We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth Visit and Getting Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fourth Visit and Getting Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was the fourth Christmas for our family of 4 at the Grand. Our family consists of my wife and I and our two children, ages 22 and 25. We have traditionally gone somewhere warm for Christmas and New Years but the consensus has always been to return to the Grand. Upon arriving, the staff welcomed us with a greeting of "Welcome Home!" which is exactly how we feel the entire time we are there. As always, the rooms, grounds, food, staff is all beyond expectations. There is something for everyone in our family which makes it very hard to beat. If you want activities all day, the Star Friends will entertain you. Or you can just find a quiet spot to enjoy your favorite book or music (ipod). We have made friends with families w children of similar ages who visit at the same time and enjoy their company throughout our visit. The kids keep in touch in the off season and compare schedules before we arrive. It is actually very sad when we leave. There are many repeat visitors here which says a lot about the experience. Most of the people we have met, who are from all over the world, have traveled to many Caribbean islands and resorts and all return here. That says it all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you for your loyalty and your reviews about your recent Christmas stay with us. Your comments are very encouraging as we are intent on being the leading hotel in the Caribbean, with the promise of exceptional customer service to our guests.

Your special mention of the food, rooms and staff, that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours are always motivating for the staff.

You can be sure that your “Iberostar Family” is impatient to welcome you back home for the 5th time ;-)

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,410
    322
    102
    37
    16
See reviews for
292
2110
55
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed with my husband from Dec 26-31. Check in was fast and pleasant. The room was very nice. Butler (Rene) was wonderful. We had no problems making reservations at any of the restruants. Food was very good. Service excellent. Golf was fun. The property is beautiful. I couldn't ask for more. No complaints from us. Thank you for a lovely vacation and helping us celebrate our anniversary. We will return and bring friends and family with us - it was that nice. I miss it already.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to serve you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly, it is very motivating for our Managers and Staff to keep going the extra mile.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back soon and trust you will not hesitate to return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hills Village, CO
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is my second stay at the Grand which should say a lot in and of itself. I kind of have the lay of the land and know my way around this place. The food at all inclusives are usually where they fall short. This is not the case here. The food goes from very good to excellent. They have 4 a la carte restaurants with the best being the l'talier Gourmet. I had milk fed veal that was as tender and delicious as I have had anywhere. The filet mignon at this restaurant was better than the beef at any of the other restaurants. The Japanese Haiku was great fun and again the food quality was excellent. The Italian restaurant was very good with good appetizers and pasta but I was disappointed wit the entres as they were not cooked to our liking (they were dry). The buffets were all excellent with a plethora of seafood including stone crab and lobster with different meat dishes at every lunch...prime rib, lamb chops, ribs etc. Olivia continues to be queen of the kitchen. Breakfasts include all you could want from omelette stands to bagels and lox with caviar to waffles and crepes.

The facility is amazing with tile and sheet metal work that will blow your mind. They have live music at the lobby bar nightly and a good array of premium spirits. I personally would like to see more tequila choices. It is Mexico after all. The shows are entertaining but could stand to changed as they were virtually the same as last year. I could live without the Mexican folklore show and did not attend it. The magic show was quite good but again very much the same as last year.

The beach is fabulous with the turquoise Caribbean water with an inviting water temperature. It is also not crowded at all. The beach service is quite good as I was never wanting for a beverage. They could do better better by having a beach concierge to help with lounge chairs towels etc. You do have to get out early to secure your chairs and shade umbrellas at both the beach and the pool.

The PB Dye golf course was in great shape with pristine fairways and greens. Tee times were not a problem.

I made them aware that I was a return customer before I arrived and they allowed me to make my reservations for the a la carte restaurants before I arrived. In addition they arranged for my wife and I to have private salsa dance lessons with one or the entertainment staff and this also was arranged prior to my arrival (at additional very reasonable cost). This was a very nice touch.

Where they fall short is situational management. They do not do well when things do not go as planned. When a mixup occurred in one of our dinner reservations they were in a quandry as to what to do when all they had to was get us a cocktail while they figured things out. There was also a quirk In our golf reservations as they have to be charged to a specific room. When 2 of my adult children left before us and we ran out of golf vouchers for our remaing rooms, they were reluctant to allow us to use the unused golf from that room since they had checked out. They finally got it right but not without unnecessary brain damage. These were minor problems but did create unnecessary stress and were not handled in a first class manner.

The spa is beautiful but the massage rates were ridiculously high!

All in all the vacation was splendid with a few unnecessary quirks which did stand out. I do plan to return next year and would recommend the Grand for families with adult children and couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you invest sharing your experience at our Hotel Iberostar Grand Paraiso, it is a honor for us that the guests return to their home away from home. We are really sorry about both incidents that happened during your stay, since as you know, the most important thing for the management and the staff is to exceed your expectations and unfortunately in this occasion we did not reach our goal.

Thank you for recommending us and for thinking about us to enjoy unforgettable vacations. The management and the rest of the staff would feel really honored if you visited us again at any of our Iberostar Hotels in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been to the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso multiple times and each time the staff exceeds our expectations (and our expectations are quite high). The hotel itself is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The meals are exceptional. The grounds are beautiful. The service is impeccable. There is both a saltwater and a quiet pool on the property as well as several hot tubs. Those who stay at the Grand have privileges at the Spa in the shopping center across the street for: the saunas, showers, jacuzzis and the Roman Baths. The hydrotherapy center is awesome. There is a taco store in the shopping center (near the Spa) that is good. Christmas at the Grand is a uniquely wonderful experience. I highly recommend it and hope that others enjoy this outstanding hotel as much as we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing again our resort, that means a lot to us. We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. Your generous words are greatly appreciated as we are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.

We look forward to host you again at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso: your home away from home.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family, a total of six, spent the Christmas week at this all inclusive, all adult property and it was the best resort experience we have ever had! The service was outstanding from start to finish and really provided the feel of a world class luxury hotel. The food was fabulous and plentiful. In addition to a wide variety, there were always local favorites (fresh ceviche made daily as part of the poolside grill). The rooms were large, beautiful and the staff was both attentive and unobtrusive. And, incredibly, even though it was a sold out holiday week, it was never crowded.
We will DEFINITELY return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your informative review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us.

At the Iberostar Grand Paraiso hotel we take pride in offering our guests luxurious accommodations and the very best in food and beverages. Your review is motivating as it reflects that we continuously exceed our guests’ high expectations.

We hope that you will return again soon so we can extend our usual warm welcome.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family has been vacationing with IBEROSTAR for the past 6 years. Why? The gorgeous grounds, beautiful rooms, great food and fabulous service. The staff is far better at name recognition than any of the Ritz or 4 Seasons properties that I have stayed at. The beaches are all pristine, the chairs are very comfortable, and the towels are really plush.

The GRAND experience is indeed grand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate that you took the time to remember us. Your memorable experience is a true testament of the dedication of our staff to ensure that you have all the necessary ingredients for an unforgettable vacation.

We work every day to offer luxurious accommodation, quality amenities and the very best in food and beverage all provided with genuine personalized service.

It would be our pleasure to host you again and trust you will not hesitate to visit us soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just returned from a one week holiday with our two grown children. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The food is wonderful, especially the barbeque on the patio. The grounds and public areas are spotless. The place is palatial so there is lots of real estate per person, the beds are very comfortable with maid service twice a day. There are lots of planned activities and two pools, one busy with a bar and one tranquil and serene, also an indoor pool. The special restaurants had no better food than the buffet. If you like wine, there isn't much to choose from. Someone is always around, asking if you need something. We had a Blackberry stolen from our room, but the management tried to make it up to us by giving us a free massage and a later checkout for no extra charge. This resort is a great place to rest and restore. All of the restaurants are indoors so be prepared for air conditioning. Dress up for dinner if you like!

Room Tip: Do not pay for the ocean view. Upgrade to ocean front if you want to be on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Iberostar Grand Paraiso experience on Tripadvisor. it is always a pleasure to read that the staff at the hotel are doing a great job as they really do make the difference, so thank you for your comments. I have shared your comments with the staff and management and can tell you that they are delighted that their hard work is not going unnoticed.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and hoping to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico
Address: Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.