We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star resort!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not a 5 Star resort!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Do not expect the service and quality of a true 5 start resort. We had to be moved out of our Jacuzzi ocean front room the first night due to an ant infestation (not to mention a bunch of black curly hairs in the bed). The bell boy's response was that we are in the jungle and we should expect these thing. Then he went on to tell us that our expectations were too high and he asked us if we had already slept in the bed and maybe that's why there was hair. That is definitely not a 5 star response. They had to put us in a cheaper room the first night but told us they were unable to refund the room rate difference. Beachside service is horrible.....if you want anything, you need to get in yourself. Ordered 2 beers and it took 30 minutes and of course the beers were warm. The food was mediocre at best at the various buffets. We went to their Japanese restaurant one night and the food was pretty good but the service was probably the worst I've ever had. To top off the vacation, on the last day we decided to lay by their serenity pool. After about an hour, the gardeners started mowing the grass behind where we were laying and without warning, we were covered with a layer of grass clippings and dirt. Finally, the main pool is completely infested with black algae. I would not recommend this resort to even my worst enemy. We couldn't wait to get home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

We are deeply sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations; your feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve our services and avoid such problems in the future. We are very concerned to read about the issues you experienced, so we have shared your comments with our Managers in order to follow up all those areas. Please be sure that we have taken this matter extremely seriously.

We are looking forward to the possibility of getting another chance and welcome you back to our Hotel to show you the quality in service we are capable of offering.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,677
    360
    115
    41
    19
See reviews for
330
2356
58
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Everything was excellent. Iberostar Gran in Riveria is a palace on the water. Beautiful people, servce. So anxious to please. We were there for 10 days for our 35 anniversary.

We were disappointed in some of restaurant food, esp the Japenese--however, others had better experiences, so maybe it was the time we were there (9pm).
We are an older couple--did not like that there frequently were no seatings available until 9pm--so we opted for buffet in eve instead of restaurant. 9pm is very late to eat dinner --esp if you have been in water and sun all day. No one can stay in bed when it s soooo beautiful outside!! . Need to be more seatings available at 7pm. We noted restaurants were never full --so it must be because there is not enough staff to accomodate more peoplle at earlier seatings.. Too bad--as restaurants are beautiful, esp Italian.
The shows were good. They did not beigin until 10 pm--so we missed a few. Loved the salsa night around the pool with live bands.It tarted at 9pm--so was much easier to enjoy.
If you eat at 7pm--there is a long time until show starts, unless you want to be in bar Bars are beautiful--but earlier entertainment woud have been better for us.
The amount of younger adults was much more apparent than seniors so I am sure they cater to that crowd for; however the shows were a style that appeals to a more senior crowd--we saw younger people leave the shows.
I guess you can't please everyone--but the staff goes to the limit to try to please everyone!!
Very quiet, relaxed and "classy" place--not for rowdy crowds.
Our room was amazing, we had ocean front rm 7022---amazing view!!
All in all it was a great trip. Would highly recommend. Worth the splurge!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us; we take all comments, both positive and negative, very seriously as we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of guest satisfaction.

We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at our Hotel and especially with the food; this was very surprising for us, since it is one of the points that guests usually praise most and consider being our biggest assets. So your comments have been forwarded to our Executive Chef.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused in this respect and we hope that despite of these issues, we will be able to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback and rest assured that we will try our utmost to improve all the areas mentioned.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

so far so good. we have several days left here. Very clean, beautiful rooms. Overall service is fantastic, although the beach service is strangely poor for this nice of a place. If you hope to receive drinks, you probably need to sit pool side or bring a small cooler on the plane so you can bring beverages down from your room. We ate at the Surf and Turf restaurant last night and it was quite good. Japanese tonight...more updates when we leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for your review. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction about the cleanliness and also of our restaurants, it is good to know that you are enjoying your stay.

Regarding your comment about our beach service, we can assure you that your opinion is taken very seriously and we have been informed to the co-workers and F & B Manager about this area; we want to improve daily because to exceed our guests‘ expectations is one of our main goals.

Moreover, we want to thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience at Iberostar Grand Paraíso, we greatly appreciate it. We hope you whole stay was so pleasant that you would like to come back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiefland, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have traveled and stayed at many resorts, this one was by far the best. The staff was friendly, the resort is very beautiful, the villia was amazing, and the food was great every time. The spa was not the best, but the spa pool was great

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your vacation and also for considering us the best resort. Your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff make us feel very joyful . It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of our hotel services and facilities.

We know that we have points of opportunity so thank you for mentioning the spa. Our deepest desire is to offer completely comfortable accommodation and comments like your motivates us to keep improving. Also we are pleased to read that you find our staff very friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel so that you can have another unforgettable experience.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke, Virginia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Totally agree with the review by StaceeE_13, done on 04/26/2013...I really couldn't express my own opinion any better. My husband & I stayed April 20-27. This is a beautiful resort with excellent, friendly, helpful staff, BUT it is def. not a 5 Star resort. We had super high expectations of this resort after the fantastical reviews we read for months before making a decision. When we go to Mexico, we expect local food option, as we both love any & all Mexican food, but we were only offered a Mexican buffet on one day of our week long stay...very disappointing! The buffet food was typical, as far as resort food, but a little less variety than I have exerienced at other all-inclusives. We only visited the Japanese (twice) & the Surf/Turf restaurants, both of these were very good, but again we can get Hibachi & steak/shrimp in the States. The beach was beautiful, but as others have mentioned, you cannot get in the water right in front of the resort. The best place we found was directly to the left, right in front of the "sister" resorts, but then you have to deal w/a ton of kids & we pay extra for adults-only, so this was a bummer. Our room was very nice, however walls are paper thin, I could hear the guy next door snoring?? We give the large beer & top shelf liquor selection a huge thumbs up!!! Probably the only thing saving this review, besides the great service! Humberto at the lobby bar is awesome! I really hate to write anything bad about this resort, but I feel that others travelers, like myself, who rely on honest reviews need to know that this isn't going to be the immaculate, 5 Star resort that others insist it is (well, maybe for them?). We have stayed at several 4 Star all-inclusives in the area & paid far less for a much better experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

Our team will undoubtedly be motivated by your generous compliments. We appreciate the time that you have taken as well to make constructive comments, we are commited to listen to our guests and be constantly working on improving our services.

Your comments on Mexican food have been forwarded to our Executive Chef for consideration.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Paraiso!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I read a lot of reviews before selecting The Grand and found most of them helpful in preparing. I don't understand why everyone is complaining about no WiFi? They provide free wired Internet and because I read reviews, I knew enough to bring a router (Apple airport Express) so I could use my iPad. We had adjoining rooms (74 block) so both rooms had WiFi.
This resort by far exceeded my expectations, the cleanliness was immaculate, all the staff were ready, willing and eager to assist with any little request...and with a huge smile. I never once heard the word "no". We originally were on the main floor, but it had a musty smell, so they moved us up one level and it was perfect. The food was incredible, grilled lobster every lunch, who could ask for more? They have top shelf alcohol, just specify what brand and they will mix away! We ate at the Surf and Turf (Toni's) and it was wonderful. We were so tired one night, we decided to try room service and actually had one of the best meals (steak dinner) make sure you try the Kobe Beef Burger, they were awesome ( they even deliver poolside)
This was my first trip to the Riviera, but definitely not my last. We went to The Lindo one day to use the Lazy River, but after being there for 15 mins I missed the quiet Adults Only aspect of The Grand, everyone was crowded and loud, yelling kids....it was heaven to get back to paradise! I would advise people to tip the hard working staff, I know you don't have to, but they work long hours and are so grateful for it when you do. The Grand is expensive, but you get what you pay for, and I think it was so worth it. We tipped all the staff and it was appalling to see some people treat the staff as nothing more servants!
I will list things that I think will be helpful to future travelers : they offer free sunscreen at the towel hut, you need to apply it there, but it is Brand Name and available in spray/lotion and a variety of SPFs. The towels are plush and you can get as many as you want. The bathrooms supply shampoo and body wash dispensers and bottles of conditioner, so no need to pack your own, also a hair dryer is provided. Bathrobes and slippers are provided and a coffee maker in your room. The pillow menu is great and about the air conditioning, I called and asked for it to be set at 18 degrees and within 5 mins, it was programmed. I would advise people to get up early to "play the chair game" because I learned fast that unfortunately this is what you have to do to get a canopy bed. Block 72 facing the tranquility pool only have king beds, so if you need two queen, you will be in block 74. I would upgrade for the Ocean front rooms (70 & 71) as they are worth the views. We thought the walk would be too much, so we opted for 74 to be more central, but the walk was not too far to the beach. If you want a party atmosphere, this is not the place for you, there are not many young adults here and mainly couples, but I travelled with may parents and 18yr old son and I never felt out of place. It was a relaxing, well deserved vacation.
If you're still thinking about booking...don't, just do it, you won't be disappointed! I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Oceanfront second or third floor (70 & 71) and opt for corner suite with jacuzzi on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit to our resort. We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent Mexican vacation and for all your motivating compliments; and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Grand Paraiso is a beautiful property set on the stunning beach. The service was great and the food was very good. Everything included in the rate - even alcoholic drinks and activities. There's also shopping and nightclubs in the complex so you don't have to leave. You can enjoy hanging around the beautiful pool lor laying on the beach. It's an adult only property, so nice. The only drawback is no WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

At Iberostar Grand Paraiso we always try to offer the best accommodation and quality service, it is good to know that you found our property great and beautiful.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with other travelers, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our food and also our surroundings.

Regarding the internet connection, we have cable connection in our rooms but we are working to give our guests the service they would like and deserve. Your comments are taken very serious and we can assure you that we will be making changes at the end of this year.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.