We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best All Inclusive, Adults Only, Resort on the Riviera Maya, Mexico.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Playa Paraiso
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best All Inclusive, Adults Only, Resort on the Riviera Maya, Mexico.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have been going here since 2007.
The great food,staff and hotel make it a perfect couple or group place to go.
We go every Labor Day with friends to golf and relax.
The golf course, located on the grounds, is included in the price and I must say , is one of our favorites in the entire Caribbean.
A special thank you to everyone, including the golf staff , for making this trip as memorable as the last!
Hope to see you soon.
The Hastings

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,673
    360
    115
    41
    19
See reviews for
329
2353
58
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso for the second half of my honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful, the property is very large, and if you stay at the Grand you can go to any of the other Iberostar hotels on the property. The Grand is the only one that is adults-only, and is considered the best of the hotels.
We really enjoyed the French restaurant, as well as the Surf n Turf, but make sure to make your dinner reservations in advance as these restaurants book quickly! We made all of our reservations the day we arrived, and still were not always able to get the exact times that we wanted at these two restaurants. We ate freshly grilled meats, tacos, chips, and guacamole/salsa at the pool buffet around lunch time most days. The only food we weren't in love with was the Japanese steakhouse (it was ok, but not as good as the ones back home) and the food we ordered at the buffet places at lunch time was not great--buffets themselves were excellent, though.
The butler service was fantastic; they brought us whatever top-shelf alcohol or snacks we wanted in our room whenever we called them. There were also a few times that we came back to our room after dinner or an evening in Playa del Carmen to find unexpected treats, such as a tres leches cake, a selection of chocolate-covered strawberries with a white chocolate molded flower, and a bottle of champagne.
The pool bar is really cool because you can either swim or walk up to it, and the Mayan bar (located at the next hotel over, a short walk from our room at the Grand) was gorgeous and bartenders were a lot of fun. The martini bar at the front of the Grand is classy and has amazing drinks.
The only things I didn't really like were that the TV in our room was older and did not have movie channels, the whirlpool tub in our room was only big enough for one person, and you need to reserve a cabana/bed or your lounge chairs pretty early in the morning if you want to be in the shade. These are very minor complaints, considering this is a hotel where you can eat perfect filet mignon and lobster tails with premium alcohol all day. Overall, a fantastic trip and we will return to Iberostar properties in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this resort..it was absolutely perfect. From the butler Victor to all the restaurants and golf and swimming..there was nothing more we could have desired. It was the most perfect place we have ever been to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was our fifth time at the Grand. I didnt think they could spoil us any better than the other times we were there, they did! Fantastic food! Mexico buffet night, Italian buffet night, Gormet and Italian resturants were our favs. Service was great. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We just returned from a 6 night vacation at the Grand Paraiso Hotel and it was extraordinary across all amenity and service categories!! We have stayed at many all-inclusives throughout the Carribbean over the past several years, including the Iberostar complex in Riviera Miya (Paraiso Maya), and others' all-inclusive properties in Punta Cana, Jamaica and the Dominican Republic. This was by far the best when traveling without kids for food, spa, attention to details, and consistent attentiveness by all staff (even the butlers that weren't assigned to us) .

The Food: Exceptional in most restaurants (Surf and Turf), but especially the daily breakfast and lunch buffets and specialty dinner nights! DO NOT become victim to your usual menu: experiment tasting the culinary delights in the Bella Vista and the Brisas restaurants. The presentations of the foods would entice one to pull out the camera and lure the most skeptical tasters. The Chef, who never slept, was untiring in her attention to diners in all restaurants! Martin was an exceptional waiter!

The Accommodations: The bathrooms were exquisite, and bed/sitting room were well appointed with ceiling fans in the sitting area and on the balcony. Attention to the room throughout the day was frequent, consistent and invisible to us. Our butler Alberto responded to any request we made in a timely, responsive and friendly manner, but more importantly anticipated our desires and needs.

The Pool and Beach: The beach was spotless although the water was choppy and "red flagged" for no swim (heart of hurricane season). Shaded seating was abundant; Paraiso Maya beach was more lively; Grand Paraiso more tranquil. Star Friends Argentine and Jesus for pool and other activities were great, engaging us without being annoying. Pool bartender Daniel was very friendly and info about daily activities.

The Spas: Both in the Grand Paraiso Hotel and in the Plaza centrally located across from the Maya were phenomenal! The Plaza Spa is a must try!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso from 8/18 to 8/25/11. After booking, I had read a number of reviews on this site detailing unfriendly service and iffy food, so was fairly apprehensive. It turned out to be one of the best vacations of our dozen all inclusive stays, including the Iberostar Grand in Punta Cana. We chose to take a taxi for $30 directly to the hotel rather then wait in the long line for the included transfer company. It was about a 25 minute ride to the hotel. Saray at the front desk and Antonio, a bellhop, get a special shout out for going out of their way to make our stay extra fabulous.

The resort is beautiful with so much shining marble that the floors look liquid in the lights at night. Everything was Disney clean. Our room had extra features such as two sinks, one with a makeup mirror and a high powered hair dryer, 4 shelves for each sink and two separate closets, one with floor to ceiling shelving. The beds were extremely comfortable, but a tight squeeze since we chose a two bed room and the bed size was only doubles rather then queens. The balcony overlooked a jungle and we could see the ocean in the distance from our two person wicker swing. Keep in mind when charging devices that the rooms have motion sensors, so the power goes off shortly after you leave. We had no trouble with our room being cleaned timely or the turn down service. The staff had prepared a rose petal strewn foor, bubbly hot tub, champagne and artfuly arranged towel swans for a surprise for us after dinner on my birthday.

Not too sure of the purpose of the butlers other than the first day orientation. Our butler made dinner and golf reservations for us, but we never saw or heard from him again. He neglected to mention that on Tuesday, we had no dinner reservation and there was no buffett restaurant open on the property. Maybe because of it being their slow season, but it was quite a surprise to get dressed for dinner and not be able to find a place to eat. We stopped at the Gourmet restaurant to find out what to do, and they were quick to pleasantly seat us without a reservation. We did not go to the outdoor pool party on Wednesday because of the iffy weather and the insects. I get bit everywhere I go, so slathering on the bug spray and staying mostly indoors at night is nothing new for me.

The food was excellent overall. At lunch and breakfast, you can order from a menu or choose the buffett. The lamb osso bucco at the Surf and Turf restaurant was exquisite. The hibachi meats at the Japanese restaurant were a little rubbery, but the ability to meet and socialize with other couples and the rest of the meal made up for it. The breakfast buffet was the same every day, but there was so much variety that you could have something different daily if you wanted. The Italian restaurant's entrees weren't up to the same quality as the other restaurants, though. It was our only disappointing meal. It was the first out of six trips to Mexico where I did not get the least bit sick.

The salt water pool with the swim up bar was as warm as bathwater the first day. We had some rain every day after that, so the pool temperature dropped pretty quickly. There was an indoor pool for the one wash out day. There were some rafts available and the usual lounge saving with no one in sight most of the day. There is not a lot of shady seating around the pool. We went to the beach for a couple hours one day. The staff is constantly raking up seaweed from the rainstorms. There are beach vendors that stopped 4 times in the one hour I sat in the beach chair. They went away quickly when you said no though.

There was only one bar open in the evenings, in the lobby, but since you can drink in your room or at any of the restaurants, it wasn't a problem. The staff works very hard, 6 days a week. Everyone was super friendly and eager to work on their English.

The property's golf course was more challenging than a resort course should be. The fairways were narrow with steep slopes. There are too many blind shots and severe penalties for missing a green or a fairway. The many slopes on the greens also made for too many three putts. Constantly climbing up and down the steep hills was hard on my hip replacement. All food and drink on the golf course plus your cart was included with your two free rounds. We brought our own clubs and stored them at the course for no extra charge.

We would go back in heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

WOW! WOW! All I can say. I'll break it down:
Food: over the top, amazing. the breakfast buffet includes fresh to order cooked eggs, fresh fruit, smoothies, monte cristo, bagels, donuts etc. I had eggs with salsa verde and tortillas every morning because it was SO good. The lunch buffet is also overwhelming with a great variety of food. The restuarants...where do I begin??! WOW! The japanese was my fave, Tempuras, fresh to order sushi, miso soup and lobster/shrimp/fried rice/veggie saute was AMAZING, cooked right in front of you. I can't say enough of how great the food was.
Service/Entertainment: WOW! They were so attentive to anything and everything. I even found a secluded spot on the grounds to tan, and someone came to take my drink order. (top shelf anything and anything you could imagine!) the "star friends" really made my trip though. They are the entertainment team that hosts games, and activities. They know your name and made me laugh ALL DAY! Agusten was my favorite :) He was so fantastic at making you feel special and encourages you to ge involved. Casino night was great! Go to all the shows they offer, they serve you as you watch this huge production. Magic show and boogie nights were my fave!
It doesn't get much better than this, really. We made friends, laughed, drank and ate for 8 nights and I still didn't want to leave. We will return! On arrival, the champange and mandarin frozen concoction and ice cold towel to wipe off with was the selling point for me. Right away you are treated like a celeb. BEST PLACE. EVER.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carr. Chetumal-Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hours all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.