We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 45 Carretera municipio de solidaridad, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Port Neches, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It was wonderful. This was our 3ed year to go to this resort. Will be returning next year.
We did experience some not as good service with our room service. and with our maid. and butler. our service was better is the previous years.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Judy H,

Thank you for your continuous preference, i want you to know that your comments are taken in consideration for improvements in all the areas mentioned.

Hope your will return next year to witness our improvements.


Best Regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,081
    1,159
    406
    284
    173
See reviews for
232
4,079
49
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Before I went to this resort, I read many trip advisor reviews (good and bad) to get a good feel for what to expect. I was worried that the place would be crowded everywhere (it wasn't save the pool close to the restaurant La Isla) and the service would be slow, a point which I'll get to later.

Service:

When we arrived at the resort, our bags were tagged and sent to holding. When we checked in we requested an upgrade to the royal or a casita. The receptionist, after discussing it in spanish with another worker, informed us that there were no upgraded rooms left. A little while after, another group of four came in and was told that there were TWO casitas available. After check-in, our rooms weren't ready so the receptionist suggested to wait at JoJo's. The receptionist said it would take one to two hours for the room to be ready, in reality it took three. However, after that incident, the service here was excellent. There are many bars that you can go to, you can order drinks in the restaurants (albeit they make them weak), and although the Casitas facilities were "restricted", we were able to use the lounge chairs and swim-up bars (it's much quieter). The busiest place was the pool near La Isla; there's another pool near Las Fuentes which was practically empty.

Restaurants:

JoJo's: 3/5 - Service was great, the food was okay. Ordered the nachos, do not recommend.

Cocotal: 4/5 - Only went here for breakfast. It was buffet style with an omelet bar, perfect if you don't want to wait for your food.

La Isla: 3/5 - Only breakfast here too, the breakfast menu is the same for all restaurants, this place had a less extensive buffet than Cocotal.

La Cabaña Pizzeria: 2/5 - Food was awful. When we went they only had a limited menu that included flatbread pizzas. The margherita pizza was poorly made. The shrimp was good though.

Las Fuentes: ?/? CLOSED FOR REPAIR

D'Italia: 4/5 - Concierge recommended the Lobster Lasagna, I do too. The shrimp was good as well.

Kampai: 5/5 - This was the best place we ate at. The gyozas (only available for lunch) were delicious and their fried rices was amazing. I wouldn't recommend the sushi rolls they have for dinner though; the way they prepared the rice gave it a paste-like consistency and it didn't taste like sushi rice.

Sante Fe: ?/? Needed a reservation THREE TO FOUR DAYS in advance.

Rincón Mexicano: 4/5 - The appetizers we ordered (the Duck Carnitas and Chicken Tostada) were good, but the portion was small. The Mexican Brisket was good portions, the shrimp was not. Five shrimps per dish, so order more at the beginning to cut down on wait time, if so inclined.

A tip that the concierge gave us for all restaurants is to go right when they open (at 6PM) or when they slow down (at 8:30PM). Even though were adhered to this suggestion, we still were at the restaurant for an average of an hour and a half. It took about twenty minutes for the appetizers and twenty minutes in between for each the entrees and the desserts.

Rooms:

We wanted a royal room, because the El Dorado literature said that those and the Casitas were the only rooms that could make restaurant reservations. This was not true. According to the concierge, the only restaurant that required reservations was Santa Fe, and anyone could make the reservations (although we didn't get in). I can't say much about the rooms, because we didn't really stay in them for too long. However, there was a musty smell that didn't really go away.

Value:

There was many things you could do for free: bike rental, kayak rental, greenhouse tour, snorkeling (get these early, they don't have too many sets) and a free shuttle that took you to either Cancún or Playa de Carmen's 5th Avenue (Quinta Aveinda). The shuttle, however, was booked solid (the concierge suggested to book two to three days in advance). The taxi to Playa de Carmen was $25 for each way if you really want to go. There was a magic show, a dance show, a fire show, and a Karaoke night when we went and you could watch World Cup games on the big screens in Guacamaya's Bar.

All in all, this place was too much fun. The bartenders use Vitamix blenders so they can pretty much make any drink 'frozen' (vodka and pineapple juice, frozen, yum!). You have to specify the brand of liquor though, or you'll get a well drink equivalent. They had Belvedere, Grey Goose, Disaronno and other top shelf stuff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room group that has a concierge and they will take care of restaurant reservations. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear tremorslanted

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed, fun informative review of your recent experience at our premises. It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it. I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep on working and for future travelers to try our destination.We very much appreciate your review which points out some interesting matters. We are glad to know that you had fun and you got to enjoy your vacation with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma

Yours sincerely,
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was not our first trip to Mexico but it was the first trip that everything was just perfect. What an amazing place to slow down and take in the beauty of Riveria Maya. From the minute we were met at the airport to our driver walking us to the correct line to be in at the airport when we left if was first class all the way. The food delicious, the staff so friendly and helpful. The room so comfortable and clean, we enjoyed a couples massage & candlelit dinner on the beach all we can say is spectacular. Thank you for everything and all the "Royale" treatment. I would definitely compare this resort to the resort we stayed at in Tahiti without the long hours or travel. Cannot wait to visit again in the next 6 months.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper level of the swim up rooms in the 2800 block of the Casitias and it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Tamara G,
It is a true honor to be recognizing for our arduous work; especially here in the Riviera Maya where there are so many hotels to choose from and to be able to fulfill your expectations and perfect your holiday is a pleasure for us.

We will be waiting for your return in a couple of months.


Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Perfect holiday. Only downside was the girl in my room that consitantly kept on getting drunk and ordering room service at 2am, and then falling asleep half way through eating a slice of cheesecake... haha. The service was exceptional! Especially Angel the little guy who usually worked on beach would always bring us Margaritas, but my girlfriend thought he was too cute and fancied him which i found rather annoying at times...
On a serious note.. The resort was perfect and exceeded all our expectations. Food was very good - Kampai & Sante Fe the best.. Drinks are all premium brands and you can get pretty damn smashed, just try not to start drinking to early or you tend to pass out by 10 o'clock.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Alex S,
I enjoyed so much reading your review; it shows a very spontaneous and energetic critic.
We are very thankful for the five star and the post. We hope you will return for another vacation with friends and family.


Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We've just returned from spending 2 weeks on our honeymoon at the royale and what an amazing 2 weeks we had. Mexico is a beautiful country and the hotel was everything we could've wished for. If you like great service with amazing quality food and drink then look no further.

The choice of restaurants is amazing with no sweaty buffets in sight. The only exception to this is the cocotal restaurant for breakfast which offers great selection and amazing omelettes.

We had a swim-up room which we were so glad we paid the extra. Not only does it offer an alternative to the beach or numerous pools but it's allows you that bit of privacy. Plus with room service and drinks waiters you never go without. We did find that the room service was a little hit and miss at times, with delivery times being out by as much as double as the original time stated.

The cocktails, beer and wine are all nice with the martini lounge offering delicious chocolate and expresso martini's.

The complimentary honeymoon package of breakfast in bed, candle lit dinner on the beach, spar treatment and turn down service with jacuzzi prep really made it memorable.

I'm not sure whether we'd upgrade to the casitas as doesn't seem to offer enough extras to warrant the extra outlay.

All in all, an amazing hotel with great facilities, service and food. We would definitely consider coming back, even though we strive to go to new countries and resorts. Thanks for an amazing honeymoon.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dearest honeymooners,
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are privileged to have been able to host you and your partner's honeymoon stay with us!

Also that you were able to receive the amenities that came in your package you travel consultant surely has good deals.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, maybe for a first year anniversary? We will have the champagne chilled, awaiting your next arrival!

Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about El Dorado Royale. From the friendly staff who greeted us, to the ahi tuna, to the wine selections, to the beach front massage & hydro therapy pool, to the eco-friendly everything, to the golf carts that take you any and everywhere around the resort, to the huge in-room jacuzzi, EVERY SINGLE THING was exceptional!! I will be coming back very soon!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL VACATION!

Room Tip: I had a luxury jacuzzi suite and all rooms are within 1000 yards from the beach so it doesn't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Stefani H
I will have to say that we are thrilled and so excited to know that we have guest such as you with so much gratitude for our efforts.
We hope you may come back to your second home in the warm Caribbean very soon.

Best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We are glad we spent our anniversary here and had a wonderful experience. The staff was great and professional, the grounds are very well maintained (beautiful). The restaurants were pleasant and the bars everywhere were great! We did experience the spa which was one of the first class highlights of the trip! While we understand them having the artificial sandbag reef, the ocean front felt restricted and every day was a red flag day for swimming. The restaurant Santa Fe was reservations only and could never get in (that's another story). We also had reservations for dinner on the beach and when we showed up they did not have a reservation which made the last day of the trip disappointing. (no explanation as the staff was not able to make decisions outside of the process). Overall we had a great time and we took a cab to Playa de Carmen to enjoy the wide open ocean which was beautiful without sandbags... I am confident we would not go back but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Rick G,
Thank you for recounting your experience I thoroughly enjoying reading your feedback and happy you had a great vacation here with us. The fact that you mentioned you experience of Santa Fe make us want to strive to perfect this situation.
We truly appreciated the constructive feedback regarding the beach all comments are more than welcome.
We only hope you may honor us once again with a future visit.

Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma

Address: Km 45 Carretera municipio de solidaridad, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Business Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.