We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit Even Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“2nd Visit Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We returned to the Grand July 4-11 and had a wonderful vacation. We were met at the front door by our friend Riccardo and it’s amazing how he remembers everyone.
As loyal Iberostar guests we were upgraded to an ocean front room in building 70 which was wonderful. Our travel agent Mitch from TripGuy made all of our transfer and dinner reservations and did a great job for us.

We found the food and service overall to be better than our previous visit 2 years ago. The food at the lunch and dinner buffets was amazing (we didn’t care for the dinner buffet last visit). How could you not enjoy freshly made steaks, lobster and stone crabs daily. Special thanks to Jorge at the breakfast and lunch buffet. He was excellent and always had surprises waiting for us. Olivia was great (as usual) and she will be starting her maternity leave soon.

We ate at Toni’s three times. The food and service (Amir and Manuel) were great. The Italian was ok (we’re from NJ and picky with Italian food). Our least favorite was the Gourmet where we didn’t care for the new menu (you need some additional soup and salad choices) and the food/service was not good either. One difference this year is the staff occasionally tried to upsell wines that are not part of the all inclusive. This was not a big deal but the markup was 5 to 8x retail in the US. I enjoy better wines but not for that markup. The Nicolas wines from France were good and part of the inclusive.

I can see where the chair game could be an issue. The occupancy was higher the first two days and it was very difficult to find chairs by the pool. We did find chairs on the beach but a number of them were broken or needed cushions. The occupancy was lower our last 5 days and there were plenty of chairs.

The bartenders were great as always. The drinks were inconsistent at the pool bar but the service was great. Humberto at the lobby bar was great.

The entertainment team did a great job as always and the new Beatles show was very good. I played 2 rounds of golf and the course is excellent.

We met a number of people that been to the Grand 5 to 10 times over the past two years and we can see why. We even met some old friends from our last visit. It’s hard to want to visit somewhere else when the food and service is so outstanding. We can’t wait to return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded our guests’ expectations with regards to the service provided by our dedicated staff and the food quality at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with all the staff members and we are confident that each one of them is delighted to know that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. We also shared your comments to our Executive Chef and Food & Restaurant Managers to improve our services and ensure you enjoy every aspect of your vacations as you deserve.

We will be happy to welcome and pamper you as our commitment. Thank you again for choosing us as your home away from home and it will be our pleasure to welcome you in your next visit.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,609
    351
    112
    40
    17
See reviews for
317
2294
58
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Going for the 3rd time this August & I can't wait! Everything is perfect here. The food is amazing, far better than anything you can get at any all inclusive resort, better than what you would get at many resorts where you have to pay at restaurants. Lobster tails anytime! The resort is beautiful, the pools are spacious, there are lots of activities during the day, the Star Friends are a blast, the drinks are fresh, and do not miss the night time entertainment!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your stay at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. It is very gratifying know that you enjoyed your experience with us.

It fills us with pride to read that you found the meals so good, and that you liked our entertainment activities. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction.

Your review is a great source of motivation for our whole team, because it lets us know that we are doing a good job.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion; we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you soon. Please feel free to contact us in case you need any assistance.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chose the grand hotel because of our travel agent advice. We went July 5-8 for 3 nights. The resort was beautiful and very clean. Our room was very nice and clean. The pool area was clean and very nice. There were not very many visitors there. I would say 200 or less. My wife and I were both unhappy with the level of service while we were there. Since there were not many others we thought we would get exceptional service in all areas. The room service was very slow. I had asked a butler to bring a tub of ice to place some drinks in it to get cool. It took over an hour for him to bring it. When we were at the pool we thought the bar maids would cater to our needs in a quick manner since so few people were there. Everyday at the pool a bar maid came maybe 2x the entire day and I was even tipping them to assure good service. The last day we were there we were at the pool for at least 8 hours and a bar maid came over 1 time only. They tried to have pool games and exercise which was good but after dinner the entertainment was lacking at best. We thought the food would be spectacular but were disappointed with it as well. The food was average and the special restaurants were mediocre. The best was the surf and turf. Our last night we ate the buffet and had a great waitress and I tipped her $20 because she seemed to really care about our needs. The only thing my wife and I could think of was that since there was not very many guest the staff really didn't care about the guests who were there. They may have felt like the Americans won't tip since it is an all inclusive resort. Not a good way to think because as much as we liked the resort we did not feel the service was worth the cost and we won't go back or recommend it to any of our friends. Iberostar needs to get their staff excited about guests because these guest are the life blood of their business. There are too many other good options to go to in cancun. Beautiful place and water and decor BUT not the service we had expected and hoped for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our property. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor, thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality.

We are glad to see that there are elements of the Iberostar Grand Paraiso that you quite enjoyed, however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service.

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed about our culinary offer and the service provided by our staff. Please let us assure you that all our team shares the same vision of providing the best guest experience possible all year round, so your comments have already been forwarded to concerned departments in order to rectify the points that you have described.

We do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting us in the future and that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Paraiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Well we set off on honeymoon and were really excited after reading all the reviews on here. I had also asked lots of questions on the Playa Paraiso forum and people were really helpful.

I really can't understand the odd negative review on here about the Grand because as our American friends would say we found the place awesome. It was everything we were expecting and more.

From arriving at the entrance and being greeted with a fresh towel for cooling down we just knew we were going to be spoilt.

Soon we were being taken to our room by the bell boy and were told our butler would be along shortly. We were accommodated in block 72 and were more than happy with our room.

2 minutes later and our butler introduced himself. He talked us round the room and asked us if we had any pillow requests, what drinks we wanted in the mini bar and if we had any other particular requests. We ordered a bottle of brandy for my other half and a request for a bottle of wine on chill every evening at 5.30pm which we received every night apart from one when it came around 5.45. Not a problem.

We just knew that if there was then it would have been rectified immediately. This was quite apparent from the service we received at lunchtime one day when my other half requested a particular brand of wine which they had to go and get. We insisted it would be ok and that we would have the Cabernet Sauvignon but no - they went and got him his Merlot. This is the kind of thing that gives the Grand the edge.

Throughout our two week stay we were treated like Lord and Lady and truly spoilt. It was truly an unforgettable experience and will live with us for a lifetime.

ALL the staff treated us exactly the same (far too many to mention) but they all made a lasting impression. From bell boy, reception, bar staff, waiting staff, cleaners, maintenance men, butlers, concierges and of course not forgetting the fantastic Star friends who were marvellous. They remembered our names and were always happy to talk and spend time with you.

We made a couple of reservations before we left the UK by email and then booked the rest when we arrived. We ate at all the a la carte's - Surf and Turf being our favourite but couldn't fault any of them including the Gourmet. We also loved the Buffet on Mexican night including the Tequila!

We watched the shows which were excellent and particularly liked the Rock Show and the Ladies First Night.

We usually then went to the Lobby Bar for my Zinfandel and hubbies Remy Martin and people watched. A couple of nights we went to the karaoke which provided some laughs - thank you Star Friends.

The weather was more or less good although we did suffer some thunderstorms but there was really only one day where it affected us badly and we played Bingo and won the full house - what a laugh.

We had some issues with Mosquitos (well I did) but what can you expect if you go in the rainy season.

All in all the Grand has ruined any future holidays we will have as we know nothing will compare.

We had a fantastic time and a fabulous honeymoon. Thank you for the Just Married T Shirts, Tequila, fruit etc.

Thank you Iberostar Grand for a truly remarkable and unforgettable experience.

We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Paraiso we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us the feedback of your recent stay.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your honeymoon at our beautiful property, as we are committed to offering a luxurious accommodation and the best quality of food and beverages.

We must continue working to improve our services and we will take of your comments and suggestions into account because these help us to be better. Regarding the mosquitoes, the hotel has continuous pest control but we are located in the heart of the Mayan jungle and it is difficult to keep all the mosquitoes away; thank you so much for understanding!

We will very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having returned from our thirteenth stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraisio in five years, I am delighted that each time it gets better. Notably the service is consistently excellent; the new menus in the Italian and Gourmet offer additional delicious choices; and the new Ladies First Show was very very good. Special congratulations to Victor on his promotion to head Butler. Victor is the face, soul, heart, and spirit of the Grand. He sets a stellar standard of professionalism and customer service. Marianna the hostess and Ulysses the server in Tony’s made us feel as though we returning to our home away from home. Victor the waiter in the Venecia provided gracious, impeccable service. Head waiter Alfredo and our server Guadeloupe ensured breakfast and lunch were perfection. Edar, the Star Performer leader and master of ceremonies set a light and entertaining mood both pool side and at the shows. We look forward to our return trip this year again in November!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review.

We are proud of our team of hardworking and friendly staff, who continue helping us reach our goal to be one the best resort in the Caribbean. Your review shows that we are on the right path to achieve this goal.

Your kind words about the food, the comfort of the rooms, the entertainment, and the staff and the entire welcoming and friendly atmosphere means a lot to us.

We remind you that we are here to serve you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our 25th anniversary celebration vacation. My husband and I have not been to Mexico and after an extensive search, we decided upon the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso. We went there from July 1 - 9, 2013. What an amazing place and especially an amazing time.
We loved everything about our entire stay there. All the hotel staff were extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful. We were constantly greeted and asked how everything was going. If we needed or desired anything, all we had to do was ask and the response was immediate.
I would like to particularly mention our butler, Charley, and the chef-server, Olivia. They were SO NICE, SO HELPFUL AND SO ACCOMMODATING. ALL the Star Friends were so friendly, fun, and hard working. Smiles on everyone's faces. Really.....the entire staff throughout the week from early morning to night were so friendly, courteous....the best.
We hope that the management appreciates all the hard work and effort on the part of their staff.
We had a junior suite in the 72 building and we loved it. The room more than surpassed our expectations. The bedding and pillows were very comfortable....great sleeping. We really enjoyed all the food that offered. LOVED everything, but particularly the Mexican buffet and all the lobster tails.
We went there with the expectations of having a good time and we certainly accomplished this and more. This place was absolutely the best vacation my husband and I have taken together. We loved it so much that we agreed that we will definitely be going back. We will not research any other resort, because we found all that we could want at this Iberostar Grand.
Not to forget that the main pool and beach are absolutely beautiful. Met so many great people!
We have raved about this so much that our daughter and son-in-law have decided to go here next year for their 5th anniversary. We are thrilled that they want to go here and we feel confident that they won't be disappointed.
So in a word to describe our time and experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso......PHENOMENAL!!!
Thank you for making our anniversary celebration a dream come true!!

Room Tip: We loved our room in the 72 building facing the indoor pool/spa area. Serene and quiet. I guess we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We were happy to learn that you had an excellent 25th anniversary celebration vacation and that you were pleased with our service.

We have shared this wonderful review with entire staff at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. These reviews are always a high motivation to improve our service.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope that you will consider us as your vacation destination the next time you are thinking of visiting México.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved our honeymoon trip at the Grand! I would be hard pressed to come up with any complaints. The staff, food, drinks, restaurants, pool and spa were all amazing! Be sure to make your dinner reservations upon arrival in order to get your first choices. Toni's was our favorite meal -- steak and lobster were fabulous! We will definitely plan a future trip to stay at The Grand Paraiso!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the nice comments you made about your stay at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. We are glad to know that you had a perfect experience. Congratulations again for your honeymoon.

Moreover, we want to thank you for letting us know that the food of our restaurants, the pool, spa and our accommodations were pleasant parts of your stay.

It is good to know that our staff made you felt like a star; and we are happy to read that you have the intention of visiting us thus giving us the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.