We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time and not the last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Second time and not the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed Dec 7-14 and had a wonderful time! The service was not as good as the first time in the beginning, but after speaking to Natalia (concierge) and upgrading to the Oceanfront rooms (at my expense) we had Charley as our butler and the remaining part of our trip was wonderful. Thanks to these two fabulous and dedicated workers our trip was turned around....so much so that we are returning Feb 13-22!! I'm hoping the third visit is as Grand as the first.

Room Tip: upgrade to Oceanfront third floor...excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing us for the second time!

We thank you for the time that you have taken to make constructive comments as well, we are committed to listening to our guests and be constantly trying to improve our services.

Your special mention of certain members of staff will encourage our team. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests. They are the heart of our company!

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,931
    406
    123
    44
    21
See reviews for
368
2,577
67
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We've waited almost half a year to write the review as we thought that maybe we were charmed by the idea it was our honeymoon and we would simply enjoy anything. But definitely not! The time passed and I still think it was the greatest hotel I had ever had a pleasure to visit.

Food is simply amazing. Fresh, delicious, diverse. Especially for sea food lover as myself.
Service... lack of words! Swans made from towels, rose flakes spread on linen and bath by the light of candles are all the nice things we will keep in mind when choosing to go back to Mexico.
Weather: incredible. We were warned, mostly by our family members, not to go to the Cancun area in the hurricane season but we didn't experience anything that would disturb our holiday except couple of minutes of rain.
Surrounding: an incredible addition to the lovely complex of hotels is the nature by itself. While walking from one pool to another you will easily see raccoons and peacocks! A definite attraction for kids.
Evening attractions: Every day hotel organises the evening show of the highest standards. We recommend to visit it at least ones, as you won't be disappointed.
Jet-lag: well, travelling from Scotland caused us a heavy jet-lag so we had morning walks on the beach, capturing two lovely sunrises!

So.. if you're decided to visit Grand Paraiso, please order at the bar a Dirty Monkey and raise a glass for us while enjoying delicious banana and cacao flavoured drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion for you, and for taking the time to share with others your experience.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon and we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: food, beverages, decoration, shows and pools, it is always motivating to receive comments like yours.

We hope that you will continue to give us the pleasure of hosting you for your next vacations or anniversary.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Helens, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am currently writing this review from our room as we are nearing the end of our stay here at the Grand and the weather has taken a slight turn for the worse.
As stated in all the previous reviews about this hotel everything is of a very good standard, the food, rooms, pool, beach, but for us the one thing that does make it stand out is the staff. The staff here at the Grand are exceptional. They are so attentive, polite and friendly. We have tipped throughout our stay but not once have we felt as though we had to which we have found at other all inclusive hotels. We have had room service on a number of occasions and had our butler have specially prepared meals made as one day I was a little under the weather, again none of which was any trouble.
We have been to hotels throughout the world that look as nice, have just as nice food, have better beaches and only once (in Thailand) have just as good service, but the Grand has it all.
Thank you for what has been a wonderful stay, we will definitely be recommending the Grand to our friends and would return here on our next visit to Mexico.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your delightful review, after reading your comments you make us feel so proud.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our main goal is to meet our guests’ expectations, and to read that you even have a nicer time is a good sign that we are doing a good job and have to continue making an effort to keep up with it and even improve day after day. Your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services with other properties.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts of our dedicated team and no doubt will they be motivated by your kind words.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed at this Resort Jan 14-22, had a very good experience from the time I landed in Mexico to the time I flew out. I sweat I never lined up for anything. Upon arrival we were taken to our Oceanfront room/suite where the Butler checked us in a short while later. I highly recommend these rooms/service. I got in a bit late so ordered room service which arrived promptly. The only possible gripe was that some of the service was inconsistent at the oceanfront buffet restaurant (sometimes not enough staff to wait tables) and that the Spa was a disappointment (lukewarm hot tubs and sauna did not work). Room was one of the best ive had - loved the balcony. Food was top notch but if you miss out on the Japanese restaurant dont' lose any sleep. Chairs/beds/palapas on the beach were never an issue to secure, no need to get up a 6am to reserve one as in some other places. If you want to know why you paid more all you have to do is wander to the other beach where the chairs are setup for the other Iberostar Hotels on the property.

Room Tip: Try to get Oceanfront Room, second but preferably Third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit to our resort. We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service.

We are sorry about the inconveniences you mentioned in our spa. During the days you were staying with us one of our filters at the Spa tubs got damaged, we deeply apologize about this issue. Maintenance is one of our big priorities and we are working every day to keep the hotel in good shape.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

wonderful hotel. consists of 5 parts-hotels. each part wonderful. everything is at a high level. nicely. there are different kinds of animals on the territory. stunning beach. but the most interesting is the beauty of the Park and unusual birds and animals inside the Park of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Google Translation
Уважаемый Гость,

Спасибо за Ваш отзыв. Для нас была большая честь иметь возможность оказать Вам услуги. Также приятно слышать, что Вам так понравился отдых внашем отеле. Мы надеемся, что в будущем Вы снова посетите нас.

Мы с нетерпением ждем возможности приветствовать Вас снова.

С наилучшими пожеланиями,
Менеджер по качеству
IberostarMexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH DARTMOUTH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

this is the second time we've been here and it's just getting better. there are no better resorts on the planet. we have been to all 3 iberostar grands and this one is the nicest, the grand in mexico is the largest of the 3, but they are all fabulous. just treat yourself to paradise, it's well worth it. sometimes it still amazes us that places like this exist. from the staff, food, drinks, pools, beach and surroundings it is just all top shelf. the only disappointment is having to leave.......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you. It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much.

We also thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our accommodations, our food, drink and service among others, we hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back any season.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Second trip, last one 5 years ago. Place has worn a bit, cracking on banister posts, all over lobby a bit tired. A very Mexican Vegas look, a change would be nice in that entrance. The rooms would benefit from painting and new bedding, just an upgraded look. The bed is very comfortable and the sheets wonderful, pillows, too. Last time we were not on ocean, this time we were and made it much more enjoyable. Great bathroom and the size of the room wonderful, great layout.The service remains above excellent, truly amazing. Food is good to really good, just depends on ability to make good choices. Spa nice. Pools beautiful and grounds beautifully maintained. We are a 60 yr old couple that wanted to relax and we did, plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view, some other people have said it doesn't matter, but for us it increased our e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your delightful review, we really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel, you make feel us so proud hearing your comments about Iberostar Grand Paraiso. We would like to thank you for your last visit. We are glad that you found the hotel is relaxing, clean and the employees friendly. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed the room, food, grounds and best service.

Regarding maintenance of our facilities, we do believe that renovations and improvements can be done and they are indeed being carried out throughout the year by areas since the hotel never closes and we need to ensure that there are no inconveniences to our guests during their stay at our resort. Your useful comment will be sent to our Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers.

We look forward to hosting you again to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso: your home away from home.

With warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.