We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with an excellent entertainment staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Paraiso Maya to your Saves list
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with an excellent entertainment staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Really enjoyed this resort. We have been to Mexico several times over the last 5 years and this was hands down our favorite "family" resort. Staff was excellent and the food was great.
Out of our 7 night stay we just have one complaint and it is by far not even a huge issue. We ate at the Hibachi grill and the food was really good but the cook we had was horrible. Not sure if he was new and just nervous or if he just wasn't very good.

So if that is our only complaint, I believe the Iberostar is doing a fantastic job.

If you have any questions please feel free to message me. I didn't want to bore anybody with the same old good review. If you are debating on resorts, you will not go wrong booking this one

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    891
    324
    129
    90
See reviews for
1,679
693
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

My wife, 10 year old son and I stayed at the Iberostar Maya last Friday (Sept 24 to Sept 28) through Worry Free Vacations (excellent rates and great customer service).

Couple of things to consider prior to the trip

1. Book the Iberostar Beach (if it is available) but since it is temporarily closed you will get a call after a couple of days advising you of an automatic upgrade to Paraiso Maya. Save yourself $150.00
2. Flight leaves at 6:00 am and you should be out of the terminal around 9:30 am after immigration and customs. Bear in mind that there is a thermal camera after the customs area checking for flu carrying passengers. The drive to the hotel will be around an hour to 1 1/2 depending on the number of stops the bus have to make. In our case we were the 4th stop.
3. Check-in time is at 3:00 pm. However, if you want to change clothes and start enjoying the facility the hospitality room is there for your convenience. You can also eat anywhere since you will have a bracelet by then.

We got a room in building 60 which is the farthest building there is with its own private pool and the one closest to the beach.
1. Room – real nice and clean
2. View – non-existent (looking at the mangroves, flies and mosquitoes). If I had a choice, I’ll rather stay in a building without a private pool (chances are you are not going to use that pool anyways) but with a view of the BIG pool where everybody seems to congregate..
3. Water pressure – very poor, we were on the 2nd floor and when you turn on the shower it goes from mild to cold to extremely hot in 2 second increments. After a while you just have to time it and get used to it.
4. The room directly above ours was fixing their plumbing (?) till midnight. Plumbing noises echoed through the night which was very annoying since you don’t know how strong the next vibration is going to be.

Pool – Very nice
The Beach was powdery white sand, real nice, just a few sea weeds and rocks. We also bought a boogie board for $25.00 at the shopping center and enjoyed the waves.


DO NOT forget to bring 3 things.
1. Off – Mosquito’s are big and they bite until either you kill them or they’re full. They cannot be shaken off. Same goes with the sand flies at the beach during the early morning after they rake the sand.
2. Caladril – In case you get bitten
3. One hundred $1.00 bills for tips.


Last July we stayed at the Barceló Tropical. I would say both hotels were very nice. The differences are:

Layout – Iberostar is laid out like a portrait in relation to the beach while Barceló is laid out like a landscape, more beach area if you like early morning beach walks.

Walking – In our case, we walked a lot at Iberostar because our room was totally opposite where the air conditioned buffet was. A lot of walking while trying to dodge mosquitoes. In Barceló, we were lucky because our room was in the middle of everything. Close to the theater, lobby, pool and beach.

Employees’ – Both resorts have friendly, helpful and very courteous staffs.

Food – hands down, Barceló has more choices and the ambiance is very conducive to eating. For some odd reason our cook at the Japanese restaurant in Iberostar turned off (as oppose to slow fire) the hot plate after cooking the steak and chicken and started cooking the shrimp and lobster on the other plate. By the time everything was done we ended up with cold chicken and steaks.

Conclusion: If it was my 1st time in Mexico, I would say Iberostar was great. But since I now have something to compare it to in relation to cost, quality and quantity of food, I would pass and not recommend Iberostar.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

I resent being charged $12 per day for very slow internet access at a hotel that claims to be 4 star.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. This will be quite long but I hope to help people who are wondering what is going on with the closures. Keep in mind we were just in Cancun in January with our daughter and my mother and it was very crowded, even the airport was crazy busy.

We were booked at the Iberostar Beach for 10 days but when we were being dropped off in the morning at the resort on September 2nd it was closed so the driver took us over to the Lindo lobby. When we stopped at the front desk the gal could not find our reservation so I started to get a little worried...no problem, she had good news for us we were being upgraded to the Maya instead. Not quite sure why we got the double upgrade but we were pretty excited. They had a driver in a shuttle(golf cart) come pick us and our luggage up and took us to the lobby at the Maya. Wow the lobby/registration area is fancy. We were greeted quickly and given our room keys and hotel information and a welcome drink. We did walk over the the Beach/Del Mar resort one day and walked around, it was closed and they were busy doing construction on a few of the main buildings, it looks very nice as well with a great looking pool area also. We were able to walk around without being told we couldn't be there. Just looked around and then left.

We headed to our room which was in bldg 61 closest to the beach and main pool area, also had a private pool in our building which we never used, looked quite nice though, very quiet. Our room was beautiful, large jr suite, marble bathroom with jacuzzi tub, wet bar, living area and large balcony. AC worked awesome too, room was never damp feeling.

Walked around the resort area to get acquainted with everything. I would say the resorts Lindo/Maya were about 40% full combined together. It was so quiet and there were chairs and palapas available everywhere from the beach to the pools.

The food was amazing, if you can't find something there to eat you are crazy. Remember, we were there for 10 days. The variety is almost overwhelming at the buffets for breakfast and lunch, never ate at the buffet for dinner so can't comment on that. As far as Ala Carte, we ate at the Steakhouse (okay), Seafood (good), Japanese at the Maya twice (amazing), Italian twice (good), Mexican (good),French (amazing) and Jambalaya (good). If you like lobster you can have it every night. The grouper fish was amazing too. We never had a problem getting a reservation for dinner, just called each day.

The pool area was very large. They have a winding main pool area with swim up bar in the middle. Lazy river and wave pool. 3 small pools in front of three of they Maya buildings, ours included. We usually were at the pool around 10:30 or 11am and could find a chair and palapa pretty much wherever we wanted. The waitresses were always coming around asking if we needed anything. Remember to bring dollars for tipping, the staff there works very hard to make sure you have a great vacation.

This is one of the best beaches we have ever been on. Very clean, large, lots of chairs and palapas and beautiful sand and water, loved the beach. They have a bar there and snack area (hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, nachos, etc...) Remember when you take the walkways to the beach, wear your sandals/shoes. The wood walkways are very hot!

If you like to drink and also like premium alcohol this is the AI for you. The beer served at the resort is Dos XX's, very good. The bartenders will make you anything you want, just ask. Loved the Stoli cosmos in the Maya lobby bar every night before dinner.

To sum it up, we came back to Colorado on September 11th and I wish I was still at the Iberostar! The tourism is way down and it is very quiet in the area, resorts seem half empty, even Playa Del Carmen was quiet. If you go you will have a great time no matter which Iberostar you end up at. It's a great resort. If you have any questions please feel free to ask.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushkill
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We went 9/6 to 9/10. This was our first trip to an Iberostar resort and definitely will not be our last. We have been to Sandals and Secrets but Iberostar by far was our favorite. Anyone who does not enjoy this resort is crazy.
We were scheduled to stay at the Lindo but were upgraded to the Maya. The resort in our opinion was about 30% full - no lines or waiting for anything.
The food was great except for the Italian restaurant - please believe me you don't want to eat there it was absolutely horrible.
As for the service I don't know if it was just because the resort was so empty or what but they really do everything possible for you.
I'm not going to repeat everything everyone else has said. Just enjoy your vacation.
Please note the tile in the bathroom shower and in the bathroom itself is extremely slippery, our 3 year old took a good tumble.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We just came back from Paraiso Maya (09/06-09-11), very rested and happy.
First good things:
Transportation from the airport provided by Lomas Travel was with no problem. Guys were waiting by the airport doors.
We were upgraded from jr suite to superior jr suite (which had a lot more space) at the check in.
Food was great, a lot and the variety. I think for everyones taste.
Beach-beautiful, pleanty of chairs and umbrellas and activities were great.
Pools-with no chlorine smell (they use salt instead of chlorine), they are clean, very nice and also plenty of things to do.
Shows; They are fun, of cource they are not Las Vegas quality, but they try very hard and it's fun for all family.
Also we recommend the Piano Bar at the Lindo, the Pianist-Ernesto is great as he plays the music with his soul and when you are there, it's impossiblee not to feel that. We recommend that you spent at least 2 evening listening to the popular music of the world.
Bad things:
Ants in the rooms by the cofee machine, hard beds, flies in the buffets other way everything is good.
P.S. a lot of beer..!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago ,IL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

This was our third trip to Iberostar Paraiso but the first one at Maya. Prior trips were at Lindo. The two share the same pool and beach area and most restaurants. The rooms at the Maya are bit larger and more contemporary and there are a couple restaurants open only to Maya. Our 18 son picked this location having been there before and loved it. There were many other families from our town traveling here for spring break. The pools, food, and beach were great. We generally spend our time at the beach, which a couple days was very windy (OK at the pool) which was unusual. My wife and I did a scuba dive one day which was OK. The other days were cancelled due to high winds. Other than the wind the weather was fine. We generally are not show people we only attended briefly. This is a great family place for children fo all ages. It is very secure. Food is good and the place is very clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Paraiso Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.