We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a beautful rut!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Milton, ON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Stuck in a beautful rut!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I am quite late in writing this (we stayed at this property for the 3rd time Jan. 21-28'12). However there are no changes to my earlier reviews - this resort is just as fabulous as ever, all food/drinks, service, room and the property are consistently excellent. BUT because the bar has been set so high, as my husband and I look at planning our next winter getaway we are stuck. In speaking with others who have travelled in the Caribbean and while doing our own online searches, other properties are not just measuring up for the value and service of The Grand. Do you return to The Grand assured of a wonderful vacation or chance it and try someone new (and spend your whole vacation comparing it to The Grand?). Friends of ours who have also vacationed here with us are having the same dilemma. We’ve stayed at other places in the Caribbean in the past, but have spent our last 7 winter vacations at the Lindo, Maya and The Grand.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you. It was also a pleasure to hear that you always enjoy your holidays among us so much. At the Iberostar Grand Paraiso we take pride in offering our guests luxurious accommodations and the very best in food and beverages. Your review is motivating as it reflects that we continuously exceed our guest’s high expectations.

We hope that you will continue to give us the pleasure of hosting you when next you are planning your vacation as we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,224
    457
    139
    49
    24
See reviews for
413
2,847
71
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have been visiting the Mexican Yucatan for app 30 years. We even got married at an A I C in Cozumel before the really nice properties came along. We began staying at Iberostars as our children were growing up and found a place that felt safe to take kids and yet had activities to meet all members of our family. In the last few years as our children have matured we wanted the Iberostar feeling but more adult focused. The Grand has Iberostar Grand really hit the sweet spot for us. The moment we arrived there is this atmosphere set by the bellmen (Ricardo is really special. Great sense of humor!) that we are welcomed. The front desk clerks have recieved our history and knew we have stayed with them before. We were met by Saray (Sa rai) immediately upon walking to the front desk. She welcomed "us back". We were assigned a great room we were told due to years of staying with Iberostar.
Once we arrived by bellman in a smooth glof cart to our wing near the beach we recieved our 2nd round of welcome drinks! Our personal butlers met us too at this point and very quickly upon settlling in our room received a visit from Leo the butler to go over our wish list of adult drinks and pillows that we wanted for the week! It would not be long before my favorite beverages and my wifes pillow requests were met. Here is a suggestion for your dinner meals: write a few days ahead of arrival and request the alacart restaurants you prefer. I had written ahead for the first couple of nights and my requests were waiting for us on our 1st evening.
Toni s surf and turf is a steak house and is Very popular. It is very good! Filets and lobster are on the menu along with other nice choices such as lamb chops. I highly recommend Toni s! Over the week we ate at several alacart set downs: Haiku Japanese tepenyaki good. Didnt try Italian but heard it was good as well. There is a Continental alacart that many we talked to enjoyed but we didnt try it either. Wed evening is dinner under the stars at the buffet restuarant. It was a very nice affair! Live music and cusine from an international perspective. Friday night is Italian buffet as well too and we went back to Toni s but many said it was an enjoyable experience as well.
Breakfast and lunch are buffets and are quite good with many choices. You will meet a wonderful young lady: Olivia who will prepare you an egg or omelet any way you want it. One gentleman we met requested habaneros in his ometlet! So pretty much what ever you want if they have the resources you can have it prepared! We really liked one waiter in particular during lunch and breakfast (Manuel) Lunch is special as well: Generally someone was preparing lbster grilled at most lunches along with burgers, chicken, lamb chops, and sometimes steak. Each lunch day was a theme such as Itlaian or mexican. Great soups most days. Fresh guacamole, pico de gio, shrimp salads etc. Over all the meals all day long were top notch and delisious and way above what we have had at other A I Cs! Most of our wait staff and cooks and bellman are working for small salaries compared to the US and Europe. We always take a sum of 1 dollar and 5 dollar bills to had out to the maids bellmen waiters and speciality cooks while we are there for the week.
Most activities during the day center around the activities pool. ( There are 2 other pools that are: 1 for relaxing and quiet and 2 in door and more focused on exerzise.) You will meet during your day at the activity pool the Star Friends which are a special part of what makes Iberostar unique! At the Grand there are 6 of these young high energy personel from Mexico and some from other countries. They are great to interact with and provide a lot of fun activity if you choose to join an activity. (Your Choice) I did some such as ping pong and my wife joined in on some pool activities. By the way there are cheap prizes to winners of most of these games! They are amazing people: They knew many of the guests names if they participated in a few of the games.
Entertainment in the evenings is also somewhat above what we have experienced at most other A I Cs in the Caribbean. Each evening is a different theme. some we enjoyed more than others but all we saw were well done and for the most part enjoyable. (We didnt care much for the Friday evening Pre Columbian dancing show but maybe other do?)
A few items that I dont know where to plug them in at: The Lobby bar is both beautiful (Floor is an unbelievable craved granite of martini glasses) the Bartender Humberto is extemely good and will remember your drink from the night before unless like my wife who kept changing her drink each evening! The internet service for such a great property is really slow. We didnt bring a computer but those who did said service was only available in lobby and buffet area.
Adult beverages were a pretty good selection: Johnny walker red and Black, not many single malt choices, some US Whiskeys domistic wine choices for the most part. choose carefully: some were rather good some ...Not so much! And of course great Mexican beer choices! Try the Superior. Use to be #1 several years ago and was taken over by Carona app 20 years ago due to advertizing and branding ..not flavor!
Over all the Grand is a great vacation destination. Great staff, beautiful property. Its just a perfect place to relax and enjoy yourselfs for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We were happy to learn that you had an excellent vacation and that you were pleased with our service.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This property exceeded by expectations. I would give it a 5+ rating! I am a travel agent and I've been to many all inclusive properties in Mexico, many which are rated 4-5 star and are not in my opinion. Everything at this hotel is 5 star! From the moment I arrived and was welcomed with a cool cloth for my face and a glass of champagne to my departure was flawless. I sampled each restaurant and the food and presentation was excellent. Every staff member had a smile and acknowledged you when passing. The restaurant staff was very sincere in asking your opinion of how was your dinner...not just asking to ask but really wanted to hear your feedback. The mini bar in the room was stocked with our favorites each day and we also had a pillow menu!! I will definitely recommend to clients. I cannot rave enough about this place. The beach was lovely and both pools were wonderful.

Room Tip: If you can spare the extra $$, stay in an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for your feedback on tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that our staff members gave you a warm welcome and were able to help you enjoy your stay in Mexico to the fullest.

It is great to read that you have enjoyed our restaurants, pools and beach. Your kind comments about our staff members have been passed on to all our colleagues and are a great reward for their effort put in every day..

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Iberostar Grand Paraiso in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had reservations at the Lindo, but wasn't impressed at check in. Moved to the Grand. Have gone down to the Riv for probably 30 times and this was by far the best. The food was truly gourmet, the Star Friends and staff were great. We got an ocean front room, which was very nice as were the Butler and Concierge. all four restuarants were outstanding with the Surf and Turf our favorite because of Hugo the Matre'd. You won't be sorry picking this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for your kind comments and specially we are pleased to know that you had a great vacation in the hotel.

Thank you for recommending us and do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Warm regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Since our excellent experience with Grand Bavaro (Dominican Republic),we were curious about this Hotel and we booked a weak this july. Since our arrival(they up grade us to a oceanfront room,without asking for)we only can say that everything exceedeed our expectations.The beauty of the hotel ,gardens,beach ,pools(a very big one,one called "tranquility",and an interior one with a complete spa,)the food ,buffet or four restaurants(with previous reservation),japanes,italian,gourmet, and turf ,always a great variety of fresh fruits,salads,fish ,also seafood like lobster and shrimps,grilled meat of all kinds,everything of good quality.About drinks i can´t say very much because we don´t drink,but we saw they were good labels.The staff was very nice and always available for any request.Awsome resort!!

Room Tip: Ocean front of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have now stayed at all three of the Iberostar Grands having recently stayed at Paraiso and as always Iberostar did not disappoint! Food was great - loved that you could order lobster from the menu at lunch to avoid waiting in line! Everyone in our group was blown away by the excellent service- especially the butler service ...they just seemed to be there every time we needed something! Pool was the perfect temperature however for prime seats you did need to be up by 7:00 am or they would all be taken. Bars service was excellent and very accommodating to special requests.
My only complaint was the basketball hoop and volleyball net being located at the end of the infinity pool - we could never stand there and relax or even take a decent picture as people were frequently playing. Don't understand why they don't have the hoop and net at the other end instead of ruining the infinity view of the ocean? Also the cooks making the eggs in the morning were a bit slower than at other resorts which leads to quite a long wait if you want made to order eggs or omelets. However these issues are extremely minor and everyone in our group would highly recommend this resort!
So overall I still like the Iberostar Grand Bavaro the best with the Paraiso a very close second. All 3 of the Iberostar Grands in North America are fabulous and we truly love the Iberostar brand! Can't wait for our next trip to Bavaro Grand in November!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I booked our wedding at the Grand after spending a weekend there last August. We were in awe of our short weekend and knew immediately that our wedding could not be anywhere except for the Grand. We were taken back by the jaw dropping beauty. We invited all of our friends and family and had a fantastic turn out - 68 guests! We worked with a travel agent to make two options available to our guests - all inclusive stay at the Iberostar Lindo (family friendly all inclusive) and Iberostar Grand (adults only). All of our guests had nothing but great reviews of their time spent at the Iberostar Resort in Riviera Maya!

With respect to the wedding itself, it took a lot of planning and hard work to make all of the details come together and we believe that it was perfect because our personal wedding coordinator, Jessica, assigned to us by the Iberostar Grand, was there helping to guide us every step of the way! She was professional, responded effectively and almost immediately to all of our emails and went above and beyond to ensure our wedding day went smoothly and just as we imagined and hoped it would be!

As an engaged couple who had to plan their wedding solely through the internet, we had to put a tremendous amount of trust into our wedding coordinator. Throughout all of our correspondences with Jessica, Adventure Photos (on site photography company), and DJ Doremixx (outside vendor recommended by Jessica), we felt comfortable, excited and worrry free. Jessica was always accommodating and flexible with our requests and questions. She wanted to ensure that our wedding was "unforgettable" and exactly as we hoped it would be.

When we arrived to the Grand, we had arranged a meeting with Jessica to review final details of our wedding. She met with us promptly and on time and assisted us with putting together our welcome bags for our guests! Jessica also assisted us in planning our rehearsal for the wedding and rehearsal dinner, which included 29 guests. The dinner was located at El Fogon, where a private section of the restaurant was provided for us, with a delicious pre-fixe menu (chicken/fish/filet), and excellent service. Jessica was there every step of the way ensuring that everything went smoothly. We were also able to upgrade the wine for the rehearsal dinner at an additional cost. A wine sommelier was present to explain the different wines to our guests in detail. He was also fantastic! After our dinner we walked over to the Kukulkan bar at the Maya Hotel where we met most of our other wedding guests for after dinner drinks. The night was a blast.

The day of our wedding came and Stephen and I were upgraded to the presidential suite. The suite was huge, opulent, and elegant. It was fully furnished with two bathrooms, a living room, kitchen, master bedroom, his and her sinks, and a large balcony with a jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. My bridesmaids and I were able to check into the room early and get ready there. There was more than enough room to fit 6 women and all of their wedding day accessories. The flowers were delivered to our room and our wedding coordinator checked in to make sure everything was going accordingly. Although all aspects of the day were perfect, the room service was slower than expected that afternoon. However, it was a minor detail which did not effect the mood of the day. Our photographer came early to take some getting ready photos which came out gorgeous!

The ceremony arrived and everything looked beautiful. The beach set up was exactly as we pictured and the violinist was there to play all of the songs we requested (Beautiful Day by U2; Pachbel's Canon in D Major; and I'm Yours by Jason Mraz). The English speaking judge was great, offering humor and light to an emotional day. After the ceremony, the wedding guests enjoyed a champagne toast on the beach with cold hors' deurves. Shortly after, a cocktail hour followed with 15 different hot and cold appetizers and international open bar, on the terrace of La Brisa restaurant (which we selected from 30 different choices prior to our trip). We also hired a mariachi band to play during the cocktail hour and they did a wonderful job. This was a hit with our guests. Then our reception, located inside of La Brisa restaurant was gorgeous. The tall/large flower arrangements consisting of fuschia, pink and orange roses, mini roses, lilies and birds of paradise (all flowers included in our wedding package) were breathtaking. We brought candles/candle holders which Jessica arranged nicely on all of the tables, in addition to rose petals for decoration. The DJ was just as we imagined, in fact he exceeded our expectations. Everyone was on the dance floor all night! The food was delicious (salmon salad, lobster bisque, surf & turf or duck breast, wedding cake and white and dark chocolate napolean) and the service was amazing! Our personal waiter ensured that our glasses were never empty! The bartenders were excellent, quick and accommodating to all drink/shot requests. Our guests had an amazing time as well. They now want to send the message to friends and family to have a destination wedding!

Following our wedding, we headed over to the club located in the shopping center for a continuation of the party! Afterwards, we went back to our presidentail suite which was decorated with rose petals, chocolate covered strawberries and a romantic bubble bath. It was the perfect ending to an amazing day and night.

We are so appreciative of the unforgettable week and the perfect wedding day! It could not have been possible without the amazing staff and help we received through the Grand. We are so grateful for the assistance we received from Jessica our wedding coordinator and do not believe our wedding could have turned out as perfect as it did without her guidance, professionalism and support.

We give the Iberostar Grand Paraiso in Rivera Maya, Mexico our highest recommendation for vacations and weddings! We will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: Ocean front is gorgeous - but you will be happy with any room you stay in at the Grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to hear that you, your family and your guests had enjoyed your stay and your wedding with us and were extremely pleased with service of our staff as well as with the facilities available at the hotel.
The principal goal of all the staff is exceed the needs of our guests, and it is really motivating to hear that we reach our goal with you and your guests.
Thank you for recommending Iberostar Grand Paraiso on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back again in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.