We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Revisited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Paradise Revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 4th visit to the Grand Paraiso - that in itself says something (and we will return next year for a 5th time).
Resort - The main building decor is like a 5 star hotel - light fixtures, marble, plants, bathrooms (1st visit, I took pics of them all - amazing), etc. The rooms are large with lots of space to put clothing. Bathrooms have a separate shower and tub (for 2), and two sinks.
Beach - We love walking the beach - you can walk for miles to the right (every year we go farther...). For medical reasons, I am cannot be in the sun (but I love the warmth of it), so find one of the many shaded spots and spend the entire day....relaxing.
Pools - 3 to suit your taste or desire for the day - one is indoors at the spa with various sprays, second is the quiet pool with no noise, third is huge and where the activities are held. There a lots of seating areas at each.
Food - The first night we had to have the Mexican buffet as nothing else was available; we are not fond lovers of buffets (ever), but I know some people really like them - so it is personal preference. We ate other nights at the Surf and Turf (Toni's) - our favourite, Gourmet, Italian, and Japanese (chef was disappointing - no showmanship at the Tapanyaki,and duck was overcooked). Breakfast was always good - a huge assortment. For those that complained it was always the same - they must not have changed up what they ate because there is no way if you chose that you would have to eat the same everyday. For lunch we always ate in the Brisa Restaurant...so good. We really liked the Kobe beef burgers and the fajitas (me chicken, my husband shrimp). They had special bbq's a couple days - lobster and shrimp. There was some confusion over the Angus Beef fillet and the Tournades - different waiters and cooks mixed these up....
Drinks - We tend to drink wine, but did have a few other drinks - they do have top shelf liquor. We enjoyed martinis before supper (I had chocolate, my husband had a Tankeray (sp?) dry). After dinner, Bailey's on the rocks was very smooth....
Wine - We were very pleased with the wines included. We had the Benjamin Malbec for lunch each day and usually (when it was in stock), the Anta Banderas A4 for dinner.
Best for last - THE STAFF! - Everyone on this resort should be commended on their excellent customer service. Everytime you pass someone, they greet you. I truly appreciated Shirley welcoming us on our return and Eugina (???) from Public Relations asking for feedback on our checkout. Every waiter in the food areas was friendly and accommodating. The butler was always available if needed (didn't mention the pillow menu - loved the down-filled pillows). Young women serving in the lounge area - remembered our "usuals". Bartenders on the beach - always friendly and available. Star friends - looking to get vacationers involved, but didn't pressure participation.
All in all this is an absolutely fantastic adults only resort. You can be as active as you want or as laid back and relaxed as you want.....We will be back....

Room Tip: If you like quiet ask for 2nd floor quiet pool side. If you like ocean front - do it....we love this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for choosing to return to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso again and sharing your review. Your repeat visits to our resort means a lot to us as it reflects our continued dedication in meeting your expectations.

We put great emphasis on providing first-class accommodation, with genuine warm service and ensuring that you are treated to the finest food and beverages. Your specific mention to our facilities, restaurants, quality of food, and service given Staff will go a far way in encouraging our team.

You can be assured that we look forward to welcoming you “back home” where your Mexican family awaits you.

Warmest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,931
    406
    124
    44
    21
See reviews for
368
2,577
67
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

There is nothing negative to say about this hotel! The staff is very friendly and the service is amazing. They do a lot of activities during the day to entertain and at night you can enjoy great shows! The food is good, so are the restaurants a la carte. The beach is beautiful and clean, there is a little bit of rocks but if you go just a little bit further there's no rocks and you can swim. They are three pools on the resort: an indoor pool, a tranquility pool were you can relax in silence, and the main pool were are hold various activities. The rooms are very clean, the house keepers come twice a day. The beds are very comfortable. You can go to the other iberostar just beside the grand hotel resort. There is also a shopping center with different stores. Over all, my experience at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso was amazing, one of the best trip in my life!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Incredible stay. There not highly ranked for nothing. Everything is at your disposal. The staff is ALWAYS there for you and the Star Friends are entertaining and not annoying. You can participate at anything you like but leave you alone if you politly decline their invitation.

Beach; Great for long walks, but there's alot of rocks directly in front of the Grand Hotel Chairs. You have to go a little bit on the left hand side, almost where the other Iberstars are (1 min. walk) to swim. There's always some chairs available at the Grand and we have alot of space between each other compare to the other Iberostar.

Food; there is everything in the buffet and there open late for lunch (12pm to 5pm) so you can enjoyu a snack around 4 pm before hitting the beach again. However, the restaurants a la carte are icky. A) we only got reservation at 9pm because it was always full before but when we got there at 7:30 pm they let us in anyway and the place was empty. It happen several times. B) The Italian Restaurant has no flavour to it. We travelled 5 of us and none of us had a good meal. Although the presentation is nice, you would have a better dinner at the Italian Buffet on Friday (I think)

Rooms; Amazing space, wonderful view, very comfy beds, you even have access to a pillow menu if you find your pillow to hard. Room service comes twice a day, and the balcony has a small swing and a couch which allows you to relax!

Shows; I recommand the Magician Show and the Boogie Night show

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for choosing our property and for your compliments!

I am happy to see that there are elements of the Iberostar Grand Paraiso that you quite enjoyed, however I am very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service concerning the restaurant and especially the italian restaurant. We have already shared it with our chef and restaurant manager in order to improve and enhance quality. Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal,

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the very near future and all remain at your disposal.

With our very best regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week in paradise at the Iberostar Grand (March 9-16, 2012) and saw first-hand why this resort was voted best all-incluse worldwide resort. Contrary to some reviews, we enjoyed the quietness of this resort. My husband and I both lead very busy, chaotic lives so it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
Rooms: We had an oceanview room in building 72. The room was very quiet, especially with the double doors separating the hallway from the sleeping area. The room was clean and had maid service twice a day. The balcony was spacious and included a two-person swing and a love seat along with an end table, coffee table and drying rack. The bathroom was huge and came equiped with bathrobes, slippers, and all the usual amenities including bug repellent, which you will need in the evenings, even indoors. We especially enjoyed the diffuser in the room which was lighted every evening and contained citrus drops which made the whole room smell wonderful. Those same diffusers could be found everywhere on the resort. We were able to purchase one along with the same drops at the spa. Bottles of water, preminum alcohol, pop, wine, beer, chips, and peanuts were left in the room every day. There was also tea and coffee.
Pool area: We were suprised by how quiet the guests were around the pool area. There was a variety of continuous music (classical, pop, country, rock, classics...) playing by the main pool and we could actually hear the music. By the quiet pool, everyone was snoring away. That was where all the iguanas and lizards hung out because it was so quiet. The salt water pool was also very quiet seeing as most people prefered to be outside in the sun rather than in the shade in this particular building. However, even for Canadians, the pools were on the chilly side. The water was warmer in the ocean. Twice a day, Olivia, one of the cooks, would go around the pool distributing ice cream bars and sandwiches to the guests. What a nice treat.
Entertainment: We have been to several resorts and my husband and I agree that the shows at the Iberostar Grand were of superior quality compared to other resorts. There was a wide variety and the staff did an excellent job of entertaining the guests. Unlike other resorts, the theatre was not open-aired but rather in a separate building away from the sleeping area which resembled an actual upper-class cabaret-style nightclub.
Food: Food lovers beware...the food at this resort was abundant, varied, and of high quality. Where else can you eat caviar, grilled lobster or shrimp at every lunch? The buffet restaurant was very good for all three meals. We had surf and turf at Toni's one night and we must say that that was our least favourite meal. It was a bit overcooked. We then enjoyed a meal at the French restaurant - L'Atelier. We were impressed by the presentation of this meal. White-gloved waiters and all. We also had the pleasure of eating at the Italian restaurant not once, but twice. My husband and I both agreed that this was our favourite. We had the ravioli, lamb, seafood lasagna, calamari, and veal which were all fantastic. My all-time favourite was the traditional Italian dessert Zabaione. It was to die for. Also, whenever we wanted a recipe for one of the buffet dishes, the chefs gladly shared their recipes or food preparation tips for creating their wonderful dishes.
Beach: The Carribean Ocean is always beautiful and warm but you cannot swim in it in this area. The waves are very strong and it would be unsafe to try and venture out into the ocean. Also, there were a lot of seaweed in some areas. If you wish to walk on the beach, go left once you hit the sand because the beach is much nicer on that side than the right and you can walk further.
Staff: The staff at this resort is extremely helpful, friendly, polite, courteous and will literally go out of its way to please the guests. We oftened witnessed them giving special attention to the elderly couples on the resort. What a nice gesture and very much appreciated by the elderly. The one thing that impressed me the most is how they made an effort to remember our names and called us by our names whenever they would meet us. Now that is impressive!
Another thing I enjoyed while there was the fact that the internet was free unlike some resorts we had visited so it was easy to keep in touch with family back home. The three public computers were never really busy either. However, seeing as this resort caters to many different nationalities, two of the three computers' keyboards were not English which sometimes made it a challenge to type messages.
After speaking with some of the guests on the resort, we quickly found out that unlike my husband and I who were staying at the Iberostar Grand for the first time, many were repeat guests of this wonderful resort. We spoke with one woman who had been there sixteen times. Now that speaks volumes about this resort. My husband and I are already planning on going back to the Grand in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level (2nd floor) would most likely be quieter. Also, rooms in the oceanview are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your delightful review. We are proud of our team of hardworking and friendly staff, who continue to help us reach our goal of being one the best resort in the Caribbean. Your review shows that we are on the right path to achieve this goal. Your kind words about the food, the conformability of the rooms, entertainment, and the staff and the entire welcoming and friendly atmosphere means a lot to us.

We remind you that we are here to serve you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We traveled as a couple but took along our two twenty something sons as it
was their reading week break from University. A last stab at a family
vacation. We were there from the 18th to the 25th of February 2012.

We have over the years been on many family vacations and have always
preferred all inclusive resorts in order to keep two hungry and thirsty
sons engaged and happy. We choose the Grand because of the fabulous
reviews and the fact it had been named the world's best all inclusive
resort. This certainly raised our expectations and we were not
disappointed.

We had two ocean view rooms overlooking the tranquility pool. They were
very spacious, had fabulous bathrooms, great balconies and were very
quiet. A great start.

I have again read all of the negative reviews posted about this resort. I
feel they had to have stayed elsewhere or were overly picky given the
cost or some other unfortunate incident. We had great food whether at
the buffet, beach restaurant or one of the four reservation restaurants.
The food was excellent, varied and impeccably served. The staff was
very friendly and attentive. We would recommend having lunch at the
beach restaurant La Brisas and ordering off the menu although there was
an excellent buffet as well. The main restaurant served the breakfast
and the choice was outstanding. The supper buffet was equally good and
varied and Mexican night was fantastic. As for the gourmet restaurants
we would rank them as #1 Italian, # 2 Surf & Turf, # 3 Japanese and
finally the gourmet or French. The portions are small except at the Surf
and Turf where they are American in size and probably too large for the
calorie conscious but were none the less delicious. Reservations have
to be made early for the restaurants with the concierges and should be
done asap after arrival. You can book all of your nights this way if you
wish. The more difficult part is getting the sitting you want which run
from 6:30 to 8:30pm.

The beach directly in front of the pool is very wide and sandy but is
strewn with rocks. That is not a problem as to the left, towards the
other resorts in the group the beach is fine. I would recommend the
beach to the left of the resort looking towards the water as seen in the
photos. The restaurant and washrooms are then close by and the swimming
is good. There are plenty of palapas or open beach as you prefer.

No trip is without some irritations but the list below should be seen as
more a list of recommendations to the resort and not complaints:

1. Tipping: This has always been discouraged at other all inconclusive
resorts we have attended so its prevalence here was a bit of a surprise.
We tipped where warranted but not as a matter of course. Small bills
then should be taken for this purpose or the hotel should ban tipping.
There was no downside to our service when we did not tip and all tips
when made were acknowledged and graciously accepted;

2. Shade: I am no longer interested in baking all day in the sun. I like
to have shade throughout the afternoon. If that's what you want you
will have to get up early to claim your spot especially around the pool
area. By early I mean before 7am and preferably earlier. The beach
palapas are available until about 9 or 10 at the latest. Unfortunately
the competition for shade around the pool leads to some guests cheating
by leaving articles of clothing on seats overnight. The resort does not
clean the chairs off every evening as they do elsewhere to prevent this
practice.

3. Room Keys: They have a tendency to stop working and have to then be
renewed at the lobby.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want and what you are prepared to pay. The top end is the beachfront buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth,TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at the Grand in June 2010. We are heading back in May 2012, and we can hardly wait!!! We are taking our 21/24 yr old daughters this time, and show them what OPULENCE is all about!

We had an oceanfront room last time, and hope for the same again! Victor our butler was THE BEST! He made sure our every wish, dream and desire were met! I have no idea how anyone could complain with service like that!

Food was great every night. Some meals better than the other, but that's true many times. The breakfast and lunch buffet were plentiful and a great place to cool off and people watch!

Drink service by either pool was GREAT!!! Cannot wait to get there and drink my share of Mojitos!!! Yum! Rather wish the resort would enforce chair saving a little more... if you are gone for longer than 45 minutes... GIVE THE BED/CHAIR up!!!

Entertainment was great! We were pleased with all that was available, if you should choose to participate! The energetic crew deserve applause. The shows at night were a great time, something to do, and pretty good overall!!! LOVE it! Hope we might see some of the same crew again!

Golf... hubby absolutely loved the course! Can't wait to try it again, and "take our girls" we'll see how that goes...

The shopping area was a nice place to visit... something different to do. Hoping that our girls like the dance/disco area this time! Hoping to check out some of the other resorts on property, but last time I went to one, and after an hour of strollers, families, screams... i called for a ride back to the Grand...! but looking forward to finding a lazy river to float in at least once!!!

We call this place Heaven on Earth ...or Mexico, anyway! We're so excited to get back down there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Regardless of the fact that the resort is nice and has a great location on the beach. Thier customer service is terrible. My wife had her wedding ring stolen from her purse in our room and the hotel manager didn't do much about it but say we are a 5 star hotel and very embarassed... If you do go here be very particular about leaving all valuables in the safe at all times.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Chirag,

First of all, I would like to send you my warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Thus, we are very concerned to learn of your disappointing experience during your stay and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We deeply regret this incident. When we knew about this issue we felt that all the effort we did were useless, because we perfectly knew that news like this causes a very bad image. This situation happened one day before your departure. Actually your check out was very early next morning at 5:20am. The night before, we explained to you, we needed time to proceed with a full investigation.

Furthermore, we are working with our insurance. We know you are in contact with our Public Relations Manager. As she told you by email today, we will inform you as soon we get an answer.

Finally, I once again offer my most sincere apologies for this highly exceptional situation which occurred during your stay with us and can assure all our guests that we are committed to provide a safe and dazzling stay to all our guests.

I remain at your complete disposition for any further enquiry or assistance.

Sincerely,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.