We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Iberostar after a 6 day stay. The trip was amazing! Worth every penny and more if you are looking for a nice hustle free relaxing time.
Check In:
As soon as we arrived the staff was waiting for us. We arrived before the check in time but our room was ready for us. My husband got us upgraded to building 71 - ocean front room. We were on the first floor and there was no noise bugging us. Some reviews mentioned furniture being moved etc - we heard nothing!!!!!!!! Our check in went smooth thanks to Janine!

Room:
Very spacious and clean. Bed is very comfortable and the pillow menu is a good touch. The bathroom is very nice with a hug tub and 2 vanities. Nice glass shower. Each balcony has a nice lounge bed with a comfy mattress and a swing. It was very nice to spend some afternoons just reading and listening to the waves.

Grounds:
HUGE!!! Very well taken care of with great landscaping and so so so clean!

Food:
The food was very good. A variety to every taste - lamb, lobster, caviar, steak, fish etc Everything is very well cooked and presented. We had no trouble what so ever getting reservations for dinner and the resort was pretty much at full capacity. We weren't picky as to what time we ate so having early or late reservations did not spoil our trip as some of previous guests have said about their dinners.

Room Service:
Extremely fast and very fresh - not premade in advance. Every night we would order cappuccinos and fresh fruit for breakfast for a specific time and every morning to a tee it would get delivered on time. Amazing service!

Tips:
Not everyone tips, but we did. We would leave some money for the girls who cleaned our room and some for the turn down service. Tipped at the restaurants and at the bar. The people work so hard and go out of their way to make you feel welcome beyond what the job requires so we just wanted to shoe our appreciation. Keep in mind that tipping is not expected but very appreciated by the staff.

Star Friends:
Great group of guys and girls who organize daily activities by the pool and the beach. Also they are the ones that put on a show every night at 10pm - and those shows are very entertaining and fun!!!! The boogie night was a lot of fun and the magician were my favorite. If you can make some time to get to know some of the star friends. They all have a very interesting story to tell and they are just amazing people who work extremely hard!!!!!! The management of the resort should be proud of their staff!!!!!
We are in our late 20s and we go on vacations specifically for relaxation. If you are looking for a party spot - THIS RESORT IS NOT FOR YOU.

Golf:
My husband golfed every day. He loved the course! Its huge and beautiful. If you go to the range the bucket of balls is $10US.

We have stayed at Secrets Maroma just 2 month ago. That was our first trip to Mexico. We loved it so much that we decided to come back just 2 month after and were very happy to try this resort out. Secrets is a very nice resort, but the grounds are not us large, there are no rooms right on the beach, and there is no golf. However, the beach and the pool at Secrets was a bit nicer than Iberostar - the pool was heated and the beach had no rocks. The two resorts are just 20 min walk along the beach apart from each other.

Love Love Love this resort and we will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: We were in building 71 room 7114 and we thought it was a great room - on the quieter side of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your very first visit to our resort!

We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, nice rooms, tranquil pool, beach, and the very best in personalized service.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

With our very best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,676
    360
    115
    41
    19
See reviews for
329
2356
58
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our second trip to the Grand was fabulous, as expected. The hotel is stunning and safe. The staff is attentive. The food was excellent. We spent most of our trip swimming at the pool, which was very clean.The hotel was near empty when we went and we had a chance to get to know some of the other guests which was fun.

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and this is still the best.

My only complaint is that the hotel hallways needed some vacuuming. I think I was purposely looking for things to nitpick though!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your past stay.

It is always a pleasure to read such great comments about the facilities, food and excellent service that our team provides, which we have already shared with them :-).

We are glad that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you had such enjoyable vacations. We will take your comment on the hallways into consideration and make sure they are sparkling clean on your return; thanks for your feedback!

Once again, thank you for having stayed with us; we are looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Impeccable setting with outstanding service! Although the food is very good, it is not quite what you might find at a five star restaurant in the US. They will make a drink to your exact specifications if you ask, otherwise it may be a little heavy on the mixers. Overall a great experience. Will definitely make an effort to return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your latest vacation, and for sharing your experience. It is always nice to know that we have met your expectations with our outstanding service.

We appreciate your kind words as it pertained to our rooms, food, beverages and service; and that you found the service from our team to be helpful and friendly; we are sure they will be greatly encouraged by your positive feedback.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back on many future occasions to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso: your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso 6 -9 March as the hotel we had booked in the UK was full and we were sent to the Grand Paraiso.
I have to say that it is one of the best hotels my husband and I have ever stayed in.
You cannot complain about any aspect- the service, rooms, beach were all exceptional standard.
As for the food,well that was amazing. Our favourite was the French restaurant and Toni's, both the service and quality of the food was of exceptional standard.
Like another review by the 'Andies' we too are British and agree it may seem expensive, however once you have stayed there and experience the beautiful decor, clean rooms, fab food and have such an overall awsome stay, it is well worth every penny.
If you are thinking of going to Mexico and the Riviera Maya, I would strongly recommend you stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.
We will certainly be staying there again in the future

Room Tip: I would stay overlooking the beach or the tranquility pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review shared on this website.

Your kind words about our rooms, food, and the staff and the entire welcoming and friendly atmosphere means a lot to us.

We are proud of our hardworking and friendly staff, who continue helping us reach our goal of being one the best resort in the Caribbean. Your review shows that we are on the right track to achieve this goal!

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

From the time we landed to the time we left, the trip was fabulous. Iberostar staff anticipated our needs. The facility was gorgeous, service was excellent. Food quality was great. We have been to other all-inclusives before but this one was by far the best in all areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you.

It is also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your vacations among us so much. We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso a couple of times. We always purchase the Ocean Front Butler Service and we are never disappointed. The hotel is well laid out and well kept. We are always most impressed with the food and the wine list. On our last trip I e-mailed them about a particular wine we had during our first stay. They emailed back and said that it was not currently on their wines list but they would see what they could do. When we arrived there was a bottle in our room and it was replaced daily throughout our stay. Now that's service.
The Butlers were attentive but not bothersome. However, they did always find it funny that we would prefer to walk than accept their offers of a ride in the golf cart to wherever we were headed. This is a hotel for relaxation and pampering.
If you're a self proclaimed foodie or simply enjoy a really good wine selection then this resort will appeal to you.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Third Floor. End units have added bonus of Hot tubs on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you chose to return here with us and thank you for sharing your experience. We highly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it is always nice to know we have met your expectations with our outstanding service.

We appreciate your kind words concerning our rooms, food, beverages and service; we were pleased that you found the service from our team to be helpful and friendly; we are sure they will be greatly encouraged by your positive feedback.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back on many future occasions to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso: your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This review is way over do. I stayed at the Grand over the summer and Iet me tell you I am beyond impressed with the Iberostar chain after staying here. The service, food, rooms, beach, pool, resort ground, employees are the best of the best here. No All-Inclusive resort I have EVER been to has been as amazing as this Resort. I have been to Mexico 4 times. I have stayed at The Crown Paradise Club Cancun, Riu Palace Cancun, Barcelo Maya Tropical in Rivera Maya and have also stayed at the Majestic Elegance Punta Cana Dominican Republic.
Non of those All Inclusive resorts compare to The Iberostar Grand Paraiso.
I will also mention that this hotel was a little pricer then the others i stay at.

Food
The food at this resort was amazing. Even the buffets had menus you could order of. You never felt like you were in a typical resort buffet. You were treated like ROYALTY.
Every Restaurant was amazing. Not one thing to complain about. Service was amazing, decor, waiters. I want to mention something a little random but the bathrooms at the restaurants were so nice and clean. Each bathroom was different and decorated in the sickest way. I was socked by the details this resort put into making you feel like you truly were at a Grand Palace. 5*

Room
I had the Standard Room... but this room was no Standard room.. You get your own Butler. Amazing bathroom. The entire room was made of granite and marble pillars. The maids did a great job. Room service was so good! Couldn't see why anyone would want to get a more expensive room. 5*

Beach
AGAIN AMAZING! Blue waters with a ton of chairs and butler service !

Pool
Such a wonderful pool. Clean with perfect views of the Caribbean sea.
Swim up bar was on point!!! Top shelf only at this resort!
Did water aerobics and had a blast.

This hotel shares a propriety with 4 other Iberostar Resorts you have full access to
(they cant step near the Grand)
I was also impressed with the "lower" Iberostar Resorts. All of them were still clean and made you feel like you were in paradise. None of them even the 3* resorts felt white trash or anything. The Iberostar chain is really the best out there.

Disco was pretty fun but a little cheesy Star wars theme LOL
. This you shared with all the resorts on the propriety.

Overall I highly recommend this Resort to anyone who wants to feel like royalty, and truly enjoy a true 5* vacation !

Note.
If anyone wants a more lively vacation i would recommend the Iberostar Parasio Maya or Lindo next door. This resort is a 4* but still very very nice. There is a younger crowed present here. Also children.. but you will find couples or groups of friends ages 21-35 who want to have a good time.
Even the Iberostar Beach and Del Mar 3* impressed me.

ENJOY !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review shared on this website. On behalf of our Management and staff we want to say it was a great honor to have served you. We appreciate your kind words regarding to our rooms, food, beverages, service, pool and Beach.

It was also delightful to read that you enjoyed the Butler service and our entertainment team. We aim to create wonderful memories that last a lifetime, so we are pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

We hope that you will not hesitate to return in the near future so that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.