We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but pricy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya to your Saves list
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort but pricy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful resort but the meals and drinks are very pricy! The resort is a drive from the city so either you need to rent a car or take the taxis which can add up quickly. Its a nice place to sit by the pool and relax. If you go, make sure to visit Rio Secreto.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear FLTraveler219 :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We are happy that you found our property to be beautiful.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable. Also We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Best regards,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    788
    250
    134
    108
See reviews for
995
819
26
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recently stayed here for a week with a group of friends. There were 10 of us. The resort is beautiful and the pools are amazing! We had a great time just lounging by the pools and using the swim up bars. You must try at least one Coco Loco drink. The presentation is like nothing else. One down fall is that the resort is about 30 minutes to downtown Playa del Carmen and the cost of cabs can add up quickly.

Room Tip: The resort is huge! Choose a building close to the pool area to avoid long walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Travler458 :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We are so glad you had a blast with your friends enjoying our facilities, pools and restaurants.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Rather than repeat all the same comments about the giant pool, paved trails thru jungle landscaping, happy attentive staff and frequent shuttle transportation around this expansive three story resort. I want to give more of an overview to what I think management is trying to do here. The goal is to provide a sanctuary for your enjoyment and to make departures from the resort property unnecessary. They have big plans for a casino,water park, entertainment venue, big beach upgrades etc, you can see it happening right now. I am concerned that they are pricing themselves out of the game as everything they offer is expensive. Dont get me wrong I am an owner and I recommend this resort. We took 2 all day excursions for $159 per person with an outside company called mayan explorers, I found them here. They did a great job and we enjoyed several experiences not offered by the grand mayan in house. The cave swim was amazing at Kantun-Chi. One last thing one of our kids developed an ear infection and when I called medical we got attention in our room for him in 30 min at 1:30 in the morning. WOW that was amazing! He was on the way to recovery the next day and we never had to go out to get his meds they had everything right there. Best wishes to all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear ken s :
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at The Grand Mayan. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,


The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Complete ripoff- plain and simple. We swapped timeshare for this property which was to include free internet access for as many devices as we had. We verified several times. Yet we still had to provide proof and fight over it at time of checkout. With 8 devices at $950 pesos each they tried to charge us almost $750 USD until we argued and dug through receipts that included one that said free internet. And that's just the tip of the iceberg. Margaritas were almost $13 USD EACH! Are they out of their minds? They demand you take their taxis, which are also a total ripoff. For a 15 minute ride it was $52. Service at the restaurants was mediocre at best, and they automatically include gratuity. Speaking of which- for 3 adults and 3 children the average breakfast was $140. The average dinner was $325. If you have timeshare they try to sell you on their property by telling you about an "update" and then spend hours trying to convince you to sell your existing property and spend 10 times as much on their property. They try to make it sound good by telling you there are no maintenance fees and they will buy back your weeks for the first 5 years and pay you. However, anyone with basic math skills can determine it's a complete sham. Oh, and if you think you're actually getting 10% off on your entire bill by listening to their pitch you have another thing coming. When you check out you'll be told that's just on drinks. And overall service on this property is sorely lacking. We needed a ride to the front and asked the guys standing around in front of 3 golf carts to give us a ride so we didn't miss a tour only to be told it was only a 10 minute walk. Last but not least when it comes to complaints- forget swimming on their beach because it's extremely rocky. However, this is a beautiful property. It's just not worth all the hidden costs and bad service.

Room Tip: Building one or two are your only hope from having to hike to central locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Jeff P :

Thank you so much for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your review with us.

We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas in order to continue working towards exceeding all our guests’ expectations. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

Your comments are always appreciated.

Warm regards,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The name of this property is a total misnomer. Grand Mayan Golf and Beach Resort could not be further from the truth.
A) The "golf" course is a par 3 it is pretty, but it is not a full course. They offer free golf but fail to inform you its a par 3 course.
B) The "beach" is a very small, smelly, very rocky spot which leave a lot to be desired. It is far from a traditional Cancun beach. Very disappointing.

The activity desk is very limited, only one choice for fishing trips and the day tours are expensive.
Also, careful with the "update breakfast" you can waste a good part of the day as they pass you from person to person.
If you are looking for Golf, this property is still 4 to 5 years away from being an nice destination. Ask that one additional question prior to making a reservation.

The restaurants are about the only thing positive, I must say that every meal was excellent.

Room Tip: The Grand Bliss rooms are very nice, no need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Julio2509 :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our food options.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacation experiences for our guests; however, after receiving your remarks it appears this was not the case with your stay. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services.

Your observations are very important to us.

With all good wishes,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My parents in law got us a week at the Grand Mayan for our honeymoon.The property is quite beautiful and expansive. My husband and I got lost a couple of times trying to find the breakfast buffet. The restaurants on site were excellent and the staff was very attentive. We felt a bit out of place as most the other guests were either whole families or retried people. The buildings with sleeping quarters in it felt a bit generic and have no soundproofing, so if you get a bad neighbor, you will hear everything. That said the rooms were very nice and we enjoyed our balcony. Everything we had to eat at the resort was delicious, but everything was also very very expensive. The resort was very large and has many restaurants and swimming pools but it is difficult to get out of the resort area. When we checked in we were told we could schedule a day trip to Tulum. This turned out to be a time-share sales presentation so we left and did not sit through it. If anyone offers you anything for free just politely decline. Other than that one awkward encounter the staff was incredibly kind and helpful. We would recommend the Grand Mayan for a stay of three or four days, but then get out and explore the country.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked like they were the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Kristen H :

Thank you for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn our staff’s service was efficient. They work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most enjoyable experience ever. We are also happy that you consider our resort to be beautiful and you selected it to celebrate such a special occasion.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are always happy to find out we have achieved this. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014


We had a great two weeks here as a timeshare swap. The complex is made up of three hotels and occupies many many acres. The swimming pools are the largest I've seen with bars for drinking cocktails while swimming in most of them. beach though is a little disappointing pools overall a highly recommended resort although building works is going on one and we overlooked one unfinished building. Do try and stay in the low numbered buildings. rental cars at the place is very easy to arrange. And getting out and about I think is key The staff as are most Mexicans we have found our hugely hospitable and helpful. The golf course is great fun to play even for those that Are not an expert like ourselves. The room keys are wristbands which is a first for us you do not have to worry about losing your room Key also a cashless resort which is reassuring. Concierge is really helpful for advice for the many many attractions nearby. The timeshare reception was poor with none of the usual helpful local advice but all about the good old fashioned hard sell. Not needed ESP to timeshare owners like us!

However we had great time and would recommend As a place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear NickBlaireLee:

We are glad you have decided to post a review as it helpful to further enrich our performance and give other travelers a better idea of what to expect. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our facilities, the pools and most our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay enjoyable.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
7.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#40 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,055 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#6 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 8,394 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.