We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency is the name of this Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Consistency is the name of this Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to this beautiful resort! Hard to say anything bad at all, it constantly amazes me how consistently they perform. The golf, tennis for recreational activity is excellent, the food is amazing from the Haiku Japanese Tepanyaki to Toni's Surf N Turf, 5 star is a very accurate depiction of this entire adults only resort!

Room Tip: Whether you get an Oceanfront or just their standard Jr Suites you will be in for a convenient locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty towards our hotel, it is a great pleasure to read that you had a great time.

It is great to know that during you stay you had the opportunity to enjoy different aspects of our hotel, such as the entertainment and gastronomy, these are some of the main pillars of our organization, and to read that we fulfilled you expectations is the best award.

We really appreciate the time you took to share your comments with other travelers. On behalf of all our team, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our second trip to Mexico after having stayed at the Grand for 5 nights in October. We had a wonderfully relaxing time at the Grand, enjoying the beauty of the resort. The resort is an excellent place for couples who are looking to relax and be by themselves for an extended amount of time. While we enjoyed our time at the Grand and would likely go there again sometime, there were a few things that were a bit disappointing considering the amount of money we spent on the trip that perhaps could be adjusted to make the trip even better next time. We have stayed at the Secrets Capri resort, so that is our main point of reference of resorts in Mexico (Our Costa Rica resort stay in 2010 is not a truly comparable resort, so it does not factor in our opinions of this hotel). Here is a review of the various components of the hotel -

Rooms:
The rooms were beautiful. They were comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were beautiful as well, and the two sinks on opposite sides of the bathroom was nice. The only negative thing I would say is that the walls are not particularly thick, so when the cleaning lady was cleaning next door and moving furniture around, it was loud and annoying. My wife was not feeling well one day (she believes it was sun poisoning from too much sun the second day) and was trying to relax. However, she was unable to do so because she was constantly hearing the cleaning going on next door - the cleaning lady was dragging tables and chairs across the marble floor.. A little disappointing for a place where you spend a lot of money for comfort and relaxation. Aside from the thin walls, the rooms themselves are among the nicest we have ever stayed in. During the offseason, the thin walls are not as much of an issue since there are less people, but if there were people in every room, it could get loud.

Pools -
The pools were nice, and the tranquility pool was nice and quiet. We enjoyed our time spend at the tranquility pool. The server came by often to make sure we were taken care of, which is nicer than some other resorts we have been to. The salt water in the main pool takes some getting used to, but it is not really a selling point or negative point. I will say we were a bit surprised at the state of the tile in sections of the pool, considering it is only 6-7 years old, but it is not something that would keep us away - just an observation. The pool bar was hit or miss as far as drinks. Some bartenders were pretty good, and others left a lot to be desired. We are not huge drinkers so it is not like we have high standards - they were just lacking on many drinks we tried which disappointed us considering the cost to stay at the resort.

Food -
The food was where we were most disappointed. Again, like many parts of the resorts, it is not something that would keep us away from going there again, just disappointing considering the level of resort and the price to stay there. The Japanese restaurant and the Surf and Turf restaurant were nice, with decent food. We know all inclusives are not going to be top cuisine, so it is not as though we expect Top Chef level quality food. The gourmet restaurant was okay, but the Italian restaurant we were very disappointed in. We have said, and many agreed with us who we spoke to during the trip, why don't these resorts do a high end mexican restaurant? I can get Italian and hibachi at home, but high level Mexican cuisine is harder to come by. This is not just an issue at the Grand but at a lot of resorts in Mexico. The breakfast buffet was decent, but by day 5, I was sick of the same options put out everyday. The lunch option inside by the water was also disappointing. Beautiful view, but the food was average at best most days. That was the first place we ate when we arrived and were worried that the food was going to be like that the whole trip. Thankfully it was not, but it was still hit or miss. What we missed was a nice outdoor place to eat like we had at Secrets Capri, where it was on the water and they served delicious tacos and ceviche. We both stated that the food was not any better than Capri, even though we paid almost $1000 more to stay there than when we stayed at Capri two years earlier.

Beach -
Large beautiful beach with lots of places to sit. Very relaxing place to sit and read or take a nap.

Grounds/Looks of the Resort -
The grounds were very beautiful, and was the best part of the resort by far. It made up for the average food and hit or miss drinks. It may have been a bit over the top but it was at a level where they could at least try and justify the high prices. If it was not for the clean and quiet grounds and the beautiful buildings, we would have not been very happy considering the cost you pay to stay at such a resort.

Staff -
The staff was very courteous and worked extremely hard to make sure you had all that you needed and then some. Outside of the bartenders who did not always do great at drinks (they were always happy and polite though), the staff did everything one would expect and more. We would often see the staff from breakfast working at lunch as well, and many of those also worked at dinner. We were always amazed at their hard work and dedication. We wish our young kids could see them at work and witness a true work ethic. Only other comment would be was something others have raised in other comments - the whole "butler/concierge" is overrated. Very little contact with either of them the entire time.

Entertainment -
Not much to be said about the entertainment. They tried hard, but everyone knows what you get with resort entertainment. Some nights were better than others - the Rock Show and the magician were the best of the shows.

Overall impression -
We enjoyed the quietness of the resort and the fact that you could almost always find a nice quiet location to go to just relax together. It was a beautiful place to walk through and the rooms were everything we hoped for when booking the place. Would we stay here again - most likely. We had a mostly positive experience. Our only nagging thought in the back of our mind is whether or not it was worth the extra money when compared to staying at a place like Secrets Capri. It was more beautiful and it was larger, but many aspects were exactly the same, which warrants the question of is it worth it. That is something to consider. It is not a resort we would stay at if we went with another couple - it is just not that type of place. It was great for just my wife and I to be by ourselves. Would recommend the resort due to its beautiful grounds and buildings and its quiet atmosphere, but would caution you to take a long hard look to see if what you are looking for is worth the extra cost of staying at the Grand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midwestlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take our guests’ comments very seriously as they help us pinpoint areas that have room for improvement.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities, rooms and grounds. Your special mention of the staff kindness that enhanced the quality of your trip is also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

We are sorry to hear that your wife could not relax because of the noise of our housekeeping was making and also about our bartender service at the pool, we will share your experience with the Department heads, in this case Housekeeping and Food & Beverage Department Managers, who will take corrective actions in order to avoid this situations in the future.

We are concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service concerning the food, specially our Italian restaurant, we would like to know more details, as it helps us to improve specific areas. However, we have shared your review with our Executive Chef for his consideration.

Our staff is committed to a high standard and offers a personal service to ensure continuous customer satisfaction, we are sorry to hear about your impression of the concierge and Butler service.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. If you decide to give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second trip to Mexico. The first time was for our honeymoon at Iberostar Quetzal and this time for our 10th wedding anniversary. 10 years is a big milestone, so we decided to treat ourselves to “The Best Hotel in Mexico” (they have plaques in the lobby to say this from various travel websites!). It was indeed a great treat.

Flight and Cancun airport
We booked our holiday with Thomas Cook. The flight was just over 10 hours. The seats on the A330 are surprisingly roomy, with enough legroom even for my tall husband. About half way into our journey, we were handed all the immigration and customs forms with clear instructions on how to go about completing them. The customs procedure is an interesting one. Everyone is stopped. You hand in your customs declarations form and then you press a button. Apparently it is luck of the draw whether you get a green or red light, determining whether or not you will be searched… Between luggage reclaim and the exit of the terminal building, there is a large section full of counters manned by people in uniforms. Unless you want to buy a timeshare, don’t stop until you reach the outside of the airport.

Arrival at hotel and check-in
After a short 25 minutes on the coach, we arrived at the Grand. Just the approach leading to the entrance is already grand! As soon as we stepped off the coach, a young bellboy named Ivan greeted us with a broad smile and a “Welcome home!”. We were led into the lobby area and offered cold towels and drinks while the receptionist quickly checked us in.

Room and Butler
Having written to the hotel to inform them of our anniversary, we were assigned a room with seaview in the main building on the top floor facing the tranquility pool, room 7281. I highly recommend this room, as it is one of the most centrally located rooms closest to the restaurants and the main pool. As soon as we stepped into our room, I knew we had made a good choice. The décor is elegant but not over the top. Hands down the most comfortable bed I have slept on away from home. Everything spotlessly clean. Bathroom well equipped with jacuzzi and big walk in shower. Good quality toiletries from Gilchrist & Soames is supplied. Our young butler Cesar arrived shortly to introduce himself and the services he can provide. Having read some previous reviews, I expected not to see him again, but during our 7 night stay I think we saw him at least 5 times. And for our anniversary, they decorated our room with rose petals and gifted us a bottle of bubbly!

Dining
Food is very important to us, especially while on holiday. I am known for only taking holidays where there are good food... We had very high expectations and I would say they were certainly met. The best meal of each day by far, was breakfast at Bellavista. The selection of food on offer was mind boggling. So my types of bread and pastries, all the different cheeses and cold cuts, the fresh fruit selection, freshly made crepes, pancakes and waffles, eggs cooked to order however you like it... We particularly enjoyed the fresh juices on offer. Apart from the usual orange and grapefruit juices, they had canteloupe melons, honeydew melons, watermelons, papaya and even green juice and aloe vera! On top of the buffet selection you can also order from the menu. Lobster blinis anyone? Yes please! Las Brisas is a smaller buffet for lunch, open from 11am to 5pm. They options are lighter, with almost half the food offered being salads, ceviches and other seafoods. A chef continually grills up fresh lobster, shrimps and steaks. But best of all is the view of the sea from this restaurant. For dinner we ate at 3 of the a la cartes: Toni’s, Venecia and Haiku. Our favourite was Haiku. The other 4 nights we ate at the buffet. While the variety and standard of food were consistently excellent, on 2 of the nights we did struggle a little. I think they were Mexican and Latino nights with mainly spicy food too exotic for our UK taste buds.

Grounds and other hotels
The grounds were always immaculate and while we were there, extensive repair work was being done around the exterior of the buildings. Lots of wildlife roaming around, great for photos. Coatis can be a bit of a problem for those who choose to eat outside, so don't feed them as it encourages them. We also visited the other 4 hotels and ate lunch once at Maya. All 4 hotels are well designed and beautiful, however, the lunch at Maya was of much lower standards than we had been used to at the Grand and made us appreciate the Grand more!

Beach
Powder white sand, turquoise blue sea, what more can you ask her? Ok, so there are some rocky bits at the Grand’s beach, but we loved looking at the creatures trapped there during low tide. We thought it made it much more interesting. We are not beach people, but when we were at the beach there were always servers asking to take our order. This is the same at the pools. In fact, we felt they came around too often… Make sure to wake up early to watch the perfect sunrise at the beach.

Activities
There is a packed schedule everyday at the Grand. My husband went on the bike tour around the hotels. Unless you are a proficient cyclist and at least 5’3”, I would not recommend it. He also took part in archery and won a medal, but sustained an injury. Be sure to wear the correct length arm shields to avoid bruising… We used all 3 pools and much prefer the tranquility pool with its fresh water and calm surroundings. The gym is small, but since there is never anyone there, you get to use all the equipment whenever you like. There is free wifi throughout the hotel and even on the beach. The signal is generally strong, but there was a short period during one day when there was no wifi.

Shopping Complex
If you do not intend to leave the resort, you can go to the Paraiso Plaza to do all your souvenir shopping. Apart from souvenirs, there are also a couple of clothes shops, jewellery stores and a shoes store. If you get hungry or thirsty there are bars, burger place, ice cream/crepe shop and taco bar here also included in your all-inclusive. The teens disco and adult disco are also here. We visited the shopping complex a few times, on each occasion it was deserted. It seems such a wasted space. Maybe during peak season this area is better utilised.

Excursions
During our stay we used the shuttle to go to Playa del Carmen a few times and we visited Tulum using the Colectivo minibuses. We heard complaints from other guests about how our hotel was located too far from anything. I think an easy 20 minutes shuttle ride into town at $5 or 50 pesos is reasonable, unless you want to go to town everyday. In which case Playacar would be much more suitable a base for you. We also visited Iberostar Quetzel while we were in town. It is a short taxi ride from Playa del Carmen and being an Iberostar guest you can visit and use their facilities for free until 6pm.

Service and Staff
We have stayed in many hotels over the years and we may not be frequent 5 star hotel guests, but we felt that the service here really is excellent. You only need to tell them your name once and they will remember you. If there is any cause for concern, they will do their best to resolve things for you. We had left our camera on a taxi at the Iberostar Quetzal. Alan in reception spent days calling the taxi station for us to try and locate the taxi driver. Whenever we called guests services, whoever picked up the phone would ask about the progress of our camera search. Priscilla also helped us call several shops in town to find a replacement camera. Eduardo and Jenny of the Star Friends teams were very concerned about my husband’s arm injury and asked about his recovery everytime we saw them. They make you feel like they really care and that’s very rare nowadays.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and can recommend it to anyone who wants to relax in beautiful surroundings, eat delicious freshly prepared food and where every member of staff will genuinely smile and say "hola!". Although we had a wonderful time, not sure if we would stay at the Grand Paraiso again because we feel we know the hotel and the area too well now. Maybe we will try the Grands in Dominican Republic and Jamaica!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing the tranquility pool with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patsyc216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We were happy to learn that you had an excellent vacation and that you were pleased with our service. We appreciate that you have allowed us the honor of serving you again and that you decided to celebrate this special occasion with us, your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services.

We really do hope your husband keeps doing well with his injury, as you know all of our guests are the most important for us as being part of our family, we appreciate that you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts of our dedicated team and no doubt will they be motivated by your kind words.

We consider it to be a great honor that you endorsed our property highly, is very motivating our Managers and Staff to keep on going the extra mile.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope that you will consider us as your vacation destination the next time you are thinking of visiting the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This really is a fabulous hotel!!! It has everything. The staff & entertainment team work very hard to make everyone feel very special. There are plenty of activities to join in during the day if you like, but what's nice is the entertainment ask you, but they don't pester you if you say no, we did join in at the last few days of the holiday & wished we'd joined on earlier. The al la carte restaurants are fantastic we particularly enjoyed the Japanese night take your camera the chef is very entertaining!!!. The shows are brilliant, stay after the shows are finished and meets the team Great people especially the magician:). Cocktails are Wonderful !!!!! Loved the tranquillity pool on a afternoon! The Chefs will cook whatever you want I could go on and on, I really can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel, we loved it, it was like living in a palace! Met some lovely people, Yes its not the cheapest hotel but you get what you pay for, we will be back, and would recommend it to anyone:) THANKS FOR A LOVELY HOLIDAY:)

Room Tip: We would ask for a room overlooking the tranquillity pool next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maxfaxjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Our purpose is to deliver the best service to our guests so they can experience a wonderful and unforgettable experience. Reviews like yours let us now we are on the right track.

The food and service by the expertly trained IBEROSTAR chefs reflects the diversity and quality of culinary offerings available and more. From the fine dining to Mexico’s finest beaches, it is our sincerest wish that you had time to explore, relax and experience all that IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso has to offer.

We hope have the opportunity to receive you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just came from a week vacation in Mexico.My wife and I chose this hotel because we had been at the sister Hotel in Punta Cana before and we liked it.This one was also a beautiful hotel,even bigger than the one in Punta Cana.Rooms are spacious and clean.Staff is very friendly and always willing to help you. Assael in the Restaurant was awesome and also Mauricio at front desk.Hotel offers high quality drinks and food was very good also.We had an amazing,relaxing vacation and I highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: if possible upgrade to ocean front rooms,they have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your kind review. We are very glad that your first experience at the Grand Paraiso has been perfect.

We are extremely proud to hear that our staff has been part of your amazing vacations. We will share with Asael and Mauricio that they have contribute to making your visit unforgettable.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for many more enjoyable stays with us and thank you once again for your feedback!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our second trip to this fantastic resort. I'm starting this review with my personal awards for all the staff.

The restaurant staff, always greeted with a smile and super efficient service even when run off their feet.

The Star friends animation Guys and girls, a super friendly, enthusiastic and fun crowd.

Housekeeping team, wow they work seriously hard to keep rooms and public areas spotless.

Star band, singers and musicians, talented bunch, who entertained nightly with amazing shows.

The bar staff, working hard to provide amazing cocktails and keep all guests refreshed.

The gardeners, they work so hard in the heat to keep the gardens looking stunning, always smiling despite the back breaking work.

The chefs, not always seen, but working hard to create delicious food, always beautifully presented.

Guest relations and reception staff, always eager to help and efficient.

The butlers, you want it, they can get it, a great service provided by an excellent team.

Maintenance guys, working in the background to make sure everything is kept up to standard, sometimes whilst the guests slept at night these guys worked silently.

Pool concierge, again offering a super service, keeping pool and surrounding area tidy for the guests.

I'm sure there are people I have left off the list and for this I apologise!!

Iberostar Hotel group really have a super talented, keen and above all beautiful smiling group of people working for them, I hope they appreciate their staff as much as we the guests do.

Needless to say my husband and I had a superb 2 weeks stay, we were delighted to recognise a lot of staff from our previous visit. This is a beautiful resort, open with stunning views in every direction. The rooms are spacious with huge comfortable beds and all the facilitates required for a relaxing holiday.

There are only a couple of tiny issues we had really, firstly I'd like to see a dress code for the evening buffet, sure the restaurants impose this, but some clients show up to dinner in shorts and flips flops after coming in from the beach. When the staff have gone to great effort to set the table beautifully, come on people show a little respect and dress properly for dinner.

Secondly the music in the buffet is dire, I'm sure its the same CD they were playing last year, same old songs on a loop, it drives you crazy after a couple of days. This is such an easy fix, please management sort out the music.

Oh and one other thing, we would love to see a Mariachi band playing, perhaps once a week walking around the hotel and grounds, I'm sure other guests would enjoy this too.

Apart from these minor niggles, this Hotel is wonderful, don't give it a second thought, book today. Of course there is one slight problem, once you holiday here, the bar is set very high, this place is hard to beat. Don't say I didn't warn you!!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same inside. Ocean front are spectacular 1st and 2nd floor, tranquility pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trudymol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill in the review on trip advisor and for your feedback following your second stay at Grand Hotel Paraiso. It was our pleasure hosting you again and to read that you enjoyed and highly recommend to visit us.

We really appreciate the mention of each part of the Grand’s staff, we can assure you that we work so hard and reading your comments becomes the best way to know that all work our team is doing every day is more than worth It. Starting with the musician, butlers, chefs, housekeeping, gardeners, bartenders, waitress, public relations, reception staff, maintenance to the animation team let us thank you for giving us the opportunity to create a unique experience.

Concerning dress codes, we try to offer all guests a lot of options to enjoy their evenings, for that reason (and please let us thank you for your concern about our staff) we have 4 specialty restaurants where a dress code is required and the buffet where they can go with a more casual dress code.

Thank you for your suggestion about the music. Your feedback is really helping in learning what our guests prefer. Currently the Mariachi plays every Sunday at the Buffet Restaurant and the Lobby.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Thank you once again for your recognition & we look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Fabulous, Outstanding, Excellent and much more…

Don’t know where to start really, it’s all been said before. Our title description may have been sufficient to describe our whole experience at The Grand. A bit more needs added to single out some individuals.

Let’s get the nit-picking cons out of the way first In reverse order then, three tiny cons:

Poor range of TV Channels in English and other European languages (bar Spanish), wouldn’t wish to be confined to bed with a bug and no books to read.

Air conditioning is sufficient in the bedrooms once butler has arranged the minimum setting but the hallways and lobby bar can be a little on the side of uncomfortably warm. The indoor cooling was one of the facilities behind our main reason for booking the Grand as we can’t deal with humidity.

Smelly bedding possibly isolated to our room but a little uncomfortable all the same, read on…

Now it’s pros all the way


Starting with the food we would place the al a carte restaurants in order of favouritism as:

1. Toni’s has great steaks and great service, if you’re bothered by the sommelier trying to be stuffy and upgrading your wine just tell him the Included wines are quite sufficient in your opinion. I’m not a fine wine snob but I felt that of all the wines I tried at the Grand, in all of the restaurants, both red and white, there were none I would count as unsuitable. 4 visits.

2. Venecia has a nice ambiance with beautiful décor and good food with great service. 2 visits.

3. L’Atelier Gourmet is beautiful. Service is over the top in trying to match a top end Parisien dining experience. All very posh but very much style over substance. Nice food all the same. 1 visit.

4. Haiku like many reviewers have said previously is worthwhile if you choose Wok (table) service rather than Teppanyaki (Hibachi) service. We opted for Teppanyaki/Hibachi imagining it to be a good setting for socialising. Unfortunately the set-up is not like some other Iberostar Hibachi Al a Carte’s where you can all push up together and have a good laugh. It was more isolated with no more than two people sharing a space before being separated by a large gap and thus continued all the way around the cooking station. Add to this the show cooking wasn’t very impressive and the food was cold by the time it came to eating. Rice cooked and served first followed by vegetables and finally meat/seafood. By the time my lobster (not very good) was plated the rice was cold and the veggies barely warm. We spoke to a catering manager in the passing a couple of days later and he asked for improvement suggestions. We mentioned the Hibachi tables and he said it’s becoming all too common a suggestion to try something new. 1 visit only.

Many meals where taken at both Bellavista and La Brisa buffets and food and service were always top notch.

Non Grand Dining:

Jambalaya Cajun (Paraiso Lindo) Nice food overall – Only wanted to try because we’d never eaten Louisiana style cuisine before. Meal was very rushed and main courses were just ok, appetisers and desserts were nice. 1 visit.

El Rancho Steakhouse (Paraiso Maya ) Enjoyed our meal here. Tried the Filet and Tenderloin steaks served up American style with baked potato, sour cream and corn cob. Very nice but the steaks seemed more processed in flavour than anything served in Toni’s at the Grand. 1 visit

We were never offered an after dinner drink nor Mayan coffees at any of the restaurants, not a problem we never felt the need for one.

Staff and service: Most excellent at every turn. Buffet staff at Bellavista and La Brisa running around like Duracell Bunnies ensuring you have everything your heart desires. Asael, Maria, Angel among many others, all fantastic staff.

Although we rarely used the Swim up bar due to the boisterous nature of many overindulging guests the bartenders like Alberto and Roberto served demanding guests at breath-taking speed. Well worth their tips.

Bartenders: Mainly spent evening time sitting at the El Mirador Lobby Bar and received fantastic service from Ricardo, Daniel and Gabriel

Concierge and Butler Staff: All very professional. Excellent service from Lorena as Concierge. Following our initial request to turn the minimum air conditioning setting to 18c we never required to call on our butler (Julio followed by Charly) but felt any requirements would have been attended to professionally.

Housekeeping and Turn-Down Staff: Do a fantastic job, room was always spotless. I had one major gripe that I should have tackled early with the butler/front desk therefore partly my fault for letting the problem exist. Smell from bedding not what I would expect from a hotel of this standard. If the option existed I would have dropped a half point due to this. We requested sheets changed every two days and they always smelled clean and fresh when first changed. However, once wrapped warmly in bed I could always detect a musty smell and the longer in bed the smell grew stronger, I was starting to develop a confidence crisis regarding the smell – Wild accusation I know but my guess is someone had peed the mattress somewhere down the line and the mattress had never been fully cleaned/dried in totality. My wife said I should get a job as a sniffer dog at airport security as she never found it to be bad. I disagreed. I possibly should have requested a mattress topper or a full change of mattress rather than sleeping on a bath sheet most nights.

Star Friends: Great bunch of young people with outstanding manners. Often spoke with Paul at length over our love of football/soccer and one team in particular.

Beach Waiters: Spent most days on beach in front of ocean front building 71 which was mainly waiter serviced in this area by Gaston and Eli. These guys have a very tough job trudging sand in incredible heat and humidity. We had a blast with these two - always winding them up one against the other and they loved me telling them a daily Glaswegian Scottish joke.

All staff where excellent and seemed extremely knowledgeable. It was nice to hold conversations with them and they were always happy to speak about their own backgrounds and interested in ours.

The Hotel Manager Rafael Carmona was very visible on most days and from speaking to other guests he seemed very approachable and willing to discuss any matters related to the hotel.

Executive Chairman of Grupo Iberostar Miguel Fluxá was on site for the final two days of our stay and there was a noticeable change in the restaurant staff. They all seemed to be standing on attention as per military duty and there were a lot of whispers exchanged by management and waiters. Snr Fluxá dined in Toni’s one night we were dining there and it seemed the head restaurant management were called out in force. It was fun seeing these guys who normally dish out the orders flapping like penguins in the quest to serve the boss – they should have left it to the regular waiters who were all very capable, fun to watch all the same.

We met some really nice holidaymakers over our two week stay – a big shout to Gene & Katy, Ralf & Lilly, Sean & Carissa, Keith & Geralyn, Tyshawn, Dayna and many others. You all made the holiday that little bit nicer.

We have now inherited that same big problem that a lot of visitors to the Grand have. The bar is set so high we’d fear booking anywhere else for returning holidays to Riviera Maya. I think without a doubt we will return.

p.s. Boogie Nights in the theatre was outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Tranquility Pool building 72 right side are quiet and handily placed for restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OhDannyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you. It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and the fact that you endorsed our property highly.

In regards to the quantity of TV channels on English or other languages we are in process to update this service, to give our guests more channels in their mother tongue, all our guests have also access to borrow the DVD movies that we have at the hotel in case they would like to enjoy a TV day in their room; just ask to your butler or concierge and they would deliver the DVD on your room.

As the hotel is located in the Riviera Maya and we are surrounded by jungle the humidity in the property is high, our Maintenance team work to keep the temperature of the lobby and the main building the most stable to maintain the level of humidity down unfortunately it is not easy. All our employees have the commitment to close the doors of the buildings in order to maintain the same temperature in the building, but unfortunately we cannot take care of this full time as a lot of people pass through it.

It is for all of us a real pleasure to see that you enjoyed your dinners at our a la carte restaurants. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in the Japanese restaurant. We already sent your comments to our executive Chef and our Maitre d’ hotel to verify the procedures and guarantee that the service in all our restaurants is consistent. The staff really appreciates your kind comments.

We are truly sorry about the smell on the bed clothes, as a part of our ecological program we ask our guests if they want to change their towels and clothes daily or every two days, our housekeeping supervisors receive and verify the bed clothes that our maids use during the day; our Housekeeping Manager is aware and we are going to make the correct changes to avoid similar situations, which does not follow our high quality standards.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to be your hosts again the next time you are thinking of visiting the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
11.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#7 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 12,343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 9,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#10 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 5,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing