We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya to your Saves list
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from 7 days at the Grand Mayan as a couple traveling with friends. The resort is beautiful, the service was truly fantastic. Yes, the resort is HUGE and you will golf cart everywhere. That said, I don't think we ever waited for more than 5 minutes for a cart, and chose to walk a few times to work off the calories we were consuming. We were in the 'jungle' building 9, but even 1-7 while closer, come with quite a walk to get anywhere. Here is my take on some of the review comments I've seen:

Time Share: yes, they will ask. We said 'no' and asked them not to call back. They honored our request.

Beds: hard but not unbearable, I've slept on worse (and I'm fussy about hard beds)

Cost vs. All Inclusive: Definitely more expensive than going all inclusive. We didn't hold back on what we did and we spent about $1000 over the course of 7 days in addition to what we'd paid for the room and flights, that makes total of about $3000 for the trip. Definitely would have been cheaper to go all inclusive. I've been to the Iberostar (literally right next door) and when we go back, that will be our destination.

Food / Drinks: Must try the "chocolate monkey" (basically a pina colada with chocolate flavor) :-) The food was pricey but truly fantastic, we didn't have a complaint. The italian restaurant was the best. We slept in a lot and had made a WalMart run early in the week, so we only ate about 2 meals a day out in the resort. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room service food being hot, and as tasty as if you were in the restaurant.

Other recommendations: Dinner on the pier was awesome, an additional $100 over cost of the food, but worth it!!

Room Tip: As noted by others, pick buildings 1-7 for proximity, but even those come with a walk to get anywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    788
    249
    134
    108
See reviews for
995
819
26
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

11/9/12 - 11/16/12
We loved this resort. It was HUGE, beautiful, clean, and the service was excellent. There are three beautiful pools to choose from. There are so many activities you could stay for two weeks. The Golf course is beautiful as well as the grounds throughout the resort - all lush and maintained. The food was about a B at the lunch restaurants and an A at the Italian and Asian restaurants. Our room was clean, roomy, and comfortable. The staff was very attentive and courteous--no exceptions. We never tired of hearing, "it would be my pleasure". Thoughts to consider 1: Beds do not work for everyone. We brought our pilliows from home, based on other feedback we reviewed on Trip Advisor. It is true, not all beds are comfortable. The resort is so big you will do a lot of walking, but the shuttle/golf carts are frequent and convenient. We went to Walmart on the first day to get beer, snacks, and water to try to keep our costs down, but mostly we went to purchase a cooler for the wine we brought with us to the resort. Studio's do not have refrigerators. When you get there, let the bellman take your bags - it works best that way. We didn't do this and quickly learned it was not the correct etiquette. None of the rooms for The Grand Mayan are ocean view, but the gardens were so pretty we didn't mind. The gift shop is extensive and upscale with clothing, souveniers, jewelry, a deli and coffee bar, wine sales, snacks, deli meats, etc. We will be back soon. The internet connection in the rooms is not strong even though you get all bars. All in all, we travel the world and veer towards 5 star accomodations and this exceeded our expectations! The online pictures do not do this resort justice. TIPS: Buildings 1-4 are most convenient. Bring your own pillows. Going to the resort, the shuttle is free. On the return, a cab is just as cheap as the hotel shuttle and faster. Do bring pesos before leaving the states as the exchange rate at the resort is not nearly as good as USA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from a 7 day stay at the Grand Mayan. Our group of four adults had a one bedroom, with kitchen. I agree with the other positive reviews of this resort. We stayed in building 9, in Grand Mayan Jungle. I’ve noted some additional tips that you might find helpful:

During our stay, we cooked the majority of our meals in our room. We shopped at Walmart in Playa de Carmen, the resort store and local vendors for our groceries. You are going to pay almost twice as much at the resort store, but paying almost $20 for a cab ride (each way) does not make sense if all you need are more eggs. It’s cheaper to take the resort shuttle to Walmart if you are traveling with less than four people. If you have four in your group, taking a local taxi cost the same price and you can buy all the groceries you want, afterwards driven directly to your building and use the luggage cart to carry all your groceries up to your room. The kitchen has plenty of dishes, but only one knife (no steak knives). You can request another knife from housekeeping. It would be helpful to pack a small paring knife with cover in your checked in bag. Also, this resort is not generous with free food extras (sugar, tea, etc.). They provide one packet of coffee. Bring extra sugar packets, teas, packets of creamer, extra coffee packets (but we liked trying the local coffee), dry seasonings (salt, pepper, etc.). Pack zip locks bags in various sizes. It’s the easiest way to store left overs. Pack a collapsible cooler and water bottles in your bag for picnics and outings.

The spa and gym are available for guests for free without having pay for additional spa services. They have separate areas for women and men. Large Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, lockers, etc. The Jacuzzi was not as hot as I would have liked (but I like the water very, very hot), but it's indoors, the jets are always on and it's very pretty and relaxing with lounge chairs and flowers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I shoulda known better. Even though the timeshare has been under a new business model for 3 years (they want $53,000 down, no less) - OMG , it was nearly 3 hours. Talked with another couple that endured 4 hours. With a promise of 90 minutes. And you think '10% savings on everything you charge to your room' - until you remember that you have already paid for your room in advance, except for the room tax. The outdoor jacuzzi was lukewarm, at best. The Swiss shower had too little water pressure.

We were visiting friends at the all-inclusive Bahia Principe in Akumal - which was much nicer - better grounds, better beaches, WAY more service staff and food.

Selena Victoria, concierge, was a bright spot. Delightful. And seeing the flamingos get released at 9 am was great. The all 3-par Nicklaus golf course was challenging and interesting.

Room Tip: choose a low-numbered building - they are near the pools and parking. They stick the RCI members ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Avoid the timeshare talk by just saying no when they ask and avoiding phone calls... The place is wonderful, they gave us an additional 300 off the bill (with no timeshare talk) and the food was fantastic. Rooms were clean and new and the shuttles everywhere were helpful.

Room Tip: Even the jungle is fine - just use the shuttles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We chose to travel to the Grand Mayan with a Groupon Resort Stays Voucher. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Shuttle picked us up at the airport, just call or email the conceirge desk for this free service. Check in was a breeze, although you are immediately spotted by the timeshare reps and asked to schedule a breakfast/tour/sales meeting. We did this because they said it would be 90 minutes, free buffet breakfast and $1000 pesos + 10% off our total bill. While our rep was nice and easy to spend the time with, it took almost 4 hours out of our second day there. We were bummed that we couldn't just say NO - they made us talk to 6 different people before finally signing off on our discount and letting us get back to our vacation. If you are in the market for a timeshare, this seems to be a good deal, but don't take their first offer! Each sales person we spoke to went down on the price. The resort itself is stunning. Beautiful grounds, lush greens, the pools are immaculate. Plenty of chairs and cabanas, we never had problem finding the perfect spot in the sunshine. Great service at the pool bars, and we found happy hour prices to be really reasonable. The restaurants were great for resort options - the Kobe beef steaks and sushi at Gong were our favorite. And Frida's by the pool was quick and easy at night, too. They offer a shuttle to Wal-Mart, which we did and stocked up on essentials for breakfast and lunches. We got away with taking a small cooler to the pool in my daughter's stroller, even though there are signs not to bring coolers, so this saved us a few bucks. The beach is lacking as far as swimming goes, but it is pretty enough to relax there for the sunshine. We walked about 200 yards to the right and found a gorgeous swimmable beach on the other side of an abandoned resort. Definitely worth the walk! Our room was clean, spacious, the beds are REALLY hard, but otherwise the room itself was adequate. Room service was prompt, and we found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The different pools at the resort all have their own personality - the interior pool by the lobby is quiet, secluded; the infinity pool is great for kids; the big main pool has lots of areas for kids to play, but also had fun music pumping and entertaining DJs dancing and offering water aerobics, and the service at the bar was prompt and heavy on the liquor. :-) Overall, the resort was fantastic. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 7, which was great. I hear Buildings 1-4 are better, but we didn't mind t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent the first week of November at the Grand Mayan. The resort is tremendous - they don't call it "Grand" for nothing. The grounds are largely immaculately manicured jungle, with tons of birds, iguanas and cool coatimundis (raccoon like creatures) all around. There are many huge pools throughout the resort. The pools are so large that they never seemed crowded. There were plenty of lounge chairs around the pools, so there was no need to get up early to reserve a seat. The beach is also a nice place to lounge, with plenty of chairs and palapas. As others have noted the beach is not that swimmer friendly, but with a pair of water shoes I was able to enjoy the ocean.

The rooms were large and clean. We had a living room, dining area, kitchen, as well as a bedroom that also had a large sitting area. There was a big tub in the bedroom and a shower stall in the bathroom. We also had a balcony with a plunge pool. No issues at all with the room or the daily maid service.

We were in building 4, and were about a 5 minute walk to the Grand Mayan Pool, a 10 minute walk to the main pool (where the market, and several of the restaurants are located), and about 15 minutes from the beach). We walked the entire time, so not sure about the shuttle frequency.

The restaurants were pretty good. We loved the Italian restaurant, and Blue Fish near the tranquil pool area. The main pool restaurant was ok for a burger, salad or some pizza. Food was not cheap, but it was not offensively overpriced. Lunch for 2 with drinks averaged about $30 - $40 u.s. dollars, with tip. Dinners were $50 - $75 u.s. dollars. Don't have any info on breakfast, as we prepared eggs and toast (purchased at the resort's market) each morning in the room. A 15% tip is added to all bills. I was fine with this, as service was always fantastic. Beers were about $5 u.s. dollars, cocktails slightly more. There were plenty of happy hours throughout the day with 1/2 price drinks.

There are $5 shuttles from the resort to Playa del Carmen, and tons of taxis too. You can easily head into town for cheaper meals, and supplies. However, everything you need is conveniently available right on the premises.

I would recommend the Grand Mayan without hesitation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
7.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#40 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,060 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#6 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 8,398 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.