We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does not get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It does not get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and adult daughters spent 6 awesome days at the Grand in mid December. We had stayed at the Lindo once and Maya twice and once our youngest turned 18 we booked the Grand. We only heard the word No twice. Once, when we wanted a golf cart ride from the shopping plaza back to the Grand one night and the second time was with the bartender in the lobby bar who would not let us eat some cheese and crackers from the buffet.

So I would say the stay was just about perfect. We found the food, drink, and service all top shelf. My daughter and I played golf twice on a wonderful golf course, well worth the baggage fees we paid for our clubs. We cannot wait to go back and we will in December. If you book yourself, take Lomas Travel from the airport. They are the best.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor of the building over looking the tranquility pool. Very convenient to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly is very motivating to our Managers and Staff to keep on going the extra mile.

We look forward to host you again to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso: your home away from home.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,002
    418
    127
    47
    21
See reviews for
384
2,634
69
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We love the Iberostar Grand Hotels! This was our 4 time at one of the Grand Hotels and I am sure we will be back. We stayed from December 28th until Jan 11th and I am sure experienced pretty much everything that the Grand had to offer.

As you can see from the Trip advisor ratings for all of the different Grand’s, it is the cream of the crop for affordable luxury. While the Mexican Grand is the best, the Dominican rivals it closely.

We last stayed at the Grand in Mexico three years ago, and there have been only a few things that have degraded since we last were there. It seems like the quality of the Meat has gone down, whether lamb or filet, it just wasn't quite up to snuff. At the Tepanyaki tables in the Japanese restaurant three years ago they would have one cook for six people, now it is one for twelve which has degraded the service. Beach drink service was ok...not great, but the concierge service on the beach was great. One thing that they still don't have that the Dominican did is Wi-Fi in the rooms.... needs it.... That is the only things that I can think of... and that is being pretty picky...


Food was good overall, staff were friendly, Star Friends were good, Shows were Corny but lots of fun, Grounds are amazing, especially all lit up for Christmas and New Year’s, Chairs games for the most part were not an issue, and if you could not find one where you wanted it, just ask a staff member to help you, Top shelf liquor and plentiful, Great lunch buffets, nothing like sitting on the beach(basically) and eating lunch, Butlers were helpful, and usually found me a bottle of Crown for my room, and anything else we needed, Golf course was in great shape and lots of fun(gets pretty tough from the blues and back), Dive shop is great...

The shin dig that they put on for New Years was a tonne of fun.... Fireworks...booze and dancing (good DJ) under the stars with what....three, four, five hundred people... Total Blast

Overall a really Grand Time....

Room Tip: Always ask for what you want.. Ocean Front rooms are worth it.. Main pool is lively while the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review shared on this website. On behalf of our Management and staff we want to say it was a great honor to have served you. We appreciate your kind words petaining to our rooms, food, beverages, service, pool and Beach.

Your suggestions have been duly noted and we assure you that we will study them more closely.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a great stay at the resort in Mid Nov 2012. We were there for a week and want to mention a few issues and things that could use upgrading – improvement. In the rooms, we like to have the room cool when we sleep – and the room we were in, the A/C was not getting cold enough. It took a few attempts of us complaining to our butler – concierge and when it didn’t work at all after 2 days, they finally fixed it. The butler/concierge response to simple requests can be frustrating. My wife wanted a shower cap, since she used the one in the toiletries provided. It took numerous calls to get them to send us some. At the pool, the cabana curtains are ripping and need to be replaced. Also, the cushions on the pool chairs are thin, and the padding worn, as are the mattresses on the cabana beds. They look sad. For a 5 star resort the cushions should be several inches thick not the inch or less that they are.

On the bright side everything else at the resort was great. We were at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro 3 months earlier so just a quick comparison. GP is much larger than GB so there’s more walking. At GP there is a menu where you can order a limited number of items during lunch and breakfast instead/addition to the buffet, including petit filet at lunch. If you want something not on the menu or on the buffet, they will find it for you, if it is somewhere on the resort. There is no menu to order off of at GB for breakfast or lunch. However, they will make something for you if you find the right person to ask. At GP, lobster was available on the buffet daily; in fact you can have it 3 times a day if wanted. The dessert selection is much better at GP. The beach at GP can be rougher than GB as there isn’t a reef offshore to calm the waves. The beach at GB is nicer than GP as the sand finer and softer and there aren’t any rocks in the water. At GB there is a dedicated watersports hut just for the GB where at GP it’s shared with the other Iberostars. This makes it harder to get a catamaran GP. The area for sailing in GB is limited by the reef and is crowded with many other boats, at GP it’s open ocean. The GP has a lot less people walking along the water than GB, only a few as opposed to dozens. At GP most of the staff speaks English, and at GB only the Star friends and a handful of the other people we encountered. At GP there is an indoor pool in the same building as the spa, which is nice if the weather doesn’t cooperate. At GP the pool waitresses that walked around seemed much more available than at GB.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you during your last vacations.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed some of the services and facilities at the Hotel as the delicious and varied food that we are proud to offer.

We appreciate the time you invested to share with us all the impressions about your stay at the property, all your comments are really constructive and they help us every day to work on being better.

Our main worry is the bad experience you took home because of the concierge and butler service; they are one of our strengths because they help us create really special memories to our guests, so when their service is not 100% we take corrective actions. We assure you we will work on it so it does not happen again.

Once again we apologize for not being able to meet all your expectations but we trust to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What started out as a quick check in took 3 hours. We traveled with our children 18 & 23. Our Travel Impression book stated 2 rooms 1 king 1 double bed, ocean view. This info we were told was not in their computer. This now became our problem. They asked us to go have lunch and they would figure it out. Their solution was a pool view 2 king. Of course if we wanted to upgrade $500 each room on Saturday an ocean view might be available.

Food and beverage selection excellent. Dinner buffet is not available every night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback during your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

We hasten to express our sincere regret that your visit fell below par with our front desk service. We are extremely sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations; your feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve our services and avoid situations such as the one described, in the future. We have shared your comments with our Front Desk Manage. We offer you our sincere apology for the inconveniences that you encountered.

We are looking forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to our Hotel and give us another chance to show you the quality in the service that we are capable of offering.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Necochea, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Yes, Iberostar is outstanding: Tucan, Quetzal, Cozumel, Paraiso Beach, Paraiso Maya, Paraiso Lindo, Paraiso del Mar... but Grand Hotel Paraiso is even more than outstanding!
Service, rooms, beach, pools, food and all inclusive made this trip the best. From the moment you are greeted in the reception, you see the difference. Do not start with this hotel if you plan to move like I did; finish in this one because there is nothing better than this one and it will avoid comparisons. I know that now I only want to go to this one, but hopefully to a room facing the sea!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your remark about our hotels, we are very proud to know that you consider that Iberostar Grand Paraíso is the best; it means that our goals are accomplished. We work hard to improve day by day to offer our guests our utmost in quality service and reading your comment make us feel satisfied and motivated.

We are glad to hear that you had an unforgettable experience, and we look forward to seeing you very soon. Should you need any assistance please contact us.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The staff and the facility are both wonderful. Every staff member we encountered in our 6 day stay were wonderful (except one minor incident at check in) and we marveled at the quality of the furnishings, rooms, interior, and the grounds.
My compliments to the management as almost every staff member asked if we were enjoying our stay, could they get anything for us, would we come back to visit, etc.
And I felt safe on their grounds in a country that I was reluctant to visit, and even more amazing, after a few days, I trusted the food and water. I did not try the mussels and some of the more exotic types of seafood served, but I did eat lobster and shrimp, the guacamole, and many other items.
It was impressive to watch one of the breakfast chefs scrub her hands and forearms with soap and water, rinse thoroughly, and then dry with a fresh, clean ironed towel. Wow, better than some medical staff in hospitals!
The beach was beautiful and I enjoyed walking on the white sand or just lolling in the cabanas and enjoying life. Huge salt water pool, a quiet pool, and an indoor pool in addition to the ocean.
Would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort and for your wonderful review; it means a lot to us. We are happy to learn that you had an excellent vacation and that you were pleased with our service.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly, is very motivating for our Managers and Staff to keep going the extra mile. At the same time we would like to apologize for the inconveniences. Feedback is very valuable to us since it gives us a chance and indication of where we still have areas for improvement.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back soon and trust you will not hesitate to return.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a work function. Not enough good things to say about the service, accommodations, food, drinks! It was wonderful and would gladly go again! It was clean, Beautiful and the spa massage was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

It is lovely to read your great remarks about your recent stay at Grand Paraiso; we are thrilled to know that even if you came for business, that you had time to enjoy our exquisite cuisine, our Caribbean landscapes, friendly service staff and spa massage!

It was our pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.