor. A mildewy odor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience with other travelers about your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso Hotel.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your pleasant stay.

Regarding your comments on the rocky beach, we would like to mention that we are a Green Globe certificated hotel that is committed to protect and conserve all natural areas, this is the main secret for the beauty of our beach. We really hope you were able to enjoy it.
We apologize for the service provided at the beach, please be sure we will inform our food and beverages Manager in order to enhance the speed of the service.

It is good to hear that in general you liked our gastronomy, we are sorry to know that our pizza we did not conquer your palate, we have already shared your comments with our Executive Chef to look for improvements.

Once again thank you for posting your review. We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso soon!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited mid-Feb 2014. Second visit to The Grand. Fantastic service, everybody was so nice to us. The facilities are spotless. Room was awesome and the housekeeping staff did a great job. Star friend Eder and his team were so much fun, professional, engaging, great activities and instructors. Thanks Chris (xoxo) and Andy!

Food was amazing; buffet had so much to choose from, all fresh, and master chef Olivia rocked! Restaurant manager Lara was awesome and so nice. All the restaurant staff are so unbelievable friendly, helpful and hard working. A-la-carte: Surf/turf, Japanese, Brazilian (Del Mar) all good.
Loved the lobby bar and the caipirinhas.

Weather was super but windy enough for red flag on beach, no swimming, so we also decided to pass on snorkeling at Akumal. Too bad.

Gym at the indoor pool complex had really nice weights and cardio equipment.

If there was any suggestion for improvement: Steaks at surf/turf restaurant should be thicker and smaller dia to be more in line with high-end US/Can steak places (this is a 5-star resort after all), and the "sommelier" was strangely trying to push the major upcharge wines, without telling us about the upcharge, when in fact the std inclusive wine list was really very good.
Also, the butler and concierge service was somewhat underwhelming and might be better run by folks with more experience (to align with the 5-star). These are really minor issues.

We had a fabulous time! Will definitely be back.
[El Polcito]

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review shared on this website. On behalf of our Management and our staff we want to say that it was a great honor to have served you. We appreciate your nice words as it pertained to our amazing rooms, delicious food in our restaurants and the service of our staff.

We can assure you that we will forward your suggestion to our Executive chef about the steaks at the Surf & Turf restaurant, for his consideration.

We hasten to express our sincere regret that your visit fell below par with the concierge and butler service. We are terrible concerned about it because it is one of our strengths.

Concerning our sommelier service, his aim is to provide a fine dining experience, so when his assistance is required, he selects wines based upon your meal. Our Sommelier provides a tasting and a pairing demonstration, making sure that all wines are properly decanted, served at the perfect temperature, and into a proper glassware. However we do have a menu that lists both included and not included wines and as a standard this are always showed to our guests. We will look into this with our Food & Beverage department to avoid guests feeling pressured or uncomfortable with this situation, as this is the last impression we want you to take home. We apologize for the inconvenient.

We hope that you will visit us again to see the changes we continuously make in order to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.