We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Luxury Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Luxury Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I spent our 5th consecutive March Break (I'm a teacher, so restricted to certain travel times) at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso. The fact that we've returned 5 times says it all....the resort is amazing! We appreciate the adults only atmosphere, the amazing decor, and the wonderful staff.

Reception - Prompt and accommodating. We were greeted with cool face cloths when we arrived followed up with a glass of champagne. At reception, Shirley warmly welcomed us back, thanking us for our loyalty and offered us a couple of perks (wonderful to feel valued). We arrived a bit early, so went for lunch while our ocean front room was being prepared.

Food - We really like a la carte dining, so did not eat at the buffet at all for dinners. The Gourmet, which used to be our favourite, was a disappointment - steak was tough and gamey (needs a menu change). The Surf n Turf was excellent - steak was done perfectly and the potatoes Lyonaisse are heavenly. We ate at the Japanese twice - once at the tables and once at tapanyaki - both were good. Our new favourite is the Italian. They have just changed their menu and it is fantastic. All the dishes we tried (went 2 times) were delicious! Well done!! (Perhaps changing up the menus every couple of years at all the restaurants would be a good idea...).
We ate lunch every day at the restaurant by the beach. I am still hooked on the Kobi beef burger, although I did have the chicken tortillia a couple of times. My husband had the lobster and lamb offered at the outdoor bbq and was very pleased. As far as food goes at this resort, there is enough variety to satisfy everyone - fresh and well prepared.

Beach - I have no issue "reserving" a spot AS LONG AS YOU ARE GOING TO USE IT. We "reserved" a spot each day and used the area all day - we are beach people and here to enjoy total R&R. The beach was fairly rough every day this year, but we still enjoyed the sound of the waves crashing, the water, and the walks along the beach. Bar service on the beach was great - the waiter was always checking in to see if we needed anything.

General - Star Friends are always informing patrons of activities - no pressure - if you want to participate - great, if not - "have a nice day". My husband and I are always in the background when we visit...pure R&R, but if we ever want to join in any of the activities, there are many to choose from. We spent every night before dinner (and sometimes after) in the lobby bar enjoying drinks (with popcorn and nuts) and the ambiance.

The resort decor is beautiful - like a 5* hotel (you really need to see it to appreciate it - be sure to check out the different decor in each bathroom). The staff go above and beyond to make your stay great (and I do mean EVERY staff member - those in the front lines and those behind the scenes - I can't even begin to calculate the number of staff at this resort....). Food is (for the most part) delicious - great variety. Rooms are spacious - pillow menu, mini bar, lots of space to "spread out", king bed, lounge area, desk, balcony....

Recently this resort won the 2013 AAA Four Diamond Award - very much deserved!

Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Grand Paraiso one more time to spend your holidays. We are delighted to read that you have had a wonderful stay among us once again, for us there is nothing more important but satisfy and overcome our guest expectations.

Your special mention of our facilities, the gastronomy, rooms and especially our staff is greatly appreciated because they play the most valuable role in our guests vacation experience. Reviews like yours are always motivating for us.

We are really sorry about the inconvenience that you had in the restaurant, we really appreciate your feedback. All of your comments will help us improve our services and to avoid issues in the future. Nevertheless, we hope that you have taken lots of treasured moments from this holiday in our property.

You can be sure that we are impatient to welcome you back home for 6th time!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,106
    431
    132
    48
    22
See reviews for
395
2,734
69
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent two nights ( 3/7-3/9) when the hotel we booked was overbooked upon arrival.Will share our short experience.

Arrival-
Special tropical drinks offered upon arrival. Indoor lobby garden beautiful. Lobby decor a bit dated and furniture a bit worn down. Front desk staff very pleasant. Bell boy very informative. Concierge on each floor very helpful.

Grounds/Pools -
Positives-
Beautiful. Landscaped beautifully. There is not a great deal of walking required as it is not a massive hotel.We have been to three other hotels on Riviera Maya. This hotel was very quiet compared to the others.
The pools were cold but most are at this time of year in Mexico.The quiet pool is a pleasant sunbathing spot. The great thing about this hotel is that the spa has a heated pool.It was very relaxing and still had an outdoor feel because they open the roof. The spa also has a health smoothie bar that is very nice.
Beach beautiful, no trouble getting chairs.
Negatives-
Very difficult finding a place to sit by the pool. It seems as if they do not have enough chairs.
We did not see drink service on the beach at all. If you wanted a drink, you had to get one by the pool and bring it down to the beach yourself.
There were these animals that looked like racoons only bigger.They are around the pool and outdoor eating areas.They would come right up to you looking for food. Some people were feeding them. Not pleasant.

Rooms-
All positive-
Beautiful, up to date, very clean.We had a beautiful view from our room. If you have trouble being outside because of health problems or do not like the heat, the rooms connected to the lobby are great because most of the restaurants are in that building as well as the lobby bar and gift shops so you would be able to spend a great deal of time inside in cool air conditioning and have access to an elevator.The spa is just across a small cement walkway from there.
Drinks-
Positives-
Top shelf everything. Lobby bar makes outstanding drinks, wonderful martini's. Pool bartenders wonderful, very hard working, so lovely, great drinks, great service. Room minibar stocked as well.Wine selection average but fine.
Negative-
It is a shame that there is not a place to have a drink outside other than the pool bar. If you wanted to sip a cocktail outside before dinner in the beautiful weather there is no place to do it that we could see.You would have to go to the lobby bar that is inside the front of the hotel away from the beautiful beach view.
Restaurants -
Positives-
Decor beautiful, very clean, staff lovely.
Negatives-There are only two places where you can eat outside.One is a small area in the main building outside the restaurant where the breakfast buffet is served. Unfortunately, there are many smokers in the outside eating areas. There are also the racoon like animals. I saw the animals climb up on people's table top while they went inside to get their breakfast.The waiters repeatedly shoo them away but they come right back.
The other outside area is also small but it is beautiful on the beach - it is located outside the restaurant on the beach.
Very strange that you need reservations.We were blocked out of every place for both nights except for the French place. Despite this, we saw many empty tables in most places.You can always eat at the buffet every night if you cannot get into one of the theme places.
Food-
The food is very average.We ate in the French place and it was not very good at all so do not be disappointed if you cannot get into one of the restaurants.
Staff-
Every staff member was outstanding.They could not have been nicer, they go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. A special mention to Victor in the gift shop - he was so kind and very professional.
Summary-
Very nice, well maintained updated hotel with beautiful grounds and average food that has wonderful staff. It lacks a beach like feel however since there are not many outdoor eating and or drinking options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you spent a great time at the Iberostar Grand however it remains in us the concern that some of your expectations were not fulfilled, your feedback is very important to us since it helps us identify areas that have room for improvement.

In reference to the chairs at the pool, we are working on it in order to provide extra chairs and satisfy all of our guests’ needs. Moving on with the bar service we are very surprised to read that you could not find someone to assist you by the beach since there are always at least 2 people serving drinks at the beach in each building. Our apologies for this.

And finally, regarding you experience in the restaurant we will pass your kind comments on to our executive chef in order to improve our service for you.

We appreciate your comments and truly want to make your experience as pleasant as possible and we hope that you will continue to choose Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your future travel needs into Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just got back from our 2nd trip to the Grand Paraiso ,once again we had a wonderful time .The food in all the restaurants is superb .and the staff continue to maintain the high standard of service across the board.The weather wasn't so good the 1st week so we didnt get to swim in the pool but the 2nd was hot and we made up for it and swam everyday.The beach is fabulous abit rocky in places but we loved our daily walks,
We were there to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and as we are both 60 this year we decided to book into the Grand as it is so special. We emailed the hotel before hand to ask if we could have the same room as last year on the 2nd floor overlooking the spa .which suited us fine..We celebrated our wedding anniversary there last year and was given a bottle of champagne which was a lovely touch,however this year that didnt happen which was a little disappointing as the reception staff were aware!!
We met some lovely people Irene and John from Canada & Joe, Libby, Jan And Steve from America.it has been a wonderful memorable holday and we hope to go back again

Room Tip: top floors as bedrooms are not carpeted
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Paraiso and for taking the time to share your second time experience via Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read your positive comments about our private beach, hotel services and professional staff; we can assure you that it will be shared with the entire team.

Your recognition of our product, Food & Beverage and other services are appreciated by all of us. It is our constant goal to offer our travelers luxury experiences through our commitment to quality service. We totally understand your discomfort with the constant changing weather that we have in the Caribbean unfortunately that is something that we cannot control except keeping all the attention on you and offering our services to make you forget about the weather!

We are very sorry to hear that you were waiting to receive a bottle of sparkling wine due your anniversary and you never received it, please give us the opportunity of changing this bad thought and take care of you on your 3rd time in Grand.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. It would be a pleasure for us to be your host once again.

Best regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are spoiled, but not ugly Americans who have been to Sandals, Dreams, Beaches, Secrets, Couples, Excellence, etc. This is truly a wonderful resort.

We particularly appreciated the universally gracious and helpful staff. The word "No" is outside of their vocabulary! And this strikingly beautiful resort was immaculately groomed and extremely clean. The beach is huge and clean and the pools are tremendous. There is a cute little shopping area in the central Iberostar complex.

A couple of critical/helpful suggestions and observations. A dive into the pool revealed that it is not salt free. And the best chairs around the pool and beach front are reserved (cruise-style) by 5:30am. (I discovered this time on our last day when I went for an early morning run.) I generally was able to get one of the last cabana chairs at 6:20am, but saw a lot of folks wandering around with towels after breakfast. Chairs sat empty for many hours with no enforcement. I was looking forward to some snorkeling. There was nothing much worth seeing just offshore of the resort, so I checked with the dive shop. Yes, they have a daily 90 minute snorkeling trip, and for a mere $80.00 my wife and I could join them. Ouch, I'm familiar with this being a free "non-motorized activity." And while the average age appeared to be 50-something, most evening activities started at 10pm, a bit late for those of us in that age group. There was generally nothing to do but hang out at the bar after dinner. And the entertainment that we attended was a bit cheesy . . . the magician was worthy of a bar mitzvah. We would have appreciated a daily paper with the day's activities, something that most other resorts do.

In general, the food was excellent, near the best we have had. There is only one option for breakfast, the buffet, but I found that you could order Eggs Benedictine off the menu. One pet peeve of mine is attempting to make an omelette on a griddle, which they did. But the overall quality and breadth of the food was great. We enjoyed both buffets for lunch (the only options), especially the grilled lobster, the Kobe burgers, the Caesar salad, and the guacamole. The themed evening buffets ranged from so-so (Mexican and Italian) to great (International). The show around the pool after the International buffet should provide a model for the other evenings.

Of the other restaurants, we most enjoyed the Japanese (a la carte). The sushi was fresh, the tempura perfectly made, and the banana dessert out of this world! The Italian restaurant was also very good. The Surf & Turf was a bit weaker for us. I found it weird to get my salad served along with my steak. The Gourmet restaurant was not very good nor very well named. My crepes Suzette flambe were particularly disappointing . . . no flames and apples the consistency of apple sauce.

Or room was fabulous. It was definitely worth it to get an ocean front room. The cleaning and turn down service was excellent.

Overall, a great place that we would recommmend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent stay.

We appreciate your kind words as it pertained to our rooms, food, beverages, service, pools and Beach. We also appreciate the time that you have taken to make constructive comments and suggestions regarding our services and facilities, because that helps us impulse and increase our ambition to achieve top quality service levels. It is our constant goal to keep impressing you on every visit and make it even better than last time.

We sincerely appreciate your kind remark about the time of the night activities and the food at the Gourmet and Surf & Turf Restaurant, your suggestions have been duly noted and we assure you that we will keep it in mind. Nevertheless we hope that despite this inconvenience you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more. We are proud to give unforgettable experiences to our guests and pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

Thank you once again for your detailed feedback and we look forward to welcome you back, hopefully soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have just returned from yet another wonderful vacation at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso. We were there from March 11- 18. It is still just as wonderful as always and the staff, if anything, is better than ever. The service is truly exceptional. One of the benefits of being "frequent" guests at the Grand is that you get to know the staff. It is great to be greeted by Ricardo, by name, as we alight from the van. The wonderful front desk reception staff headed by the gracious Io'ana make checking in a pleasure. ( A glass of champagne or a nice tropical cocktail helps too! ) To discover that Victor was once again our butler made our day! Victor goes above and beyond to make sure that everything is right for you.

The food was delicious, beautifully prepared and artfully presented. We were interested to discover that the menus are undergoing some changes. The Italian restaurant, "Venecia," has an expanded menu over years past and we understand that changes are coming at the other restaurants as well. This is a welcome change for those of us who continue to return to the Grand, year after year (this was our 7th trip to this wonderful resort). The wait staff are well trained and eager to please. Since I am cursed with an allergy to chocolate and I am also trying to stick to the South Beach diet, my requests for modifications to menu offerings were always graciously received and to my complete satisfaction. For all of the fans of "Tony's Surf and Turf" who might be worried about menu changes, you can relax, that menu continues to have the "classic surf and turf" and also the "double cut filet mignon." The specialty nights at the Bella Vista buffet continue to delight and surprise you with their offerings. Don't miss Sunday's Mexican Night buffet at Bella Vista complete with a Mariachi band that appears around 8pm. Also a Brazilian Night, on Mondays if I am not mistaken, offered lots of delicious selections to choose from. Olivia, one of the great chefs at the Grand, offered lessons on how to prepare various dishes and also cooked excellent omelets every morning.

While the weather was a little on the cool side, it was perfect for our "long" walks through the entire Paraiso complex, stopping on the return leg, at the lobby bar in the Lindo for a 10 am "wake me up" Bloody Mary. (Yes, I know that's not allowed on the South Beach diet...but at least I didn't have an order of fries with it!) Only by visiting the other resorts can you see all the birds, plants and animals. However, while the coatimundis are now everywhere and a delight to watch, the largest group still seems to hang out on the walkway to the beach by the Lindo buffet.

There were lots of swimmers in the sea, but the cool temperatures frequently sent us to the indoor pool where we swam laps and enjoyed the hot tub. One of the special things about the Grand is that even with less than perfect weather, there are still plenty of options of things to do....which leads me to discuss shopping! In the past, it was our impression that the prices at the Paraiso Commercial Center and the shops in the five resorts were higher than the prices in Playa del Carmen. That is certainly not the case now! The prices are very competitive and in some cases considerably cheaper. I think the merchants in Playa have decided that they should be charging "resort" prices. However, if you decide to go into Playa del Carmen, a bus leaves from the Lindo lobby several times each day. The fare is still $5.00 US or $50 mx each way. The drop off point in Playa is on the northern end of 5th Avenue. Also, the "folk art" vendors are back at the Lindo, on the walkway by the theatre, on Monday, Wednesday and Friday nights.

Massages are available on the beach, in the indoor pool and at the main spa in the Commercial Center. My wife suggests asking for Eli at the Commercial Center Spa for an excellent massage.

For the "liquid lunch," afternoon cocktail, aperatif, dinner wine, after dinner digestif and any other time you need an infusion of alcohol, you are well cared for by an excellent bar staff at fourteen different locations on the Grand premises. That's the number given to me by Martin, the new head of the bars. Martin has just recently been promoted to that position and he is doing a great job. There is nothing quite so satisfying after an excellent meal at the Grand than to go to the Cigar Bar, light up a stogie and enjoy a glass of Xtabentún.

Evening entertainment continues to be excellent and the Star Friends are delightful.

We can't wait to get back to the Grand for visit number 8!

Room Tip: Oceanfront or overlooking the Tranquility Pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you invested in writing us and on behalf of the management and staff of Iberostar Grand Paraiso we would like to express our gratitude for your kind words including the highlights of your trip such as restaurants, food and other services. We recognize our staff plays a valuable role in our guest experiences and comments like yours serve to motivate us even more.

Your review and the impression you have expressed about our hotel make us really proud! It is our constant goal to keep impressing you on every visit and make it even better than last time.

We consider it a great honor to have had the opportunity to serve you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again home for 8th time!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been to Mexico three times before - Aventura Spa Palace, The Sun Palace and the Excellence Playa Mujeres - all 5* - we decided to try the Grand as we were recommended and liked the look of the trip advisor reviews. So I have compared the Grand to the other resorts.
Arrival at the hotel - bit of a lukewarm reception, took about 10 mins to get offered a drink. Check in was quite long winded and then had to wait 10 mins for a bell boy [weird considering we were the only ones checking in.
Room - really nice room, quite European in its decoration but very clean and quiet. Bell boy let us in and said the Butler would be along to show us all the amenities. We stayed in building 72 nd it was a great location. After unpacking and waiting for an hour we phoned the concierge as to where the Butler was - he arrived after a few mins and showed us what was what in the room.
Not really sure about this Butler lark - had I not read most of the info on trip advisor about what they are supposed to do for you he would not have offered! He did not tell us we could choose what we wanted in our mini bar, or that we could rent a DVD and many other little things.
Meals - I have to agree with some of the other reviews about the food that it was not the best . I am not saying it was bad just not quite as good as some of the other resorts we have been in. Cannot fault the quantity or the selection but a few things let them down for us. Just because you can have lobster everyday doesn't mean its the best quality or cooked that well - very over done in our opinion. Best lobster was the day it was cooked fresh whilst we waited on the BBQ. The steak in Tonis was excellent and we enjoyed the Japanese. Room service menu was very limited but to be fair they would always try to accommodate any other requests. Room service was very quick and always so polite. We had 4 nights in out of the 14 .
Pools/Spa - pools were clean and large but cold - mind you it was so hot most days after the initial squeal at getting in it was lovely! Sun beds need updating. We sunbathed at the Tranquil pool most days.
I will also point out that the no one told us about the spa over in the shopping centre - check in never said we could use it free of charge and neither did our Butler.Once again this is what I mean by not being given enough info. We did not realize you could use the other hotels!
Beaches - lovely white sand that stretches for miles and miles! They kept our beach lovely and clean.
Staff - they are the ones who deserve the best rating - That is why this hotel gets such good reviews! They are so polite and friendly and you really feel anything you ask they will do their best!
Golf - my husband played and said it was a really good course. He got 4 free rounds as were there 2 weeks - most of the Americans got free golf all the time as their travel agents got better deals than us. I would suggest pushing your travel agent to get this as well although each round was only USD50 which is very cheap for golf over there.
Overall I think this hotel was great - a few things we would like done differently but we are all different and you cannot please us all! We would definitely go back there. The hotel is mainly set up for the American/Canadian market as these are the main bulk of visitors and that's fair enough. We had trouble getting any restaurant reservations before 21.30 but after making friends with some regular [9 times!] Grand visitors they spoke to their Butler and got us in straight away at 19.00! Shows its who you know!
As I said I don't think this hotel is the best one we have ever stayed in but I think value for money and the service it comes very close!

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a sea view as you are not in the room enough to warrant the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction about certain aspects of our service and would like to offer our apologies as your experience fell short of the high standards we strive to maintain at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso. We take unsatisfactory experiences like yours very seriously, so please rest assured that your feedback has been well received and will be used to improve our services.

Your comments have been read by our managers and we are working to make the correct changes to satisfy all nationalities and tastes and guarantee the best experience in comfort and relaxation.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. It has been very helpful to us.

Kind regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Iberostar after a 6 day stay. The trip was amazing! Worth every penny and more if you are looking for a nice hustle free relaxing time.
Check In:
As soon as we arrived the staff was waiting for us. We arrived before the check in time but our room was ready for us. My husband got us upgraded to building 71 - ocean front room. We were on the first floor and there was no noise bugging us. Some reviews mentioned furniture being moved etc - we heard nothing!!!!!!!! Our check in went smooth thanks to Janine!

Room:
Very spacious and clean. Bed is very comfortable and the pillow menu is a good touch. The bathroom is very nice with a hug tub and 2 vanities. Nice glass shower. Each balcony has a nice lounge bed with a comfy mattress and a swing. It was very nice to spend some afternoons just reading and listening to the waves.

Grounds:
HUGE!!! Very well taken care of with great landscaping and so so so clean!

Food:
The food was very good. A variety to every taste - lamb, lobster, caviar, steak, fish etc Everything is very well cooked and presented. We had no trouble what so ever getting reservations for dinner and the resort was pretty much at full capacity. We weren't picky as to what time we ate so having early or late reservations did not spoil our trip as some of previous guests have said about their dinners.

Room Service:
Extremely fast and very fresh - not premade in advance. Every night we would order cappuccinos and fresh fruit for breakfast for a specific time and every morning to a tee it would get delivered on time. Amazing service!

Tips:
Not everyone tips, but we did. We would leave some money for the girls who cleaned our room and some for the turn down service. Tipped at the restaurants and at the bar. The people work so hard and go out of their way to make you feel welcome beyond what the job requires so we just wanted to shoe our appreciation. Keep in mind that tipping is not expected but very appreciated by the staff.

Star Friends:
Great group of guys and girls who organize daily activities by the pool and the beach. Also they are the ones that put on a show every night at 10pm - and those shows are very entertaining and fun!!!! The boogie night was a lot of fun and the magician were my favorite. If you can make some time to get to know some of the star friends. They all have a very interesting story to tell and they are just amazing people who work extremely hard!!!!!! The management of the resort should be proud of their staff!!!!!
We are in our late 20s and we go on vacations specifically for relaxation. If you are looking for a party spot - THIS RESORT IS NOT FOR YOU.

Golf:
My husband golfed every day. He loved the course! Its huge and beautiful. If you go to the range the bucket of balls is $10US.

We have stayed at Secrets Maroma just 2 month ago. That was our first trip to Mexico. We loved it so much that we decided to come back just 2 month after and were very happy to try this resort out. Secrets is a very nice resort, but the grounds are not us large, there are no rooms right on the beach, and there is no golf. However, the beach and the pool at Secrets was a bit nicer than Iberostar - the pool was heated and the beach had no rocks. The two resorts are just 20 min walk along the beach apart from each other.

Love Love Love this resort and we will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: We were in building 71 room 7114 and we thought it was a great room - on the quieter side of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your very first visit to our resort!

We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, nice rooms, tranquil pool, beach, and the very best in personalized service.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

With our very best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.