We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit to this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd visit to this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to the hotel and we found it to be really good like the first time it was spotless a from the front gate to the beach.
The rooms are total luxury with plenty of towels and extra toiletries and the mini bar was great.
The balcony with the love seat and swing were lovely comfy and cool..
The restaurants are great with a brilliant selection of foods for all tastes Toni's is the best by far the fillet stock cooked to perfection every time we went. Carlos who worked there in a different uniform from the others he seemed to be everywhere the Brasilia at lunch and sometime breakfast he was a complete star a credit to iberostar and Mexico ,remembering our names and being friendly. All staff are very polite and friendly.
The Japanese was a disappointment food was served at different times and tasteless however it has a lovely feel.
The wine menu is great we tried lots of different wines which we will be having at home.
We met some great people and had a ball with them thank you Julie and Vaughan I never laughed so much.
The lobby bar was great the service was fantastic those girls need a pay rise brilliant. The entertainment in the lobby bar was ok as well.
Issues.
The theatre is a great idea but the shows are the same as before dated and armature and it smells of damp really bad on every occasion but it is cool.
We though we were in Europe playing the towel on the sunbed game having to get up as early as 06:30 to get a sunbed on the beach for the day we would not mind if there were people on the beds but they must have put out the towels the night before and came down to them mid morning. we had to have what was left this is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel and we feel this would put us off returning as we were tired later in the day having to get up early to get when we wanted to relax in bed.
The only other little grip was we feel booking restaurants in advance is a little disappointing as I never know what type of food I fancy until I am getting ready to go out but you had to have what you booked or buffet as there was never any reservations left in you restaurant choice as they only had three sittings 6:30, 7:00 and 9:00 don't know what happened to to the 2hrs in between a little strange.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank loobyloo040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us; we take all comments, both positive and negative, very seriously as we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of guest satisfaction.

We appreciate that you have allowed us the honor of serving you again. Your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services over two times.

We very much regret that we could not meet your expectations in various areas. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the food at the Japanese restaurant and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences with the sunbeds on the beach and the needed information of our restaurants. At the Iberostar Grand Paraiso, we are committed to taking the suggestions of our guests very seriously. We have shared your comments with our department managers in order look into these issues and improve our service.

Once again we apologize for not being able to meet all your expectations. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Grand; only stayed 3 nights this time, oceanfront, building 71, 3rd floor. All the details have been given in previous reviews. Everything was AS GOOD AS previous visits, EXCEPT the air-con. Was set at 18C, seemingly lowest it can go, and I was uncomfortably hot in the room all the time - I live in SW Florida, my AC is set at basically 22/23F and NO WAY was this 18F! Various visits from maintenance, but no change. Asked for a portable fan, but none available. Also, had problems with internet in room (took our own cable) and were told it was an hotel wide problem, but it wasn't.......just our room (for almost a day). Was worked on, but connection was sporadic - however, wifi is available in building lobby and at reception lobby.

We were on the beach all the time and never had a problem getting a palapa - plenty available at 10 am, just not on front row. As has been reported in other reviews, the pool, however was another story....getting a lounger in the water, no problem, but shade was unavailable basically after 7am. Management really needs to offer portable umbrellas or build more shade.

We knew we were going to be pickier this time round, as had just come from a stay at a resort at 1/3 of the price, with no problems....fab AC, great wifi reception in room.

The Grand is still the nicest resort we've stayed at, and nowhere's perfect, but great AC in the room and bathroom area is a biggie to me:):) (Ladies of a certain age, lllolol) Other guests thought it was fine......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. Your constructive review is very important to us.

First of all we are grateful to read that it was your third visit; it is fantastic to know that you are still enjoying our hotel.

We are very sorry for any inconvenience you found during your stay. Regarding your comments about the air conditioning in your room, and the shade at the pool, we can assure you that we are working on these issues to give our guests the service they deserve. We really appreciate your comments and we are making our utmost to improve.

Concerning internet, thanks to our guests’ comments we are improving the service and introducing wifi in the rooms and many other common areas at the hotel.

It is good to know that despite these details you had a great experience.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again. In case you need any assistance before your visit please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

So much has already been written about this wonderful resort. As a frequent traveler to the Mayan Riviera over the past 14 years I hope these comment are helpful to you.

I often hear people ask, is this resort better than that resort, or is it “the best”. I can tell you without any reservation there is no “best resort”, everyone’s experience will be different based upon things you like.

What the Iberostar Grand will deliver is “the best balance” of all things. Is the pool the best, no but it’s awesome. Is the beach the best down there, no but it is very nice. Is the food the best, once again no but it ranks right up there with the best.

If you’re trying to decide on an adult’s only resort I can tell you that this resort is the one to book. In every category it ranks in the top 5 out of the 20+ resorts we have visited down there. The X factor will be the couples at the resort at your time of visit. It has been our experience that we meet so many new friends from all over the world here and the resort set the stage for a unforgettable experience.

Can I nit-pick at some things here, of course but when you have hundreds of guests passing in and out weekly anything to nit-pick is irrelevant. The resort strikes a balance as close to perfect as possible for this area.

One thing I will rave about is their buffet. Although the ala Carte restaurants are very good we actually prefer to just go to the buffet here. The options and food quality is better in many cases. The cooks are standing by to make you whatever you want. Lobster is abundant at the buffet as is many other delicious offerings. We like to load our plates in short time rather than guess what is coming. Most buffets I would avoid for dinner, not here.

This was our second visit here and for us it is really rare we make a third visit, we will here. If you’re new to the area or on the fence I want to reassure you that this resort should get first consideration as a great all around place to visit.

Room Tip: Don't stress about your room location, unless you absolutely must be beachfront all rooms are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Surfnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit with our resort. We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverages, luxurious accommodation and the very best in personalized service.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent Riviera Maya vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from this amazingly beautiful resort. Stayed at other AI's including Excellence PM , Excellence RM, & Secrets Maroma and all have their Pro's and Con's. NONE are Perfect. I've read diiferent opinions on all. What may not be a big deal for some can be a deal Breaker for others. Depends on where your own prioritys lie. Here's what I've got.
BUILDING & GROUNDS...AMAZING, modern, breathtaking, clean, grand & like a kingdom.
SERVICE.. Great accept for slower on beach.But, great at ALL restaruants, bars, and phoning guest service for things like a bottle of chilled wine delivered each day. WOW!
STAFF.. The most friendly of all resorts we've been to.
CLEANLINESS.. Exceptionally clean. Even saw staff washing wall fixtures in hallway.Shiny sqeeky clean.
POOL ..Fun games by activity pool daily. Towel game is OUT of control though. If you didn't get up at the crack of dawn to throw a towel or item on a pool lounger in the shade you wouldn't find one without someones items on it(whether they actually used the chairs or not)There just isn't enough shade area by pool and people got Greedy about it. A few tiles where missing in pool but that isn't an issue for me.
BEACH.. A bit rocky even if you walk aways it's still rough swimming ( not enough to keep me out though) ..NO bars or bathrooms close to beach area was kind of a set back and I would have liked to see more entertainment on the beach such as live music, games, coookouts, etc.
ROOMs... Nice but basic looking ( just comparing to some other AI resorts we personally have stayed at) Soap dispensers in shower seemed a bit "industrial" and you had to keep pushing to get an adequet amount of soap or shampoo. Had to call guest service just to get Bar soap.. go figure. Maybe housekeeping missed it.Don't know??
FOOD.. The best steak I ever had -Toronados of beef --had at Italian and Gourmet Delicious food at all . Reservations needed for dinner at a la carte restaurants but worth it for the personal attention and 5 star service.The only options besises room serv for breakfast and luch are buffets, but you could get menus and order if you would rather do that. What did they have?..lobster, shrimp, sushi, carapaccio, smoked salmon, Guacamole, risotto, caviar,coconut ice cream(these were my Faves but you get the idea) Got an added bonus of 4lbs. to take home with me.:) If I were to become overweight that would be the way to do it.
CONS #1 Towel game #2 No beach entertainment #3 Shows start too late 10pm

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
9 Thank carogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate that you took your precious time to write a detailed review. Both your positive and negative comments have been forwarded to the head managers.

Kindly allow us to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and provide you with a great stay showing that we have improved our service for you.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have nothing but GREAT things to say about my stay. The hotel was clean and beautiful, the staff was exceptionally friendly, the food was DELICIOUS... the beach was just steps away from our door. I wouldn't normally visit the same place twice, but this just very well might be an exception to "the rule." I'd definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
5 Thank CamAngrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about our hotel.

We were really happy that you enjoyed every single aspect of your stay with us, from the facilities, to the food and especially the services of our employees.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay, we are delighted to read that we were able to please you and fulfill your expectations.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again for hopefully another perfect stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from four days of heaven with an incentive group of 90. I've been handling groups like this for two decades in posh Caribbean resorts and on cruise ships -- but never have a had such a super professional staff to work with! Veronica Zapata, the groups coordinator was delightful, efficient, and couldn't do enough for us. Even the bell captain, Ricardo who greets every incoming guest with "welcome home" was just a delight. The property is immaculate - the rooms are large -- the balconies are beautiful with comfortable furnishings - the food and beverage quality is excellent -- what else could you ask for? I will send more clients there -- simply fabulous! Elizabeth Psimas, Travel Designers, Portsmouth VA

Room Tip: The rooms are large and the balconies are beautiful. If you can, spend the extra $150/night for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank epsimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you and your group. It is also a pleasure to hear that the entire group enjoyed their vacations among us so much.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more. We will share your comments with Veronica and Ricardo; they will be delighted to read that their work was so appreciated.

We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

What can I say for a perfect holiday, in what must be one of the best 'AI' hotels in world. Iberostar have 3 other 'Grand' Hotels!
Building - Magnificent
Situation - Perfect
Room - Above what was expected
Food - Nectar of the Gods (Lobster, Shrimps twice a day, meat, tender and even better than home)
Staff - Above average, all got to know your name, made you feel very special.
Drinks - Every variety of International Brands (e.g.. 4Gins)
Entertainment - Best shows I have ever seen, real Professional standard




HighlightsWellbeing/spa/gym, Internet access, Onsite restaurants & bars, All-inclusive options, Welcoming staff, In-room amenities, Pool/water sports, Entertainment, The view


Yes, I recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buckley31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit with our resort. We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
11.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#7 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 12,343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 9,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#10 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 5,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing