We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds, Great Vacation, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plainfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds, Great Vacation, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We are Grand Mayan owners and this is our first time at this location. We were a little disappointed in our room that had a musty smell and mold on the drapes. Other than that, we had a good location in building 5. Similar to the other reviews, it is a beautiful property and you do have to know what to expect. We have a 1-bedroom so we go into town and get some food to have breakfast during the week (there's a shuttle for about $5/pp every 2 hours so no, you don't have to pay for a taxi every time as some people have indicated). It drops you one block from the major grocery store. Also, there are plenty of happy hours at the pools, places to get sandwiches and ways to not spend a lot of money if you choose not to. Yes, there is a an owners meeting in exchange for discounts but you can say "no". This property's employees seem to be more friendly than Cabo's and they go out of their way to say "Buenos Dias" to you and attend to your needs. We have owned another timeshare and are very pleased with our experience with the Mayan.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-6 are closest to the pools and require less transportation and are withing walking dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    748
    240
    127
    101
See reviews for
925
780
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We are a 'couple', meeting 3 friends, and became very disappointed quickly. We knew it was a time-share type resort, but the sales 'pitch' and focus on the resort's profit was never-ending!

Our 'apartment' was designed well... except there were NO towel racks, and all the furniture was uncomfortable for sitting. It was reasonably clean, but I wouldn't want a child playing on the floor. Quiet for sleep, we were in Jungle Bldg. 11.

The food at a couple of the restaurants was pretty good, we especially liked the Green Break & the waiter -Lorenzo- was tops! Young man, Alonzo or Alphonso, handing out towels at the pool was a delight & seemed interested in us having a good time. The front desk & concierge were painful and could not provide honest information.

The 2 tours we did planned through the resort's "Mexican Tour" group were very poor. Late, run-down vans, guides poorly trained, and focused on profit for them or their allied businesses. We did an excellent tour with Mayan Explorers, so had a real comparison. They were not allowed on the property to pick us up!

This was not a good experience. I've traveled in Peru & Australia extensively, a bit in Tahiti & New Zealand... all of which I'd do again. But not the Grand Mayan Riviera Maya or its affiliates.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
DearAshly U :

We are pleased you chose to stay at The Grand Mayan for your vacation. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. It will be our privilege to share it with them, specifically the staff mentioned; we are certain theywill be happy to receive it.We are glad to learn as well that you liked our Green Break restaurant.

However, we are concerned to learn about the inconveniences experienced while staying with us. Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration and will be shared with all areas concerned, in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation.

We are grateful for your feedback.

Sincerely,
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was our second visit so we knew exactly what to expect. People who are disappointed with their vacation at the Grand Mayan clearly have not read the many great reviews here on tripadvisor. It's best to know what to expect instead of simply booking a trip, being dissatisfied, then leaving an unfair review for others. I hope this information is helpful.

First, we never attend timeshare presentations, period. I will not waste my time as I am not in the market for more weeks. You will be 'greeted' by a timeshare rep after check-in, who will try and sign you up for an information breakfast. No more than an hour: right. If you are happy to spend much of one day being hassled just in order to get a few discounts, go ahead by all means. If not, just be firm. They will call your room a couple of times to try and get you to attend, then give up. This is not uncommon practice at time share resorts. Of the people we met who complained about their stay, most were upset with the sales pitch and the high pressure sales tactics. So, be warned.

Like all, or most resorts in Mexican jungle ecosystems, there will be a slight musty smell in the room. It is alleviated when you run the air conditioning. You can spray something around if it bothers you. We have never experienced any damp or mould in the rooms. They are simply beautiful. Both king size beds were more comfortable than the last time we stayed 3 years ago. I suspect they have changed mattresses. Service is wonderful everywhere on the property. Staff are charming and helpful. Most know a little English but gosh, you folk who complain about language difficulties or food that isn't as good as at home, should take your vacations at home. You will be happier. This is a luxury resort, prices are commensurate. You are in another country. The quality is terrific, especially when compared with some of the awful fare served up at many of the all inclusives in Mexico. Lots of great restaurant options to satisfy everyone.

If you want to save money..don't stay here. Or you can always rent a car and shop for your food in Playa. Be aware that while the kitchen is lovely, the equipment is minimal. You will need everything from paper towels and salt and pepper to plastic wrap and herbs. Bring a few basics with you. As others have said, the buildings are spread out as the resort is large. If you have difficulty walking, email the concierge and request a room in one of the first six buildings. They can't always accommodate every request but they will try. They will also sign you up for the free shuttle from the airport (you pay 15 dollars for the return trip.) We saw lots of people being driven back and forth around the grounds but we loved walking through the property and seeing the coatis, iguanas and glorious coloured birds. At night the whole place is lit up, it's just magical.

Yes, the beach is rocky.. They are working on it. So, if you are a beach person, stay somewhere else. However the pools are huge and glorious, there's never a problem finding a spot in the sun or the shade, whether you like action and activities, or simply a little peace and quiet. Lastly, the resort is one of dozens on a long strip between Cancun and Playa. All the resorts have shuttles, for a reasonable price, and taxi rates are controlled. If you do not rent a car, these are your options. If you feel hemmed in at a luxury resort for a week or two, stay in Cancun or Playa, especially if you are youngsters looking for action. Grand Mayan is a laid back, beautiful resort primarily for those who want to relax and have some fun with friends or family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Grand Mayan and had a great time! We stayed in the "Jungle" and our room was superb! The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurants were numerous and the food was delicious. I can tell you I have never seen so many swimming pools in one location in my life. The grounds were spotless as were the pools and beach area, in fact I cannot think of one thing that could have been improved upon. I highly recommend this resort for anyone looking to spend a very relaxing holiday in Mexico!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Loved every minute of our stay... Great for families! The resort itself is beautiful and very modern. They even have shuttles to move from one side to the other, including the golf course. Great entertainment activities for all ages. Restaurants were ok but a bit pricey, expected since it's convenient. People were really nice and courteous. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Thank you to all those who reviewed this resort prior to our vacation. Because of all of you We knew exactly what to expect. WE WILL DEFINITELY COME AGAIN. Yes it is a huge resort but we were never in a hurry. Yes the food can be costly, but we brought and bought breakfast items, coffee, fruit, luncheon meat and bakery bread and croissants at Celine's bakery in Playa del Carmen which was easy and inexpensive to get to on the shuttle. Loved dinner at both Kong and Tramonte's. Loved the pool choices, happy hours and shuttles around the resort. We had excellent maid service, pool bar service, restaurant hostesses and waiters and waitresses. We left the resort after running Into friends who rented a vehicle and had a lovely, inexpensive fish dinner on the beach in Puerto Morelos. We sat for hours watching the water meet the shore. Yes I love the ocean and the only shortfall at this resort is the lack of swimming beach which I knew before coming. We understand they are working on this. Enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The resort is massive. Largest we've ever been to. There is always something going on. The pools are beautiful, varied and clean. The entire resort is immaculate.

The food is great, the service is good, but not great.

If you are looking for a small, intimate service style of resort, you'd be better off at the Royal Mayan, our personal favorite. If you want to spend your entire vacation within the resort, this is the place for you. The Grand Mayan is far from any city or local entertainment.

All-in-all, we would definitely go back. The grounds, entertainment, rooms, activities, and especially the pools make this a great destination super resort.

Room Tip: Get a room in a low-numbered building. This will minimize the time you are walking or riding the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.