We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Falkirk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at the Grand 15th - 29th May, booked through First Choice.
1 week prior to departure sent e-mail to request room preference upper floor overlooking Tranquility Pool and to reserve 2 a la Carte Restaurants. Received prompt reply from hotel, confirming Restaurant reservations and that they could not guarantee our room request but had noted our Room request.

Transfer from Cancun Airport was by Mini Bus with 1 stop at El Dorado Royale, transfer to the Grand took in total 35 minutes. On arrival Bellhop took care of our luggage as we were taken into Reception, Check-in took 5 minutes, our room was 7456 1st Floor overlooking the Tranquility Pool just as we had requested - excellent. Welcoming drinks and cool towels provided for us.
We were then taken along with our luggage to our room.

Met at our room by Charley our Butler, the room was lovely and cool and dark which was such a relief after our lengthy trip (total 15 hrs). Charley showed us around the room and explained various aspects of the hotel services. Asked if we required any specific bottles of alcohol in addition to the Mini-Bar. We requested Gin, Absolute Vodka and Brandy which were delivered within the hour. Charley did pick up on the fact that we were extremely weiry following our journey and immediately ordered us food and refreshments from room service.

Room - large suite with large bathroom, 2 sinks, toilet, shower and jucuzzi bath, plenty of towels and toiletries. Large comfortable bed, 2 wardrobes, tv unit, sitting area with table & 2 chairs and a S shaped lounger with overhead lamp. Balcony with sofa & wicker swing, table and there was a small drying screen. The room was spotlessly clean, cleaned daily, bed linen was changed each day and a constant supply of fresh towels. Turndown service each night, used towels were replaced and an Oil Burner lit each night to keep the mosquitoes away and it also left the room smelling fresh. Mini-bar was fully stocked, crisps & peanuts and coffee maker, also an iron and ironing board. Air Con kept the room nice and cool.

Hotel Decor - at first I was a bit perplexed and overwhelmed by the various styles - Grecian, Roman, Moorish, Spanish, Victorian/Georgian, Art Deco and Contemporary but after a couple of days it seemed to work as your eye/brain became accustomed to your surroundings. The only area I found strange was Reception - burgundy coloured carpet with a small circle of marble in the centre and the wall behind Reception Desk was bright Red with rows of what looked like Golden Roman Sheilds and deep coloured drapes this was not easy on my eye.

Staff - every member of staff we met gave very good service some gave excellent service, we never came accross any rudeness from anyone. There are a few that we feel should be mentioned. Manuel, our favourite waiter in Bellavista at breakfast and La Brisas for Lunch was exceptional with his service, always smiling and pleasant even though he worked long hours and had a very long journey each way to and from work. Fredy the maitre d' in Bellavista and La Brisas, was always welcoming and cheerful, served us a few times and ensured the wine kept flowing when together with our new friends from Chile would have wine tasting sessions at Lunch and Dinner, such a laugh especially with our very poor Spanish, well done Fredy. Reyes and Umberto the beach waiters who both worked tirelessly each day in such heat providing everyone with their drinks and making sure everyone had plenty of water to drink.

Restaurants
Bellavista - Buffet for Breakfast and Dinner, Barbeque on Terrace at Lunchtime
The range of food was amazing for both Breakfast and Dinner. Chefs preparing hot food not large trays of food keeping warm under lamps. At breakfast there was Activia Yoghurts and Drinks to keep your GI Tract healthy. There was also a Menu for you to choose your breakfast from. All types of Meats, Seafood, Shellfish, Pastas freshly made and an array of starters and desserts, lovely fresh fruit and cheeses. At Dinner you could actually select food that put the a la Cartes that we visited in the shade e.g. Smoked Duck slices accompanied with fresh Raspberries, Quails Eggs, Tempura Calimari & Prawns, Fillet Mingon etc, etc., There is also a wide range of wines for all inclusive guests some were very good. We did note however that at the weekends the staffing levels were lower than weekdays and the staff were under pressure.
La Brisas
Buffet and Menu for Lunch. We ate lunch here everyday, for me the lobster and prawns everyday for lunch, yes everyday, my husband really liked the steaks of the menu, bottles of wine, coffee and liquers and an amazing view, lunch could last anything up to 2 hours, enjoying the surroundings and chatting to other guests, what a way to spend your lunchtime.
L'Atelier/Gourmet
Ate here once, lovely meal and very good service but nothing exceptional, also we found the decor slightly overwhelming.
To be honest the Buffet food for dinner was as good and at some mealtimes even better.
Toni's Surf and Turf
We did not enjoy the meal here. Sent Scallops back, Crab Terrine I found was unpallatable and the Steaks were just OK.
As we have tried other Japanese and Italian Restaurants before in Mexico we decided not to book any further a la cartes and ate at the Buffet each evening.

Room Service
Used this service 3 times, on arrival, 1 breakfast and 1 lunch. All arrived timeously 20-30 minutes food was fresh and tasty and well presented. The breakfast was excellent.

Pools
The main pool is large with swim-up bar, water based activities took place here. We never used this pool so cannot give opinion.
Tranquility Pool - we used this at night at approx 6 pm following our day on the beach. The pool was lovely for a swim followed by Hot Tub before returning to our room. One tip - at this time of night the mosquitoes are starting to come out, was bitten twice.
Indoor Pool at Spa - used this once for a swim, but preferred the Tranquility Pool although it must be said the Spa Area was lovely.

Beach
We like to sit at the beach, the beach was lovely, lots of sunloungers and cabanas and a neverending supply of beach towels. Drinks service on the beach by Reyes and Umberto was excellent and you could even order snacks. Chef Olivia came round some days about 12 noon with Ice-creams and there was staff members with magazines and sun lotion for guests who wished. There was sellers on the beach but all you had to do was decline politely, no hard sell.
The sea has a very strong undercurrent in places so you had to be careful.

Watersports
The Red Flag was displayed most days, but we managed to take out a Hobie 6 times, there was Windsurfing but unfortunately there was no Instructor for lessons. The only problem we encountered here was that people in the water strayed into the boating lane which proved hazardous when returning the Hobie to shore.

Golf
Included in our stay was 2 rounds of Golf per person per week. My husband is the golfer so he brought with him shoes, balls and tees but not his golf clubs. He had to cancel 1st round due to rain but rebooked for 3 days later. Early tee-off time 07.30 hrs when he arrived at the Club House the staff had teamed him up with another solo golfer which was good. Hired clubs 800 pesos, Golf Cart and Refreshments were included. He tells me it was an excellent course and enjoyed his game. On return to clubhouse cool towels and refreshments were provided and staff were interested to know their opinions and satisfaction of the service that was provided for them. He did not play another game as the days that followed were very hot. Next time when we return golf clubs are coming too.

Activities/Star Friends
Lots of activities held daily for those wishing to participate, also cooking demonstrations by Olivia and wine tasting. The only activity taken was the cycle tour of the Iberostar Resorts.

Shows
We did not attend any shows as we preferred to sit in the Lobby Bar.

Lobby Bar
We tended to eat after 8.30 pm so this was a good place to sit and have a drink and meet other guests before retiring to bed. Waitress service was very good, premium alcohol and coffees served.

Cleanliness and Grounds
The staff maintained a high level of cleanliness throughout the hotel, the grounds were lovely and the gardeners were always working in the grounds. There were guys painting the exterior of Bellavista Restaurant, Health and Safety in this country would have had a field day with their methods, it was interesting to watch them work!

We had an wonderful holiday, met some very nice people from various countries, we were looked after so well by all the staff, no bouts of illness, or any major complaint about the hotel, feeling refreshed and relaxed and cannot wait to return to the Grand. A very big Thank You to all the Staff at the Grand, you are this hotel's biggest asset.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are good, but for us overlooking the Tranquility Pool would be our choice again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We really appreciate the time that you invested in writing down your comments and your evaluation of our property. Your feedback is of most importance to us, as it helps us to improve our services.

Nevertheless, we do hope that you took treasured moments from your vacation at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso back home with you.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Paraiso!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,742
    371
    119
    42
    20
See reviews for
343
2,412
60
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon 2 weeks ago from the Iberostar. We stayed 7 days 6 nights in an Oceanfront junior suite. I have to say that the resort itself is absolutely beautiful and the star friends are the most hard working, friendliest people you could meet. We saw them at work at 10 am and then you would still see them at the evening shows or events at 10 pm with smiles still on their faces. Unfortunately we had some mixed reviews compared to others on here. Some of the good and bad....

Good:

Hotel and property are absolutely beautiful! Star friends as mentioned earlier are very friendly and hard working. Breakfest buffet was excellent. Turn down service was great, room was always very clean. Main pool was not too rowdy but had pool games at certain times,etc. that made it fun. Average age of resort seemed to be late 20's to 50's which was in our age range.

Bad:

Our butler was really non existent. We were on our honeymoon and that was not addressed and we did not get any of the "perks" we were supposed to get. We asked a random butler one night since we could not get ahold of ours for specific drinks in the room and requested a bottle of liquor and juice. He stated it would be about an hour. 2 hours later there was nothing and nothing to our request appeared in the room after that either. We were told that we could check out at oceanfront building if all charges made to room were paid for (which we did at front desk day before) but were told day of checking out we had to check out at front desk. The night before we checked out we got a call asking when our checkout was for baggage pickup for the shuttle. We told whoever called (concierge?butler?) to pick bags up at 9 am. At 9:10 nobody had arrived (our shuttle left at 9:25) and we had to call down and have somebody come up and meet us in lobby of oceanfront building to picck them up. This was probably one of the most discouraging things since we were paranoid about missing the shuttle as we were told if we missed it "that was it". The food was OK but not "spectacular" and I am not a "foodie or food snob".

All in all this is a very good resort and I would return again but think we paid too much for service we thought would be worth the extra money. We are not picky people but being on our honeymoon and spending the money we did on this vacation we expected more than we got. And as far as tipping, we did tip so that should not have been an issue with lack of service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the Iberostar Grand Paraiso that you quite enjoyed however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of butler service, we appreciated the time that you dedicated to write constructive comments, we are commited to listen to our guests and be constantly trying to improve our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the very near future and all remain at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just returned from 10 days at the IB Grand Paraiso. We had previously been on 8 Iberostar vacations including the Lindo and Maya, but had never stayed at any of the Grand hotels. This was by far the best experience we have had. We tried to get upgraded to an ocean-front room since it was our anniversary and because it was our 9th time to an Iberostar, but they wouldn't do it. They did put us in Building 72 overlooking the tranquility pool, which turned out to be a very convenient location.

ROOM: Very spacious with a comfortable King bed. Plenty of storage space and hangars in the two closets. Large bathroom with two separate sinks and the shower had decent water pressure. The balcony had a nice view of the tranquility pool area. The TV was older, and many of the channels didn't come in, but we really only had it on while getting ready in the morning or just before bed.

POOL: Large, warm, clean, and refreshing. Although the ocean was very rough on some days and we couldn't go in, the pool never felt crowded. The pool bar always offered quick service. We never sat by the pool, but there were always seats available.

BEACH: The beach was very nice and sandy. It's not too large, and as many others have stated, the rocks preclude you from going in the ocean in front of the Grand buildings. But you just have to go a little way to the left toward the Maya and it's fine. You can't walk very far in either direction...it only takes 8-10 minutes to get to either end. We never had any problem getting seats in the front row under a palapa. And the service for drinks, cold bottles of water, and ice cream bars every day was truly appreciated!

FOOD: The food was very good. Was any one meal the best I've ever had...no. But you have to realize where you are. The surf & turf restaurant is NOT Davio's. The Italian restaurant is NOT Boston's North End. But we never had anything we didn't like and were always very satisfied. The breakfast buffet had a large selection, and Olivia makes the best omelets. The lunch buffet had some same items every day, but also had new items every day. The dinner buffet and a-la-carte restaurants all had very good food that was hot and prepared well. The view from Toni's and the Japanese restaurants are great in the evening. We did not try the gourmet. We had made several reservations before arrival and had no problem making the rest of the reservations once we arrived. I still don't understand why you need to make reservations while at the Grand, but that's their system so you just have to deal with it.

STAFF: This is where the IB Grand really outshines any other resort we have been to. Everyone from the bellhop, front desk, concierge, waiters, bartenders, cleaning staff, and especially the Star Friends were all so friendly and helpful. It amazes me how they can remember everyone's names when the guests are constantly changing. Everyone always wanted to make sure we were having a good time and that we didn't need anything. I'd especially like to thank Star Friends Veronica, Augustin, Danny Boy, and Eduardo for all their hard work making sure all the guests had a great time. Every time we saw them they called out to us by name. They always asked if we wanted to join in the activities, but didn't haunt us if we said no. They are as big a part of the whole vacation experience as the resort itself. The bartenders are also great. Especially Perfecto in the Lobby Bar and Jose and Arti in the "Snake Bar" at the Maya. Jose remembered us from our previous two trips and called out to us immediately on the first night. Perfecto knew what we wanted to drink by the second night. The drinks are all top shelf and refilled before you even have a chance to ask.

In closing, there is absolutely NOTHING to complain about with this resort. There was not one thing out of place, nothing to be aggravated about, and nothing more you could ask for. Anyone who does complain must just be their in nature to be miserable.

Now that we've gone Grand, there's no going back. Just book your trip and enjoy your time in paradise. We're already planning to go back in a few months, or maybe to the Grand in Punta Cana...just to compare!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate to us your comments about your stay at our hotel, also we appreciate your kind words and suggestions, we are going to share them with our managers.
We are especially glad to read that you enjoyed the friendly, warm and attentive service we provide to all of our guests. We recognized our staff plays a valuable role in our guest experiences and comments like yours serve to motivate us even more.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso in future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermantown, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

truly. My wife and I went memorial weekend. It was wonderful. Booked through a travel agent, www.travelbyNoreen.com and Apple vacations. Noreen gave us some great information about the place prior to the trip. My wife and I had been in the Riviera Maya area only once before. We were looking for a place without kids. (We have 4. the oldest is 5. all boys. we love them...but needed a break)

When you stay at the Grand- you truly are treated well. We loved the entire staff. Always friendly. Always asking if there's anything you need. They enjoyed their work and each other.

The food was amazing. even the lunch buffet was spectacular. Not sure where to start with that. We ate at the 4 restaurants (Italian, gourmet, surf and turf, japanese) and had a great meal each time.

ONE piece of advice- if you go during a busy time- reserve the restaurants early. We were only able to get 2 of the 4 nights initially when we got there and the times available were limited (not that we care about the time- we had nothing planned). We were able to walk in to the Italian restaurant one night though you could tell that wasn't recommended, and we were able to find an open slot at the gourmet by checking in with the concierge daily.

We did golf one day. The course was great, but we only gold maybe 1 or 2 times a year so not much for us to compare to. Again, we were relaxed and just enjoyed ourselves.

The 'Star friends' were a blast. Eduardo, Daniel, others (sorry don't remember all of the names) and we did do one activity a day- volleyball, kayak race, etc.- they always had activities going on if you got tired of swimming up to the bar and drinking coronas or coco locos or whatever.

The alcohol was topnotch. whatever you wanted. Each one tasted as good as the one before.

I am a swimmer and enjoyed some lap swimming in each of the 3 pools. they are all large and 2 of them are pretty quiet just about all the time. I took one of the spinning classes and it was great as well (even though I got my butt kicked)

We did go to one of the shows- 'boogie nights'. we were impressed with the talent. All live. full band (13?) with horns. 4 singers, many dancers, costumes- all good. They come around after to talk with you, mingle, ask how everything was and what they can do better.

Our 1 complaint. Room service/butlers while being very friendly, were not fast. It was much better to walk somewhere to get something rather than call which we didn't mind too much. The breakfasts were always on time (card on the door before 3 am with time marked) and the cafe/espresso con leche was wonderful in the room every morning, but we stopped calling for things later in the day. We probably could have done a better job of stocking the in room bar/fridge but we just weren't in the room that much.

If we go back to Riviera Maya without kids again. We will stay here.

Room Tip: we hear it's worth it to spend more for the ocean front- we stayed in the oceanview and enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your informative review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us.

At the Iberostar Grand Paraisol we take pride in offering our guests luxurious accommodations and the very best in food and beverages. Your review is motivating as it reflects that we continuously exceed our guest’s high expectations, we also appreciate your comment about room service and butlers, this helps us to improve our services.

We hope that you will return again soon so we can extend our usual warm welcome.

Kindest Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was our second visit to this resort and although i thought the first time was great this time was truly fabulous.
We stayed for fourteen night's and day's and thouroughly enjoyed every minute.
We arrived on the 8th of may and celebrated my husband's birthday and our wedding anniversary while we were their .
Before i arrived i requested a room by email overlooking the tranquility pool and booked my first four al a carte reservation's which i received without delay first class customer service.
When we got to the Grand we were met with a cold drink and cold faceclothes which was very welcome after a fifteen hour journey from start to finish.
Within ten minutes we were in our room which was exactly like i remembered it lovely comfy bed plenty of storage space nice bathroom with his and her sink's and a lovely big balcony which we used often.
Butler visited and asked if we had any room request's we asked for grey goose vodka and we received it in our room, anytime we needed something we only had to ask we found the butler very helpfull.We did have a problem one night with mosquito's we asked for the room to be sprayed and every night after that we got a call asking if the little blighter,s had reappeared,which they did once more and they sprayed again .
We loved both the open air pools but didn't use the indoor pool ,We also loved the beach and tried to get in the water most day's some days we couldn't as there were red flags we also never had a problem getting a sun lounger at the pool or the beach.
Al a carte's every one we visited we enjoyed my favorite was the Italian then Japanese then toni's we also really enjoyed the buffets.
Breakfast was very good and the lunch buffet was excellent we ate of the menu on numerous occasions which we really enjoyed .
Not going to say to much about the food itself as everybody has different taste's but i only had one niggle at toni's one night the food was only warm we did say something and it was sorted and we never got another cold meal.We felt that they listened and thats why we think the customer care was so good.
Twice we returned to our room to find rose petal's champagne, chocolate sculptures towel art and a full bath with bubbles.
We had loads of fun with the star friends we thought the whole team was superb everone of them was great to be around we tried the latin dancing and bingo and a couple of the pool games .
There was lots of TA members visiting the same time as us and we had some really good night's singing at the karaoke visiting the disco and watching the shows also numerous cosmopolitions at the lobby bar thank's Perfecto .
Anyway would we return of course we would the sooner the better i just love this resort and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We liked being near the traquility pool as we were central to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We appreciate that you allowed us the honor of serving you again. Your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services over a two years period. The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from you is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. Your recommendation of our property is also encouraging our Management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

We hope that you will continue to give us the pleasure of hosting you when next you are planning your vacation as we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

First time to the Grand and won't be our last. After experiencing a resort injury in 2011 in Mexico I wasn't sure if I would ever go back. Staying at the Grand has made this decision easy now. We stayed at the Grand for 2 glorious weeks April 21-May 12th with not one drop of rain. This resort should be very proud of their staff as there was not one staff member who didn't go above and beyond to make our vacation memorable. The first week we stayed in the Villa's which were beautiful and our butlers were great. Second week we moved to an ocean front room which was stunning and watched the sun rise over the ocean every morning. Any requests we had the butler was there to accomodate our wishes. The beach was beautiful and very clean. The buffet changed every night and was always full of great selections. There is only Wifi in the lobby areas so if you have a wireless router, take it with you. It was nice to have Wifi then in the room. This is more than a 5 star resort to me. It was absolutely spotless everywhere and the pools were so warm and beautiful. There was absolutely not one negative thing about the Grand and I can't wait to go back. We celebrated our wedding aniversary during our stay and the resort made it extra special for us. Thank you to all the staff from the butlers, to bell boys, to housekeeping, to waiters/waitresses to entertainment to management. (too many to all mention by name) at the Grand for making our holiday an unforgettable experience and to Shirley, the hotel manager.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villas for one week which were beautiful. They are secluded so no view of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your very first visit with our resort. We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at the Iberostar Grand in October 2011. I'm a little late getting around to this review. We originally booked the standard suite & had an extremely tiny view of the ocean, so we decided to upgrade to an oceanfront suite for our last three nights (all that was available) and it was was definitely worth the extra money. We weren't one of the lucky ones who were offered a free upgrade. This may have been because one of the oceanfront buildings was completely closed (not sure why) and a few of the rooms in the building that was open were undergoing repairs from a bad storm that had came through right before we arrived. The view from our Oceanfront Suite was awesome! The building is literally right on the beach.

I thought the food and service was great. The Monterrey arrachera at Toni's was the best dish of the trip. We loved the service on the beach, the waiter brought us a bucket of Dos XX & a cup of limes. This was a really fun resort & we enjoyed watching & participating in the activities around the pool each day. We enjoyed the guacamole class by Chef Olivia as well. The coatis outside the breakfast buffet restaurant can also be entertaining to watch.

We loved the pool at the spa too, we were usually the only ones in there at the times we went. The beach was rocky on the left side but it was neat walking out on the rocks and made for some great pictures. There is also a lot of sea life in the water between the rocks, which I thought was pretty cool.

I would definitely recommend this resort & if your budget allows pay the extra for the Oceanfront Suite. The resort is very clean & the complex is huge. Don't worry though the guys in the lobby are happy to take you by golf cart anywhere you need to go in the complex.

Be sure to go to the taco place at the shopping center & if you like spicy food, try the habanero salsa.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit with our resort. Your kind words about the food, the conformability of the rooms and the staff and the entire welcoming and friendly atmosphere means a lot to us.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the very near future and all remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;